Government mulls tram service in Putrajaya, Cyberjaya

Yarra trams in Melbourne-02

Yarra Trams D2-Class Combino in Melbourne, Australia

In a bid to enhance the public transport system in Putrajaya and Cyberjaya, the government plans to have a tram service in the said vicinities in three years’ time, The Sun Daily reports. The planned service is to keep up with the increasing population in both areas.

Federal Territories Minister Datuk Tengku Mansor explained that the tram service will be an alternative to tackle traffic congestion in the areas, which is currently seeing a fast-growing populace. It’s also a solution to the 18-km Putrajaya monorail system, which was abandoned in 2004 due to inadequate funding.

“I had a discussion with the National Economic Council recently where we see the tram as a solution to the abandoned monorail project. The tram is also cheaper,” the minister said. Meanwhile, he expects that the Economic Planning Unit (EPU) will soon be requesting for proposals from companies that are interested in bidding for the construction of the tram system.

Apart from the upcoming tram service, a new electric bus service will commence operations in Putrajaya by September 2016. A total of 10 electric buses worth RM30 million has been sponsored by Japan’s New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organisation (NEDO) as announced late last year.

The Scania electric buses will be operated by Nadi Putra, with a fare priced at 0.50 sen per ride, and will have the ability to transport a maximum of 60 passengers. Tengku Adnan previously said that the pilot project is in line with the aspiration to turn Malaysia into a “Green City.”

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• -BigBalls- on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:26 am

A tram service for hantu ke? Most of the time bayang pun tak nampak, build tram for what? The city is dead most of the time, even during peak hours there is no traffic congestion, focus elsewhere la

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:20 pm

This year, education Budget cut by few hundred million. Poor students in University, got no funding, no money for research.

This year, health also cut by few hundred million. All those going to GH and UH feel the pinch because the Hospital says, “Ubat ini tak ada” “Anda kena beli sendiri”

But got Budget to make this tram. Why? It is because, someone can songlap and make money. Few BILLION masuk pocket.

Syukurlah Malaysia aman dan damai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • Samsung on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:47 pm

typical mentality…

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Just another ordinary project to transfer tax payer money into their own pockets.

• Sunriver on Feb 22, 2016 at 8:30 pm

mmmm…. tak payah, dok perhabiskan duit aje. I dok tunggu kat traffic light macam orang bodoh, eventhough the roads are empty because the traffic light sys do not have a simple sensor type just like the rest of the world. Dok rosakkan my car tyre aje….

• shawal on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:37 am

better follow city of bologna, colombia style, using buses with dedicated lanes, xcept eith use hybrid diesel buses

• Banglasia on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Most Putrajaya and Cyber residents are mainly Bangla. Most working on sites. Bangla will be very happy. Somemore, more trams will mean easier for the new 1.5 million Bangla to travel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • hailthepurist on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:26 pm

great,most KTM Komuter,STAR,LRT,MONOrail already Banglalised..

• shawal on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:39 am

*correction, city of bogota… Columbia, metrobus system

Bologna is in italy lol….

• shawal on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:40 am

Transmilenio

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:49 am

What increasing population? The place is a deadtown, no trams required at all. Please focus on our severely limited resources to solve traffice issues in KL first. Stop doing all these syok sendiri projects that we all know will turn into white elephants a few years down the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Mahu copy Penang pula…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • frossonice on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:03 am

Agree with the tram service in Putrajaya. Make it more towards tourist oriented with wide glass windows and routing around tourist specific areas. Choose the non-overhead cable one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Visitor on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:17 am

What about BRT? Perhaps it is cheaper than trams.

• In my opinion, what we really need is a dedicated lane/road for the exclusive use of land public transportation. It doesnt share with other road users. That way, a bus will be much efficient as a tram/monorail or other rapid transport. ‘Right of way’ is the mantra.

• Dah dapat tram supplier as biz partner la tu. Siapa agaknya ya?

• Same partner as untendered winner of tokong undersea tunnel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • If it is true then we may see the completion of the project. If the project is given to the thousands of kontraktor kelas F, then it will be another abandon project.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:24 am

I’m one that supports public transportation….but what’s the Population of Putrajaya and Cyberjaya?

There are plenty of other places that need to be prioritized for public transportation.

• Putrajaya and Cyberjaya only have daily population.

Putrajaya is very crucial, especially for public. They go there to renew all sort of licenses, apply permits, passports, applications, you name it. Important for business operators and public at large.

It is not your average city where people park in front of shop to buy groceries or go for coffee. Rather, people go there to get their matters resolved. Then, they go back.

Usually there is no direct access to the government offices. People have to park far away and walk under the hot sun. Total inconvenience especially for older folks coming to resolve their issues, renew IC, passport etc.

Buses have to fight for spaces in the traffic. As we all know, they often get squeezed out and missed the traffic light due to being slow.

A dedicated system will surely help ease up the inconvenience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • 4G63T DSM on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Oh good god.

Don’t even bother to spin this.

Just how many thousand people visit Putrajaya a day VS, the Hundred of thousands that clog up the roads during rush hour because there are no viable public transportation.

Yes, I’ve only been to putrajaya a few times. Never did I had the impression I had to “walk a long way” to get to where I need to be.

If the excuse is for older folks that can’t walk, then you can save much more money by allocating proper parking spots for seniors so they don’t have to walk too far. Covered walkways are possible to. What, they didn;t think of that beforehand when they designed Putrajaya?

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Who ask them to build government office in putrajaya in the first place!?

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:59 am

Another projek to make more money for some UMNO crony. Gomen will allocate say RM10 billion for this, but RM5 billion will go into the pocket of this UMNO crony.

First and foremost, get more busses and LRT or MRT to go directly to Putrajaya and Cyberjaya from KL and PJ.

Thousands of old uncles and aunties have to go to Pencen department from KL and PJ, they got no way to go. When you are 90 yrs old, how to drive?

Oh btw, where got jam in Putrajaya and Cyberjaya? This clearly shows, want to Songlap more money kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Peter on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:32 pm

I’d say our gov not only don’t know how to do business but good at wasting money. How such gov can improve bumiputera economic status? No wonder NEP failed so badly, they suspected everything in the world but not themselves.
    Often, I hope more smart ppl are leaving this country else their hard earned money would be laundered by idiots in ruling gov.

• SingaporeGirl on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:48 pm

I just visited Cyberjaya 2 weeks ago after my last visit 2 years ago. There is no doubt that Cyberjaya is getting crowded but the traffic is always smooth.
    I would move to cyberjaya if I have money. The place is really well plan.

• NoOnePaidForThisComment on Feb 27, 2016 at 1:13 am

Hey there, Putrajayan here, lived for 3 years. I have been using public transportation a lot here. Nadi Putra has been.. okay. But it’s always not on schedule. I used to complain about it until I discovered that the reason for this is because of the congestion in the heart of the city where most government offices are located.

Look, you Klang Valley and KL people have like LRT and Komuter stations everywhere, not to mention that KL has its own monorail and you are also going to have an MRT line from Sungai Buloh to Kajang completed in a year. I’m not going to complain about that since yes those places are congested, but so is Putrajaya. As a citizen I don’t see anything wrong in building a tram. In fact, it’s the right time!

Yes, maybe the city does look like a ghost town with lesser congestion, but remember that the population in Putrajaya and Cyberjaya is expected to increase RAPIDLY. Tram is going to be completed by 2019; where you might see more jams. Don’t compare what you see NOW of Putrajaya with the future. I would bet that if Putrajaya gets extremely congested in 2019 and no tram is built; you guys would blame the government then for not planning one.

Open your minds please, thank you!