Volvo aims to replace car keys with digital key by 2017

By the year 2017, car keys may be history if you’re driving a Volvo. The Swedish automaker is planning to become the world’s first automaker to replace physical car keys with a digital key, operable via an app. The key utilises Bluetooth connectivity on the owner’s smartphone. This, according to Volvo, will also enable new ways to use and share cars.

Aside from just being able to lock and unlock a car, the app will also allow for the opening of the boot and start-up of the engine, without the physical key nearby. To add to that, the company says that the technology also offers customers the possibility to obtain more than one digital key, which in turn allows them to access different Volvo cars.

With the app, rental car companies may gain from such a feature, as it will eliminate the troublesome need for long queues at counters. People all over the world can easily book and pay for a rental car (obviously a Volvo) and later, a digital key will be sent directly to their smartphone. Upon arrival at their destination, they can locate the car with the GPS and drive away immediately.

Phone as key

On top of that, with the digital key, Volvo owners can send their digital key to family members, friends or co-workers via their mobile phones, allowing them to use the vehicle, the company says. According to Henrik Green, VP of product strategy and vehicle line management at Volvo cars, mobility needs are evolving along with customers’ expectations to “access cars in an uncomplicated way.”

“Our innovative digital key technology has the potential to completely change how a Volvo can be accessed and shared. Instead of sitting idle in a parking lot the entire day, cars could be used more often and efficiently by whoever the owner wishes,” Green added.

Volvo will pilot this technology come spring 2016 through Sunfleet – its car sharing firm – based at the Gothenburg airport in Sweden. Following that, a limited number of commercially available cars will be issued with the new digital key tech by 2017. Previously, the brand had put this digital key to use in an ‘in-car delivery’ stint involving Postnord, Lexmer.com and Mat.se in Sweden.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Anonymous on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:55 pm

With the app, it is also easier to hack the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Raymond Chia on Feb 20, 2016 at 9:17 am

Your Maybank2u, CIMBClick, RHB Online etc, all also online and using apps. Is it easier to hack as well?

Hahahahaha…. If I’m a hacker, I would concentrate in hacking the bank, instead of a car. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • If im hacker, I wud hack the app to hack ur car to hack ur semarkpon to hack ur swiss back account. U wudnt even know about it cuz its ur car that stolen ur money.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 20, 2016 at 4:35 pm

In Malaysia, we invent 1MDB and CIMB

What is 1MDB? – 1 Malaysia Dan Bangla

What is CIMB – Cina India Melayu dan Bangla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • johnson on Feb 21, 2016 at 10:39 am

Why so difficult if want to steal? Just toll it lah…
          Hack this hack that…

I am sure the app is harder to hack then the current car key signals.

• The banking info aren’t even stored on your phone. It doesn’t matter.

You can reverse engineer the app for the car to make it work with different cars.

• R u so sure? when u see more & more pipu do banking online and more & more r doin it via semarkpon. Its this kinda false security that makes hackers job easy fishing

• kakikereta on Feb 21, 2016 at 12:40 pm

don’t worry! the volvos here are so very much expensive that we won’t be able to afford it, so no need to worry about hackability!

and our favourite care company Proton has just solved the power window problem, still decades away from introducing digital keys – so definitely we are safe!

• excellent!

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:44 am

Proton has also new invention, it is called tidur, makan nasi leamk, makan kuih lapis dan karipap dan relaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Do you know that Daimler will be first to market with this kind of technology? Check out the New E-Class, you can already order their new digital key feature.

• kumaka on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:03 pm

if Windows (after being developed for so long) can be hacked, controlled, manipulated and infected with virus, malware, firmware, etc

I don’t see that simple software of a car can be safe to be used in anyway……

• Tanker on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Talk about cost reduction. What if your smartphone runs out of battery or shatters?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Pioneer on Feb 21, 2016 at 12:46 am

The same thing as if you lost your car keys or it gets smashed to pieces.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:14 pm

Keyless entry is the most overated invention in cars…. Such a gimmicky feature

• johnson on Feb 21, 2016 at 10:42 am

I don’t share the same opinion.
      Have you seen a lady searching her handbag for a good 10 mins to find the key?

• Loudnessjr on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:47 pm

In the next decade, if we lose or run out of battery of our phone, we will sleep in the streets

• applegreen on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:14 am

not really, because smartphones on that time can use solar to charge battery

• Pioneer on Feb 21, 2016 at 12:46 am

Well technically you could also lose your car keys right?

• volvo on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:37 am

what if i dropped my phone into a puddle of water and it spoil my phone? I cannot enter my car anymore?

• Sooner or later Volvo will come up with wearable device for fall-back solution in case the phone fail, for example a smart watch which can be paired with the phone

• tinmilo on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:30 am

You could also endup dropping your key in the longkang? will you still be able to enter your car?

You have a few choices if your phone spoil. Just get hold of another phone, login in and authenticate yourself, download the new cert… then you are on your way. Any of your trusted friends or relatives could help you with that. They can’t help you if you drop your conventional key in the longkang can they?

Smart phone is easier to replace then say, the new 7 series key. That new 7 series key in my opinion is over-engineered and unnecessary.

And for those people who say there is a risk of being hacked… Well, lets just say our current key system is not exactly fantastic either judging by car thief rates. And if you feel the digital key is being compromise, you could always change it since they are just a bunch of codes. Try you change the lock of your current key if you feel is compromised.

• Maruah murah on Feb 20, 2016 at 8:03 pm

what IS wrong with FOB and keys?

Perhaps Volvo can invent opening the door with his/her ass? Clinch ones ass, the door open! Everyone has one…hehehe