Proton Pick-up Concept debuts: an Exora-based truck!

Proton_Pick-up_Concept_ 001

This one came as a surprise, all right. Simply called the Proton Pick-up Concept, this bizarre design study is now on display at the Proton Styling Studio, which is currently open to the public as part of this weekend’s Alami Proton event. Until we broke the news yesterday, we bet no one would have expected this, right?

The Ford F-150 Raptor-inspired front end is attached to the body of what is undoubtedly a Proton Exora MPV. What gave it away? Just take a look at the familiar A-pillar and front doors. If that’s not telling enough, a peek through the darkened windows reveals an Exora dashboard.

Nevermind that, the entire front fascia has been reworked to incorporate a gaping grille with honeycomb-like elements. Within said assembly, a thick silver bar spans the entire length of the front, with thin strips of LEDs embedded at each end. As far as trucks go, this is as distinctive as it gets.

Round the back, the Proton Pick-up Concept has a high-ish and short truck bed – similar in profile to the Ssangyong Actyon Sports. Nothing familiar about the styling, however, with tiny little brake lights housed within thick dark grey mouldings that wrap around the rear tailgate. No one is going to miss what make this is, that’s for sure.

There’s no word yet on whether this is purely a design study, or if there are any plans to bring such a vehicle into production. Proton has once managed to develop and market a pick-up vehicle based on an existing model – the Wira-based Arena – so perhaps the idea of a pick-up truck built on the Exora platform isn’t such a far fetched idea after all.

It’s worth mentioning that while most pick-ups are built on a ladder-frame chassis, monocoque-based trucks – which this one will be, if based on the Exora – do exist, albeit sparsely, such as the Honda Ridgeline and Australia’s low-riding utes. A front-wheel drive truck is more than a little unconventional, though.

When asked why Proton decided to make a pick-up concept, Proton’s Head of Design Azlan Othman told us that “it’s very simple. Looking at how successful the Jumbuck (the Arena in Australia) was, there’s no reason for us not to look at segments where we were once profitable.” Do note, though, that no real decision has been made regarding its production feasibility just yet.

In any case, do tell us what you think of the Proton Pick-up Concept. Love it, hate it, want it, do make yourself heard in the comments section below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kiddd on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:15 pm

But we all know that, design concept will not same when become in production..
    Always disappointed..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 19
    • rosdi on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:36 pm

True that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Still Wasting LHDN Money??? on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 267
        • frossonice on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Hi Proton hater, care to share where your facts came from?

Orang baru buat concept, dia dah butthurt.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 8:33 am

Bashers pissing here and there. They dont have facts and figures. They really butthurt saw the capability of Proton designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
          • Kamarul on Oct 04, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Proton need to beauty their design first…i think proton iriz the most elegant so far that comes from proton own car production..Just look at the honda…why they succesfully become as the number one choice that beats toyota,volkswagen and mazda is because their beautiful design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • Rain Hampden on Oct 10, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Honda is geriatric nowadays with silly car designs in their haste to beat Mazda and Toyota. They are no longer number 1 in Australia since many now believe their conservative designs suit pensioners more than the yuppies. Only in Malaysia do you find people ga-ga over Jazz and Accords.

• Amirul on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:30 pm

haha. honda beat vw in beautiful design? cannot digest it. what i knew, all vw cars got unique and beautiful design compared to other manufacturer

• spoon on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Hei bodo…ko gila ke atau mmg tak reti baca.
          Baca dn hadam btol2 baru komen..klu da se jenis dgn si bangsat tu tetap bangsat jgak..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
        • SillyMe on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Well, please check facts before writing… Pity this so called keyboard warriors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
        • poppi (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:00 pm

A terrible comment that comes from a sick and blackened heart. We are talking about cars here not LHDN. A person with biased and prejudice views will always talk like this. Full of hatred, everybody is wrong, I m the only one who is righteous. If you’re looking for a fault you will find one no matter what they’re trying to do. Girls don’t marry this guy you will be miserable for the rest of your lives. Pity the wife if he’s married.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
        • poppi (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Hey loser, what have you come up with?
          Full of hatred, comes from a heart which lacks love. Girls, don’t marry this lad or you will be miserable for the rest of your life. Pity the wife if he’s married.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • So what are you suggesting? Proton takleh buat kereta bagus? No room for improvement? Kau tak suka takyah beli ah. Ramai lagi yang lain nak beli. Komen cam sampah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
        • Arena was a big success in Australia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
        • fariz01 on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Kebabianmu terserlah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • Halsey on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:45 pm

You are not the only tax payer in malaysia.
          They’re more people out there who are paying tax and wanna see innovation in Proton.
          You don’t like it? who cares?
          You’re not majority nor decision maker. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Sam VHL Loo on Oct 04, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Frankly, i don’t really like Proton, but i wouldn’t blindly bash like few of the losers here.

Chill down first, i highly sense most of the bashers here is UMW Toyotaik salesman who got nothing to do already, i.e. no sales to close since their jamban junk cars can’t sell much already (just simply copy paste their stupid comments and post it here apart from RV story which was already stale @ basi). Also they very afraid this pick-up truck will ‘snatch’ most of their Hailat sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Sam VHL Loo on Oct 04, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Frankly, i don’t really like Proton, but i wouldn’t blindly bash like few of the losers here.

Chill down first, i highly sense most of the bashers here is UMW Toyotaik salesman who got nothing to do already, i.e. no sales to close since their jamban junk cars can’t sell much already (just simply copy paste their stupid comments and post it here apart from RV story which was already stale @ basi). Also they very afraid this pick-up truck will ‘snatch’ most of their Hailat sales.

• Supersnake on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:33 am

We are not from a car culture which appreciate the Arena concept. Heck only back then USA and still is Australian are the biggest follower of 2 doors ute-car concept ie Holden SS ute or the legendary Detroit El Camino SSS. Proton thought it’ ll create a niche, but only if they promoted it better especially in motorsports. I would pay money for a Arena with turbo charged 4G93 rolling on 18″s. I think you prefer the Group A and top B segments of the car market. Im more of a performance/practical and zero comfort kinda guy.

• eims perfume on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:13 am

forget those stupid basher as they will butthurt a lot more in the future and they like hurting themselves

anyway, imho, the design has the wow factor especially for the front. just the rear lamp is a bit too small, make the housing thinner and the lamp bigger will make a big difference.

• Rain Hampden on Oct 11, 2015 at 12:08 am

Nice concept ute. I saw how well- loved Arena is in Australia so if this ‘ute’ makes it to production albeit with minor front grille tweaks, plenty of rural and young n single Malaysian folks will buy it. I can say I didn’t like Protons before but the offerings beginning with Preve are simply better than those like Vios or City. My benchmark for quality compact cars are Mazda 2 and VW Golf/Polo. No silly Hondua or Toyopet for me!

• supra-gtr-150 on May 29, 2016 at 10:38 am

Make up your mind before commenting. Do you even have a brain?

• kzm (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Most concept car never enter production in its concept form..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 143
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:41 pm

No video for this pickup guys?

• Matchy on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Thank god if this won’t become production… it looks extremely bizarre even for a concept car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • Massive on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Thank god if you don’t have a baby…. the baby will be in extremely bizarre situation to have you as a father…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • hailthepurist on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:19 pm

i hope they send it to Mars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 50
  • Oh my eyes….they hurt so much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • Sam Hailat on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Proton prefer to study failure of Acyton and Ridge line rather than the proven success of Hilux Dmax Triton model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • aikon on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:01 pm

It looks too good. You need shades!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Salambangi on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Dear Proton

You need to improve on your design language to get more buyers. Iriz is a good first step . Next focus on your drivetrain. I’m fully satisfied with the Iriz. Good handling,excellent ride,solid body and quite peppy engine.

A Cx 5 rival would be a nice addition.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
    • Arena Raptor on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:33 pm

3 things for Proton:
      – change a bit the middle part to look more like normal pickup cabin
      – increase the width & height a bit so same size with hilux
      – front light make it proper housing but still integrated with the grey bar

So there you have a proper pickup ready for Thailand, the biggest pickup market in ASEAN. Yes please keep the Arena name too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Protoner on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:29 am

A very good start…
      Look at triton, a trooper helmet on wheel..
      They can sell so well..
      But hilux n navara is a bit old fashion..

Sometime design need to be radical but slide conservation will sell well…
      A balance between the two will be the best seller..

• aku bodo on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:27 pm

gila cun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Kai on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Nice looking but the front look like wearing braces la..LOL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Silthice on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:38 pm

I thought nobody can take pictures?

• MitchelJohn on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Can take picture, just that you can’t publish the pictures onto public domain. It’s a written agreement the media has to sign.

• Aiman hakim on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Looks rugged

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • hehonk! on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:39 pm

To me, this car looks great. But I think they should redesign the rear doors. The edge of the door looks a bit “sharp”. Anyways, great job, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • volvo850se on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Looks like a fair competitor for the Ford Ranger. This looks quite good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Hukaka on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Exora platform should not be a pickup truck,base on pickup they used ladder frame.
    I can see the front and back it’s purposely make to LOOKs like a pickup.but if currently proton don’t have a proper Diesel engine,strong transmission and most importian if this truck used to load around 1 ton loading it’s will not move at all base on current proton have the 1.6 CFE engine,the approach and departure angle also low if compare with ranger.base on the tyre size and the muffler I think they will not have new engine to pair with this truck,also have no chance to upgrade larger tyre.and jack up.the front it’s too big so that they also put a front camera to help the driver to judge when going off-road.maybe they can build a crossover like Subaru XV and bring up the petronas 2 liter engine will batter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • frossonice on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Yeah, about the diesel engine, perhaps Proton can get some from VW since they are not going to sell it anymore to the environmental conscious countries. We don’t bother with environmental kann…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Eleusine Indica on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Make it happens! Kinda excited

• Gandalf on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:58 pm

I hope the production will be the same like they pictured

• Stop the concept, it’s time to release this to public! A Jumbuck/Arena replacement is time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • joe myth buster on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:07 pm

woo…superb…hope this can be reallity…not when production time..it will looks.odd ..seriously if proton remain the same concept, i think it will be a revolution back for proton…

• shaziq on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Perhaps it will took apart in market…and i will the first who have it..

• kzm (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:15 pm

What is the truck concept name?..eg EMAS concept n Tuah concept..just calling it P1 Pick-Up concept seem lame..

• More interested in the suspension. If they manage to jack it up for real, might also be apply to a IRIZ or Suprima crossover model.

• Amirul Irfan on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Sweet truck.Let’s see what Proton will come up with..definitely liking the concept.

• gd day proton! 1st of all i congrats tu you another a miles stone that had been done. at last for all these years i waited. i understand that pick up was a concept truck.i expecting thers a few changes aight!!
    i would like to comment some issues such as…really hope that you guy have a decent look,rugged not a truck going to mars! from the rear… the name ‘PROTON’ was to big,its juz sending us back on 80’s,remember datsun pickup, all most the same. rather a proton emblem or none juz plain.for rear lights its to small,hope you guys should consider that too.thanx !

• superbird #43 on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:23 pm

i saw 5-lugs on the wheel..

• policeman on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:24 pm

So? Baru keluar gua? Inspira, Preve, Suprima, Exora all have 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • tokmoh. on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:25 pm

You’re the one who’s stuck in gua.

Most pickups, those Rangers, Tritons (except for Triton Lite), Navaras, Hailats, etc- have 6-lug.

• Very nice Ford looks like, if priced correct this could be a successful model for proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • ionlaw on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:30 pm

This company can officially declare as toy car company…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
  • this looks good. but proton should bring back an arena replacement first. i honestly cant imagine taking a proton 4×4 to off-road driving, given the adverse and extreme conditions it presents to the car… proton’s QC issues come to mind.

• Spectacles on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:13 pm

First impression:

Where are the headlights or indicators (Both front and rear)???!!!
    Why are the rear lights so puny?

With the current accident rate and haze issue, you pushed out a product that is prone to cause accident? Come on proton, I know this is a concept car but seriously your designers need to get things right before designing a car. It’s like a children playing lego. Make it look cool but never thought of anything practical.

• frossonice on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:03 pm

You know Malaysian don’t really use turn signals right? So why bother to have one. Cheaper what.. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • lol.. i lovee your answer

• Sam VHL Loo on Oct 04, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Yes, cheaper, and they like to hear full blast of super loud lori treler horn from private car.

• Uhh. If you never seen a concept car before, I suggest you take a look at http://paultan.org/ before you comment, thank you.

• MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Konsep mungkin idea kasar saja klu mmg Proton ada niat nak buat Trak ni elok partner dgn pembina trak sediaada yg punya reputasi jadi jimat kos buat ujikaji

• Rahza on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Hope it will be in production

• ahas58 on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Make it happen please.

• DanedZ on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:25 pm

I think this is going to be future asean cars from proton for next coming 20months…

• You know already who is the designer!.

• TomzTommy on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Produce it as a low rider pickup truck with an option of manual and auto…. For sure will have some market for small biz people…

• Norman on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:07 pm

What we really want from this pick up is a turbodiesel engine that start from 1.8 130hp/300nm and of course 2.3 160hp/400nm.4 airbags with 4×4 capabilities,GPS with touch screen head unit.Pricing should be between RM70-80k for the 1.8 and between RM105-118k for the 2.3.

• Good job proton..nice design..i would like to see the interior and the engine..hopefully proton have realize what they are loosing in

• My 2 Cent Worth Of Opinion on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Proton just follow this and you might be able to fight with big boys one day.
    1) Make a reliable and economical engine.
    2) Use quality materials.
    3) Allows more diverse workforce.
    4) Make your pricing more affordable for Malaysians to build brand loyalty.
    5) Let Malaysians to give you and do a market survey before you produce anything for Gods Sake.

• 1) On the way, as Tun said
      2) Material quality is getting better and better, now on par with Japanese brands
      3) You try ask the other races if they wanna work in ANY factory? Most will tell you they wanna be tauke sit in aircon whole day
      4) Pricing can be a bit lower, but currently you are getting a lot for its price
      5) That kinda survey will tell you Malaysians want Perdana size but parking like Myvi, hiway can speed like EVO but FC like Axia, safety & kit like BMW but price like EX5. Does it sound logical? No, but this are malaysian mentality

• kazanixm on Oct 06, 2015 at 7:44 am

You…i like your reply. True story

• TheMalayMale on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:24 pm

You are right on the nose, john. We Malaysians do know how to critic and suggest our wants but on being logical we are way, way off the mark…

• plotong on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:53 pm

yeah yeah..

4×4 design..ford raptor based design
    tapi metal pakai tin milo.
    enjin campro crankshaft asik patah

stupid people je beli 4×4 or 2×4 locals elok beli import version since takde import tax n duti eksais.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • plotong on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:55 pm

meh..stupix people oni buy local offroad

beli isuzu,triton,hilux,navara,frontier la wei..since takde tax n minimal duti eksais.

lg comfort,lagi powerful lagi reliable dari 1.6 campro 4×4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • policeman on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Kalu it import tada tax, minimal duty. Kita kasi tax dan maximum duty sama itu import.

• policeman on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:20 pm

You can tell it’s a Proton when the Proton badge is bigger that the headlamps!

• Severely Exploited Malaysian on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Might as well buy Exora itself, because it comes with Free Canopy

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:14 pm

ford raptor copycat

• Great effort on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:17 pm

I currently own a T6 Ford Ranger, and my initial impressions are mixed.

the front half looks good, rugged, tough, modern, looks like LED headlight, arches look good.

the rear is a bit unknown, Pickups are notorious for tight rear cabin with very little thigh support ( for the rear), which where everyone now notice the newer generation of pickups now focus on, the new triton, ranger, Dmax, all have better rear cabin than their predecessor. but from the pics, the rear cabin looks awfully tight.

depending on it’s payload and towing capacity, hopefully a much more powerful 2.5 turbo petrol or diesel is available.

would i buy 1? based on the looks yes, but at the moment too many unknown.

• Ganeson on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Awesome design study, thumbs up. I’d buy one, turbo 1.6 manual may cut it with lower great ratios, but a diesel with a non cvt would suit it better. Bring it on. Good work Azlan Othman and your team.

• Z Amin on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Proton shouldn’t do pick up truck. Its because the pick up truck in Malaysia carry little import tax n duty under trade vehicle ‘kenderaan perdagangan’. A Hilux is priced similar to Camry in the open market. We dont want pick up truck to be priced similar to Camry just to protect Proton.

• MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Kenapa selalu ada perkataan sebab KENA PROTECT Proton? Harga kreta jadik mahal? Cuba kita bawak berbincang dgn pihak Menteri secara LIVE, Betul Ker sekarang ini Gomen ada perlindungan KHAS utk Proton?
    Siapa ada duit nak beli kreta Proton beli. Tak nak beli beli kreta import.

• Orang kampung felda on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:58 pm

This is my country and i have no other country in the world that hold my race. So here i am want to tell you all that i am very proud for what have our country’s top car company, Proton have done so far. This pick up truck, im begging to proton please bring it to production because we, orang kampung felda, really want to buy this truck to put kelapa sawit inside it. Terasa sial pulak bila aku terpaksa pakai english untuk komen kt webpage negara sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Ali Hashim on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Congratulation to Proton. I hope they will improve a bit the look at the front.
    I think I will buy one. Good

• I want it! Congrats Proton! Just make sure its a 4×4 diesel.

• Albert on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:23 pm

By the time this monster looking vehicle is launched,Proton may have changed hands or in receivership.
    Protong has huge debts….unfortunately the Middle east Santa decided not to donate this time before Christmas.

• Middle East is muslim majority and those Coptic Christians dun belip in Santa. So mana you dapat santa kat ME beb?

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:41 pm

good job in copying ford raptor.

nothing original comes from proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Massive on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Good job in copying Banksy artwork for your picture profile..
      nothing original comes from you…we can found 1000 of you out there… in the bush

• Abd Ghani Mansor on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:49 pm

I am really impressed with this design. Much ahead compared to any competitors around. Get it into the market ASAP. I was once a designer. I have a good feeling with this one. PROTON, go ahead!

• ProtonScrewed on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Proton (again) in “Syoik sendiri” mode….

LAst time they say their car is as good as BMW. Soon they say their car is like Lamboghini….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • not enough money man on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:12 pm

who care about the concept ? as long as it is cheap, fuel saving and doesn’t burn big hole on my pocket, it good to go…look at kancil …does anyone care about the style…it small and tiny car..but the biggest factor,, its cheap & fuel saving..easy to park ….Senang cilok bila jam teruk…that my opinion…

• All wheel electric motor and engine would be awsome torque and monuverability

• Leafable on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Looks like my son Lego truck. Might be targeting 10 years old boy.

• Massive on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:47 pm

you sounds like my 6 years old niece. You must be targeting to have a Lego truck

• Ootai on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:15 pm

P1 should have a mid-size 4X4 to replace P2 kembara & outdated Rush. To fight hilux, Dmax, triton, etc is suicidal. This pickup is destined to fail BEP.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:28 pm

I’m happy to hear that Proton is at least considering making a new Arena/ Jumbuck replacement. That’s good news. At this stage, Proton is still not in a good spot to pursue niche models like a Arena/ Jumbuck replacement or a Putra/ Satria replacement; not because they cannot do it, but because they are too busy working on at least four new cars (Saga, Persona, Perdana and Suzuki-Proton hatch, facelifts excluded).

I saw the concept earlier, but I couldn’t see the back of it, nice photos here. It’s quite the beast… needs bigger headlights and tail lights though… otherwise, I quite like it.

• can proton display the basic unit ?

• Interior design-
    Thats where proton need to do more.
    We’ve seen enough..
    By all means pls do wat ever it takes Proton..

• IthinkLa on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:22 pm

depan look damn nice already.

macam rupa seladang , berani tampil dgn imej tersebut , bagus.

masuk tengah sampai habis ke belakang , macam tindih 8 basic shape pastu buat pameran. ugh.

ape kate: ambik feedback daripada pengguna kereta2 sejenis , memang la akan kena bash , tp nak quality kene datang dari harsh criticism. Bagus saje tak cukup , kita nak terbagus.

GL proton.

• powershot (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:36 pm

not bad, I’ll buy this car if it goes to production (with a longer cargo bed); & get the new perdana for the wife

• I would but this in a heartbeat if it comes with a good low fuel consumption. The design is so bold. But I know the real production wont be as good. Sometimes it’s too small for the design to look good.

• Aku komen juga on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:25 am

Rekaan bahagian depan aku beri 5 bintang. Bahagian belakang aku beri 4 bintang. Tapi dilihat dari bahagian tepi aku beri 2 bintang. Mungkin kena perbaiki sikit, mungkin panjangkan sikit bahagian belakang atau kena ubah sikit rekaan supaya tak nampak mcm SUV yang tertanggal bumbung belakang. Rekaan ni kalau untuk SUV memang aku beri 5 bintang. Ada peningkatan dari segi kemasan, tahniah. Harap kalau model ni dikeluarkan agar rekaan depan dpt dikekalkan memang cantik dan garang.

• aen rabeon on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:14 am

Ok apa… there’s always room for improvement based on feedback from potential buyers and those interested. keep it up.

• Saga User on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:25 am

This is concept car yet it never been test for safety to bring it on the road… If proton want to bring this model to production they need to test it out whether this car are following the safety standard and more… This my suggestion to proton build this car with 2.5l engine front lamp and fog lamp make more bigger (the fog lamp looks like saga) make it as 4wd and make the back load more longer as right now it looks too square shape… And one more create new dashboard don’t just copy from exora even the body is from exora. Overall it was good started. Kipidap…

• City boy on Oct 04, 2015 at 7:39 am

Good job proton..nicely..unexpected..make us proud once more ;)

• Proton, please bring back and update the Arena/Jumbuck as the Malaysian and Australian market are ready for it. Secondly, bring on the pick up truck to the market. Again many people in Malaysia and Thailand would buy given the right combo of design & price. Lastly, please continue on this line of efforts to come out from “govt protection or subsidy etc” by having a product that can stands and competes on its own.

• K S Ong on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:12 am

Proton should have something similar to Suzuki Jimny which is well known for its off-road capability despite its 1.3 litre (used to be 800cc or 1000cc). Its versatility in the rubber or oil palm estates surpasses those bigger 4WDs like Toyota, Isuzu or Mitsubishi. As it is, it only looks macho, but does it have what it takes to deserve that macho appearance?

• You know what, I’m impressed. I don’t like Proton but Saga FLX, Iriz, and probably this would further change my mind. If done properly, like most of the commentaries mentioned here, it could enter 4×4 truck market successfully.

• Peaceaim on Oct 04, 2015 at 11:51 am

During Syed Zainal days, they tried Exora based van but never see the light of day. Now pickup truck, it needs new engine (diesel of course), new transmission, new suspension etc. For a pickup truck, what inside is really matter. Kudos to Proton, the outside really nice.

• kanazai2001 on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Look great…
    But pls make it AWD…

• Make this into SUV!! Mst lg cunn

• Ah Meng on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:30 pm

The engine…… 1.6 cps?? 120 hp??

• mode893 on Oct 04, 2015 at 2:17 pm

The back frame can be improved/extended by a diagonal steel bar ir something as currently the termination is too abrupt making it look unfinished. Otherwise, a wicked design!

• Curious on Oct 04, 2015 at 3:31 pm

I just wonder what engine does they put inside this concept car, or actually don’t have engine at all?

• jefftan on Oct 04, 2015 at 3:34 pm

The shape of the roof end not so attractive, hopefully the pricing is affordable to malaysian n the engine power must match with other ordinary double cap.

• Yap kah kenn on Oct 04, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Can I know how many litres engine

• vorsprung durch technik on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:18 am

Clever design about put the head light together wth front grill ! but need to b improve on that & the overall design.

• Chingu on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:28 am

Great job proton, at least you try. Good attempt to copy from the best in 4×4…

• areos on Oct 05, 2015 at 8:15 am

Nice try Proton..of course its just a concept and it will years before it could become a reality..Proton should instead try to built a suv rather than pick-up truck.. congratulations ..its a great effort

• Mamak Masam on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:12 am

tayar terkeluar dari body, nanti kena saman pula haish

• how fast to achieve manufacturability of this pick up
    with high output diesel engine, better output engine, all terrain drive system, build to be tough design…other manufacturer already so many generation build…

• Dear Proton n Proton supporter… kami disini bukan nak kutuk idea n konsep proton nih. Kami cuma nak pembaharuan n memberi idea2 utk dijadikan sumber RnD Proton di masa depan. Mungkin ada yg terkasar bahasa kerana bengang tgok konsep nih xbertepatan dgan citarasa diorang. MUNGKIN jikalau proton mengeluarkan konsep yg LEBIH menarik dari yg ini akan mendapat sambutan hangat dari rakyat Malaysia. Saya harap ada barisan designer or RnD baca komen2 suma nih n take note. We try to support but at least U must heard our voice to improve your product, sale n supporter in future.
    #WeAreMalaysian
    #PeaceNoWar

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:32 am

Damn! I must get my Hilux, Trition or Ranger fast! If this thing comes into production, all pick up will be taxed crazily! Damn you Proton! Why so sibuk go make something you’re not familiar? Normal sedan car also cannot make nicely… ukur baju sendiri dulu lah

• Bolt-nut untuk mounting tayar cuma ada 5… sedangkan truck2 lain seperti vigo dmax triton etc ada 6. jd maksud nya truck ni saiz kecil lah kan… syg juga alang2 buat truck biar lah satu segment dengan truck yg lain. kecewa kalau betul truck kecil.

• front appears to be overdone…soften a bit pls

• TheMalayMale on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:47 pm

This truck is a concept presented by Proton to the public. First of all, let us understand the concept of concept cars in the motorcar industry.

The building of a concept car is an exercise to gauge the ability and capability of the motorcar builder to build or adapt a machine based on a particular platform, and in this case the Exora. It may or may not see the light of production because only god knows how many parameters a particular manufacturer considers before marketing a product to the masses.

Personally, I would buy this pick-up based on its looks because I only see the pictures without knowing other details. I like the design because it is bold and courageous.

• amar cek oi on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:54 pm

make it ladder frame chassis n 4wd.
    can lawan ranger.
    but of course need new mill to run the beast.
    and that will take years to develop before we can see one on the road.

• kamarul on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Rekabentuk muka tidak mencerminkan proton , mengapa tidak menggunakan rekabentuk iriz sebagai rupa asas proton , kemudian di olah menjadi lebih garang supaya di lihat proton ada jatidiri, tidak meniru rupa orang lain. Rekabentuk lampu hadapan terlalu kecil. rupabentuk sisi terlalu kosong tidak segarang rekabentuk hadapan/belakang. Rekaan sisi seharusnya ada elemen lebih berlekuk terutama di bahagian fender. Selamat maju jaya proton.

• Badass design….really dope…love it…harap2 buat la …bleh fight2 F-150 ke Ranger ke..Hilux ke.