Proton to announce future product recalls openly

Proton upgrades customer service 13

In the future, Proton will be taking the initiative to notify its customers directly for all service fixes (recalls). The national carmaker’s CEO, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah made the statement during the media preview of the new 2016 Proton Perdana.

Harith explained, “previously, we’ve done our service fix initiatives quietly. We would wait for customers to come for a service appointment, and then carry out the fixes. But if the customers do not come in (to authorised Proton service centres), then the problems will come.”

“Now, we will actively call and reach out to the customers through email, SMS, Whatsapp. That will all be done. It’s all about honesty here,” he said.

Proton’s recently conducted service fix initiatives include models like the Inspira, Suprima S, Preve and Saga, where components like the car’s V-belt, wiring harness and radiator fan motor relay were required to be replaced.

The process of intensifying service fix initiatives has already begun for Proton – starting with vehicles that carry its CFE engines, where a recall has been made for an issue relating to the engine’s oil cooler hose.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Its about time. But the CEO shud have elaborated why the din do standard recall procedure like others.

In b4 my myvi brake judder issue was not admitted or recalled or resolved even after replace 2 times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • silent recall is normal practice for a lot of brands.

• Sammy Vellu on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:32 pm

My Saga SV, year 2014, have went to COSE Shah Alam for regular services since new, have never received any service fix for “Radiator Fan Motor Relay Power burnt’ before. (Most recent service was on Feb 02).

My best friend’s Suprima S, also serviced at COSE Shah Alam since 2013, has never received any ‘Wiring Harness’ service fix before as well.

So I assume the ‘quiet service fix initiatives’ is done really really quietly, that we customers don’t even know about it, or have never been informed about it at all.

• Yous or your friend’s chassis number might not affected. For inspira v belt issue, if not mistaken it was for those first 5,000 units

• camtakpro on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:51 pm

They tried to semi-value your Proton car.

Instead of decided to announce recalls openly – try hard not to make cars that need to be recalled.

Those self-disintegrate gear knob, signal stalks, important clips in the engine bays, buttons, door handles should not happen in the first place.

• Bijan on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:52 am

What Latuk CEO means is that “quietly” replace if customer complain. Otherwise, don’t need to replace.

• Nonsense logic on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Others makan sambal you also follow tambah belacan kah?

• Annoynimouse on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:55 am

Well my friend, Proton won’t call you to fix you Myvi would it?

• Matchy on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:08 pm

So, what they are trying to said is that previously they are not honest and try to hide it if the owner didn’t go for service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Let bygone be bygone, at least now they are trying to be more open rather than insist they got quality despite having the quality issues, this is a good step forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Don’t worry, you will not get called. No recall means no problem

• MeToo on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:14 pm

“It’s all about honesty here,” he said.

Took them 33 years to start being honest? Nice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Meaning all these while… Not so honest?

• Atilla on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:34 pm

These are not recalls. They are warranty fixes. Proton ia trying to distort the truth.

• driver on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:06 am

at least they dare to talk about honesty.. and not being kantoi like VW dieselgate scandal.

oh wait, it’s VW, so OK la…i just shut my mouth.

• Albert on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:30 pm

OMG…”connector melted”.
    Imagine,the wiring melts and the whole bladdy car catch fire.
    I rather have other problems than MELTING PROBLEMS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • U mean u rather have power-window-catch-fire-issue than this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Albert on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Tokok John,dont tokok.The power window issue is separate issue.Everyone knows the bladdy crony supplier supplied and resupplied defective power windows for the wira especially.
        We are talking about protong’s latest 3 models.Nobody is complaining about power windows now.
        100,000 units defective parts…imagine the bladdy crony supplier for the CFE components.He can bungkus,can he absorb the losses like giant Takata for airbag components?
        Thats why proton has been keeping low profile when recalls surface until the public became furious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Oh yeeahh… toyota safety compromising power window on fire is not toyota problem. Can be dihalalkan, can be dimaafkan. But when comes to P1 non-safety compromising power window fail to function, u go whack left right and center as if P1 just killed ur entire 7 generations cuz they can open the window to pay TnG. Ini mesti semua salah P1, kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Mimau on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:27 am

It’s just the fan connector. The engine will overheat. The temp indicator goes up, CEL indicator lights up and you’ll feel less engine power. If you’re a competent driver, you’d already stop and turned the engine off, call for assistance or wait for it to cool down. If you’re not, then it’ll burn. Most owners just do an easy fix: cut the wire connector off and just tie and tape both wire harness together. Voids warranty though.

• Jemput turun on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:43 pm

He meant last time they cover up

• Frank on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:27 am

Have been sending my flx to Proton service. A familiar service person do prompt me about fix that is marked my flx. I noticed that for sure. However it is not fair to those that didn’t come in for service.

• My 3rd Proton on Feb 17, 2016 at 3:55 pm

A timely recall for the Gen2’s low mounted, cast aluminium oil pan would have saved me the cost of two oil pans in 2 years, and crashing my car (lighty) when the oil spilt onto the front wheels in the rain once. Other cars crashed too after me, on my oil. Sorry about that! The third oil pan fitted was of a different design (ribbed for strength) 10 mm further off the ground, (and now 10mm higher than the lowest suspension part which takes the scrapes from grounding). I’ve had no trouble during 8 years of motoring with the new design. If only they had got it right the first time, or admitted the design problem earlier.