Proton to overhaul its service network, prioritise integrated premium outlet services (4S, 3S and 1S+2S)

proton-sg-petani-4s_BM

Proton’s quest to reinvent itself includes the introduction of brand-new products, starting with the 2016 Proton Perdana, with others models set to follow. While new products are certainly welcomed, ensuring the total customer experience (sales, after-sales and service) remains an important factor.

As such, Proton has already begun the process of restructuring its outlets to become either one of three premium models – 4S, 3S or 1S+2S. According to Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, CEO of Proton, it is now a case of “quality over quantity” for Proton.

This process of overhauling its service network will involve a significant amount of transformation on Proton’s part. “There will be no more new 2S centres just to add quantity. We want proper 4S or 3S management, and for areas where 4S/3S centres can’t be set up, we will do a 1+2S,” said Harith.

Proton upgrades customer service 3

“When you sell a car, you’re responsible to manage the car, to the point where the customers would then consider buying a new Proton car instead of from other brands.

“Previously, we’ve had recalcitrant 1S dealers, where even the PDI checks were not done properly. So from now on, we will only do 4S, 3S or 1S+2S. We will also have audit teams going out to check if all dealers out there meet our new KPIs,” he explained.

“Out of our 400 outlets, 121 will be premium outlets, which are able to provide the new level of experience that we want to achieve. The rest, they either change, or go out,” he added.

To go hand-in-hand with the upgraded service network, Proton will also encourage customers to return to its certified centres for any after-sale needs. This can be done via a direct appointment or its call centre, where reminders will be provided in the lead-up to the service date.

Additionally, selected service centres will be open seven days a week, with Proton’s Centre of Service Excellence in USJ being the first to do so under a pilot programme. Since then, more Proton Edar outlets in the Klang Valley have subsequently done so. Today, the programme has been expanded to 49 outlets nationwide. Selected outlets will also carry insurance and road tax renewal services as well.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• jobless on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:12 pm

How about OVERHAULING the Managament??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • George Abdul on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Just wondering Proton really walk the talk? Or make another empty promises “like always do (20 years history)” Asia Volvo or Asia BMW or Global car…

• Even with so many ‘S’s, Proton still make an ‘@SS’ out of you

• Potong 10s Service Outlets also useless !! on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:35 pm

The first picture of the Potong 4s center already shows the true nature of potong staff, lepak, smoking outside buying time until closing, see those 2 potong staff lepaking at the side, it can be 4s, 10s also no difference, the center can be full of people sending their car in, but the Potong staff will still continue to lepak, take like 10 smoke break, jalan – jalan cari free makan, disturb the female receptions, just for 1 item to replace, print like 10 pages of paperwork and walk to the other side of the building to pass to admin and so call all the bullshit to by time until customer fed up, a simple service job can take hours, basic regular servicing can take 1 full day, close to 8 or 9 hours at times to complete, that also sure got some problem afterthat, the Potong staff will come back and say “itu kita boleh buat esok, hari dah tamat, kalau mau simpan u punya potong car sini, kita buat besok hari !! Next day call in the afternoon, car not touched at all, telling need a few more hours to check !! The earlier statement made that Potong Service Center sucks is not true, its shit, a bunch of monkeys are giving to run this all potong service centers in Malaysia. Wanna change, then set your stupid kpi’s by timelines, example regular service and checks done in 30mins if not completely free, full service 1 hour … end to end service, complete checks after service and delivered to the customer in an hour, anything more than that, its free Potong pay, small replacement or changes of interior parts, engine parts, other car parts, set a tangible time frame, anything above that, Potong picks up the full bill FOC for the customer. That what you call overhaul, don’t just talk all the time, show you can meet the time or pay the price for the customer, that time see whether the Potong staff can lepak sumore coz if they fail, they pay kena potong or better kena fired !! THEN you can call yourself Potong 10S service center !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Henry on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:16 pm

I really hope Proton can become a winner some day. The country has been carrying this baby for far too long.

• proton driver on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:37 pm

4s = sales, spoil, sohai service, sampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:00 pm

I seriously hope they get rid of those ‘wakil’ sc.. They suck so bad it brings tears to ur eyes…
    Why dont they operate those sc directly under them? Sc’s are actually pretty profitable…
    Bt generally those so called authorized centers are crap, staff kno jackass abt watever issue u bring to them

• A little too late…might as well just overhaul the company by selling it to a more capable owner.