SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Perdana – first look at interior

2016-Proton-Perdana-04

Yes, these are yet more spyshots of the 2016 Proton Perdana, but this time, these high-resolution photos – courtesy of reader Daniel Soon – show the full, completely undisguised interior for the first time. It’s clear from the sole cabin image that while the dashboard borrows a fair bit from the previous-generation Honda Accord on which the car is based, there are a few detail changes that set the Perdana apart.

The first is the colour scheme – the Perdana goes from an all-black scheme on the Accord 2.4 to a black-and-beige palette as seen on the Accord 3.5 V6 model sold here, and also gains the range-topping model’s brown wood trim (the 2.4 litre model had grey wood panels instead).

Other changes concern the infotainment system – the standard radio/CD player head unit has been replaced by what appears to be a more modern touchscreen system. Like the Accord, the upper display also looks to have been retained, although whether it is a monochrome display as on Malaysian-market Accord models or a new colour screen remains to be seen.

Elsewhere, the button beside the gearlever – used to control the rear window blind on the Accord 2.4 – has been blanked out, suggesting that it has been removed on the Perdana. Otherwise, it’s the same as on the Honda – which is a shame, considering that Proton chairman Tun Mahathir Mohamad’s “Accordana” limousine featured, among others, a Jaguar-style rotary gear selector and an electronic parking brake.

While the focus is on the interior of the car, the clearer exterior spyshots also shed new light on some of the details on the new Perdana. For example, this is the first time we’re seeing the flagship D-segment sedan with a full bodykit – complete with side skirts – of the kind that we saw at the official preview of the new car.

We also spot new, flatter door handles that replace the Accord’s distinctive “winged” items, while the top-down view shows that there is indeed no sunroof fitted to the new car – contrary to what was assumed previously.

2016-Proton-Perdana-03

To be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam (current government-only Perdana is made by Honda Malaysia in Melaka), the 2016 Perdana is expected to launch in the first quarter of this year, retaining the Accord’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines and five-speed automatic transmission.

A revision is slated to arrive by the end of 2017, with the Perdana set to receive a new NE01 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, acquired from Petronas in 2012. Also being considered is Proton’s new 1.5 litre turbocharged, direct-injected TGDI engine, claimed to be able to produce 180 hp and 250 Nm. Whichever powertrain ends up being slotted in, a new torque converter CVT automatic is expected to become standard fare come end-2017.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• LatukBandar on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:04 pm

that fake plastic wood is such a turn off

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 16
    • Lol proton haters come and read the article for what? Hate-reading stuff does not make any meaningful contribution to the topic or situation lah. It is for no other reason than to pretend u know better and know how to point finger lol. I don’t go to read news update on Great Wall cars even tho they suck cos I’m not considering it anyway. Waste time bashing. In short, ego trip for u haters here hahaha. Comedy for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 33
      • Proton - 10,000 Sales only on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Proton is a failure. Last year only sold 100,000 cars. Out of the 100,000 cars, 90,000 cars were sold to the Government ie every Ministry in Putrajaya, PDRM, Bomba, TLDM, TUDM, Tabung haji, PNB, every enforcement agency etc etc.

Proton’s true sales last year was only about 10,000 units. That is to the public.

With this new Perdana, same thing is going to happen. Government departments will strictly be told to buy only Perdanas.

You might think this is sales also, but it is sales using our tax payers money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 76
        • Elchino on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:34 pm

My taxi driver uses a proton saga with an odometer which has gone round more than one round already. He has used d car for about 8 years now and has encountered very few problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
          • Fulamak… new idea apart from the usual….”my father, sister, mother’s boyfriend has been using proton for 11 years. Everything is good except minor problems…..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Perodua n Toyota last year 300k, up to date only left 30k, the less moving to coffin already. Minor Malaysian already knew the taufu project can’t save their life, they avoid buying any car from Perodua n Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Go suck Proton’s CEO’s ‘banana’ and he may give u discount on Proton parts after it breaks down although he can’t save your life when u move in Proton coffin

• Bristol on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:02 am

I saw paultan news said that p2 sent 40% axia to pdrm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Ollie on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Exactly what I mean about blind support.

Do you understand what is a hater? Do you understand what is criticism?

I don’t care about what any car manufacturer does, it has ZERO effect on me.

But Proton is funded by MY MONEY, my taxes!

Why are you not disappointed by a national failure and embarrassment??

I can’t understand this blind mentality. Really reflects badly on you as a human being to defend failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 36
        • proveme on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Give proof you pay tax.
          Btw p1 did ask for promised incentive. Where did you get p1 funded by your money now? From sky?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 29
          • karam singh on Feb 13, 2016 at 1:56 pm

when we buy new cars, we pay 10% sales tax (before 2015) or GST now, 6%.

I also pay minimum of 75% customs excise meaning which i have the right to claim Proton is funded by my money. and i am utterly disappointed.

i am thinking with my education level Ican be a better CEO or GM at Proton. make all proton cars turbo, and 6 speed manual. 9 airbags, stablity control. sure sell millions all over the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • taxer on Feb 13, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Stupid, tax goes to gomen, not p1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
          • abuya on Feb 14, 2016 at 10:38 pm

What a joke karam(= sinking)…

• sick&tired on Feb 13, 2016 at 2:28 am

rtard, he did make a ‘meaningful contribution’! his opinion of the fake wood is spot on and proton should consider removing it! Piano black would be better.

Sorry to say but I don’t think the new perdana will do well. The next generation honda accord will probably be launched in 2017 or 2018 (accord life cycle is around 4 years). By then the perdana will look severely outdated.

• Not outdated coz exterior is different
          Interior also go lt some difference

• Same L0rrr on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:39 am

Push start button can start the engine? Buy Toyota Camry better.. i can give you 5% discount..

• George Abdul on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Tun DrM promise interior and exterior will be totally different from original Accord… seem that Proton once again “LIE” and talk shit like the CEO !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 41
    • You means Proton need to install square steering wheel..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 20
    • Ollie on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:46 pm

How not to get angry when seeing crap like this?

I don’t know if there is a mental block or what happens inside the brains of Proton supporters to keep supporting Proton even faced with crap like this.

Proton is rebadging a 5 year old car. What is the point of this national embarassment and its old man MahaFiraun dictator running it?

Am I seriously the only Malaysian who is angry and has had enough of this nonsense when my taxpayer money is paying for this and people are dying in Protons every day??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 42
      • Normally rebadging will use similar design of dashboard and other parts too, problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • Bristol on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:05 am

P2 copied 20 years old tech n also like rubbish n still hv stupid go to buy but why u not complaint?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Syukurlah kerajaan UMNO memberi kereta mewah ini kepada kami. Kami rakyat berterimakasih kepada kerajaan UMNO kerana prihatin terhadap rakyat. Syukur!

Saya berterimakasih kepada BN kerqana semua kereta Proton adalah berharga murah dan munasabah. Syukur syukur skukur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 80
    • I think you’re Proton’s hater pretending to be Proton supporter. You’re doing a disservice to Proton by posting comments which end up creating more hate toward Proton – just like that RV guy with his Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • Forgip my RBA clonetrooper for he onli got kindergarten education in reverse pyschology by DAP Institute. I have sent a formal complaint to highest tokong so they can slap’em around for u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • RBA John = john on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:38 pm

There is only you john. There is no RBA. Only you potraying 2 identities to seek attention from everyone here. Very sad person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • Tapper on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:58 pm

He wanna be Sam Loo. Wanting attention.

• So u change ur nick when I unmask ur fakery huh? Exsssceeeellent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Siapa nak beli junk Camry dan junk Accord sekarang? Hanya RBA John dan Der Leader of Party Hard sahaja. Kerajaan Persekutuan bijak pakai Proton Perdana! Syukur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • That Wood Trim……sigh.
    Anyway the car look very big.

• JenThye on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Wow,nice!
    Hope this Proton got push start key

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • xaver lert on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:15 pm

no electric parking brake? come on man..its 2016.. no one use sticky parking brake anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Personally,I’m still ok if it lacks an eBrake.

I’m however surprised that they went the cheap way of not fitting it with a foot-operated handbrake like most D-segment cars.

• Why need electric parking brake? Have u not come across those Peugeot 3008 having faulty electric brakes?

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 13, 2016 at 4:07 am

I prefer proper handbrakes… you can pull it to drift a little.

• Cute steering wheel..

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:19 pm

What, this is a Perdana? I thought I was looking at some Chinese cheap knock off of the old Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • sackdesigners on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:18 pm

I see same dashboard design in BMW 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 er, you name until 100 er also will use same designs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Same lousy quality, same crony vendor, same lousy QC, same cheapo plasticky interior. After launch, go to the showroom to check how awful the fit and finishing is, those awful gaps here and there, and a glovebox that don’t close properly. Within 6 months of ownership, brace yourself for some irritating mouse-squeking, rattling noise all over the cabin, it’s a must-have-experience for all Proton owners, regardless which model you buy ot drive since the 1990’s.

Proton is always a Proton. Sampai hari kiamat pun sama. The business philosphy of Proton is simple, it is a crony entity existed only to milk Malaysian dry and deprive all average Malaysian a chance to own a decent car at a decent price. Proton is never about creating value and making good cars, it’s all about crony interest, lousy quality and expensive spare parts to make you ownership experience a miserable one. Never fall into their marketing gimmick, you will know how awful and nasty their car is once you owned one. Go to the Suprima and Preve owner page in Lowyat, see for yourself how many quality issues that plauged this so called “Proton flagship”. The Iriz might fared slighty better, partly because of its non-turbo engine nature, but that doesn’t save it from lousy QC issues like faulty parking brake warning, rattling dashboard, lousy radio, lousy bluetooth connection, faulty parking sensors and etc. Seriously? You buy a car to let it serve you or you be the salve of the car? This is the reason why the Myvi still sell better than Iriz even though it might seem a safer and “better” car on paper. Actually, Axia sales alone had eclisped the ENTIRE PROTON LINEUP IN 2015. See the ironical facts? fanboys?

Anyway, this is essentially a previous generation Honda Accord under the skin, what’s the big fuss about it? Oh, I almost forget, Syiok Sendiri is also part of Proton business mantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 20
    • VW BAsher on Feb 13, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Well VW does it to…
      Toyota did it with pedalgate…
      Nissan with takatagate..
      Hyundai with resaledowndeadgate…
      Stop bashing when you dont even know how to make a car…

• Still not using electronic parking brake? How to catch up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Eterna on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Better put grey/black colour interior and darker wood material to blend it all nicely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • john is otak batu on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Gosh that out dated piece of wood-like!!!
    Other competitors alredy using carbon fibre-like trim.

• Still testing? Test what? Hasnt honda test enough? Honda already test, sold and move to next model.

Are they testing interior dash board quality fitment. The car is 90%+ honda. 10% also need to test so long. This teaser is like teasing you a 50yr old woman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Yawnz on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Testing the power window

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Crony need time to shape the mold for producing Proton quality replacement.

Inb4 Perdana gearknob came out, button fall off, power window failed.

• Azhar on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Toyota doing lot of , have to recall lot of cars. Who’s bad?

• Have to wayang a little by testing it locally now. The main purpose is to “test” it overseas, hopefully before the next hari raya, so that they can brag about oversea trip to their relatives during sesi ziarah-menziarahi.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Stupid interior dash layout. BIG FAIL. Kegagalan besar, Tun M!

• Sean11 on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:02 pm

I feel that gear shifter looks cheap, almost made full of plastic. Decent step in the right direction for Proton but still miles and miles behind any of their Jap competitors.

• dzulx on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:04 pm

As usual tasteless interior..

• Honestly, really not interested.

• Lol proton haters come and read the article for what? Hate-reading stuff does not make any meaningful contribution to the topic or situation lah. It is for no other reason than to pretend u know better and know how to point finger lol. I don’t go to read news update on Great Wall cars even tho they suck cos I’m not considering it anyway. Waste time bashing. In short, ego trip for u haters here hahaha. Comedy for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • mojokojo on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Do you think they read the article at all…i don’t think so…when ever they see a proton being posted they will comment same thing ..recycling same comments no rv, bad quality,bad experience, power window (dont know why this is still an issue 10 years already move on) gov support, bla bla bla list goes on and on…why so butt hurt….. dont like proton buzz off…..

• fy ref

• Proton keep playing mystery trick for showing here and there a bit, but when knowing this is a re-work from previous Honda accord, and current Accord is coming to face-lift soon, i really don’t know what else can expect from this Perdana. may be the only reason to buy is the price.

• Faslinah on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:57 pm

This model can only be successful if it’s sold between RM68K for the based 2.0L to no more than RM85K for the top Spec 2.4L. The new generation Honda Accord is launching next year 2017 and Proton is still rebadging 2 generations old Accord. Why would anybody buy a 2 generations old model with a Proton badge?? If it sells above RM80K – 100k then good luck to proton. I really wish and pray that you can just close shop and sell your factory to the Sushi or Kimchi manufacturer. It’s probably more beneficial to the Malaysian economy because they can better value-add yur factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • topkek on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Toyotaik uses same engine and gearbox for more than 2 generations of cars you dun bash pulak. Topkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Jobless on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Boss, CNY aleady and coming to March 2016
    Last year=show rear lights
    Feb= show dashboard, March= show steering, April=show seats, May=show frontlights, June=show Logo, July=show wheel design, Aug=show engine, Sept=show boot, Oct=show c pillars, Nov=show A pillars, Dec 2016=show B pillar, Next Year 2017=still not in showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Wahh! Ur crystal ball so gud! Eh, can it tell me what 4D number for next 6 months ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
    • +1,000,000. All of us dah immune to these ‘peeping tom’ updates. By next article, surely can see the font design on the radio buttons already.

• ben yap on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:03 pm

it comes with panaromic roof?

• Jimmy on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Are your new engines better than those from Honda?

• Jimmy on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Is there any ‘Lotus ride and handling’ to make this Perdana better than Accord?

• Potong Perdana... really potong and re-badge on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Not much changes done to the interior, the meter cluster looks the same, gear knob also the same, looks like Potong added a rubbish compartment just above the gear knob, lousy wood trim, looks faded and cheap, infotainment monitor is the only new add in which I’m sure its some cheap Taiwan device which will have android OS on it. What the crap did Potong do for this car lar, made it a bit bigger, what else !! Keep on testing for what, to make sure the car does not break into 2 as they extended the wheel base …. What a waste of time, money and Potong sure gonna close shop after this once they announce the ridiculous pricing of the car, siapa nak beli !! Not Rakyat Malaysia, and don’t bother to say test drive first and see, like what Tun M keeps telling, you mean your re-badged toy car with extended wheel base making it bigger it going to ride so well, even better that Honda cars …. that a joke, panaromic roof also don’t have, there is nothing significantly done to say Potong took 2 years to re-develop this car !! Sell it at RM40K also people will think twice before buying … Tutup lar Potong, enough failures for 30 years plus, just close shop and outsource your factory for other car manufacturers to CKD their cars locally here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Powershot on Feb 14, 2016 at 7:44 am

I’ll buy it if it is sold at RM40k. I really need the big space. I’m not mentally prepared to own & drive an MPV

• firdaus on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:22 pm

so much sneak peak for a 6 yr old car….just launch it lah!

• YeapyEvo on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Get a real Honda Accord 2008-2012 with big savings now at RM 50-70k with spare change for petrol and maintenance.

• rajin pekerja proton.. sampai x makan nasi…
    makan coklat cadbury n minum 100plus saja..

• My 2cents on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Sorry lah Proton, most people still prefer black interior colour.

• toyotamacai on Feb 13, 2016 at 8:21 pm

So you are the one who said beige is not luxurious color? LOL

• Proton fans on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Honestly, when proton promised a new interior, I would have expected more than this. Just slapping a new touchscreen doesn’t qualify the interior to be called “new”. Truly disappointed by this.

• oklar on Feb 12, 2016 at 9:46 pm

HUH! I CANT FEEL THE ‘UGLYNESS’ ALREADY. TRYING TO LOVE/SUPPORT IT, BUT GUEST IT WONT BE PROTON FOREVER.

• applegreen on Feb 12, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Wah! interior material quality same like old avanza! that gear knob also very ugly

• walauweh on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:18 am

well,if u check,it almost identical to top end 8th gen honda accord 3.5 v6 version interior.

i think not many have seated inside 3.5v6 8th gen accord.

to think that despite honda didnt give permission to change too much on the interior,but prtn managed to get permission to use 3.5v6 interior in a 2.4 or 2.0 perdana,is a good things.

the wood grain is a letdown,but of its coming from top end accord,who cares,unless u like they put honda city interior inside.

• Kylo Ren on Feb 13, 2016 at 3:28 am

Seriously, after a 2 year development while still retaining Honda engines, I would have expected more out the interior design. From the looks of it, I only see very slight changes in dashboard design while retaining the lower half of the dashboard, gear console area and door panels. Sigh.

• The fact that Honda announcing that there wont be anymore cooperation with proton even before this model is out shows how bad proton is.

• syer1n on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:22 am

i don’t hate the Perdana but i’m slightly disappointed by the interior. its like a direct cast with a touchscreen and different color. i was hoping more. i don’t mind that much if it looks outdated but at least don’t make it look untouched.

• michaelooi on Feb 13, 2016 at 11:11 am

The interior looks very familiarly Honda-Accord-ish to me…

• power rangers on Feb 13, 2016 at 2:13 pm

I not not surprise they price it at RM130K-Rm150K range and said give Protong a try…anyhow, G is the one paying the bill end of day of using as G minister car…consumer wont spent $$ on Protong anymore..

• Back to the future? Yeah u can do it, buy a Proton

• anonymous on Feb 14, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Looking at its center console, it reminds me of my Honda Accord 2004, the different is the infortainment screen and gear lever is different..

• big boi on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:09 am

looks like the 90s interior design but plastikier. ok bye.