2016 Proton Perdana – first official preview, details

2016_Proton_Perdana_Tun_M_Preview_5

Here it is, boys and girls, our first official look at the 2016 Proton Perdana. The local carmaker is previewing its upcoming D-segment sedan at the on-going Alami Proton event in Shah Alam, which is open to the public this weekend. Early signs are positive, to say the least.

Firstly, surprise – it does not look like the “Proton Perdana” that made a cameo in the movie Filem Kapsul recently. Proton has now said that the vehicle shown in the local film is an earlier “work in progress,” and not the new sedan’s final form.

Proton Chairman Tun Mahathir unveiled little snippets of the finalised car. The front and rear corners were shown for brief moments, revealing the Perdana’s front fog lamp design and the full rear LED light cluster. There appears to be a thick chrome line running across the back, combining the two rear lights.

2016_Proton_Perdana_Tun_M_Preview_6

As speculated before, the exhaust pipe is fully integrated into the rear bumper design. An intricate five triple-spoke two-tone alloy wheel can also be seen. The bright red shade shown here is said to be one of five colour options that will be offered.

A sole teaser/preview image is also shown, revealing a very distinctive headlamp design that appears to have a solid strip of LED daytime running lights, as opposed to the individual diodes used on the Iriz Premium. You can expect it to feature Proton lettering over the single projector bezel, as previously seen on the Iriz.

What’s also apparent is that the front fender panel appears to be more curvaceous compared to the original car’s simpler styling. The Perdana has bonnet strakes too, presumably leading down to the Proton logo, while the Accord had a flatter design.

2016_Proton_Perdana_preview_ 001

Look closely enough, and you can see that the front door handle (itself completely redesigned) has a button for keyless entry – a feature that the donor Accord did not have. The tapering, teardrop-shaped glasshouse, meanwhile, suggests that the Perdana will indeed have a fastback-like profile, not unlike the Jaguar XJ.

Back to the covered car, what can be seen are the car’s basic silhouette, shark-fin antenna, prominent bootlid spoiler and sharp protrusions of the head- and taillamps. We can just about make out that there are fender vents just aft of the front wheels.

It’s clear now that the new Perdana will indeed get its own looks, a departure from the eight-generation Honda Accord on which it is based. Well, that’s what Proton has been saying all along after all. As for the interior, we’ll just have to wait and see how different it looks.

2016_Proton_Perdana_preview1_ 004

We’ve also been informed that the finished article will measure 4,999 mm end to end, which is quite a bit longer than the original Accord (4,849 mm). It’s a really big car, this one.

Market roll-out will be sometime in the first quarter of 2016, according to Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah. Another important piece of information is that the 2016 Perdana will be built in Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam, alongside the Exora MPV. The current government-use Perdana, meanwhile, is assembled in Honda Malaysia’s Melaka plant.

Engine wise, it’s set to retain Honda’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines – for now, at least. Both engines will be mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. No CVT to be seen here, fortunately enough.

That’s all we have for now on the 2016 Proton Perdana. Stay tuned to paultan.org for more information, in due time. For now, do share with us your thoughts – do you like what you see so far?

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reveal mixed feelings about the 2016 Proton Perdana. Many are excited about its new design, Honda engine, and improved features, expressing hope for a sporty, luxurious, and affordable sedan. However, numerous critics highlight concerns over its high price, perceived rebadging of an older Honda Accord, and questionable build quality. Critics also mention Proton's long-standing reputation issues, poor quality control, and reliance on crony vendors, which they've linked to secondary problems and high costs. Several commenters express skepticism about Proton’s ability to compete with Japanese and Korean brands, and some fear it’s just a rehash of previous models with minimal innovation. Overall, while there is hope for a good product, lingering doubts and past disappointments dominate the sentiment.

• Nasi padang on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 752
    • Better than u. Only know to be stupid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 608 Thumb down 49
      • Ouch…nasi padang is burned hangus

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 13
        • Proton Workers Vs Japanese Workers on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 325
          • Japanese workers:
            Becoz too much overwork, they either heart attack at 30 and leave their poor family w/o income, waifu & daughter have to do JAV, son join yakuza. Or cannot tahan then go 14th floor, family oso same above. Or go crazy start to knife people at shopping mall.

Malaysia workers:
            Take it easy, have relaxing life. Then kena heart attack at 60 due to too much nasi lemak. Since death due to illness, SOCSO payout to famili. Waifu use money start small business. Daughter go uni, while son becum mekanik or do business with mader.

So which is better?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 46
          • Old Accord Engines? Shy Shy Shy on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 187
          • U wrong man, is not Proton workers only. The whole Malaysian attitude are like that lazy and no work hard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 15
          • Another Perdana Failure on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:58 pm

The old Perdana was a failure. Only government departments bought it. The ones you see owned by non government people are the cars th Government departments got rid after using many years.

Why nobody bought it? Very easy. Malaysians cannot phantom paying RM100k for a Malaysian built car. To Malaysians, Proton was created to give people of Malaysia cheap cars. That was the real intention of Proton in 1985.

From 1985, other car prices shot up tremendously to protect Proton. Slowly, the Proton too went up in price to RM100k. But to most Malaysians, RM100k is a lot of money. So, why create Proton in the first place?

As we know, a 10 airbag CBU built Toyota Camry with so many safety features cost US$22k. UMW Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price of US$15k. After you CKD the Camry using Malayia parts, the car further falls to US$12k. This is especially so when you take out 90% of all safety features like VSC and 8 other airbags.

So, a real good D segment car, hardly cost US$12k (which is RM50k).

Malaysians know this. Malaysians know a real good Japanese D segment car hardly cost RM50k. So why create Proton in 1985 in the first place?

Proton has just made life more difficut for the average Malaysians because Proton increased all other car prices. The whole conception and inception of Proton is fraud because the whole reason we created Proton was to give affordable cars to Malaysians.

Anyway, who really will pay RM100k for a Proton? A good nissan Teana, after discounts, one can get a good Japanese car for RM120k OTR. Yes, that is OTR with 6 airbags and VSC.

Looks like the Perdana will be another Government car. All departments will be told to buy it. It will be a fialure like the last Perdana because it is a false demand created.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 74
          • Perdana King of RV Depreciation on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Perdana – King of RV Depreciation on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:53 pm

My advice to all those thinking about buy a Perdana, be prepared for the worst shock ever. Just use your car for 5 years, you want to sell for RM20k also you will be lucky. I just sold my old Perdana for RM3k. It was 10 years old.

That is how Perdana RV drops.

My advice, add a bit more and buy a Teana, Accord or a Camry. At least, after 5 yrs time, you still can sell for about RM70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 53
          • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:32 pm

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given Tunship.

Tun berapa sudah Songlap? Some say RM100 bil. Better Tun give some money to Proton lah, rather than ask Malaysians.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 55
          • Proton Worker - Real Worker! on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:38 pm

hello. I am a Proton worker in Shah Alam. I have been working for Proton 14 years now.

It is true. We all the time think about awek, makan nasi lemak, kahwin empat and Malam Jumaat all the time.

I am sorry. We are like that. If you are not happy, I cannot help you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 54
          • Kamenrider on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Dah memang malaysia most lazy..but u just add one more bad attitude, biased.. rebadge doesnt mean just copy, but also developing..uni students also tiru assignment, but doesnt mean they dont understand at all ,they sometime work on it themselve, the point is not everything we have to do ourselve, sometime we have to collabrate on many purpose, yelah kalo ko x pandai dalam sesetengah bidang, xkan nak bodoh sombong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
          • kzm (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:16 pm

y u keep changing ur name when commenting.. all pipu here know it is u coz using same styling, structure comment..copy paste summore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
          • Ahzam on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:08 am

Same person, different username… Kalau dah tak suka sgt proton, tak perlu la tukar username utk mengutuk Proton… Dah takde keje kot… At least proton make something? U only make shit….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
      • ProtonGSC on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Improve exterior and maintain I-Vtec good enough this’s what i been waiting for… Next is interior and final price don’t dissapoint Rakyat again Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 5
        • Mahathir's Real Plan on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:47 pm

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised and his sarcasm but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

Until vendors change, this “Accord” will be low in quality as previous Protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 95
          • Define crony pls..
            The korean will only appoint korean vendors. The japanese will only award japanese vendors.
            Let it go, bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 12
          • Please Close Down Proton on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:53 pm

It is solely because of Proton and Tun M that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 65
          • Wahai Orang Orang Red Shirt on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:47 pm

Masih buta. 30 tahun kena tipu tapi masih buta. Tahu buat bising pasal kaum lain sahaja, tapi kena tipu tak tahu buat bising.

Bodoh orang red shirt. Betul betul bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 72
        • Let us Subsidise Rich Arabs on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Malaysians kena tipu big time. Every single model in the Proton line is sold for half the price in Saudi countries.

We Malaysians are subsidising rich Arabs. When we pay RM60,000 for a Waja for example, the super rich Arab pays RM30,000 for the same car but with higher spec, more airbags and more safety features.

Why is a Malaysian Made car, Made for the people of Malaysia, being sold so high in Malaysia?

The whole purpose Mahathir gave birth to Proton in 1985 was to give an affordable car to fellow Malaysians. Proton cannot hide by the fact that taxes are high.

The spirit Proton was created was to help Malaysians. That is the whole reason of its inception. But it is not helping Malaysians. Because of Proton, all other car brands have artificially been going higher for the past 30 years. They have been strictly told to do so.

And parallel, the Proton car price also have been going higher as well to follow suit the other brands who have been strictly directed to sell at a high price.

So, what is the purpose of Proton’s inception in 1985? It is not helping the rakyat at all because, as we know, globally, car prices are so low and cheap.

It is high time we question, whether Proton needs to close down or not. Proton defeats its purpose of birth. In 1985, Mahathir promised everyone that the car would be cheap and affordable to everyone.

Well, the car is cheap in Saudi, at 50% the price. Why can’t we benefit from this price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 39
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Yeah. Better than nasi padang who pissin people everywhere. This guy had too much drink last night. DRB and Proton management had worked hard to ensure this model can penetrate at least middle east market by 2017. We should support their effort to promote our national car globally.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 41
      • YauYusuf on Oct 04, 2015 at 6:51 am

Hidup Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Naley on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Another no brain comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Better than Nasi padang. How to become nationalistic when even when it comes to food u prefer foreign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • nasi beriani on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Stupid comment nasi padang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Cheap tail lights detected!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
    • Adlan on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:20 pm

dude! Did you even read the article lengthy explaination of the 2015 Perdanan or you just read the headline?

• kiddd on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Look nice..
    Hopefully the price range between rm95k to rm120k..
    Or maybe this time gov can abolish excise duty completely..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Damn cheap if below rm95k. This car equipped with latest tech and safety feature can not be that cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 43
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Yeah can’t because Aus 20k dollar also have the same safety tech but sell to cheap… no good for market must sell high high price… Profit to the MAX !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Low Budget on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:16 pm

High price cannot sell, too many Korean and Japanese competitors. Selling at RM 100K or below only can they have a fighting chance.

• By looking at its design and all, I bet that the prices are not gonna start lower than 100k, the highest spec however wont go higher than 130k. This is just my opinion.

But so far so good, good design, good Honda 2.0 engine, just hoping that the 5 speed transmission wont be suck enough like what had happened with IRIZ.

Kipidap Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Camry on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Rm100k+ ?? Better buy Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 50
      • RCnobi on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Honda better than Toyota. This is a Honda with little bit of Proton external design touch. Even if this is Proton car but actually chassis is Honda, engine Honda.. Its Honda car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
      • Sharon on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Many Japanese car having Takata airbags. So you know what this means. Happy with your Japanese car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • smarttess on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Accortding to the US NHTSA website, the following non-Japanese makes also have Takata airbags. (BMW, Chrysler,Ford, GM) so certainly not limited to Japanese vehicles. BTW, an earlier comment said Korean and Japanese companies support “cronies” as they mainly use their own nationalities’ parts only. “Cronies” however, generally are only successfully locally (in their own kampung) – Japanese/Korean OEMs by this definition are not cronies.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 194
    • x-city on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Dont talk rubbish laaa all car still need repair and maintenance, its depends on how you treat your car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Junk comment. Same like your VW la that you proud so much..I saw these cars towing everywhere with a lot DSG problem. This new Proton model will be better than VW and its compatriot brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • Mad aly on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Hey u know what… U suits ur name.. JUNK!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Bagi u free pun, bukannya u boleh mampu perbelanjaan petrol dan upkeep. Dah lah u nak beli EX5 pun kena pinjam dari mak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
  • Mahteh bin Nyanyuk on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Dey, want to show, just show lah. What the he’ll with showing the corners only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 115
  • aku bodo on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:23 pm

harga dia aku teka dlm 140k sebab dr M ada sebut harga dia mahal SKIT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • wilson on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:23 pm

HOHO
    dr.ma makan banyak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • aku bodo on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:25 pm

hahaha… apa sal proton buat kereta bagus pun nak hentam.. nampak sgt dah mula bimbang sale takda nanti…

proton perdana baru ni memang cun… cuma harag je risau skit… jangkkan aku dlm 130k-140k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • aku bodo on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:25 pm

jangkaan….

• drMpower on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:30 pm

the engine, interior, and exterior. these three things will help my mind to decide. so far so good. the mix color of that bright red and black strip look so delicious and the chrome as well.
    its either honda ivtec or the petronas engine only. other than that no. but the petronas engine is quite unlikely given the time frame is short for high volume production since they acquire the pattern and bow

keep it up. and let me buy the new perdana.

• jobless on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:30 pm

the trend is towards smaller dimensions but p1 Prokok going oposit..stupidity at its best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 49
    • Iskandar Wee on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:52 pm

European market yes.
      But not Malaysia.

• org kg on Oct 04, 2015 at 6:52 am

The most successful marketing director had said his word..you all must listen!! Don’t be fooled by his name, jobless.

• danish on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Wow! its look better than in the movie!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • rosdi on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Judging from Iriz quality, this will be even better. Two most important question. How much and when to be released?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • MitchelJohn on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:37 pm

How much is anyones guess as for the release time, they mentioned somewhere in Q1 2016.

• Danedz on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Aiya…not too much different from Accord..I like the one in the film…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • lawa sialllllllll……
    100% proud to be malaysian they made it just like i wanted..
    whos love proton just like or raise your hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
  • Puggy208 on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:38 pm

It seems pretty eventhough the rear light still have some honda accord 8th gen ish style.

• MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Woooooooooow panjangnya kreta. Cantek lampu.

• x-city on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Dont talk rubbish laaa all car still need repair and maintenance, its depends on how you treat your car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Leehanvoon on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:46 pm

From the photo, the form and fit of the rear is rather poor unfortunately.
    The rear bumper is not flushed with the panel…

And the rear lamp on the boot and the lamp on the body has a mismatch / step of a 10mm?

Hope the final product will be fine tuned accordingly.

A sub 100k pricing will make it attractive and relevant to buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Angah on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:46 pm

They act like everyone is eagerly waiting and inticipating this perdana. But the reality is they miss the boat long time ago. What more during ringgit deprecation, GST, price hike resulting in not a lot of people want to buy a car.

Finally the market will be from gov department.

Personally, i will ignore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • 100% proud to be malaysian ..
    they made it just like i’m wanted..
    who’s proud with this sh**t just raise your hand …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • ahmadAlbab on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Better buy first batch, honda engine meh more reliable, if buy later, they gonna change to Proton engine then gonna be a headache..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Frugal on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Since when Proton change engine after the car launch to market?

• donno on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:50 pm

The waja was launched with mitsubishi and Renault engines, later changed to campro.

• ko malu saje... on Dec 23, 2015 at 10:30 pm

oil leaks…. oil leaks everywhere…

speaking of reliability? meh….

• PerdanaZ on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Looks promising.. Well done Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • UMW Mampus on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Proton cars always a hit in FIRE RED!! love

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Doesn't Matter on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Got a persona elegance in 2010, sold it because problematic, car crank but wont start, sent to SC, 4 times in 2 months, doesn’t get fixed. in 2013, heard alot of good review about preve, got a preve. Same shit, just few months ago car dies off at traffic light for no reason and never be able to start anymore, left at service centre 1 month, problem not solved and they give me back my car with cracked side windows. traded in for a honda civic, never had any problem anymore, no more fear when pushing the start button that my proton car have a 50% chance of not starting. No crazy noisy CVT noises, no laggy as hell turbo and CVT. No more power windows crazy noises (preve and persona both suffers from this problem).
    My advice, no matter how good it looked on paper, think tiwce before you spend over 100k for this perdana. The more features a proton car has, the more chance of everything goes wrong and you’d have to take leave off from work to service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 68
    • KevinChia on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Persona with CVT? Are you sure? Honda without problems? Thats definitely the worst joke ever.. please go to Honda FB page and see how many complains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • Doesn't Matter on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:06 pm

read again, i got a preve after the persona, since alot of people ‘upgraded’ from persona to preve and gave good review, so i trusted them. Ended up with an even more problematic car.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Oct 04, 2015 at 3:15 pm

I read Doesn’t Matter was referring to preve, not persona on the CVT. Yes, preve with the punch CVT.

• RCnobi on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:58 pm

This is Honda car that taken, rebadged and modified by Proton. Outside looks is Proton, inside is Honda.

• IrizX on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Maybe for a Proton car…but this is basically a Honda car with a Proton shell, so should be good. My Inspira almost 5 years, no problem.

Rebadge Potong=Good Potong
      Ori Potong=Suck Potong

Rebadge is the future of Potong. No more original Potong crap with Campro engine and noisy Punch CVT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Wooooooow panjangnya Kreta, Cantek lampu

• Mr Fakta on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Looks promising, if it’s priced well and the design is nice, it would sell. I would actually like to buy one as I’m finding to buy a sedan.
    But proton, please don’t disappoint us again like what you did with Preve. I was actually going to buy that until the test drive and finishing let me down.

• Davos on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:17 pm

It is better not to unvail the cover so that people will keep on wandering what the design is. Once it is unvail, people may began to lost interest knowing that it is just a copy of a foreign brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • BOYCOTT SEKINCHAN RESTORAN on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Proton always bringing us hope . new saga ? well . compair to a old sunny 130y . i still go for 130y .
    But this time , PERDANA with brand new design . i am hopefully you won’t dissapoint us …
    Proton is already 30 years now !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Autoisboring on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:19 pm

No manual? People nowadays….

• MitchelJohn on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Automatic transmission is preferred for this segment.

Especially when company executives are the one riding it.

• ahmadAlbab on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:50 pm

People drive this type of car for comfort and ease of mind also usually the people who always use henfon on while driving to talk to business clients so how can be manual meh..

• The rear boot lid has some rear reflective elements like Preve. Not such a good idea.

• Rear like persona. Front like saga. Ugly car for poor people who want to feel rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 57
    • KevinChia on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Im richer than you for sure but I still did not look down at people with lower income.. O don’t care whether they want to look rich or what so ever, its their money.. Why? Is it wrong for them to at least drive a big new car even if its cheap?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
  • ionlaw on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:24 pm

They are not ready….jangan paksa diri

• oklar on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:29 pm

main selak2 ciku cak pulak

• albag on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:44 pm

after all the positive comments, back to reality.. how many ppl willing to fork out money to buy car actually…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • mystvearn on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Its based on a Honda right. Honda engine. Will sell. Looking back at it, I think the rebadged Gomen version seems to be the bad end of the bargain. Bravo Proton

Good thing the looks has been revised. I think TC can render the car’s final look based on the available preview look.

• Tune by lotus? I will tapau the new accord n camry bro…ps give the good price for the 2.4cc.Sure i will buy.

• Hoonta on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Please keep it wrapped forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • MCMCMC on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:09 pm

There are proton haters who does not own proton make bad stories and fake stories about proton car problem. Beware guy. This group have similar modus operandi. Make false and fake stories of Proton car problem, and spread of here. Such a shame. Beware guy with this proton haters cyber troopers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Hoonta on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:48 pm

People just say nasty things about proton then move on. It doesnt stay on their minds. Such is the unimportance of proton.

• Yeah, I also agree. Sometimes, it’s just weird when there is a post about Proton like introducing a new model or any improvement they make and then, boom.. there will be a group of peoples commenting about their previous Proton’s experience. Make it a long post (really, do u have time to write for sometg are not related????) that’s not related with the article. Shame on you guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Salambangi on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Dear civic lover

My civic has to replace the wheel bearings 4 times and the power steering hose twice not to mention other niggly problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Wally's linen centre on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Alaaa……you know they give negative comments? Because they are competitors and Proton Perdana is a potential threat to them

• shawal on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:07 pm

things are looking good , a step in the right direction…

I had this nagging feeling that the exposed car was somewhat incomplete and looked fiddly….

this looks proper…. , the rear tail lamps looks really good

so does the countour of the front bumper…

it’ll look really sporty i bet….

• Norman on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Hopefully there is variants for this.NA and turbo apart,2.0 with 160hp/195nm & 2.2 with 170hp/217nm for the NA version and of course the turbo 2.0 with 205hp/320nm & 2.2 with 220hp/350nm will be adequate.

• Unmatched bumper color wt body color..
    Classic proton problem..

• powershot (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:30 am

some people do like it. I hope the bodykit colours can be optional (same colour or contrast colour as body)

• cendol (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:36 pm

If price is RM 130k – 140k for this generic Honda, What is stopping me from buying ORIGINAL Honda at fewer grand more??

• Lotus ride and handling. Old ah pek sure cannot understand it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Chong on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:56 pm

According to gov report, The maintainance cost of previous perdana is more expensive than merc e-class. So…

• shashi on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Persona is Honda City….
    I wait to buy…

• policeman on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:13 pm

The tail light is a lot better than the Kapsul version.

But the colour mismatch of the bumber and body is a turn off. Similar problem with most Proton cars.

• policeman on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Bloody fool Proton you better damn well sell a 2.4 manual. Stop treating manual like a poor man’s car. Inspira bagi manual tapi kosong basic 1.8 version only. Else I shall curse the Perdana to be a flop.

• Another Rakyat on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:18 pm

110K + for a D-segment sedan as we all know (but some won’t acknowledge) is bloody expensive. Forget about the difference in currency exchange etc, look at it in term of average salary vs car price.

We are just adding to household debt, and in Malaysia people have to spend 30-50 % of their gross annual salary for cars. If most Malaysians has to take more than 3 years loan for cars, it means most Malaysians are buying cars they actually cannot afford.

By right Proton should be selling affordable cars domestically. When Saga first launch, it was only 18k. Even though salary was lower back then, people can buy one with 3 years or less loan. I remember my late father took only 1 year loan after paying more than half downpayment for a Saga.

But instead, Proton priced their cars as expensive as the Toyotas & Hondas. I don’t blame Proton 100% for that because the govt excise duty contribute to most of the price. So where it this car for the rakyat? Leave it to the Japanese owned Perodua? (which btw still expensive)

• Facto on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Preve C segmenter price is on par with city and vios B segmenters. Get your fact right

• Another Rakyat on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Ok, forget the car segment, it’s about affordability, which supposedly Proton as local manufacturer provides to Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • C.P. MOHAN on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:52 pm

PROTON Perdana (PP), the car who is neither here nor there. Those who cannot afford (PP) want something cheaper those who can afford want something other than PP.

• Nurhalizah on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:55 pm

So ugly… Why rebadged a older version of accord? Shud rebadged the 2016 accord. Brainless bodoh proton ppl. They shud sell this car below RM80k because it’s the older generation. Take into account the depreciation of the 8th generation accord and proton brand name and same old engine which is quite a fuel guzzer they price it for 2.0L with at least 6 airbags and 8 speaker from Bose for RM75,999, then 2.4L with 9 airbags and 11 speakers Bose sound system at RM84,999. If they sell above 90k for the starting 2.0L based model they can kiss goodbye and expect sales of 50 units a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
    • Nurhalizah oh nurhalizah..
      You go n rebatch 2016 accord yourself if you know what u r talking about. Pui!

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:48 pm

I am wondering why proton still want to launch the perdana imagine the price will be at least 100k and above.

No doubt it can be the cheapest D segment car at price of 100-110k but how many people will really buy “proton” when this car can reach foreign C segment car. Yes, it is completely different sizes but driving a CKD mazda 3 or kia k3 at 100k will look higher class than driving the new perdana.

If I were wanna D segment car, we have an option to go for 2nd hand teana 2.5 2011 at 80k. Driving a 5 years old Teana vs new Perdana 2016, which one is more prestigious?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • Johnny on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Nice! Well done proton!

• stupidcar on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Proton VTAKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:35 pm

persona = honda city
    exora = mitsubishi grandis
    perdana = honda accord + jaguar

better learn from thais, let the big players invest in their soil, let the locals learn from the big players, and then once you are confident enough, come out with your own car brand. man power already available together with the tech aspect. proton? none.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Trust me, no matter how long as an assembly shop, you dun learn anything. Its just monkey job. The brand holders wont allow you to do any changes or localisation or re-design.
      Having Proton (and P2 to some extend) is much better for innovation.

• Teksi Kangkung 1M on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:11 pm

After so many years of disspointment, making losses, poor QC and numerous complaint from owners, wasting fundings in billions………

why Proton still don’t get it????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • IMAGINE kalau dlm bentuk crossover. mesti cun melecun. sure laris cam goreng pisang panas. nak beli X6 x mampu ma

• shahrin traveller on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Well if it is price below rm100k, than it’s worth buying coz where else can u get a brand new 2.0 accord clone….

• old dog on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:45 pm

launched at RM100K and can only have chance to compete…
    why not using this platform to come out a SUV?

consumer is shying away from this segment by turning into SUV more and more..this model is 2 years too late when consumer changing style..

Iriz EV, however, if launching a good price (eg 70K-80K common! for once do a good deed to the malaysian!) will able to catch market.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Wow, if this is the final design, I can safely say that Proton did not disappoint one bit ! I take back 101% of what I said earlier about the awkward rear design of the ‘work in progress’ Perdana. Lesson learnt; don’t assume things.

They’ve added a lip spoiler and the rear lights look nothing like the Prevé’s or Persona’s. Also, four reverse sensors, and a shark-fin antenna, finally ! The ‘chamfered design’ is a lot more obvious now, and the rear doesn’t look flat at all, unlike the ‘work in progress’ model.

At this point, I am convinced that the new Perdana will be something special. Still, I have my worries for the car, and I won’t make bold claims like ‘Myvi killer’ and whatnot. Better to just let the car do the talking; the proof is in the pudding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • yeah…the rear design certainly improved a lot..not flat anymore…the chamfer now seems longer thus adding more ass…sexy yaw..and they change the profile a bit so that the rear light protruded out more..

• winwin on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Thank God no CVT…It spoils all the driving fun and the annoying whine.

• najib on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:43 am

wow another new proton accord! hooray!

• Nasi Dagang on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:40 am

The tail lights look like they are from Vauxhall Insignia 2013 facelift. They thought no one would notice it when they copy from car brands that are uncommon in Malaysia.

• Nasi Dagang on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:44 am

The tail lights look like they are from Vauxhall Insignia 2013 facelift. They thought no one would notice it when they copied from car brands that are uncommon in Malaysia.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 3:03 am

Damn so they used the accord chassis, engines and gearbox. So…what’s left that is proton? Headlights?

• PitMie on Oct 04, 2015 at 4:28 am

Why does Proton opt to stick to 2.0 of Accord? For 2.4 is fine but Honda’s 2.0 for Accord is even slower than Proton’s 1.6 CFE (in Preve or Suprima S). Proton should’ve tried a new 1.8 CFE with 160bhp…rather than a 1.6 CFE 138bhp. Far better than 2.0 of Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • kheng on Oct 04, 2015 at 5:57 am

It is disappointing to know it uses HONDA engine instead of CAMPRO, since proton is said going to be manufacturing this Perdana.
    5 speed auto Trans? We already have 8 speed auto transmissions used in some other cars which is said to be able to provide better fuel economic and smoother transitions between speeds when the car is driven in eco mode especially. Well, in this Perdana, not much choice, fuel economy wouldn’t be excellent, boring 5 speed old tech.
    I bravely conclude the new PERDANA is only a repackaged Honda Accord, and worry its quality will drop compared to its predecessor.

• concern citizens on Oct 04, 2015 at 6:21 am

No matter what proton do no one would be happy. Malaysians are generally not patriotic. Instead of complaining why don’t take up engineering make your own car… instead of blaming government ask yourself what have you done to make malaysia better? Eg Do you have any plan to be politician so that you can close proton to “help” everyone?

• old dog on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:03 am

yup, thats why bolehland bankrupting with people have no economy of sense by terming own self “patriotic” in blindly supporting such project by using all the country $$ to build a rugi money project, is NOT patriotic at all when its already 30 years of trail.
      Wake up.
      In your own home, will you keep throwing your hard earn money into building a dinning table if your skill set is not there and after 30 years the dinning keep falling apart, and keep asking your family using that table even in the middle of the dinner it break down and dishes fall to the ground?
      Now will you continue to insist to use your own build dinning table even after 30 years with all wasted food dropped on the floor?
      you are either too rich (which dont care about the wasted food)
      or too free (which you have time wasting on this NON PRODUCTIVITY in rebuilding your dinning table)

• Labuan on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:18 am

Remove or reduce the car tax. Proton sudah setaraf BMW, jgn takut open competition OK.

• Brozel on Oct 04, 2015 at 7:03 am

Kipidap Proton..Congratulation & welcome for a redesigned a new Proton Perdana..at least for now we are champion in the 3rd world country..proud to see a Proton cars in the heart of Harare City 8 years ago & Mahathir Mohammad were well known by the market seller..All the best In The Not Too Distance Future…

• Winmac on Oct 04, 2015 at 8:29 am

There will be no car without problem. Why people keep saying this is rebadge Accord? Looks nothing like it. At least on the exterior.

People who hated Proton are simply anti government people that associated Proton with the current government. Some hated Mahathir and wished they were cronies but malas kerja.

You mofos that are quick to judge are stupid people because smart people make choices based on complete sets of information which is not available here. Take away the hate, go for a test drive when it arrives and THEN make judgement.

The best we can now is optimistic.

• yippi33 on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:23 am

accord 2.0’s engine and gb combo is sweet even if its SOHC. 180km/h no sweat. i hv a feeling this will be a hit if the interior part quality is good.

• powershot (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:34 am

4999mm? that is even longer than the BMW 5-series

• Proton can close shop... What a joke !!! on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:40 pm

2 years to redesign exterior & interior & they going to use the same Honda Accord engine for the car…… No wonderland all the R&D people lepak maxisimum……. What a waste of money just to redesign the car but everything else is still Honda Accord underneath it all ….a wolf in sheeps clothing so to speak !! Use that money & come up with a better engine & powertrain….. Euro 5 compatible bet you is from one of the China companies which proton will be buying the new engines from to make it euro5 compatible thus why warning is given will be more expensive…. Proton is no longer a car manufacturer, they are a bigger version of aftermarket copy & paste with outsourcing new tech from China which still won’t make any profit …..close shop proton…don’t waste more of the people’s money & time !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Farhan on Oct 04, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Sensing that the Perdana combines Passat and Accord silhouette design. From the teaser, it’s better than the 1 in the Kapsul movie though. Nice.

• Geli siot on Oct 04, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Geli siot tengkok proton n perodua!

• MentalKar on Oct 04, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Apa yang kecoh sangat pasal Perdana baru pakai enjin HONDA? Cuba kita selak2 berita2 kreta2 luxury kat alam maya ni. Banyak dah jenama kreta OEM lain pakai enjin OEM dari plant OEM lain. Takkan lah Proton nak jual sampah kat anak jati Malaysia.PROTON Usaha!!!

• Budin on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:11 pm

try googling Honda Spirior, the truth shall speaks for itself

• Just hoping that Proton will not use the ugly Thundercat logo anymore. Please…

• hopefully proton didnt use back side mirror design from preve, persona or saga…previously all reuse back same design from B segment to C segment.

• Opel Insignia rear on new perdana..? interesting..

• nak barang free pandu kreta mcm tak pas lesen. mmg tak lulus lah tu.. on Dec 25, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Tlp

• SadProtonOwner on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:43 am

Sorry I really lost trust to Proton after owning Exora Bold and Iriz 1.3. I don’t know why each time when Proton want to launch a new model, too much hope given but after the real car is on the road.. very sad. Exora now suffering many low quality parts, started from interior cheap plastic and easy to broke/ scratch until the engine parts. The cooling oil hose bad quality issue, produced by UCM vendor, has became a nightmare to Preve/Suprime/ Bold Exora owners. The recall program seems ‘twisted’ which just to replace one in entire life but after this Proton will put down it as a wear an tear parts. Meaning your 40k mileage services interval will put more cost up to few hundred RM. See how Proton try to bury down their failure by put into their compulsory wear and tear parts.

The IRIZ, how I was attracted to their propaganda, after driving it, I was so frustrated. Lousy power train, noisy and high vibration engine + gb. Now new defective found.. the dashboard rubber-feeling coating got melting. I didn’t put anything wrong such solver or solution on it. But last two weeks I touch the surface and my fingers got glued-effect. Which means the rubber coating was get-off from the dash plastic. may be because a regular parking at my office under hot sun. But why other car not happen like this?

I REALLY SAD! I now i really hate PROTON. Don’t said I’m an RBA or paid-cyber trooper or Toyota salesman just to ignore those Proton bad quality story!!

My advice. don’t ever buy a proton car especially the fist batch! Except for this Accordana, untl they change the engine.

My 2 cent.