Trams to be introduced in Penang by 2017 – report

melbourne-australia-yarra-tram-service

Yarra E-Class tram in Melbourne, Australia.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is set to table a proposal, which could see the return of Penang’s tram service in 2017, under the Land Public Transport (PAD) Act 2010 during a Parliament sitting in October. Such a service was discontinued in Penang in 1936.

Such a move would align with the state government’s plan to revive said tram service as an alternative to the current options, which are not “in compliance with Unesco’s requirement in preserving George Town’s historical sites.” The state government applied for permits to operate the tram services over a year ago under Penang’s Master Transportation Plan but to no avail.

For such a service to be green-lighted, it was said that the federal government would have to introduce the proper legislation first. “For trams to be in service, it requires amendment to the relevant laws since trams share the same space on the roads with other vehicles,” said SPAD CEO, Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal, to theSun.

“On our part, we are proposing an amendment to the PAD Act to accommodate the request by the local councils,” he confirmed. “Unlike monorail, you can just walk in or get on the tram on the street level. It is low-floor, ideal and much easier to take the trams. It can transport many people for short distances such as in the central business district (CBD) or city centre.”

So far, so good, then, as all parties appear to be in support of introducing the tram service. In 2011, the Malacca government had proposed a similar service that would consist of a 40 km-long network, covering a total of 11 out of 14 tourist hotspots from the Ayer Keroh toll plaza to the Heritage Town of Malacca.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Tram? SPAD? I doubt the safety and efficiency. Yesterday, LRT was delayed again from KLCC to Kelana Jaya, my usual ride of 35 mins ended up abouth 1hr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • This is the only country that have no logic, other country is YOU INCREASE THE QUALITY OR PRODUCT/SERVICE THAN YOU DEMAND A PRICE HIKE…..In Malaysia it is the other way round… I WANT A PRICE HIKE NOW AND I WILL THINK ABOUT HOW TO INCREASE THE QUALITY ONCE I GET YOUR MONEY……MALAYSIA BOLEH! SPAD BOLEH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Imagine this, your local nasi lemak hawker tell you “Nasi lemak cost RM1 more starting next week…cause I tak increase price for last 5 years…and once increase price I might think off adding more kerang or more nasi for you..”……Logic? usually is we improve our product and offer it at higher value….but NOT IN MALAYSIA! TRULY MALAYSIA! SPAD BOLEH!

• sayur on Jul 28, 2015 at 9:57 am

long walk ahead.. even malacca propose it several years ago still nothing done..
    long walk ahead malaysia.. only Tun want this country to be modernise.. everyone else up there.. just sit and think about “the money”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • rigid on Jul 28, 2015 at 10:00 am

so what happens to Malacca Tram Project? i know they got various issues to be solved e.g PAD Act and PJ Act (between public transport and personal vehicle etc), signalling, traffic control and many more. SPAD officers even get to europe to ‘see’ how the system works. till now still no progress? So what the people can expect this tram project in Penang?

• Mohd Faiz on Jul 28, 2015 at 10:08 am

can they also setup tram in KL and selangor and also cameron highland?

• frossonice on Jul 28, 2015 at 10:34 am

I hope they use the APS system which do not use overhead cable to power the tram like the one in Bordeaux, France.

• There needs to be trams in penang mainland not penang island, penang island roads are always jammed up and the roads are already small, also there are plenty of rapid services everywhere.
    Penang mainland severely needs a better public transportation system, the rapid service there is a joke, takes hours to arrive also the roads are huge, so trams will fit in very nicely.

• Haha, Penang roads so narrow, how to put tram?

• Annoynimouse on Jul 28, 2015 at 3:22 pm

That will be an engineering challenge and to become a modern society, we’ll have to tackle it head on. As far as trams in narrow streets are concerned, try walking the streets of Europe and you’ll get the idea.

• tram in prague on Jul 28, 2015 at 3:53 pm

yes.. try walk in prague and most german small cities.. you will get the idea. Tram fits perfectly for places with narrow road, as it will not require big infra for every stop. jut a bus stop sign will do.
        I live in german for few years, and hop onto tram which passing by infront of my house to cities or to my uni.

• Adlan on Jul 28, 2015 at 11:42 am

Cool! Would like to see this happen and benefit all.

• Tram in the island will create more problems than solving one.
    1) Taking note the road in the island is narrow and could not fit a tram.
    2) There will be more accident between cars and trams as we all know malaysian driving attitude.
    3) While trams look nice for a city and it may help on tourism but I doubt it will ease congestion.

• tramfortourist on Jul 28, 2015 at 1:11 pm

If yes please use the signature one, u look at it u know thats penang. Like when you use cable car in San Francisco.

• It is LGE idea, you are right but still it will be subject to SPAM scrutiny/approval or should I say SCREWTINY?

• I know I know…..ASSAM LAKSA TRAM….or D101 TRAM….

• Another half past 6 idea, just like the skycab cable car. Trams are only useful when the traffic is moderate, the roads properly planned and the road users behave.

In Penang, traffic is already bursting, road planning like shit & narrow, and drivers worse than Somalians with guns.

• Annoynimouse on Jul 28, 2015 at 3:23 pm

“Trams are only useful when the traffic is moderate, the roads properly planned and the road users behave”.

Err, I think that’s the whole idea.

• Annoynimouse on Jul 28, 2015 at 3:18 pm

I view it as something positive, but has to be implemented carefully. The introduction of modern trams in cities is nothing new. Scotland have just introduced a modern tram service in Edinburgh.

I’m all for it. Haria Penang Haria!

• I live in Edinburgh and ask I can say is this – at a cost of over £1.5bn, 5 years late and only a fraction of its intended route, I wouldn’t refer to Edinburgh’s tram system as a good example. It should really serve as a warning of how complicated and expensive trying to squeeze in a modern tram system into crowded streets. The fact that it was hugely problematic despite Edinburgh’s trams go through quite wide streets should be very telling.

What can trams do that a well run high quality bus service can’t?