Proton’s new torque converter CVT not from Punch

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 057

Proton’s chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa has confirmed to paultan.org that the national carmaker’s new torque converter CVT – to be matched to the company’s upcoming new direct-injected engines, replacing the current start-up clutch units – will not be supplied by Punch Powertrains, but by another transmission maker.

Rashid said that although the Belgian-based company is already developing its own torque converter CVT, it won’t be ready in time to be mated to the new engines, so Proton had to look elsewhere.

“We discussed with them, I told them to bring [the transmission’s development] forward from their schedule, but they said they couldn’t,” he said. “That’s why we need to go to somebody else. They have their own plans, I have to respect that, but unfortunately their timing is a bit different from ours.”

Nevertheless, he commended Punch Powertrains for being a good partner over the years, and he says the company could revert to Punch transmissions once they are ready.

Although Rashid declined to name the supplier of the new transmissions, rumours suggest that they may come from Jatco – the Nissan-owned CVT expert erected its own booth at the Alami Proton open day, so the signs are definitely pointing in that direction.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• So far off on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:03 pm

So does this mean the new Persona and Saga will still use Punch transmissions?

Disappointed, was looking forward to it. I’ll wait for late 2017/2018 before I buy Proton I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Luckily Punch can’t meet Proton dateline or else Proton will have a tough time answering why still using Punch after all the negative feedbacks on Punch system.

It is a wise move to stay away from problematic name – by chance or by design. It is like killing two birds with one stone – show that you’re listening to your customers complaints and at the same time show that there is no cronyism here as you can change brand or partner at will.

• Ollie on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:17 pm

Sorry bro. By then bankrupt. I’m looking at their financials and projected sales now. 70k sales is possible for whole 2016. With that, technical bankruptcy by Jul/Aug 2016. YES!!

• Drive on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Proton should consider develop their own power train so not depend on others in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
    • alldisc on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:49 pm

It is very complicated to develop an automatic transmission. With its layout, compactness, gear ratios and final drive, the load it can take, the valve body design and electronics.

Proton is not in a position to do so. Not yet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • nabill (Member) on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:50 pm

and its well known that a developing a new gearbox is more costly than a new engine …
        if p1 keep changing gearbox suppliers they are going to have higher cost and never get to enjoy their already small economies of scale… good move for better consumer sentiment towards the brand…

• M Night ShyMalam on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Even much bigger manufacturers than Proton source gearbox from specialist transmission companies like ZF, Getrag and Aisin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Unfortunately Malaysian too stupid, dun hv ability to do so

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 56
      • fanofthisite on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:21 pm

I concur, Malaysians too stupid. The comment proves it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • not stupid la doh. no money. unless you willing them to shave your tax money again.

• Really on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Yes, you are the living proof of your own comment! Carmakers outsources their transmissions all the time. Want me to give some examples? Ferrari(Getrag), BMW(ZF), Toyota(Aisin), Nissan(Jatco) the list go on. It is just you are too stupid to gain more knowledge before making such stupid comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Dude. Malaysians not high level enuff to catch ur sarcasm and double entendre.

• Stern on Nov 20, 2016 at 2:06 pm

nissan cvt had major issues in the states after certain k/km why would proton want to choose known those cvt? just enter nissan cvt problems and you will easily find what user are facing not malaysian You are

• Ala no need to produce new engine or gearbox because many of them cant even a new proton car lol they can only afford a 20 century proton lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • Urm… Can anyone translate what is this guy talking about? Eng or malay should be fine

• Talking? i never talk to my monitor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Hmmm… seems similar to those monkeys that are being churned out by commie schools..

• Crack on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:08 pm

The gear knob plastics supplier also should be changed. Looks ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Pewdiepie on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Good to know that it isn’t Punch for this time. Proton really got to step up and make their cars less problematic. It’s all about reliability and the safety of one’s life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Absolute Rider on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Proton must have a 3 door or 5 door hot hatch model in 2018 and should on their table by now since 1.5L TGDI ready by that time.

Launch it in the first quarter of 2018. Cheers….

Please, do not delay the engines release date.

• alldisc on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Already has 2 5-door hatch which are the suprima and iriz. Suprima will be 5 yrs old though at that time.

• Absolute Rider on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:15 pm

It said hot hatch. Thank you very much. :)

• ahmadjohnson97 on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Iriz and suprima are both hatchback but not hot hatch. Proton Satria GTi can be considered as a hot hatch.

• alldisc on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:09 pm

When satria gti was launched in 99 with 134bhp, other hot hatches were already in 170-180 game. Civic type r, golf gti, escort cosworth, sunny gtiR, Vauxhall astra GTE and GSR.

Satria GTi was lukewarm.

And no, proton need not have a hot hatch until it has sales volume.

Proton has tried that with SGTI and neo R3 and failed to create a following crowd.

• And coupe also, hope there will be new Putra

• Jonn Dol on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:19 pm

“Nevertheless, he commended Punch Powertrains for being a good partner over the years, and he says the company could revert to Punch transmissions once they are ready”.

Why just revert to Punch tranny? Open up Invitation To Bid la. Invite the others – Jatco, Aisin, Getrag, Borgwarner (the last two might not be so interested in CVTs)..

• DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Punch is highly cooperative in their partnership with Proton and takes the time to iron out the shortcomings, beef up the components, tweak the designs, etc. in order to address the weaknesses.

Most other transmission manufacturers would have just told Proton to take it as it is and shut up. Mitsubishi being a case in point, with their F4A series of auto gearboxes, not allowing Proton to deviate from the off-the-shelf designs and gear ratios.

• lilytan on Feb 02, 2016 at 11:22 am

Spot on. The most important thing is to have gearbox that match the engine well. Gen2 with its campro engine and mitsu box is a classic case of enngine-gearbox disaster.

• Teringin on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Why not use ZF? Barulah rasa BMW

• Going to Jatco could be a really good move, as Nissan’s CVT is one of the best in the business. And as we all know, Proton’s Achilles heel nowadays is their absolutely hateful CVT gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Really? Trying to paint that once Proton solve the CVT, then it’s heluva good car?

• What about the floor mat? Who is supplying? If they are using silk as the floor mat, they can shut up and take my money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Jajaja on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:47 pm

1.5 TGDi 180HP 260NM wuhuuuuuuu
    Enuff to smoke 2.5 cc car. Can even tailgating toyota 86 wuhuuuuu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Sharon on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Proton’s target for its 1.5L TGDI is 180hp with 250nm of torque.

By the way, please drive safe. Everytime talking about tailgating, this and that.

• I wonder if that Punch Engineer trolling local forums telling off proton owners saying the problem is not their CVT but their driving habits, still has a job?

• DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Kristoff was replying in some thread on Paultan recently so, yeah, he still has a job. And no, I don’t think he was trolling local forums. His posts on Autoworld were actually pretty constructive and informative..

• syukur lah

• M Night ShyMalam on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:27 pm

How many Proton owner agree that Punch throttled the performance of CFE engines to save on warranty claims?

• None. Cuz P1 owners know that its the GB torque limitation not the engine output

• Henry on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Most probably the same unit that Honda is using.

• Tgdi + torque cvt + lotus handling + hpf . Now only if they improve cabin material quality .it will be a winner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Absolute Rider on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Please no more Punch!!! in the future.

unless they are really good torque converter CVT.

• sparcov on Feb 02, 2016 at 9:46 am

My preve executive CVT lagging because of punch gearbox. Why punch again?

The reverse gear also lagging and in general not responsive.

I still believe my 3 speed year 2000 wira way better than this punch

• Ollie on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Punch from Belgium???????????

EH don tokkok laaaaaa

sold off long time ago to Chinese New Horizon. their only customers now are Proton, Chery and China-cars!!

get facts right!

• david on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:05 pm

punch is a belgian company
      just that the factory is in china.
      yes. i hate punch for destroying proton

• IBM computer div.from UassEy now owned by China Lenovo ok whattt…

• Stern on Nov 20, 2016 at 2:03 pm

nissan cvt had major issues in the states after certain k/km why would proton want to choose known those cvt? just enter nissan cvt problems and you will easily find what user are facing

• Google nissan north america for Nissan cvt problem, worse than punch’s