No increase in Mazda pricing, Berjaya Auto reiterates

Mazda CX-3 1

Back in October, it was reported that Berjaya Auto said it would not be raising the prices of Mazda cars despite the ringgit’s slide against foreign currencies.

This remains very much the case going into 2016, according to Berjaya Auto CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh, who reiterated that there would be no price increase for Mazda vehicles anytime in the near future.

“I’ve mentioned it time and again that as far as we are concerned, we will try to retain the price despite the weakening of the ringgit. We have been purchasing our cars in yen for the last couple of years now, and we are very fortunate that the ringgit’s performance against the yen has been relatively stable,” he told reporters at an event earlier today.

“If you look at the majority of vehicles that we sell, they are basically CKD cars, with only a few models being CBU. For CKD models, Mazda is trying to look at opportunities to reduce cost, for example by increasing our local content, and as we produce more and more cars we all become more efficient, and this efficiency will be reflected in a cost-down structure, which will mitigate the impact of the poor foreign exchange,” he said.

Datuk Ben Yeoh-1

“As far as the CBU cars are concerned, we will try to offset this with some reduction in our own operation costs so that we do not pass on an increase to the consumer,” Yeoh added. “Having said this, this will be as far as we can hold the price. if the ringgit weakens further to the extent it is no longer able for us to sell the cars at the current prices, then we will have no choice but to increase prices.”

Nonetheless, Yeoh is optimistic that this will not be the case. “I believe the ringgit is going to strengthen. We have a very stable market environment and we don’t see any reason why the ringgit should further depreciate.”

As for sales performance, he said that up to the end of October Bermaz had already sold 12,000 units of Mazda cars, and he was positive about the brand’s performance next year.

“We hope to have an increase in brand equity. Our market share is around two to 2.5% at the moment and we we should be able to move along, with new products that will be launched helping to achieve this. Very soon we’ll be launching the Mazda CX-3 (previewed earlier in the month, and to be launched on December 8, priced at RM131k), and next year we will be launching another new model that will enhance our local vehicle lineup,” he said.

GALLERY: Mazda CX-3 preview at the 2015 NSI-MAI ASEAN Auto Show

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:10 pm

This is good news, a win for the consumers, good for the industry and losers for its other competitors that will result losing sales. Hope it will eat Honda’s sales and increase its marketshare to sit above Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • George Abdul on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:41 pm

(“we are very fortunate that that ringgit’s performance against the yen has been relatively stable,” he told reporters at an event earlier today.)
      And P2 CEO lie about RINGGIT weak against YEN… Now finally someone tell the truth and P2 CEO should be boycott for LYING !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
      • So is Berjaya lying or others are taking the opportunity to increase profit margin while blaming Gov? I thought your uber economist theory says all will sure up cuz ini semua salah Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • George Abdul on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:28 am

Go research your own, either who are lying…
          Finance Minister of the country was to help the economic improve BUT your Najib makes whole Malaysia economic crumble to record low and make unrealistic/unlogical hike on petroleum and gas, tolls on his own people’s…(Yea and most importantly “donation” statement that was “world class”)

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Nov 30, 2015 at 7:06 pm

No increase nevermind. But Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices???

Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh, instead of cium buntot Najib, ask him where is this promise? Mazda 6 in the US only US$20k. Here sell RM160k

• Najib Fulfill Promise on Dec 01, 2015 at 11:24 am

Yo Bro,

Don’t talk bad about Najib, he actually wanted to reduce the specs. You see Protong Saga now can get below 30K but feels like driving lori sampah. All car price reducing and so is the specs becoming basic. BMW also got 318i but use 1.5 Ltr Engine

• Albert on Nov 30, 2015 at 8:55 pm

George Abdul..you must be a kwailoh putra.Anyway,if Mazda can maintain prices ,why cant Perodua,proton,Toyota and others who will jack up prices come this new year?
        Things are getting shambolic for these PERLINDUNGAN stricken companies.
        2016..lets give Mazda a go if you still want to buy new cars.
        Forget those who keep jacking up prices,simple.

• W204 C63 AMG on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Nope, Mazda will never eat much into Toyota and Honda’s sales, but Mazda has definitely eaten up VW’s shares. Prospective VW buyers like the Polo, Golf, Jetta and Passat buyers are definitely looking at the 2, 3 and 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Honest speaking, all Mazda model not selling reasonable price in Malaysia, especially CX3. Somehow overprice, yet to compete Honda and Toyota. T&H has good resale value, Mazda with skyactive technology wont see any increase with second hand value presently. The name Mazda is nail dead in our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 54
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Me again, with the price tag of CX3 at RM130k without on the road, lets wait upcoming new Civic with 1.5l turbo at price tag of RM109k. Dun ask me why 109k for 1.5l civic,lets just wait and see how accurate i am in 2016 civic launching.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
    • wiwiwiwiw on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Honda salesman feeling the pressure?
      Sacred cannot meet monthly quota for bonus?
      Lose CRV and Civic customers to CX5 and M3 already?
      CX3 is hi-spec 2.0, CBU FULLY IMPORTED just RM10k more than top spec god-car HRV 1.8. (I admit minus some top specs but equally same as HRV)

• ben yap on Nov 30, 2015 at 6:35 pm

i doubt the civic 1.5 turbo will be RM109K. how can a 1.5 turbo cheaper than the current 1.8 NA?

common sense will tell you that it will be between RM140k – RM150K.

• -_-||| on Nov 30, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Seeing u compare a cx3 with a civic also don feel like asking why already -_-|||
      Its ok, keep it to yourself.

• Good move to purchase in yen – avoid the volatile USD market. However, the Mazda price still relatively higher than T&H even it is CKD. Prefer if they can do something about it, if they want to increase the market share.

• neutral on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:44 pm

next year cx-9?

• aiyoh on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:51 pm

base CX-5 125K or top HR-V 120K

• powershot (Member) on Nov 30, 2015 at 6:00 pm

this news come as not a surprise as their initial prices were already relatively higher than their counterparts.

• Henry on Nov 30, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Ringgit also go down against the Yen but not as much as against the USD.

• Thanks for that

• To begin with, your price is high!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 01, 2015 at 1:03 am

Anyone wanna guess what is their new model for 2016?