Proton’s 1.3 turbo, 6MT “should logically appear” in future Proton models before GDI/TGDI arrival – CTO

2015-proton-iriz-1.3-turbo-prototype- 001

At last year’s Alami Proton event, the national carmaker showcased a Proton Iriz and Proton Exora that packed a prototype powertrain – a 1.3 litre turbocharged engine mated to a six-speed manual transmission. Given that there has been explicit interest from the public, we questioned Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa on whether said powertrain is still in the pipeline, and how it would fit in with its upcoming new engine line-up.

Rashid began by explaining that downsizing is one of the key activities in lowering emissions and promoting better fuel efficiency. He continued on by stating that Proton’s progression plans means it will not wait for the arrival of its new GDI/TGDI engines, one of which includes a 1.2 litre three-pot that is said to be “packaged suitably to the right vehicle,” to be revealed in the future.

When asked if the 1.3 litre turbo (not the TGDI) will appear in future Proton vehicles first before the new mills’ arrival, Rashid replied, “I mean logically, it should,” and mentioned that the 1.3 litre turbo along with the six-speed manual transmission was “superb.” He went on to say that the powertrain will represent “performance made affordable,” and quoted a 0-100 km/h time of between 8-9 seconds.

As a recap, the Proton Iriz and Exora seen at the Alami Proton event packed a 1.3 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine and a six-speed Getrag manual transmission. Information displays revealed that the engine had an output of 140 hp at 5,750 rpm, and 190 Nm of torque from a low 1,800 to 5,000 rpm. That makes it more powerful than the current 1.6 litre CFE engine offered (138 hp/205 Nm).

The prototype Iriz was listed as having a claimed 0-100 km/h time of 8.7 seconds, in line with Rashid’s statement. At that time, we were told that the two cars were mere prototypes that are still a long way from coming to market. Unfortunately, that still remains the case, as we weren’t given an estimated arrival of the powertrain, but it’s good to know that the national carmaker still has that plan on their cards. Interested?

GALLERY: Proton Iriz 1.3 turbo, six-speed manual prototype

GALLERY: Proton Exora 1.3 turbo, six-speed manual prototype

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 03, 2016 at 3:30 pm

as long as came out from Proton, no matters is 2.0 turbo or 3.0 turbo, its still a junk rubbish product. Weak after sales service for a decade oled, still dun wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 91
    • Tokok on Feb 03, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Proton enough tokok already la. For the past 2 weeks keep publicizing not useful rumors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
      • kzm (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:20 pm

It is paultan team who doing that to get traffic to their site. Paultan.org can do article in one go if they want…but they want to get pipu like u to click everyday..other news dont bring much traffic to paultan.org.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Hi, the decision to split the stories was mine. It was done as such not for more clicks, but for legibility. With one long article covering everything, some of the minor points may get buried and lost.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
          • kzm (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Im not criticizing..nothing wrong if u guys do that oso.

• kazanixm on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:25 pm

I do agree on what you are doing as usually if the article is too lengthy, definitely some peoples would not read it.

Ignore those ‘pipu’ that does not like to read on stories about our homegrown car

Keep on coming writing on interesting stories Hafriz Shah!

• Aero (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Hi Hafriz, I fully approve of your choice to split them. I think these ‘staggered article releases’ for Proton’s new engine announcement are WAYYY better than one big, long and almighty article.

It’s easier to digest the big announcement this way, bit by bit, day by day. The news will remain in people’s minds, it will be easier to remember all of this another 2 or 3 years down the road.

I don’t think paultan.org is giving unnecessarily high exposure or showing favouritism with all these Proton articles. It’s big news, it’s simply unjust to cram it all into one article.

Best regards.

• dear hafriz, i got no prob if your team came with this kind of article. but i got a prob when your team didn’t filter those tasteless comments. so don’t be surprised that ppl said that your team only cares about number of click. coz it looks like it

• nope…i like it split so that i can comments in each of the articles…

• George Abdul on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:26 pm

With this Proton are moving to a right way “Turbo 6MT” please price is right to affordable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Feb 03, 2016 at 8:50 pm

If 60k Then I just say no. Refuse to pay 25k amount as tax to the government.

60k will kill myvi se and extreme sales though.

• hailthepurist on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:56 pm

why took so long to finally listen to our needs..

• Well now this is a right track to go.. But before the 1.3L turbocharged with 6MT do came out. Pls work on the reliability and quality first. These shld come top then only pricing second. Don’t make a car just to sell it. Fixed that and the sales will take care on its own..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Sorry JJ , this 30 year old serial killer have already MURDERED thoudands of M’sian & buyer in UK/Australia. .. too late

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • lolpanda on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:09 pm

agreed, most look at spec sheet numbers but overlook more important aspects like reliability, build quality, and safety.

and most forget that advertised power figures are nothing if most power is lost by the time it gets to the wheels…a car isn’t just its engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Feb 03, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Wow! I’m gonna put my life savings 4 this!!!

• john is otak batu on Feb 04, 2016 at 8:36 am

Gosh, ppl still like u even talk like smoking weed.
      Proton fans always feel high themselves.

Do give me all your 1000 dislike
      Bunch of blind proton supporters!

• Untung rugi on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:00 pm

When Proton can publish financial report to rakyat? Still big loss by Lotus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • lolpanda on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:03 pm

i think you meant to write “105 hp** at 5,750 rpm” as displayed in your attached photos of the Alami Proton event.

part the reason why these cars can achieve ~9sec century sprints is because of its weight..i sure hope they didn’t compromise on safety materials to achieve these numbers. No number of airbags can replace a proper chassis build for safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • tinmilo on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:09 pm

If go by logic… Proton shouldn’t be allowed to survived until today..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • Nah! If go by human logic, all those who supported, sold, and bought moving coffins shudnt be allowed to survive. Then again, its just a matter of time

• New Putra please

• Jobless on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Wow, dunno how many new engines frum Prodon really confusing…everyday makes announcements or partnersips or cars wrapped in newspaper sightings..but no real car to sell only lousy models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • lilytan on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Still waiting for the emas concept, hybrid n ev to be out as promised long time ago.

• Jongos on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Almost identical number with swift sport.. Good luck, hopefully the price is convincing.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Any chances of producing Preve Turbo and Suprima in manual transmission Proton?

• Waiter on Mar 13, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Get this thing out already…no more waiting