Alami Proton 2015 attracts more than 17,000 visitors

Proton has announced that the two-day Alami Proton carnival held last weekend attracted more than 17,000 visitors. The event, which opened up the automaker’s production plant, R&D building and facilities at its Centre of Excellence (COE) in Shah Alam to the general public, allowed attendees the chance to view the workings of the national carmaker up close.

Vehicular highlights included a brief peek of the 2016 Proton Perdana as well as an ‘Evolution of the Perdana’ showcase. The funky Proton Pick-up Concept was also shown, as was the Iriz Active MkII concept. Other displays of note were Iriz and Exora prototypes equipped with a 1.3 litre turbo and six-speed Getrag manual gearbox combi.

Sales were brisk too, the company stating that it recorded more than RM30 million in bookings and sales value – including the sales of new cars, Proton parts, merchandise and auction of used cars – during the carnival, which ran last Saturday and Sunday.

Two cars – an Iriz and a Suprima S – were up for grabs in the “Test Drive & Win A Car” programme, and the Iriz was won by Zunaini Zakaria, a teacher from Sekolah Kebangsaan Puchong, Selangor who test drove a Proton Exora SP. Meanwhile, Abdul Alim Abdullah’s test drive of the new Saga Plus rewarded him with the Suprima S.

Encouraged by the event’s success, Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah said the automaker is looking at the possibility of making the carnival a yearly affair. “Last year, when we first did the Alami Proton carnival, our intention was to allow the public to see our technical capabilities, to highlight the vendors that supply us our parts and to encourage the public to understand and perhaps appreciate the talented local engineers and designers that we have in Proton.

“We wanted people to see for themselves that everything is done here in Proton by Malaysians for Malaysians. I believe we achieved that goal last year. This year, we returned with similar goals for more people to experience what Proton is all about, and we are thankful to fellow Malaysians who came to the event despite the discouraging weather,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• To Proton:
    Bravo on your Open Day event. Very few car makers are as open as you with the public, especially the R&D facilities that can be visited by the public (including industrial competitors).

Do make it a yearly event, but do come out with new projects each time. Almost 30% of the R&D exhibit was recycled from last years. And do rotate your suppliers each year so that all your hundreds of vendors can shine during that time (like a give chance to your door rubber suppliers to display too).

I would make a suggestion for you to have teaser roadshows around Malaysia. Just a mini carnival, with small games, have a couple of technical displays, and if the visitors want to know more, they can be invited to come to the main event.

Im glad that unlike bashers perception here, your engineers do know their stuff and can explain well with enthusiasm. Doesn’t matter if its in English or Malay, they have the confidence to interact with so many people that I’m impressed. They just need to fine-tune their presentation somewhat (being technical with more knowledgeable crowd, but more layman with others. They need to gauge which crowd it is, during their Q&A).

Though sad to say that I only see overwhelmingly one ethnic group at that event, even though the others are quite majority around that area (ie Puchong, Kemuning, Subang, Sunway). This is worrisome.

Overall, do keep this up and inspire the younger generation to take up science and technical fields of study. Make them want to be designers, innovators, engineers instead of just happy being assembly wrench monkeys (like our northern neighbour and someone named Albert).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 78
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:50 pm

So true R&D all are to AP system tax Proton profit margin are really low only… Buy Proton got taste and no buy Proton people no taste and lousy !!! PROTON still the top at sales… eat this P2 supporters !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
    • Hup Seng on Oct 06, 2015 at 7:46 pm

chinese no like proton maa

• Aero (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:26 pm

I agree 101% with your comments.

I did see some Chinese, Indians and tourists too… but yes, you’re right, it makes me very sad how most Chinese do not seem to support Proton. If it was ‘Alami Toyota’ or ‘Alami Honda’, it would be far more racially balanced.

In the past, both Chinese and Malays were just as supportive of Proton, even as late as the Waja era. It is reflected in the members of the owners clubs and gatherings. Somewhere along the lines, Chinese seem to have mostly abandoned Proton. It could be because of the fact that they’ve become wealthier and moved on to more upmarket cars above RM100k (above Proton’s territory). But I’m also inclined to believe that many Chinese feel that Proton is a ‘Malay and not Malaysian company’, too closely tied with BN and UMNO. Hence, supporting Proton would mean supporting BN. However, Perodua, with its ties to UMW Toyota is often looked as more ‘neutral or Malaysian’, so there is less false accusation. I’m not saying all Chinese think like this… it’s just hard to find a Chinese who doesn’t laugh or scoff at Proton. Although, nowadays, I am seeing more and more support from Chinese Proton owners, so maybe the times are changing.

Normally, I do not bring up the issue of race, but this time, I will not ignore the elephant in the room. And if you must know, I’m an Indian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • You should be proud of Tata group, the owner of Jaguar Land Rover.

• Saart on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:17 pm

I disagree what the reason Chinese rejects Proton due to Chinese moved to higher bracket income. To anyone who reads this, I have many Chinese friends where they earn less than 2K MYR/month in his/her 30’s.

The main reason Chinese shy away from Proton mainly because of poor quality and high fuel consumption. I’m a Malaysian Chinese, but I bought a Persona because of there are not many choices within 40k range.

• Ollie on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Never have I ever met someone as neuron-challenged as you. Laser surgery might be able to help correct your blindness.

• Esprit on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Toyota (the engine supplier to Lotus) is one of the vendor there also?

• Nope. But Autoliv-Hirotako is there (you know, the one airbag brand that does not kill pipu), JATCO has a very accommodating Japanese there. ZF, Continental too.

• Yes, there was one ethic mainly present there. and why is that? Sorry to say this, however, I only saw few chinese but I didn’t see Indian at all.

• Albert on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:40 pm

As the year draws to a close in 80 odd days,I wish Proton well alto we have been writing a lot of FACTS on Proton,which unfortunately are DISLIKED BY SOME ARDENT FANBOYS.
    Anyway, remember the true test of a business is whether it can withstand this UNFAVOURABLE GST wrecked year.
    Officially ,nobody dares to declare Bolehland is in recession…but we have only ourselves to blame if we commit to buying NEW CARS and HOUSES without assessing whether we can have Plan B to fall back if Plan A fails.
    Prices of new cars including Proton will go up in 2016 cos of the WORST PERFORMING CURRENCY IN ASIA.
    If any of our forum contributors intends to buy a new vehicle,it is hopefully a wise choice after much deliberation.If there still lingers the slightest doubt that their job or business is in jeopardy ,then perhaps a less expensive car or preowned one will suffice.
    The only way the rakyat can enjoy lower car prices are a)BY NOT BUYING NEW CARS FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS
    b)GOMEN REDUCING CAR TAXES(100% UNLIKELY)
    C)BY BUYING USED CARS THRO METICULOUS BARGAINING
    Remember,once we buy with our EMOTIONS,we will regret when the emotions settles down and we are faced with overdue late instalments and harrassment from banks,when our employment/business runs into problems.

2016 will be another very challenging year ahead.
    Proton…all the very best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 13
  • Cikgu selamat on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:33 pm

such a big crowd only came for free makan, minum baloon, and main main……….This doesnt translate to huge sales number, Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 48
    • what, got free makan and minum? how come i didnt know. I just went there to get a look inside proton.

• where got free makan? you went or not?

• Then you dun understand the point of this carnival.

• Diriku on Oct 07, 2015 at 2:19 am

Cikgu selamat do you have any proof of your claim?

• priceTag on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:34 am

Cikgu..very short minded.
      All the makan makan n play ground for the kids la.
      For who understand the technical, the event was library of knowledge of automotive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • driver on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:37 am

i know you’re lazy to read….

“it recorded more than RM30 million in bookings and sales value”

• Jobless on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:41 pm

How many translate to actual buyers?. My guess is Tat they pobably lose big money on tis event

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • MentalKar on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Alamak ada free makan ke rupanya, habaq siang2 la no

• Pekerja Proton on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Malam Jumaat is more exciting

• I was there on Sunday and there were staff assembling Exoras at the MVF

• Aero (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Hmm I felt like this year drew in more visitors than last year. But I think 17k visitors is still a lot, considering the haze, economic woes, political instability and whatnot. Last year’s event (which drew in 30k visitors) was the first of its kind, and it showcased the Iriz too.

Overall, I think this year’s event was more encompassing and organized compared to last year. To me, the best part of this year’s event is the Advance Tour… because you get to share your thoughts and learn from the Proton engineers in each department. I feel bad for kacau-ing all the engineers with long conversations, but I could tell that they were just as happy to share their knowledge and thoughts, provided that you were open-minded and empathetical. Personally, I just wanted the engineers to feel appreciated and respected as much as any other engineer from a global car company. It doesn’t matter if your job is just something simple, like driving the cars through the final car wash, or something complex like powertrain design. All employees are equally instrumental to Proton’s progress as a whole. As a 21-year-old engineering student, I couldn’t talk much about overly technical topics with the engineers, I’m still trying to learn the basics myself, it’s a long learning process, but one which I hope to traverse regardless.

Also, I think 2 days is not enough, it should be a 3 day event (Fri, Sat and Sun). :]

I want to extend my utmost gratitude to everyone at Proton and also to all who attended Alami Proton 2015.

• jurutera 1st class on Oct 07, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Engineers are logical people. Never easily fooled. Mostly they prefer Japanese cars like Toyota and Honda.

• Went there too. What I can say, it’s really fun and informative. One things from the most that impressed me is P1 staffs are very friendly and they organized this event very well. Can u imagine that they have shuttle car that take u from parking to the event which is actually just a walking distance. And then there is also shuttle bus service, which is necessary for this kind of event and done very well too by p1. Good job P1, maybe for the next one can do at tanjong malim factory. Really want to visit there. p.s. i’m also one the peoples who booked iriz at the event..

• andrekua on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:23 pm

I think that there’s 3 camps here. One wishes Proton death, another wishes Proton innovation while the last one just want a cheap affordable car even if it’s a rebadge or redesign of someone’s else chassis.

Personally I think Proton own design is not going to work given the small number of cars being sold. Secondly their reputation is already gone ever since the glory Wira/Satria/Putra/Perdana days.

I don’t know why some of us can’t accept it. Look at MAS, Perwaja, Proton and then reflect on their downfall. It really doesn’t matter how great these companies once were because we look at the future, not past. There’s no use looking back and making empty promises when the person at the helm had no vision/knowledge/desire to change or improve to serve you better.

I don’t mind if Proton survive and government give them special treatment but I do hope the bailout stop because it only prove that they fail. Why do they deserve another chance when they still kept the same idiot in power who had no vision to bring the company out of red.

• so the perdana fully revealed? got pic? or just that half revealed/teasing only they did?

• akula on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:42 am

went there with my kids
    “two thumbs up”, my kids and I enjoyed the event, programs are well organised and informative

other GLC should also organised event like this to encourage science and technology among young generation

unlike rubbish jom heboh etc

• Different dept organise different events for different reasons. Jom heboh is by sales & marketing. Alami Proton is by technical teams (vendors,prod, R&D,quality,etc).

• Ollie on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Still can’t face the facts.

People die on the road because of Proton’s protection. RM50k cars have airbags, ESC/VSC and 5-star Euro ratings if not for Proton. So be happy with your support while Malaysians die on the road because of your support.

When Proton goes bankrupt, and thousands of ppl lose their jobs, be happy that you support Proton.

Lazy to talk anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Jamie on Oct 12, 2015 at 2:35 pm

people die on the road because of Proton’s protection is not a fact.

• Congrats Proton on this event As a Singaporean, I bought my first proton (second hand Iswara)because it is the only one I can afford. I begin to appreciate first hand the value of the unpretentious and very down to earth Proton cars although. I think quality is on par with other makes in its class. Since then have been buying Proton all the way from Waja, Gen2, Persona, and now Exora CPS. I have seen Proton quality grew through each model. Yes there were the window issues in Waja. By the Persona’s introduction, I have very little to fault. I must say I have been and still am a very satisfied customer. Moving forward, I wish to see Proton employ the latest technology as an option and let its customers decide the best balance between cost and technology with quality a given. Once again Congratulations Proton!