Taxi company calls for higher fares for Uber, Grabcar

Big-Blue-Taxi-01

A taxi service operator has proposed that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) and government set a higher fare for ride-sharing and taxi booking (via mobile app) services. In reports by Bernama and The Malay Mail, Big Blue Taxi Services founder and advisor Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail said that this move should be put in place first before they are allowed to operate legally.

“A fare hike is apt (for Uber and Grabcar services) as these operators practise ride-sharing compared to the budget taxis which impose fare on one passenger at a time,” he said. Shamsubahrin also welcomed the initiative by the Transport Ministry to study possible regulations for ride-sharing services like Uber and GrabCar. However, he is not convinced that the resulting solution will be effective.

“I want to ask the government now, how do you want to regulate (Uber, Grabcar, etc.) in terms of the rate? Because if the rate is much, much cheaper than budget taxis which starts at RM4 and RM2, it means that the government and the ministry themselves are killing the industry,” he said.

Malaysia-Taxi-03

Shamsubahrin also suggested that these online app-based taxi services be registered under the limousine permit instead of the hire-and-drive ones employed by taxi drivers. “What permit do you want to give them? Is it hire and drive or limousine? It cannot be the same permit like a budget taxi…if that is so, the taxi industry will become worse,” he stated.

“If they are regulated well and imposed a higher rate, then I welcome them and none of the taxi services should be complaining. The rates must be higher and they must be registered as limousines. If you want to do sharing, it’s your problem, but it must be above the taxis,” he added.

Shamsubahrin also confirmed that he has submitted an application seeking for an injunction against ride-sharing companies for territory infringement that includes areas designated for taxis only.

uber-x-car

“One of the conditions fixed by property owners such as shopping malls, who engage us to pick up customers is that we have to ensure that all our vehicles must be Puspakom certified, have valid road tax and permits approved by the government as well as insurance with comprehensive liability coverage and that the cars must be in good condition.

“If it’s a metered taxi, then the rate must be displayed clearly and not tampered,” he said, adding that private hire companies do not possess proper insurance coverage nor permits for commercial purpose. However, Shamsubahrin said that he has no reservations about Uber and GrabCar divers operating in the same area as normal taxi drivers, but insists that they must prove their legality.

Do you agree that ride-sharing (Uber, GrabCar) and taxi booking (via mobile app) services should be charged higher rates? Or is there another alternative solution altogether? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Poor Rakyat on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:04 am

Cannot compete in the market? Change job la! Flip burger or whatsoever. That’s what most Malaysian are doing. Stop whining around, its easier to change yourself than changing others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 3
    • Ini Teksi untuk Kambing on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:54 am

Why increase Uber prices when cabs give such poor service?

Sunday i landed in klia2. Before existing at the first gate after baggage claims i bought my rm65 ticket with their official limo. It was a waja. Ride was terrible as all 4 absorbers were gone. I asked the driver he was brave enough to confirm all 4 absorbers were gone ie conpletely rosak and also his suspension was also rosak. I asked him why? He answered rudely, “Apa lagi you mahu, ini Proton lah “Kalau mau baik, ambik mercedes premeir limo”. Ini untuk bawak kambing” Finally after the journey, i vomitted as the ride was so bad.

My question to Spad, if you give all the teksi service to crony companies, can’t they maintain their cabs? After all rm65 is a lot of money. Meter cabs are only rm40. Inside this Waja cab there were so many Spad stickers but i know, no point complaining.

What would tourist also think?

With service like this, how dare they ask Uber to increase prices??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 0
      • Fengtau on Dec 29, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Haha i can smell fake story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 88
        • See how rude and dangerous of those Blue Innovas driving in town? Go on the red, cut-Q, shifting lanes and turn without signals. Great that their biz is hit now.

• abukik on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:01 am

You batter go to see doctor

• minions on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:27 am

Join Grabcar or Uber and work harder la. Stop working for the fat-ass BN cronies.

• don't listen to those sick ppl on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:26 pm

i used to suffer alot with taxi before i download myteksi application, really this myteksi is amazing and its fair to both driver and customer, i only pray that they don’t listen to those sick ppl and continue to support booking via mobile apps for our own good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Scarface on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:26 pm

You have no right to dictate the rate or set any condition. Be brave and match their rate, service quality, efficiency and effectiveness in running the business. Tak berani ke? Still wearing your diapers and sucking your pacifier? Cry in front of your mommy saying Uber and Grabcar bully ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • Uber pricing is actually very low. Cheapest is around RM1.50 for short travels. Really damn cheap. This is for the UberX, the lowest ranking Uber service

They also have Uber Black which is double the fare of UberX but with nicer cars. Still cheap compared to taxis.

So if they want to force Uber to raise price, then government can regulate all Uber to be at a minimum Uber Black. Win- win for all.

• Lol… i had taxi yesterday in JB. I was so suprise they are still lousy piece of shix milo tin proton iswara as a taxi. I believe iswara is more than 10 years right? How come spad still allowing them to do business. The name of taxi company is Comfort…07-3322852. Shame on u comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • 2kerja on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:12 am

Crazy. Don’t blame him, he’s just following the steps of one of the minister. He better get #2kerja

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
  • Jackson on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:13 am

Laws should be neutral, and not belong to someone’s tools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • dodgeviper88 on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:22 am

The fact that you want to increase uber’s fares to gain a competitive advantage shows lack of self-reflection and very typical special-rights mentality. Why don’t instead think and analyze why people can price cheaper and still make a profit? Anyways as an Uber driver they would support higher fares as it means higher profit for them and a big disadvantage for Uber is that they cannot be flagged down on the roadside like a regular taxi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • old dog on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:25 am

seriously, the taxi companies license should be lifted, and tender out to at least 3-4 companies as a reset to the industries and let the market be competitive in terms of the service.

was driven home from airport by a F1 Persona driver, and I will never take those taxi again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • pakwan on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:28 am

haiyoh this is the same guy as the NFC lembu-condo case lah…isn’t he supposed to be in jail for CBT?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • siaocom on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:33 am

GC starting rate (non peak) is RM7 while normal taxi is RM3. GC if peak hours can go up to RM10-14 starting rate. Isn’t this higher enough?

• Well for taxi, that’s the base price of rm3 but as for gc, it does cover up to 5km travel if you ask me.

Short distance it will be uber.
      Long distance take Grabcar.

Go airport, take uber

• 1 party give good service, comfortable ride, standard fare. the other party give crap service, crap ride, charge suka hati. now tell me mr sham, which one you prefer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • All these bumi cronnies are very pathetic. Everything want the government to intervene. Why the fark is the government intervening with open free market prices? The Government is already trying to do away with subsidies and let market forces do its work. Once the Government interfere with this, it will be very difficult to get out of it.

In simple terms, the “budget taxi” isnt so budget if you ask me. A review needs to be done as to why Uber can operate with these prices and “budget taxi” is struggling. Always trying to hide from the real issue. Clearly somewhere, we need to do away with that layer of cost. Bumi permit holders…?….Anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • MusTanG on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:41 am

Haiya. Why GrabCar and UBer need to hike their price?

Why don’t you taxis lower your price and compete nicely. Besides, you taxis using NGV. Them GrabCar & Uber using petrol wat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
  • Say Something on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:43 am

“If it’s a metered taxi, then the rate must be displayed clearly and not tampered,”
    And yet, most of you all just don’t use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • omegle on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:46 am

Yes, this is how the world works. If you can’t compete, ask government for help to increase competitor’s price.

• Bobby (Member) on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:46 am

Just like everything else in Malaysia, Proton cars, Aps,new infrastructures like high speed trains to nowhere just name a few, most of these Malaysian rubbish can not compete in the open market and hence introduce bias pricing and licensing etc to distort the market, with the citizen in general being the ultimate losers. Remember the education minister said recently that its dept found from a study that if English were to be made compulsory pass in secondary schools, the annual failure numbers would be 100,000 pupils from a batch of 300,000 examined students. So no English, and everything as well. What is left in this country is so much distorted, and more to come, that it is really a failed state but the country behaves as if it is not. Well, the truth hurts, and that will come sooner than later because no country in the world can survive without inter-dependency. The taxi drivers are true reflection of this and hooliganism has long gone out of fashion, so why protecting them if they are that good in being filthy and arrogance etc. Humbugs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Ken Tai on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:47 am

what has this guy been smoking? whatever happened to free market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • calcutta on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:51 am

mmm,sounds familiar…try to mask own incompetent with force price hike and tax
    proton style of addressing problem

• darrez on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:52 am

Sorry Shamsubahrin Ismail, ur datukship not found in http://www.istiadat.gov.my/… ur crony company can go to h*ll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Protected Rubbish.

• transformer on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:03 pm

He try using same old Proton mentality, higher tax non local makes… those low income no choice but to buy a P1 or P2. Looking at TIV report, we can easily know consumer stop buying P1 and turn to P2(Daihatsu) and even Honda City….

I can forsee, sooner or later, even at higher rate, Uber type will still kills old school Taxi bcoz of their bad attitude!

• All these Proton, ERL, taxi holders, lowyat 2, highway operators coming from the same camp. All cannot compete and want special treatment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Ahmad on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Crux of the problem for the Taxi in Malaysia is giving this license to companies to operate it. Initially it was a good idea to streamline operations, but it introduce after effects.
    The taxi company is the real culprit. Check with taxi driver what is the daily rental like?
    Who have to bear wear and tear cost?
    Who have to handle inspection cost? U spend the whole day at Puspakom, taxi rent you still have to pay, what if it failed inspection?
    What happened if driver involved in accident?
    Ask any taxi driver how long they have to spend driving daily to cover rental, petrol and maintenance cost?

My suggestion – give ownership back to the taxi driver. Remove all duties for them to purchase their own taxi, limit the age of taxi if possible. Probably find ways for them to be part of the company too… Else its all about the taxi owner company making profits and taxi driver just to make a living.
    Find ways too to regulate them so they can drive with pride and at the same time make a decent living to support and spend quality time with family instead of spending 16 hours daily to make a living.
    Grab Car, Uber all this is a result of Open Market – should be cheaper and better service. More to come that will affect other businesses too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Scarface on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:17 pm

If someone can come up with a business proposition that improve efficient commuting services at a lower, reasonable rate and yet still make money, consumers should give full support. Competitions with intelligent use of technology will benefit the rakyat. Isn’t it embarrassing to cry baby for protectionism? When will you grow up, stand like a man and face reality? One day, autonomous transportation will wipe out your business if you are still ignorant on this development. This is a technological risk in your many other business risks that you might have overlooked.

• ben yap on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:27 pm

yes! increase uber and grabcar fares. currently uber riders can ride only 700m and pay the driver a miserable RM2.

• JB_KIA on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Frankly, I won’t mind paying more for Uber…but don’t expect me to take your teksi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:59 pm

doesnt he look like Mini Me from Austin Powers???

• i think u should propose to government to ban car on the road.. everybody must use taxi only.

• Good idea on Dec 29, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Uber and grabcar are providing a good way in reducing the price and giving consumers a second choice. Why stop them?

• C.P.MOHAN on Dec 29, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Can’t survive take Ahmad Mazlan’s advice on jobs.

• ae101 on Dec 29, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Look at his face. Mcam bangsat stupid like maslan. Why the heck public want to pay more where uber and grabcar are everyone daily commute car. You want protek taxi, why not spad lower down the license to compete with uber and grabcar.

• mazlan on Dec 29, 2015 at 1:39 pm

This guy is talking full of bullshit. As if the services provided by taxis are top notch..flawless..when in fact they’re mostly crap. I’ve used mytaxi in Malaysia and Minicabster in London..they all give better service and better rate from normal crappy taxis..face the competition..stop asking to be pampered all the time..Malaysian have had enough of you crooks

• kimi's fan on Dec 29, 2015 at 1:39 pm

this is call competitive market, Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail

• Terrible statement. This is called competition. You cannot provide a decent service with a decent price does not mean you force others to follow your price. Where is the logic of business competition. In fact, you should be investigated under anti-monopoly law.

• I agreed with the price increase BUT not higher than taxi. It should be the same as a budget taxi price at the most. Not all UBER or Grabcar driver using a high end car, some are driving local cars too. So I find no reason for them to be priced at higher than a limo taxi.

And personally, I dont think it will help the taxi industry even with the price regulated since most of the time, it’s not the pricing but the attitude of the drivers. My own experience on taking taxi whenever I go to KL, if i like the driver, I will ask for his number and call him everytime I need a taxi service.

• In traffic jam, my crappy smell sotong tak c, u welcome in , no cois maaa., don worry la in malaysia this grabkrap taksi hangat hangat taik ayam na jalan la.

• This samsubrain fella is conman and a fraud. And the media decides to take him seriously by reporting the bullsh*t that comes out from his mouth.

• Quit being a taxi driver and join uber/grabcar.

• winwin on Dec 29, 2015 at 7:52 pm

There are 2 ways about it to settle the taxi industry problem which makes the rakyat happy.

1. Close down all taxi companies across the country and government take over via Prasarana (Rapid KL , Rapid PG). Prasarana will rent taxis to the drivers with competitive rates.No more crony company. Every 6 months, the taxi will be returned to Prasanara for proper Puspakom inspection, do proper maintenance and the drivers will be given another unit to earn their living. Just rotate the cars every 6 months among the drivers so that there is no excuse to say no time for maintenance.

2. Continue like this and ask those unhappy taxi companies and their drivers close shop. No job ??? Rapid KL got plenty of buses but not enough drivers. Ask these drivers go take E license and drive bus instead then. There will be more buses roaming the street. Besides Rapid KL buses all use auto gearbox, rather than manual ones with common taxi. It is more livable in city driving.

• veerics on Dec 29, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Government do whatever they can to increase cost of living for the Rakyat, as a rationale Rakyat we do whatever we can to reduce cost of living, which one you prefer?

• alldisc on Dec 29, 2015 at 6:29 pm

The reason why uber reluctant to be regulated.

• N.Lemak on Dec 29, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Hahaha… Whenever there is Nasi Lemak, there will be an issue.. This was one of the example!

• sick&tired on Dec 29, 2015 at 8:12 pm

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/ex-nfcorp-consultant-gets-73-years-jail-for-cheating-money-laundering

why isn’t this guy in prison!?

• dugongx on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:36 am

Everyone knows the kangaroo court is for show only. dumno cronies are untouchable

• Akmal on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Here’s my suggestion, rise it as you will, money gained from the increase will be compensated to the taxi drivers. Win-win

• Arffa on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:52 pm

lets be fair. Why they are so afraid of competition? For me I prefer to use online booking or grabcar/uber bcoz these ppl also has an experience with these budget taxis. They show manners & they are professional compared to most of the budget taxis drivers who always have dirty & smelly taxis plus no manners

• concern citizen on Dec 30, 2015 at 12:05 am

If Uber drivers are making more money, shouldn’t taxi drivers just quit and join Uber instead.

If Uber is paying their employees more then we should all join Uber to get paid higher instead of asking Uber to pay their employees less right?

• Well, someone shouldve be glad that they are pampered until these days before competitors come in. When there are things that are still profitable with a lower price with better quality compared to the others, it means that there might be something wrong to the particular conventional business, the employees, or even the system of the society.

• So, it’s better to kill the consumer? To save a few thousands narrow-minded taxi drivers?

Plus with the fare hike of LRT & the ERL, you will kill the tourism industry.

• I like his stupid statement “and none of the taxi services should be complaining”. As if the public care, hahaha as how they never care about the public’s complaints on their service. Kesian baru sedor ke bro?

• Love Uber on Dec 30, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Nowadays everybody looks for Cheap, Efficient & Convenient. Everything now are hike and Cekik Darah than you want Uber to hike their fare price ?. Taxi should reduce their price and ask other party to increase their fare.. Nonsense thinking..

• IGP mom on Dec 31, 2015 at 4:01 pm

If taxi drivers think Uber is cheap but can compete and earn more, by all means stop your taxi permit, get a domestic car and start becoming an Uber driver.