2016 Proton Perdana – watch the launch live here!

It’s almost time. The 2016 Proton Perdana will be launched very soon, and we at paultan.org is bringing you an exclusive livestream of the event, so you can watch the event as it happens at the convenience of your home or office.

Proton’s flagship model is finally making a comeback, so remember to tune in at 8.45am. For everything we already know of the 2016 Proton Perdana, check out our dedicated info hub of the upcoming model.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Konjuring on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:30 am

Or “watch the launch of the teaser here!”

• Sack designer on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:51 am

Sack the designer!

• Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:17 am

Can ask ghost buy your car already…
        Those who dare to buy and drive this on the road, will have family members and friends laughing on him as sohai.

• Gargantia on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:22 am

“Totally unrecognize interior and exterior” said former CEO Tun himself… Except the steering wheel the interior just look the SAME !!!

• Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Total unrecognizable? Proton better start side business do plastic surgery.

In fact, the more like old Accord, the more people is willing to buy.

• Before launch:
      Why need to wait, just launch je la…bla bla Matt Damon…bla la

When launch:
      1.No excitement
      2.Ady dead before arrival, too late
      3.P1 close shop
      4.Sack the designer!

Better go to psychiatrist

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:35 am

Proton is so ungrateful. Why never call Tun Mahathir? Even though he resigned, it is a matter of respect to call him. After all, he is Bapa Proton. He founded you guys. He made you guys happen. Because of Mahathir, Proton managed to live until today, otherwise, by year 2000 already bungkus.

Poor Mahathir, the man who supported you guys all the way. The man who gave you billions every year. Now just throw him into the tong sampah.

This is a fine example of how Proton will treat its customers. Kalau Tun Mahathir, the founding father also can kena buang, just imagine the customer?

When Steve Balmer was CEO and President of Microsoft, all launches he called the founder Bill Gates to officiate and bless the function. It is a matter of respect for our founding fathers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta Kinte 2 on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Obviously you don’t understand or follow Malaysian politics. Don’t blame Proton.

• Oh, i’m so excited like a little puppy

• hailthepurist on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:03 am

from billions given, hope the ceremony will be extravaganza.. shame only equipped with 4 airbags..

• Hondana on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:37 am

Why am I didn’t get excited at all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • common sensor on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:42 am

Probably bcoz it will be launched by your best friend ie The PM ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • proton on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:43 am

Oh come on… give some face lah

• mr1031 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:46 am

as do i..no excitement

• If Proton close down, will it bring excitement?

• mr1031 on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:01 pm

nope..i was referring that we had leaked images for too long..not proton’s fault though (maybe)

• hailthepurist on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:40 am

well ah jib still the pm of bolehland..

• kontikinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:47 am

it just personal
      if you proud of your nation probably u have a bit of love to Proton or else maybe you have some other way to prove your love of the country either way Malaysian always be a malaysian.

• Public Service Announcement.

For those that interested to buy this, note down all the features and accessories that they advertised and compare it when you get the car. Proton have the history of removing/changing features and accessories quietly like the rear disc brakes and top tether.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
    • Beg angin autolies on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:54 am

Thats why they dont have problems with airbags. The so called good airbags are probably not fitted!!

• Kunta Kinte 2 on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Oh, when you say ‘history’, you were talking about the ONE incident of the Proton Saga top teater? Wow.

• Yawnnn on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:48 am

Boringgg.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:48 am

Hmm.. so is it that PT caused it to be late or P1 is the one that is late? I’m guessing P1 is late…

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:49 am

Hafriz suit… Wow!

• Aero (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:58 am

We’ve waited more than a decade for a new Perdana, but it looks like the wait is almost over !

Back in the last decade, Proton had spoken with SAIC Rover, Volkswagen, Mitsubishi Australia, Nissan and probably a few others… but they finally found a partner in Honda.

The Perdana has never been and will likely never be a hot selling model for Proton. It was always an ‘image car’, a financial loss-maker but a fan winner.

Anyway, I can’t wait to hear what the Driven team thinks of the new Perdana, and I’ll make damn sure to test drive it myself later.

Congratulations, Proton, on your new baby.

• xxxxx on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:00 am

15 mins already still talk talk talk

• autodriver (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:05 am

Wowwww… proton launching new model…. Hmmm wait, new model? or it probably the facelift of accordana since it is still same interior, engine and gearbox carrier over from previous gen hxnda accxrd.

So wowwwww, proton launching “old model” of hxnda…. hurray….

• nazri on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:08 am

all the money gone for a lightshow??? at the end when the car fails who will be blamed? we remember the same when they launched the Suprima S. this tricks will not work. failure and Ego at the same time that is the problem with DRB and Proton Missmanagers.

• Expert on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:16 am

this looks like a stand up comedy show with two people who have no idea how to run an OEM car co. fist bumping on stage???? embarrassing…. you don’t deserve government help. where is your billionaire boss to feed you?

• compare these two wannabes to skilsl of DSSZ on stage. even in this they try to copy the professionals but we all know what is at the end for Proton. under DRB a slow death….that is all planned so they can take the assets only.

• xxxxx on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:20 am

1 hr already still talk talk talk

• Same L0rr on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:22 am

I recommend this car for any proton fanboy out there. Honda engine & gearbox. Not camporn & CVT bising Punch Powertrain..

• Cameron on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:27 am

this is funny. I cant believe they talk on the way that the whole car is done by them. it is all an old Honda Accord. all these stuff and interior are available as aftermarket also. whats the bug deal? if the car is fully done by you then fine. what Proton has done is like what Mitsuaka doing in japan. i Believe it is a joke…just to show their new Bosses of what they can do..

• this car must be so special so many teaser and again expect teaser more, expect this car only on the road by 2020.

• tkhengong on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:34 am

Typical Malaysian launches. Boring speeches!

• radzi on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:34 am

where Tun Mahathir?? very “kacang lupakan kulit”…

• klguy on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:41 am

fuyo, launch ala Apple style

• kenpachi on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:48 am

oi jib. cannot leave politics out eh? ‘Tun Mahathir political interference’ my ass.. what about your interference and mismanagement? spoiled my mood to watch the launch

• kontikinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:49 am

900 units prebook katanya…. atleast someone excited

• normal_user on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:49 am

Quote Najib: The era of Tun Mahathir’s political interference (at Proton) has come to an end.

Sempat jugak dia kutuk Dr M.. haha.

• Cameron on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:54 am

Pride of Malaysia????? this is a jike

• Still recall when i watched the advertisement on the 1st Proton Perdana and Satria in TV many years ago (in the 90s). To me, it was a very nice design during that time. Proton would be a true competitive global brand in the automobile industry if it continued to evolved and being managed well during that time.

Today, looking at the design of this new Perdana, personally, i don’t really how it would boost Proton’s prospect.

Sad to see how Proton has evolved. Why the Korean car makers, who started later that Proton, can evolve and continue to compete with other global brands but Proton… Lack of great vision and leadership…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 101
      • Should learn to take constructive comments (and it has facts with it) and shouldn’t use baseless & ugly remarks (e.g. “bcz of ppl like u…. never look down and no support for malaysia product.”) as it badly reflects the IQ and EQ of your the comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • Mr Hafriz and PT team, thank you for the coverage.I wish all the best for Proton.

• tkhengong on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:04 am

Is Proton launching the Perdana or promoting its CEO? Hahaha! Boring sketch! The actress are stiff and unnatural! Prices for the Perdana are well priced though!

• The Boss on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:05 am

The interior looks dated. The mechanical handbrake standing out like a shore thumb. Price start at 120k? too ambitious my friend, can’t even sell Iriz for 45k now aiming for D-segment. Proton please stop embracing yourself and polluting plant earth by wasting energy producing junk.

• Elchino on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:07 am

I note only 4 airbags but nothing mentioned about whether it comes with VSC?
    Can Paultan list d full specs please?

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:08 am

Hafriz, I like your neck tie bro!

• hailthepurist on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:15 am

well, still an accordana but start from 113.888..

• That 2.4L interior color tone freak me out…

• kimci on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:09 am

Somehow the design doesn’t appear to me. The rear look too busy. The front errr…..The side is ok.

Overall, Kia Optima is much better overall design inside and out.

• Henry on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Why does Proton even need a D segment Perdana when the mass market is C and B segment? Syiok sendiri won’t pay your bills.

• Price is acceptable and design are nice. Proton Boleh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 52
  • Viewer 2016 on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Perdana = Personal + Honda Accord, WHAT A BEAUTIFUL CAR…

• I choose civic over this teasing car

• Don’t don’t chunk time.

• Sharon on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Terrible launching ceremony. The hall was so dark, colour of the lights also, no word to describe. The music, well no excitement and really freaking me out. Why everytime almost the same kind.