Proton to still build good, not cheap cars; “we can de-spec them, but we hesitate to do that,” says Tun M

When he was first appointed, Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said that the national carmaker would switch strategies from making of cheap cars into building better, more competitive cars at a higher price. Two years into his tenure, has he changed his to tone? Not one bit, he told paultan.org.

The former premier said that Malaysians needed to adjust their expectations, instead of expecting to be able to buy good quality cars at a cheap price.

“When we started Proton, the cost of making a car was only RM14,000, we could sell it at a very cheap price,” he said. “But today a car is a very complex mechanism. We have to put together 4,000 parts. And each part has to be of the right quality, it has to be put in the proper way, people will have to be trained and paid more. All kinds of costs go up.”

Mahathir added that Proton models were already cheap enough as is, pointing out that the Suprima S is priced around RM40,000 less expensive than the next comparable C-segment model. “The reason, of course, is that we manufacture in this country, and the cost of labour is still comparatively lower in this country as compared to Germany, Japan, even Korea,” he said.

When asked about what Proton could do to improve the Iriz’ disappointing sales, Mahathir said, “There are many ways of doing it – we can downgrade it to be so as to be the same level as our best-selling competitor, but we hesitate to do that. Our car is superior to the more popular same-sized car, for example.

“People buy those cars because they are cheap, and I believe their quality is good also. But ours is a different car, slightly more expensive but not too expensive,” he added.

Mahathir said that Proton offers the Saga for people who want a cheap, good car, but the Iriz is a better car. “There are so many features that we put into the car, which of course cost a little bit of money,” he said. “We can de-spec the car, take out all those things, and sell it as a cheap car. Well, that is a matter of policy, whether we just want to sell cheap cars, or we want to have cars that are comparable to the best.”

He also talked about issues with its vendors who do not provide parts which are up to standard. “We need to bring in foreign vendors to work with our vendors, to upgrade them. Because they have built good quality parts before, but the car is not the same quality now, it is higher, they have to come up with us,” he said.

Watch the video above to see the full interview with Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton cars are very goody

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 62
    • Rebadge semua kete Toyota sudah laa. Tun M x payah susah susah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
      • Stone age mindset

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Proton Unsupporter on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:11 am

I hate to say this but Proton cause the suffering of rakyat becoz of it’s ego. People who support Proton are bodo. Don’t let the ego of ‘Malaysia Boleh’ cloud your mind

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:27 pm

The Malaysia Boleh ego cloud their mind, they can only shout here shout there only. Thanks to Proton quality, they don’t have any saving to put support into action.
            That’s why Proton sales keep dropping and dropping… Proton models are meant for discussion, not for driven.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:18 am

I am so surprised at why Tun is making announcements. Usually CEO of a company makes announcements. The chairman is only the figurehead.

Here, the CEO of Proton looks like he has no balls. Everything also make Tun announce. Unless of course, Proton is paying Tun big bucks to make announcements. This should not be the way, cause Proton is bleeding money and it needs to conserve money and not be paying super high salaries to its Chairman.

Since Proton is of public interest ie because it has sucked over RM100 billion of our LHDN money to stay afloat since 1990, we have the right to know how much Proton is paying its Chairman and what remuneration he has and benefits.

Many CEOs of big companies in Malaysia cannot understand why the puppet CEO of Proton, who also earns 6 figure salary per month is not doing anything but making a 90 year old man do the announcing.

Like that, better kick the CEO out and can save about RM20mil to RM30 mil per annum on his salary and bonus.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
        • IrizX on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Exactly. The CEO is just makan gaji buta…not driving the company…pay him so much for what? Let Tun M do everything lah, since he is so keen.

• Betol Tak? on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Export car sell at loss. Local car here sell at higher price. Really crazy right?

Not to mention export car better specs quality and that annoying signal stick at left side for locals here.

But at least can give rm4k discounts on top of rm500 profits per Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 20, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Based on Tun’s bull here, how can in the US, a good Toyota Altis (called Corolla there) with 10 airbags and VSC and a whole list of features purposely taken out by UMW can cost about US$12,000?

That also, Mat Salleh labour is supposed to be so expensive. So, this alone dismisses your rubbish that lobour in Malaysia is cheaper.

If Mat Salleh can sell a good C segment car with a whole list of specs for Us$12,000, their cost be will about US$8,000. That is about RM32,000 in Malaysia

So, what goreng you talking anout Tun? Our labour cheaper. Half of Proton staff are Bangla. Bangla gaji only RM900.

So, with Bangla labour, still Proton cannot produce cheap and highly spec cars? And you need to tell us that we have to pay more money for a safer car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • Songlap King on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:00 pm

You have to look at it from the context of our taxes as well. We tax everything in relation to heavy industry. Anything that is produced locally will get more tax exemptions, which is why Proton can keep it at the price like that. If competitors created their cars in Malaysia, you can get cheaper price which is why you are now starting to see Hondas and Nissans at prices that rival Proton cars i.e Honda City basic spec at 70k compared to Preve H-Line 70k.

We tax everything across the line. If taxes were removed, then yes, you would have the prices that you see in the US. Proton pays taxes just as much as anyone else who produces cars locally.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 20, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Proton the best. Proton CEO lie to the whole world that Iriz sales are so good that there is a super long line of orders even Proton cannot keep u orders.

Few months later, Tun, as stated above, admitted, Iriz sales are so bad and they are struggling to sell Iriz.

So, who is lying? Tun or CEO? Why is Proton not transparent and always cheating the rakyat Tun?

One day say sales super good lah, long line lah, long order list lah, then another day, say Proton bad ad struggling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Ootai on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:24 pm

If dr M is not around, they would have tapau and close p1. Remember, during pak lah’s time the young turks sold agusta for 1euro. Well, for p1 bashers, u will have to wait for the certificate.

• frank on Feb 21, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Err.. seems that many people have noticed the CEO is kinda out of tune with the ongoing in Proton. Even the chief technical officer have better idea and public relation skills than the CEO.
          Tun M as chairman is using his skill to push for proton agenda so CEO have to sit back .. or is it that the CEO is performing so poor that Tun M have to setp in… wait and see how it goes with this CEO.
          This CEO is pale in comparision with Syed Zainal for sure… ha ha

• So many downvotes, it means Proton cars are no good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • most of the people dont.likeafter sales service..Not the car .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • OMG…Last time Proton had very very top sales during Saga, Wira and Waja times…where all the profits? Now sales droping, then said no money lah…Something wrong inside…puihhhh…

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia - Message to Tun on Feb 20, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Proton is like Petronas. During good times, songlap the money big time. Proton and Petronas was making big bucks. Petronas for instance was making RM100 billion per year during good years.

Instead of keeping it in reserve, all the directors of Proton and UMNO’s Private Bank Petronas sapu the money big time.

Compare that to Sweden, every single rakyat of Sweden has a Sovereign Fund kept by the Government for every single citizen. This makes each citizen a millionaire (In USD). Yes, every single citizen has a share in the oil wealth of the country and this money is for each citizen.

But Malaysia terbalik, UMNO songlap all the money of Petronas until Petronas crying now got no money. Every year the past 40 years, rape Petronas puas puas.

Proton also the same. When making good money, UMNO rape it nicely all their money. Proton would not keep reserve for rainy days like now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
        • I just recently talked to my Swedish kolik when he was here, and I can say u picked the wrong country to quote cuz that is a piece of bull.

The pipu there have pension fund just like all EU countries but that doesnt make them millionaires cuz they can take all out like our EPF once u retire. They oso have to pay 35% income tax and 20% VAT (their GST) with no exemptions. Furthermore, much of everything is imported which makes things expensive, especially food products. Their unemployment rate is shooting up cuz companies there r outsourcing labour (polish, romanian, croats, etc) & not hiring expensive locals. And thanks to being part of EU, they have obligation to take in & support 160,000 syrian immigrants with their tax money.

So, no. EU isnt all fairy tales that u heard. Try talking to real Europeans, for a change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
          • *correction: “doesnt make them millionaires cuz they CANT take all”

• George Abdul on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Tun DrM lie and lie and lie again…. build Good car? But unreliable… build Cheap car but sell expensive in local market !!! Local production cost less??!!! But why Proton cars still cost more expensive compared to even without TAX foreign brand??!!! Someone pass the msg to Tun DrM please !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 10
    • Gargantia on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Before Taxes foreign brands cost less then Proton “local made”… ask MAI and AP owners and BN cronies why still lie to Rakyat?? Dare to show transparency??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Lalalalla on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Owned a suprima s. Good car. Following a Mini Cooper S 2.0 turbo at 200kmh in NSE. And also cucuking a zig zagging CRZ at hw at 160kmh. CRZ seem can’t outrun me eventhough its price more expensive. Suprima S Very stable and have a very very sweet torque. Very worth the price. The car solidness feeling is so sweet . I love suprima s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 96
      • George Abdul on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:04 pm

True but CRZ was not build for Malaysia weather and not even a true Hybrid, Taxed means foreign cars still cost cheaper before Malaysia crazy taxes ! Protection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • What is there for u to be so proud of ? 200kmph ? Idiots like u make me laugh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
      • oksaja on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:07 pm

I owned one too. I love to drive it more than my 2004 civic 2.0l. Feels solid and stable. The CVT can be better though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
        • Hahahahahaha on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:54 pm

See. People that owned “real” Proton car can feel how good Proton car now. Only people that never own proton make false story and assumed that Proton is bad tin milo. Deswai Proton changed its trademark to “it’s in the drive”
          Drive first baru talk sing song.
          Ini never own proton but sing song talk bad about Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 61
          • I’m the proton driver too but I totally disagree with your statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
          • Proton JUNK on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:12 pm

you think i just bash like hell??
            I owned protong before
            iswara 1996 and waja 2003,so many problem like asshole

change iswara junk to new City V and soon will replace another junk waja to new Mazda 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Proton JUNK on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:14 pm

No more proton for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
          • @Wong. Im a P1 driver too but i agree with him. So how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
          • Ahyee on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:12 pm

New generation Proton not those Iswara, wira era

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • lowyat on Feb 21, 2016 at 12:21 am

Proton is proton, whatever the generation is still lousy, coz Nasi Lemak management since 1985

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:10 pm

That’s what Proton’s onwer mentality is all about. Cucuk here cucuk there provoking everybody and endangering other road users.

GTI, AMG and M cars havn’t make a sound and they thought they are driving the best car in the universe. Typical katang di bawah tempurung and jaguh kampung mentality retardation. People like this deserve cars like Proton. No wonder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • Proton JUNK on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Proton Suprima S??
          Still can’t beat my Honda City 2015 on popularity and reliability

Next car will be Mazda 2 and will show off to those Suprima owners like lalala

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Sorhai Lala on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:18 pm

Fuyoh, your sperma S so powderful till cucuk mini cooper. But reach toll plaza, have to open car door to pay toll coz power window rosak.

Priceless !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 17
        • No power windows issues onSuprima S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Unfortunately Toyota power window cause fire, pls spread the news. FYI, current Myvi also hv power window problem, i didn’t heard any power window problem for current models. Probably u talking about 10 years ago Proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • BS. Pls show a pic of the car on fire like Exora. Don’t just talkok. Proton supporters only like to spread false news. Proton cars are PROVEN to have problem

• I test drove a Suprima before. I passed a lori sampah and a snail on the road. Wow, I told myself i was so impressed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Moving Forward on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Both Iriz and preve/suprima handles very well and it’s real fun to drive. But oops.. Many complained on reliability issues and car is thirsty. No problem, let’s visit the service center and seek help from experts. But oops… They may take months to fix, or worse they take forever to pinpoint the root cause. When this happens, can he do us a favor by addressing our issues in person?

• To make.it gast respond, please define.the issues correctly. Easier for technical team to diagnose and respond correctly.

• hamboldt on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:00 am

You really talk nonsense, speed doesn’t tell anything.
        Hope you kena saman every time you drive recklessly in the highway with those speed >110 km/hr.
        Please honor the highway speed limit and save lives.

• Ahyong on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:14 am

I’m also impress with Suprima s after owning it. I still remember how I can cope up with a speeding Lexus ES250. The lexus seem cant outrun me. I can follow him at 180kmh and 190kmh. Seem like the ES250 got a speed cut? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • camtakpro on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:49 am

Lalalalla forgot the Mini Cooper S 2.0 turbo is on a tow truck.

That CRZ is testing Eco indicator.

Suprima S can only follow VW car with DSG issue.

• IrizX on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Typical Lala Beng/Rempit/Potong fanboi mentality. Potong very good because can outrun so and so car, yadda yadda, can smoke this and that, yadda yadda.

Duh. Majority of malaysians are decent folks and looking for a safe and reliable car for themselves and families. Lala Beng is only a small percentage of the market.
        No wonder Potong sales dropping like shitz..it only appeals to LalaBeng/Rempit market now!

• Betol Tak? on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:00 pm

To justify the price here Proton should give us buy 1 free 1 instead.

On top of that give us 10 years warranty + free service.

No harm trying it, Proton. Better act fast to avoid doomsday in few years time as what CEO feared most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh. on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Aaaaand they’ll de-spec ESP in Perdana 2.0 hahahahahahahahhahaha

Volvo Vision 2020 : no one will be killed or seriously injured in a Volvo

Volvo of Asia, if still wanna wear such claim, keep up with the Chinese car’s Vision 2020.

Yet, first thing first, Volvo of Asia go and remove ESP hahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • syer1n on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Mohon pencerahan. VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) bukan ESP (Electronic Stability Control) ke? i know i dont even have a degree let alone a proper mechanical knowledge but if it differs, does that mean electronic stability control, controls stability electronically while vehicle stability control, controls stability using manual pulley system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • tokmoh. on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:24 pm

VSC, ESP, DSTC, DSC, etc.

Lain pembuat kereta, panggil nama lain. Itu je beza.

Basic dia tetap sama, semua alat untuk stability control.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Since you ask so nicely.

VSC, ESC, DSC, ESP are all different names to the same system or group of systems. There are no mechanical pulleys or anything. All these are electronic in nature, hence, most have the word Electronic in them.

Such systems take the sensor readouts from yaw sensors (- those that read “G” and could be more than one), steering wheel angle sensor, ABS wheel speed sensors on each wheel(same that trigger your ABS ), throttle position sensor, engine rpm, gear sensor, and run the data through specialized algorithms to decide if the motion of a car’s path is deviant to its intended path.

The algorithms will then decide if intervention is required to keep the car on its intended path, either by limiting engine power (by retarding ignition or closing the throttle on cars with throttle by wire), braking one or more wheels independently (on 4 wheel drive cars, sending power to the correct wheel) to bring the car out of a potential deviation of its intended path.

This can mitigate or at least, reduce driver induced oversteer and understeer situations or make it easier for a novice driver to control a car.

I will also add, ABS is the prerequisite of any stability system…while more advanced stability system will have even more sensor data like those from suspension loading to make more accurate prediction and correction. Some more advanced systems can actually help steer the car for you.

This is the most simple I can bring the explanation down without loosing resolution. Hope it helps.

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:49 pm

IF sell a new car for RM25K. used car dealer complain because they cannot sell their cars.

That is like saying sell new proton for 60k used car dealer cannot sell their used audi for 150k! Bodoh logic…

• yummykim on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Proton say that they want to be best doing this and doing that….All talk oni.

After so many years, no result, no proof. Now, more excuse and reasons thrown in.

No wonder Proton isn’t anywhere today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Malaysian is living under Tun M delusion… tats y ppl who take over his place doing the same thg he did.. and 1000x better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Stupid Msian Cars on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Fun, just demolish the freaking high taxes. This will solve the problem. Rakyat will live happily ever after.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Proton hater on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:11 pm

How do you despec a Proton Perdana aka Protons premium flagship car with no VSC and 4 airbargs. I thought was was super de specced alr LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Nasi Lemak 2.0 on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Joke of the decade !! Muahahaha… Nasi Lemak betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Guan yin maaaa on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:55 pm

HAHA. Why he so love to talk cock ? A top spec proton inspira sold at langkawi cost 85k, while the same mitsu lancer cbu from japan cost 75k. Please explain to me DR M ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Mimau on Feb 21, 2016 at 9:32 am

Proton and Perodua do not enjoy excise duty exemption there. Check out Akta Kastam.

• saladin on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Own first proton wira aeroback 1994 1.6 very good. Easily 160km/h. Virtually no problem at all very good car indeed. Year 2000 think want to buy proton so sell old car and buy same wira aeroback 1.5. Tot same quality. Big mistake. 1s alarm kaput, radio rosak, engine no power, gear no overdrive, cruise control omitt, timing belt putus, kompressor kaput twice, power window gone.sLast time i check my uncle 4 years ago my uncle bought brand new waja. Gearbox kong. Wait 3 month for new GB. After that kong again. Sell off just like that lose rm30k. So guys if u want to be patriotic about proton u should look who d one betray u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • History on Feb 20, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Bored ro read saga tank wira era old story which sudah basi.

• Chairman on Feb 22, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Bored to read Proton chairman keep saying Proton build good cars which they are not

• No matter how many affort put in, Malaysian not appreciate, at the end Malaysian juz too stupid dunno how to build a CAR.

• WT Fuchh on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Dah kereta tak leh jual, masih tarik harga! ! !
    M’sian dont mind buying low spec car so long its good value and and reliable.

• Macamlah ko sorang je buat kereta. Other people can do at lower cost, selling at cheaper price with better quality. If you can’t do the same, blame yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Oh mak lu cina on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:54 pm

But Tun:

You built a cheap car expensive (Iriz) and a Higher end car cheap (Suprima) Where is the logic in that? Please study Marketing 101 first!

• torque on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Hmmm…this site has turn more like political each days…where is the freedom of speech?

• Andy Cheah on Feb 20, 2016 at 1:43 am

Just forget about buying proton car. Trust me they’re still very bad. I’m driving a 2012 CFE prime, the engine jerk, from D shift to R step on gas paddle n the engine shuts down vise versa. Since day got van complain to proton workshop, they reflush the ecu. After reflush same ship. I fought of giving our own national another try. Now I WILL NEVER BUY PROTON EVER AGAIN.

• Power Rangers on Feb 20, 2016 at 5:15 am

Cheap due to protect policies…and the vendor comments already tell you protong exist for his cronies suppliers which are handicaps….

• xxxxx on Feb 20, 2016 at 10:02 am

Proton frankly, is a good designed cars company.. very very good. I have put my faith in Proton but they are keep disappointing me.

Good design and many goodies – Suprima n Prevé.. Good goodies in car – drl, led tail lights, auto headlamp wiper, very very very good handling, offered all round safety features..

But there are two problems in Proton.. Local units are very poor in quality especially the interior (minus Iriz – slightly better). And then there comes price control. Overpriced for quality offered. very very overpriced. You can get less den Rm48k for Prevé in Aus while here pricier for the same base model but Aus offered better spec for the base model.

I almost get myself a Suprima S but then I couldn’t accept the interior design and quality in the Suprima S.. so I get myself a Korean Rio instead.

Please do it right in the recent time Proton. – Improve quality, make the price worth it. I put my belief in you Tun. M .

• No more Protong on Feb 20, 2016 at 10:04 am

It’s all about the “boh chap (don’t care)” attitude which never build with heart. They only reversing.

• WaJib on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:07 am

Suprima means sui pei ma (hippo) kalau nak trade-in to used car dealer. Sui pei betul punya resale value

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:24 pm

It should be: …when trade-in ‘sui pei ma’ to used car dealer. Sui Pei betul punya resale value and the car owner will shout out ‘Ma Hai Lat Lorrrr’

• Shiok Sendiri Mentality on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:09 am

For those idiot who think of driving ur Suprima like a sport car, plz change ur attitude!!

Ppl with BM, Merc, Porsc, VW wont cucuking even their car hv more HP and torque because they are more civilized and treasure their own life & others. But u low income earners, only afford to buy this car, do a lot of stupid things that endanger other road user…

A Suprima is a normal sedan that for normal use, not a sport car for drag race, high speed maneuvering.

Please grow up idiot!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Kakaka on Feb 20, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Your rubbish underpower japs car kena tarpau kah? Kahkahkah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • IrizX on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Kecian fanboy….always think they can drive faster. I always letgo mawi and potong saga/preve/suprimak if they cucuk me.

My car so expensive, and rempit like you can’t afford to pay for the damages.

• Askedu on Feb 21, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Civilised my foot… U can see many high-end car using emergency lane during any festive season balik kampung session

• Diesel Power!!! on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Iriz is a good car but spoilt by:
    1. Gearbox.
    2. Interior space.

Last year during iriz launch, my young sis wanna buy a compact car, persuade her to take iriz, but after checking the real car, surprisingly, Axia is little more comfortable inside and yet cheaper alot. So she make her decision to buy Axia.

So from the consumer aspect(my sis), she want cheap, practical, comfortable, reliable car for her daily use, not driving insane speed, tailgating like mat rempit…

To the Potong CEO, my sis only take 4yrs loan and paid 30% dpayment…so your logic of taking longer loan to buy non-national car cant applied to her…tq.

• 67ab99 on Feb 20, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Myvi is rempit car not p1

• frank on Feb 21, 2016 at 2:51 pm

I very much agree with you that most of us are city drivers and not mat rempit or gila speed driver. Proton should forget about ‘sporty’ cars and leave it to lotus.
      just make good city driving vehicles. development test drive in highway is different from city driving. the sage flx cvt performs poorly in city crawl driving. need constant belt adjustment at service interval to get it responsive.

• Askedu on Feb 21, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Bought cheap Axia? Bye2 sis :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • camtakpro on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:52 am

Even though Axia has gone backward with non VTC engine, it is still less problematic than anything from Proton.

• Painter on Feb 20, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Now that proton being in the hands of a private entity, let them prove their worth.

Ultimately market will decide if it’s a viable product or not.

• Suite monkey.

• Proton is not on an even playing field in the global market. Ok try to remove the excise duties on other foreign cars and let’s see how proton copes with that. You can’t be jaguh kampung forever. Our excise duty is amongst the highest in the world. Re badge and new logo is superficial.

• Lorentz on Feb 20, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Proton improved compare to last few years, but I believe there are lots of talents in Malaysia… some of malays in kampung can modified to include turbo, some chinese n indian very specilities in racing development….. If proton really wanna improve and show it global standard should take the talents into their specialities area….. tell the true the kampung malays can modified twin scrow turbo rather than go n copy Renault lousy turbo and show CFE to ppl…..

• Andrekua on Feb 20, 2016 at 6:34 pm

I dont really know why Proton is making headlines for the whole week without any new products released at all.

Do you really need the publicity, my dear Tun??? Everyone know that your after sales service sucks. There is no need to say much about them.

If I were you, I would close down half of those sales cum service center that you are so proud of. Why? Even KIA which managed an ugly 4K sales last year had much organized SC than half of those that I think should be closed down for good.

Dont just look at the numbers. It does not matter how many SC you had when half of them are bad anyway. Just look at Hyundai. Their cars are not bad, but some of their SC are really bad. When I bought my Kia Rio last year, I was surprised by how much organized Kia Authorized SC were compared to Hyundai. Heck, I even forego my Sonata warranty for the final year and went to service outside at my trusted mechanic.

• Maruah murah on Feb 20, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Better late, but never. Close shop, Proton.

Good for consumers. If proton close shop, they are doing a favour for ALL Malaysian.

Dont worry about those staffs under proton. They can find work elsewhere when they are laid-off. Provided they are marketable.

Or Mahathir believes the laid-off staffs will INSTANTLY die once proton close shop??? I dread to think that way. If so, it sounded like they are really hopeless then

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Yes since if proton close down, people will buy more of other brands and other brands will need more worker to cope. If you sell less 40,000 protons, you will sell more 40,000 of other brands mixed together! After all no people choose proton, just happens to be I look at my budget I am force to choose brands that are within that budget.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 20, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Proton is the news because their sales has gotten worst after the price increase & BNM directive to abolish 9yr loan. So the write ups is a good sign of desperation….

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 21, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Tun,

You have not qualifications in marketing or automotive background. How do you qualify in sitting in your position?

• Budak ganu on Feb 21, 2016 at 11:08 pm

I only can afford to buy proton exora. But also afford to have 4 houses, apartment, single story terrace, corner lot double story terrace & 1 story bungalow. Also 4 lots of bungalow land. I can’t afford to buy so call expensive car..

• IrizX on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Later when your Exora suddenly died on the highway, you get crushed from a lorry ramming from behind, all your houses can become your pyramid tomb.

• RMSKM on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:12 pm

I had an accident in JB sometime back when I executed an illegal u turn and my car rear was hit by a proton saga. My fault for doing that illegal u turn. When the dust settle, no one (my car and the other car) was injured except my sis in law who had a cut cos she did not belt up. My car rear was slightly dented. The proton saga that hit me was flatten. The engine was crushed and the car had to be rolled away. I could still drive my car later on. The take away for that day was
    1. Traffic rules are to be obeyed
    2. I will do my upmost to ensure no one in my family, circle of friends drives a proton.