Sarawak sees a 6.65% hike in road accidents – Police

Sarawak Road Traffic -01

As of November 17, an increase in the number of road accidents has been registered in Sarawak. Compared to the same period last year, 2015 sees an increase of 1,033 cases (6.65%) in total accidents, Bernama reports. A total of 16,573 cases have been reported, compared to 15,540 last year, according to State Police Commissioner, Datuk Muhammad Sabtu Osman.

A majority of the accidents were due to vehicle break-downs, which make up a significant portion of this year’s numbers. “During the period, accidents from vehicle break-down were 15,810 cases, light accidents, 252 cases, serious accidents, 168 cases and fatal accidents, 343 cases,” Osman said.

He further expressed his discontent over the increase, “I am not too happy with this accident statistics. I fervently hope society take cognisance as vehicle accidents is not a game,” he said. Earlier, Sarawak Road Safety Department director Davina Agnes Enteli noted that the largest state in Malaysia records an average of one or two fatalities daily.

FW428981_SK02_191115_PERONDA

She attributed the fatalities to violation of road laws by motorists. “It is important to occasionally hold road safety campaigns to create public awareness about road safety,” Davina Agnes suggested.

Meanwhile, the Sarawak police force has received a fleet of 52 patrol cars. The Kuching District Police HQ has been allocated with 18 cars, Miri police, 13 cars, Bintulu with seven cars, while two more cars have been allocated for the Sarawak State Astana. Osman noted that more frequent patrols are now possible.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Kroni BN on Nov 19, 2015 at 6:40 pm

“Sarawak Road Safety Department director Davina Agnes Enteli noted that the largest state in East Malaysia records an average of one or two fatalities daily.”

IN OTHER NEWS SARAWAK IS ALSO THE LARGEST STATE IN MALAYSIA.

• Free Sabah and Sarawak on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Sabah and Sarawak, the two largest state of Malaysia should separate from the West. Then they change back the name to Tanah Malayu/Malaya. We’ve been cheated by the Federal government so long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Is it just me or does that policewoman look like she got shot with an arrow on the head?

• trollmaster3000 on Nov 20, 2015 at 6:25 am

then why did you keep voting for BN during the last GE..? shame on you.. and stupid some more..

• 2ltr bottle on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:42 am

You tell that to kampung people. BN says, if you don’t vote me, we will not give you roads, electricity, water. That why Sabah and Sarawak are still the poorest in Malaysia. We have been cheated since the start of Malaysia.

• 1Kangkung Malaysia on Nov 19, 2015 at 7:56 pm

petrol cars aint gona solve accident rate.
    Its is ppl attitude that caused accidents.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:42 pm

If the trend on the LPT2 is anything to go by, the toll-free Pan Borneo Highway should raise this figure to double digits soon

• superbird #43 on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:59 pm

the accident rate is a lot lower than the whole of peninsular m’sia combined.

• Toyota Hilux fault, haha

• I would like to emphasis more on this matters because what government trying to solve is not accurate as police enforcement doesn’t solve many accidents. Government should work with the road engineers & redesign those dangerous roads & lay more efforts on road maintenance. Travelling on pan Borneo highway in fact is a very high risk because the roads blindspots, sharp bent, uneven surface & many more. The aggregates of stones used on the corners are some below the standards of grip safety.

• harold on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:12 am

In sarawak, Sibu drivers are mostly as bad as penang driver.

• Sharon on Nov 20, 2015 at 12:21 pm

As I said few time here,

Kuching drivers drive like crazy:
    1) rainy and dark day don’t border to switch on head lights, including those who drive luxury cars.
    2) didn’t use signal during changing lanes or turn to other roads.
    3) drive “like a snake”.
    4) use mobile phone during driving and even stop on the traffic light, including during traffic jam.

Very seldom got actions from JPJ anf police traffic, such as road blocks to check.

THE SOLUTIONS:

1) more actions from JPJ and police traffic
    2) AES Please….. setup a lot of AES

• Must also be due to the huge rise of cars on the road. 2x more jammed than few years back, saturdays also surprisingly mad jam.

• Ootai on Nov 20, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Free Sabah and Sarawak should separate from peninsular. Period. No more incidents.