JPJ Selangor and Perlis seize cloned Singapore cars

Cloned-Odyssey-2

Buyers of cloned cars, you’re on the radar. The Selangor Road Transport Department (JPJ) has seized 65 cloned vehicles in the state since 2015, Bernama reports.

“These vehicles are smuggled (into Malaysia) from Singapore by syndicates, which also operate via the social media, especially Facebook, following requests from buyers here. Cloned vehicles are offered at a much cheaper price, for example RM4,000 to RM5,000 for a Toyota and the price offered is different for every brand and type of vehicle,” said Selangor JPJ director Nazli Md Taib, who added that cloned cars seized until yesterday include BMWs, Volkswagens, Subarus and Toyotas.

Nazli said the vehicles have no valid documents, and that they use vehicle registration numbers already registered in Malaysia. “Some of the registration numbers used by these cloned vehicles are still active and valid on the road. There are also some registration numbers used which are not active or have been disposed of by the owner,” he said.

Cloned-Odyssey-1Steevan Sinniah tracked down a cloned car bearing the same number plate as his Honda Odyssey in KL

The JPJ man said the department will cooperate with police and the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) to identify individuals involved in car cloning syndicates. He urged those who own cloned cars to hand the vehicles over to JPJ because possessing a one is an offence under the Road Transport Act 1987, although we can’t imagine many heeding the call.

The war against the clones is also happening up north in Kangar. In just three weeks from December 30, Perlis JPJ has seized 13 cloned cars. The haul included a Honda Civic, Honda Jazz, Toyota Vios and pricier cars like the BMW 7 Series and Nissan Fairlady Z. All were smuggled in from Singapore except two, which were from Thailand.

“Initial investigations revealed that the syndicate smuggling the vehicles sold them directly to consumers between RM4,000 and RM70,000 each. The smuggling in of these vehicles is believed to be masterminded by the syndicate which previously distributed them in the Klang Valley or in the south,” said Perlis JPJ director Zulhasmi Mohamad.

Cloned-cars-1

He added that the seized vehicles had unaltered chassis numbers, but were on existing Malaysian registration numbers. The cars were using false road tax and had no insurance coverage, Zulhasmi said.

Last week, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) said that it is actively pursuing syndicates involved in cloned vehicles. “We opened 34 investigation papers between 2012 and 2015, as we suspected there were elements of corruption in the cloned vehicle syndicates,” said MACC deputy chief commissioner of operations, Datuk Seri Mohd Shukri Abdul, who added that 21 people have since been arrested.

The JPJ is also looking at embedded smartcode radio frequency identification (RFID) tags in road tax stickers to combat cloned vehicles, which cost the government in taxes and burdens the owners of the original cars. The planned Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) system will also help the authorities track down foreign registered cars.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• maskman on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:33 am

How to solve this problem?
    Just reduce car price by removing all insane taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Kerajaan Prihatin dan Sayang Rakyat on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Why don’t we legitimise this business and allow Malaysians to buy cars for about RM4k?
      Our Government say it cares for the rakyat but until now, the 30% reduction in car prices also Najib tipu us.

So, why don’t you allow Malaysians to buy cheap cars from Singapore? They are all well maintained, all low mileage and all serviced from reputable dealers in Singapore.

the problem lies with a crony Government. All car manufacturers in Malaysia are indirectly or directly owned by Government. they don’t want to lose business by allowing Malaysians to buy good and cheap cars in Singapore.

By the way, so many BMW and Mercedes 10 years old being wasted whilst we are told to buy 6 figure cars in Malaysia.

Why?? to Untung Banks and Untung Car manufacturers. BOTH also heavily owned by the Government

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
      • George Abdul on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Just wondering if being seize/caught by police… just says is from “DONATION” then can run away from being arrested??? Just wondering…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Gov dont care! Anything they cannot untung, ban. Such as vape.

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:39 am

Syndicates? More like JPJ Police inside job lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Mari Mari Mari Tipu Rakyat on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Malaysia is now the top human trafficking capital in the world. Selling human slaves either for sex or organs.

And guess who are the big kingpins, it is the polis and also the Immigration. Immigration are hand in hand with all the traffickers. Ask any Bangla and Indon also, they can tell you, they can get passport or visa anytime eventhough they have overstayed 10 yrs in the country already.

The same with JPJ!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • komarad on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:50 am

so how many of those arrested were jpj staff??

• Gaji RM3k Per Day on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Until now they cannot even arrest their own JPJ officers on the field. 99% of them are corrupted to the core and asking money from every car and lorry driver.

I know one JPJ officer, everyday also earn RM3k per day. Even doctor study MBBS also for 5 years and another 4 years housemanship (9 years) cannot earn RM3k per day.

He himself admit to me his earnings. Just do SPM only but can earn RM3k per day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • jimmy on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:53 am

some members of the syndicates are also government servants in police , JPJ ,

apparently a cloned 5 series can be had for less than 30k

• JPJ No Balls - Open Letter to Minister on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:15 pm

All this drama by JPJ and MACC. MACC and JPJ themselves know that the big culprits are their own officers. This, as with all scandals, is an inside job.

JPJ Director General Ismail Ahmad is pretending Government is losing so much of money and all that but he himself knows, the JPJ are hand in hand with the syndicate and sharing profits. Of course its not the whole JPJ involved, but director general knows who the inside men are. MACC also knows. But they will never touch them.

Such scandals can never happen unless you get inside help. Datuk first needs to clean up whis officers. They are dirty like hell. Not only every road block they are asking money, now they have gone into bigger scale doing cloning.

This has been going on for 20 years. The JPJ themselves sell road tax to all those Bentley owners supposed to pay RM18k per annum but special printed free road tax to all the Bentley owners are done inside the JPJ using fake road tax.

My advice to JPJ, clean up your act. Not only your officers on the road are so corrupted, now, you are on a bigger scale cheating Malaysians.

My advice to MACC, go catch your big boss. He sapu RM2.6 billion also, until now, MACC balls so takut. Taib sapu RM85 billion also, until now MACC balls shiver.

Open and blatant corruption MACC cannot handle, apa lagi JPJ?

Until today, go around Klang Valley and see all the Bentleys, their road tax supposed to be RM18k per year but they only pay RM4k per year. This also the JPJ got no bola to handle. This alone deprives tens of million of ringgit to the Government.

But Government also scared to do anything cause all the Bentley owners are UMNO boys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Why AP PEKEMA Penipu in Business?? on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Why don’t the Government care for Malaysians and allow Malaysians to buy cheap cars from Singapore? If we can buy 10 year old (Singapore maximum is 10 yrs old before demolition) cars at RM4k and above, won’t it help Malaysians a lot?

To the average Malaysian, the car payment is the 2nd heaviest after our house. It takes a big chunk of our salary. If we can buy cheaper cars, then we will have more money to spend on food, clothes, vitamins for our children.

So why does the Government give AP to the AP PEKEMA Penipu to import from UK and Japan when we can have good cars from Singapore? After all the UK and Japan cars are 5 years old and the mileage is super high before the AP Cowboys clockdown the milegae cheating Malaysians.

If our AP cars came from Singapore at least we can go across to Singapore to verify the actual mileage of these cars before buying.

I cannot understand why the Government make us suffer with high car prices when we can buy a good Toyota from Singapore for a few thousand ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • BeemerFreak on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Well there s a solution to this that does not require government intervention. By removing exise duty all together the market forces will reduce the need for such cars…

• Vijay on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:40 pm

I am currently going through this problem. Someone is driving the cloned version of my car with the same number, got caught in AES cam and i got a summon :( . At first I thought it was my car and then i noticed the difference in the bonnet and now am going through the tough system (JPJ,POLIS DI RAJA MALAYSIA).I have complained twice and not a single solution form them. Am a foreigner and its very hard to make them understand.But after checking this document I think I know what to talk to them. Any thoughts on how to approach them is much appreciated and welcomed.

• Bolehland on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:42 pm

To be very honest and citizen of bolehland, my country is corrupted with nasi lemak and their nasi lemak technology. Even if you complaint to head of JPJ, they are not going to take proper action or delayed solution only. My suggestion is to take a video on their lazy and irresponsible feedback and viral it in facebook. You may stand a chance. But remember, this is nasi lemak managed country!

• Ootai on Jan 23, 2016 at 6:13 pm

If you are a foreigner, my advice is for you is to move to another country. These mess have been going in circles for 58 years.

• Someone stole a Honda city off me on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:20 pm

How about you guys track down stolen cars within Malaysia instead tracking down cloned cars? I don’t see harm in people buying cheap cars but what I do see is innocent people having their cars stolen by some *unknown* force. Cheers

• Firdaus on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:19 pm

With the unaltered chasis no, malaysia can inform the singapore authorities which in turn will know from which car scrapper the car belongs to.

I dont think singaporeans will just cross the causeway and sell off their cars to malaysians.

For sure they have to deregister the car with the LTA in singapore. and to do that, im sure there are documentations involved from the scrapper.

• Kesian on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Kesian JPJ nie…. Sekarang side biz takde lagi la!

• If you get caught having / driving the cloned car.. what will be the punishment? Or denda?