VIDEO: Things NOT to do when you’re at a fuel station

Here's what NOT to do when you're at a fuel station…

Posted by Paul Tan's Automotive News on Thursday, February 4, 2016

Refuelling is something that most of us do every week or so, sometimes more. Thing is, though, not everyone is aware of what you can and cannot do at fuel stations. To address this issue, do watch this short public service announcement, brought to you by Petronas Primax, featuring Driven Web Series hosts.

The most common mistake is leaving your engine running while refuelling. Fuel is obviously flammable. In fact, it’s not just the fuel itself; even the fumes are flammable. The last thing you want is to ignite it. An engine that’s left running presents potential sources of fuel igniters, be it the hot exhaust system or even sparks from the electronics. There’s a reason why some vehicles require the key to access the fuel filler cap.

Next up, using your mobile phones or, God forbid, smoking while at the pumps. Burning something within the vicinity of the station can be absolutely catastrophic. As for mobile phones, vape or any other electronic devices, it’s about preventing risks. There’s a chance, no matter how small, that they may cause an electrical spark. The odds are tiny, but there’s no point in taking that risk. It’s best to avoid such a risk altogether.

Petronas Coffee Break 1

Bikers, it’s a must to get off your motorcycle before refuelling. Bike fuel tanks are much smaller than those in cars, and they usually have very short filler necks or none at all. When you’re filling up to a full tank, there’s a bigger chance of fuel spilling out. And when that happens, where will the fuel go? Right down to the hot engine, where it might catch on fire. It that happens, the last place you want to be is there sitting on the bike.

In short, safety should not be taken lightly, be it out on the roads, or at fuel stations. On that note, Petronas has launched its Chinese New Year Coffee Break campaign for 2016, serving 880,000 cups of free coffee at 142 Petronas stations on the weekends of February 6 to 7 and February 13 to 14.

Happy Chinese New Year and remember, stay safe on the roads, and continue your journey with Petronas Primax.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• George Abdul on Feb 04, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Great job Driven crew, hahaha Johnathan you really left you “pretty wife” there alone lol?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Onanodus on Feb 04, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Mythbusters have proven that there is no harm in using your mobile phone at the pump.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
    • You’re right. But then being on the phone when you are doing something potentially risky may have unexpected indirect consequences. You might not notice or be slow to see fuel overflow or react to it for instance – when you are engaged on the phone. Same situation when people use the phone while crossing the road. No the phone is not going to kill you directly, your attention to it instead of the traffic could.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • And tested by michaelooi.

• It’s the spark that could come out from keypad. If your phone has no keypad? Well it’s less likely

• IGP mom on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:13 am

mythbuster is not always right though. There have been countless accidents in Malaysia since mythbuster article in 1999!

Do you know the test in which a few phones ringing at the same time receiving call can ignite fire from bushes? The microwaves involve can fry at the right position.

Quoting oil companies is the worst possible account. No one will shoot their own foot.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 04, 2016 at 9:30 pm

I tot Jonathan already left paultan..

• Safety safety bla bla bla. In the end, 300k pipu buy moving coffins and drive like ah beng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • Balik Tidur Bang on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:21 am

hello budak UMNO, tolong jangan kurang ajar sini. Balik tidur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Luqman on Feb 04, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Good job Paultan!

• Chingu on Feb 05, 2016 at 12:28 am

I thought there is more than that…. How about leaving your car refill while going into the shops? or toilet… some people not even refill but just park the car and leave… how about when using air pump, filling fuel slowly..

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Feb 05, 2016 at 6:59 am

DO NOT FARK when filling the fuel folks !! U might just get killed by another annoyed customers standing right next to u. Fark is also combustible.

• alldisc on Feb 05, 2016 at 8:34 am

good video this. but also a good thing to practise is whenever we get out of the car, touch the car body to remove electric static current. this will reduce risks of petrol vapour cathing fire.

• holofanboi on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:21 am

I do this every single time im at the station! Lazy to explain to bystanders why i keep touching my car when its dirty.

• klguy on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:42 am

switching off the engine is the utmost the most important thing to do…never seen such nuisance in the 90s….lately, pls are just too lazy

• Yippi33 on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:03 am

I think passengers should also unbuckle their seatbelts during filling up. Just in case of emergency, they can save time.

• holofanboi on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:19 am

A surprisingly entertaining public service announcement xD! Bravooooooo

Any chance for more similar videos every month or so?

• Calvin on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:46 am

Things not to do; Do not spray your kawasaki in suzuki livery colors.