2016 Proton Perdana – initial specifications revealed

2016 Proton Perdana specs shots 1

With all the spyshots of the 2016 Proton Perdana, we’ve just got a glimpse of some of the items that will be featured in the national flagship D-segment sedan, which is based on the previous-generation Honda Accord.

Additionally, we’ve been told that the Perdana is now officially open for booking. The price has not been set yet, but Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed candidly said at a briefing today that it will be priced between RM100k-RM150k. Also, the launch date for the car has not yet been finalised, but there’s a possibility of it arriving sometime in the first quarter, so the word goes.

Inside, items include paddle shifters and cruise control, and also on is an infotainment system with GPS navigation and reverse camera function, dual-zone automatic air-conditioning, anti-trap power windows for the front, a tilt and telescopic steering and a power-adjustable driver’s seat.

2016 Proton Perdana specs shots 2

The Perdana will be equipped with a 2.4 litre engine offering 181 hp and 222 Nm of torque. Paddle shifters and cruise control are also to be found. Safety-wise, the Perdana will come equipped with airbags (no specific mention of how many), electronic stability control as well as ABS with EBD.

Previously, the car has been sighted with L-shaped LED tail lights, a rear diffuser, a tall rear lip spoiler and DRLs. The Perdana was also spotted with a black-and-beige interior scheme with brown wood trim.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• hahaha on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:52 pm

the car unveiling pictures looks like some people looking up something they should’t….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Donkey John on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:19 pm

RM150K for a Proton? Ha, ha, nope.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 3
      • Koloh on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:12 pm

For 100k i can get used 2012 camry.. lol.. wtf with that price.. what proton thinking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
        • OMG…> RM100K, better buy Jap c-segment lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Proton 5S principles:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sangat Mahal
            5. Siapapun tak beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 17
        • Beg to differ. 2012 Camry doesn’t drive half as good. Plus, it’s an uncles car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
        • Brand new 2016 car vs 4 years old car with 10 years old Toyota technology…what a thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
          • DO you mean a brand new 2016 car base on a 2008 Honda Accord Gen 8 technology? LOL that’s why some still love to modify their old Perdana

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:52 pm

I know so many people bought Perdana and at the same time, as a 2nd car, they bought either a Camry or an Accord.

After 12 years, the Perdana becomes Rm3000

After 12 years, the Accord still can sell RM60k

After 12 years, the Camry still can get RM60k.

That alone will show you, after 10 years, your Perdana becomes scrap metal. ZERO RV car.

Also, ask any Perdana owner, after 10 years, they would have spent a BOMB in maintenance in maintenance and repairs alone

The Perdana Owner, after 10 years, over RM100k in maintenance and repairs.

The Camry owner, after 10 years, at most RM30k in maintenance and repairs.

The Accord Owner, after 10 years, at most Rm25k in maintenance and repairs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 25
        • Correction. The Camry owner, after 5 years, skidded in rain cuz no VSC, and masuk longkang then burst into flames. The end

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 39
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Not every car skid in rain but EVERY Proton is guaranteed to break down at the roadside. Don’t believe me? Go get a Proton then I wish you good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 68
          • I have a 2008 Gen2 CPS. Never needed to tow. Ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 17
          • Same L0rrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Oops, new Perdana 2.0 no VSC also. So will it skid in rain and burst into flames like Exora (Although no need to skid also can burst into flames)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
          • MoFaz (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Same L0rr.. did you know that VSC and ESC is the same thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • Same Lorr on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Yes, i know. I also know Gen 2 CPS has none of it. So will john’s Proton masuk longkang or is it a special modified one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • how much is the price of accord and how much is perdana? please compare apple to apple, price to price. not compare mango with grape.

• ‘Anti Trap Power Windows’? Hahaha… Of course lah, it’s from Honda, not Proton. In Iriz, Proton dare not say that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 33
      • preve on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:12 pm

from honda?? even preve have that‘Anti Trap Power Windows’. are you just coming out from cave?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 13
        • Even my saga have that ‘Anti Trap Power Windows’. It’s just that it sometimes get stuck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • Juara also have anti trap power windows. LOL!!!

• Anti-Trap because the window will FAIL hahahahahahaha. How to trap anything when can’t move

• Steady on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Power window ok, Proton Boleh!

• Atilla on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:31 pm

It just tells you what their fantasies are

• George Abdul on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Starting from 100k??? Tun DrM never learn… but still way less expensive compare to c-segment in Malaysia aka Bolehland !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
  • hailthepurist on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:53 pm

theopulous chin nailed it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Matchy on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Maybe they just took theopulous chin’s render and adjust the contrast…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • FIST (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Bahhhh just launch it already.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:58 pm

150k for da 2.4 full spec sounds good to me actually.. Lets see the final product…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 28
    • Pay additional 20K can get Honda Accord 2.4 already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
      • nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:07 pm

n why should i do that??????? flawed logic bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • Kansai on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:38 pm

YEAH and experience lesser of ‘ini biasa lah’ when complaint problems to Proton SC…excuses more than solving the issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Ever1canTalk on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:07 pm

RM100k~150k? Must be kidding, right? At this price range, there are many other better choices! Good luck ya potong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 18
  • that silhouette tho….

• Jimmy on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:16 pm

My advices are:
    1. 6 airbags + esp across the range
    2. 108 888 for 2.0L, and 138 888 for 2.4L; cannot exceed Nissan Teana basic spec. You ceo/deo/eeo etc etc from Proton top managements please go and test drive Teana 2.0L before you finalise your price, for your own sake.
    3. Please, no more 89 days for a power window warranty claim or equivalent.
    4. Some people are better at various aftersale services, the ones who are better should get the jobs/promotions, regardless white cats or black cats. Unless you dont want to make money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 4
    • Is Jimmy not from suzuki on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Huh?

• Jason on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:43 pm

Also, since the price range is from RM100k to RM150k. I suggest for highest spec, please add few more items.

Four tires pressure monitor system. Front, rear and two side cameras, front parking sensors. These few items won’t taking over RM5k. Even a very good quality with GPS, and touchsreen LCD display won’t hit over 15k plus a anti-theft security system in the package.

Just to match the meaning of “Perdana” and let peoples feel premium and high class.

• jinggo on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:18 pm

150k baik beli new honda accord lahanat.. jual la murah sikit.. degil tahap bangang la proton ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Andas on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Bro, its between 100k to 150k.. u want high spec but pay 100k, gila apa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • gaviny on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:20 pm

later proton will reveal that no mechanical changes were made to the car, bashers were bashing honda tech

• BigBalls on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:22 pm

just launch it already, its just another Accord with different badge and a new fancy bodykit, whats the hype all about??

I anticipate my next poop more than this useless car launch

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • policeman on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Curse Proton. Recipe for a lousy car is what they used for the Perdana.

No option for manual gearbox – check
    Beige interior – check
    Nasty wood trim – check
    Badly positioned LCD screen – check
    Typo error on presentation (Air0cond) – check

And the best – mismatched bumper & body paint colour. Ini trademark dia next to rattly interior. Eventhough this is somewhat badge engineered, rattles will appear. Why? Cos they cut cost on clips and screws.

Same case with my Inspira. But easy to settle, gua order clip dan skru dari Mitsu Jepun. Tukar semua skru inspira. Kaotim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • I thought nobody knows….yes they cut cost on screw and nuts…Mitsubishi original nuts are of better quality too

• Air0cond.. laughed my ass off

• Many people can’t wait for this car. Hopefully, Proton can get it right for the d segment. Honestly, I don’t think this model and segment will be profitable for P1, but maybe P1 already realize this and aiming for changing people’s perception only with this model.

p.s. It’s in the drive. Nice tagline. No more boosting in something that is not true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Ever1canTalk on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:28 pm

RM150k which alike the same price range with other cars that applied taxes that almost 50% additonal of its selling price, still considere no profit? Then better don’t waste time in this business!

• Segment D is a very small segment in Malaysia. How come it will be profitable if the number of selling is low. The only way is to expand the market, means to import it. But I don’t think this perdana can make it outside as the new accord is already out there when p1 launched it.

• Waaa…sorry, not interested.

• Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Again… this is what we’re supposed to be proud of?

A rebadged 6yr old design. cosmetic changes only. and yet 6 months to go into production. 100-150k.

I really don’t know what it will take for people to condemn Proton to its graveyard where it belongs. Worse and worse by the day, yet there are still people who take them seriously. Like Kanye West.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:40 pm

no powered passenger seat, wth, 101k, and nkt a penny more

• shawal on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:46 pm

preve cfe 1.6 turbo is 78k ( over 9 years)

if the new perdana is priced at 148k, then u r getting almost 2 preves, izzit worth that much? u dont even get passenger electric seat, only driver,

perdana maybe maximum 40k worth more than the preve, around 118k, similarly priced against Japanese c segmenters…

Mind u, if u wish to gamble on a d segment at around 130-140, u cn get 3-4 years old accords, camries and teana at that price….

• W204 C63 AMG on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Sole 2.4L engine? The typical proton buyers can’t even afford the road tax LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • meejawa on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Why still use the old Proton logo in the slide if new one already announced? :S

• Ya, you are right. This might be done by theopilus chin or someone (I can do that also) to make some ‘news’ for you all since complaint always clearest view of accordana. How could a slide show so simple put all feature into a page. All the information is known by everyone.

• Maybe the preview was done before the new logo launch? PT wud need adhere to NDA period, u know…

• Nissan on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:49 pm

2.4L engine. Good luck! Government servant got lubang to gorek through the high maintainance cost again.

• Hazlinah on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Ah Pek, nobody cares how much you wanna sell this junk. Things is nobody will ever buy a proton anymore. Don’t you understand ah Pek, we just want your junk company proton to shut down???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Proda Peracord on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:03 pm

This is NOT a proton this is a Honda Accord. Grand father M you shud name it Honton Perccord or Proda Acdena or better Proton Accord or Honda Perdana. What a disgrace to yourself and to all Malaysians. You have to rebadge a old generation Accord of another manufacturer and call it your own Perdana. Really disgrace to the max. You have failed horribly as a proton creator of original proton cars. Utter disgrace and shameful!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • I thought Inspira is one of the very good car to buy and even at less than 90K it was not selling well,
    and here we have Proton Perdana at more than 100K?
    I wonder how the sales going to be like.
    Anyway Good Luck.

By the way please don’t give another false 17K pre-booking of Iriz.

• 100k & above for a “Potong” dunk???!!!!.. I’ll get a japanis brand better still!. :(

• Daniel on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Seems there are many haters over here. Toyota fans are coming out. Those who kutuk here kutuk there are those ppl who drive old A segment car who cant really afford to buy Proton at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Just realised the crappy slides after someone pointed it out………….. WHAT THe FLYING F__

This is what happens in Msian GLC.. I know cos I worked for one.. but usually the Corp Comms team takes things seriously and checks for grammar, spelling, and corporate identity before releasing.

Air0cond is one error. See the spacing at tilt-telescopic steering. See the stock images used, obviously just downloaded from Google Images and MS Clipart! Its unacceptable at any organisation. Whoever did this would get fired in any other circumstance. Probably an intern.

The copywriting is another story.. First talk about design, looks then suddenly comfort, then drive, then comfort again. You took a bunch of words, swung them together, and this is your branding?????? Seriously, what the flying f.

Embarrassment of a company. Not just as a car company. At an organisational level, Proton is an embarrassment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Oh my god on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Maybe the car itself is good but selling at 100K mark is something not very affordable – mind you this is national car.

Moreover good car need good customer service, we all now how good proton services are because of lousy management – please don’t blame on your worker/employee you bloody management/manager, it’s your inefficiency that causes lousy services.

Anyhow people will still buy because of less $$$ compared to others. not that people like the car but somehow because it cost less , yes 10K/20K or even few K is a lot to some people.

Please dont tell me this is rebadge from Honda, but proton service vs Honda service? which one less headache?

• Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Wow! Best of the best car ever! Will buy it no matter what! Proton Beng let’s go buy togather. Woohooo!

• Cheah on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:53 pm

100 to 150k? The Proton should really sit down and re-plan the selling price seriously. I think not many people will consider buying a Proton car with anything more than 100k.

• qaseh arjuna on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:05 pm

100k-150k for 2.4..good price

• Aircond, steering button havent change? use back honda design? if yes, why take so long to R&D? hopefully dont give us a crap car.

• Poobs on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:12 pm

i will buy this car. sound interesting.

• YeapyEvo on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:29 pm

More interesting is when you trying to sell it 2 years later, second hand car dealer only willing to take it for half the price because it is a 10 year-old model.

• That logic wud defy the vios purportedly hi-RV cuz a brand new keli wud alredi incur a 10 year old RV penalty, now wud it?

• YeapyEvo on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:27 pm

At 80-100k you can get a second hand CBU Japan Honda Accord 3.5L V6 with VCM and 270hp. The money you save can be use to pay road tax and petrol, and the pride of overtaking the stock Golf GTI on highway.

• superman on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:29 pm

It is an old Honda platform people. nothing to be proud of. just take your old Honda accord to any fiber shop and get a new front and tear bumper on it and Voila.. this is not something proton can show off.. make your own car then we can say good about it.

• After all these year we Malaysian still cannot design our very own car

• hayen on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:10 pm

I know it is unrelated but just want to heat up the situation like RBA. I’d rather buy Citroen Grand Picasso at around 190k with adaptive cruise control (including 6 airbags and TC) than previa at around 250k with only 2 airbags, no TC. Eat shit la UMW Toyota. Even Ford Smax (around 190k) is better than previa. It has 7 airbags and TC. I don’t have problem with Toyota. They are the best. But UMW, eat shitla. Jual kereta mahal2 tp kosong!!

• Plus the 5 years free parts+labour warranty by Citroen Malaysia..

• dayum on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:14 pm

This proton can be sell below RM100k.. If the car sell at RM130k, approximately RM30k you pay to government as tax and you being charge by bank interest for that RM30k loan and GST to that specific RM30k too.. Wtf!

Government takes more than proton, government takes from your hard earn money politely.. FFace!

• Syukur lah.

• LeJohn on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:00 pm

150k for this or Mazda 6 ? or Honda accord ? It’s a no brainer . How to justify the cost. and 2.4 only 135 horses …

• montana on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:31 pm

135kw is 180hp ps: i am not proton supporter but hate when si bodoh tin kosong talk like pro

• wkaka on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:30 am

Next time before you start typing, please use your God-given brain to think first.

Anyway 150k for a Proton is way too much, I’d rather top up. No more Proton for me after getting bombed hard with the Inspira, can only sell at half the price I got it for a 3 year old car.

• It doesn’t come with braking assist,lane keeping assist and even blind spot? How about tilting headlights? No? Why don’t I get a Peugeot 508 for that price then? Proton, Lmao

• ORANG BIASA on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:50 pm

this is my opinion…..Im not gonna say which spec is better or which quality is better…..im just gonna compare the price between japs D-segment and proton Perdana.if the price of proton perdana fell between 100-150, its totally not reasonable,why?we need to take the government tax into account,proton perdana is supposed to be duty free as it’s fully manufactured in malaysia and if you are talking about same quality and spec…..the price should be half of that of imported car.Actually proton has been doing this for ages,marking up the price for locals but lowering the price at foreign countries.The car exported to other countries are better in term of quality and specs…and this is the fact….by right their sales and profit margins should be far better than that of imported cars,but yet they claimed they are operating in a loss…..over 30 yearsprotected by government,with lots of advantages over other car makers….still experiencing loss,is it acceptable?guys just think about it…..

• walter on Feb 23, 2016 at 8:57 am

Well said…most rationale and logical…unfortunatley Malaysians are either sleeping or they have not much choice….

• Mangmang on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Another copy…. nice try, proton. I got my eyes on toyota camry and honda accord for that rage of money.

• ORANG BIASA on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:53 pm

//

• PopoBeans on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:28 pm

walawei, 130k can already buy me a secondhand lotus elise with 30k milage. ggwp proton

• 100 to 150 K for Proton? Rather get Accord, camry, crv Hyundai tucson, sonata or even Peugeot for that price ➕ ➖. Mahathir never learn. It’s not your 90s proton era anymore…

• MentalKar on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:17 am

Yes PROTON tolong set kan harga yang berjiwa rakyat.
    Yes PROTON kipidap untuk jaga hati dan jiwa pelanggan.
    Yes PROTON disiplin ur servis outlet.
    Yes PROTON be honest and telus, akui mistake dan betulkan.
    Yes PROTON elok barang yg nak ganti tu Free sajalah.
    Yes PROTON rakyat dah kaya, jaga status maka perlu cipta kereta baru from out of this planets-supaya rakyat hargai.

• jungletrekker on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:29 am

I’m still driving my Saga Mega Valve 1.5I – 1990 – has never broken down. I don’t smoke which means my power windows are hardly rolled down. I drive normal, not like a souped up normal car. I keep my Saga original including the ori Blaupunkt radio – only speaker je tukar.
    Best way to keep your car going – use the same car workshop, drive normal, dont over stressed the car engine & body like turning it into a racing car or mega disco plus dont EVER lend your car to anyone too.
    @ the end of the day, its the driver that makes or break the car and not the brand name.
    btw, i use a Hilux to go into the jungles over weekends whilst the Saga is for normal use.

• jobless on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:57 pm

OMG, even the E

• jobless on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:59 pm

alamak, even the English broken…i simply cannot understand how Proton management let the same team (judging from past advertisements eg Suprima) in the job and teribble grammar slips past them…”Drive it to believe it” and now tis nonsense “many do not notice our design until they see beyond the looks”

• No wonder u are jobless because u judge the whole management team just by their grammatical error.Haha.Peace. :p

• najib on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:50 am

The price range should be between 90k – 110k only.

• Too much negativity here..waaayyy to much. I wonder if the Korean people bash Kia and Hyundai car maker even at one time their vehicle are worst than Proton. Maybe that differs the level of thinking with their country and our country. Sad..but true..

• When you’re prejudiced, you’re prejudiced.

• bedah on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:59 pm

boleh beli rumah .huhu

• Bernard on Mar 02, 2016 at 2:36 pm

If its less than RM50,000……….good buy.

• add 23k more and you will get a new vw passat