Toyota Innova to join Proton Exora as TEKS1M – SPAD

Innova

The Toyota Innova will join the Proton Exora in the Teksi 1 Malaysia (TEKS1M) fleet, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has confirmed. The 2.0 litre seven-seater Toyota MPV, already used as a blue executive taxi, is set to be unveiled as a TEKS1M tomorrow, The Star reports.

Earlier this month, SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said the Commission had reviewed its decision on insisting that only the Exora be used for TEKS1M. “We are now open to other ­vehicles, provided they are Malay­sian-made,” he said.

Two years ago, SPAD decided that only the Proton Exora was to be used for TEKS1M. The move was greeted with protests back then, with some quarters claiming that it was anti-competition.

DSC_0136b

TEKS1M is intended for the Klang Valley, Johor Baru and Penang. The Exoras are golden brown in colour, and a SPAD source has confirmed that the Innovas will sport the same hue.

TEKS1Ms must provide more space for ­passengers and luggage, dedicated air-con vents for passengers, leather seats, credit card readers for cashless transaction, ­factory-fitted natural gas tanks, GPS-based dispatch system as well as safety features such as passenger airbags, the daily mentioned, although we’re not sure if a front passenger airbag is of any benefit to taxi passengers.

Word that the Innova will be accepted as TEKS1M surfaced in May. Understandably, Proton and related parties aren’t too chuffed about it.

“I don’t understand why SPAD wants to add a foreign carmaker to the TEKS1M fleet. I still feel the Proton Exora is already a good car to perform as the one and only vehicle for TEKS1M. SPAD should have consulted us before reaching any decision,” Delivery Special CEO Ismail Datuk Haron said last month.

While acknowledging a “piston issue” with the Exora, as frequently highlighted by cabbies, Ismail believes these to be isolated cases. The real problem is the delay of vehicle loan approvals by Bank Simpanan Nasional to cabbies struggling to meet the eligible requirements, he added, saying that about 2,000 Exoras are waiting to be delivered from his company’s yards.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same Lorr on Jul 27, 2015 at 10:15 am

The taxi driver have good RV car if they use Toyota Innova.. Proton bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • Areyousure on Jul 27, 2015 at 10:51 am

That implies Toyota Innova suitable to use as a “taxi” than private passenger mobility. RV gone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Why not choose Lexus brand? Malaysia very rich right?

• Taikun on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:55 pm

…”The real problem is the delay of vehicle loan approvals by Bank Simpanan Nasional to cabbies struggling to meet the eligible requirements, he added, saying that about 2,000 Exoras are waiting to be delivered from his company’s yards.”

Failed business plan. Now taxis are rotting at store yards.

• Proton BBQ on Jul 28, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Passengers don’t want Exora terbakar

• areos on Jul 27, 2015 at 10:20 am

Innova……bumpy oo macam naik lori…..(saya dah pakai 9 years)…luas mmg luas…tapi for elderly susah oo nak naik..kalau sakit lutut tak boleh panjat ..tinggi..maintenance RM400 + (normal)..RM1200 + (major).. absorberpun mudah rosak sbb bumpy ride..spare parts mahal oo..toyota lah katakan..toyota Indon ..factory qualitypun so so jer..lately bila ada Exora Bold..tak boleh kejar oo..sapa nak beli with extra RM20K silakan..sendiri mau ingat..i think Exora a better choice..anyway your money your choice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
  • “I still feel the Proton Exora is already a good car to perform as the one and only vehicle for TEKS1M. SPAD should have consulted us before reaching any decision,” Delivery Special CEO Ismail Datuk Haron said last month.”

The taxi drivers already went on national TV complaining about lousy Proton cars. What else do you want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
  • Aero (Member) on Jul 27, 2015 at 11:05 am

As it were, taxi drivers could barely afford a new Saga BLM or Persona taxi a few years back, then SPAD said they must now choose the more expensive Exora TEKS1M taxi if they want to charge higher tariffs… and now this ? Most Malaysians can’t even afford a RM90k Innova, yet SPAD thinks the average taxi driver, who earns less than the average Malaysian can afford it too ? And those taxi companies are just as bad, they don’t really care about their drivers, let alone the cars they are forced to drive. I feel bad for some of the taxi drivers. Yes, most of them are disgraceful, but I’ve met many nice cabbies too.

• Albert on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:08 pm

AERO,You are absolutely right.

Where is the logic to introduce a INNOVA premium Taxi,while the average taxi driver can’t even qualify for the Exora? Dont blame Protong for getting angry.They have committed production to stock up the Exora to meet orders,but the loans are still pending.
      You mean BSN will approve a higher loan limit to help UMW dispose off slower moving stocks?
      Shambolic,I think those dudes are trying whatever means to get “connection gains”,at the expense of the poor taxi applicant.

• Sam VHL Loo on Jul 28, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Innova nowadays where got RM90k (that one was 10 years ago with similar model). It’s actually RM100k or more (even for E spec with super overly good 4-speed auto), no discount else the salesman will yell and raise their voice to you if you ask for more offers/rebate (such as ‘if you want, just place order, don’t ask any question or promotions, if you don’t want, don’t waste my ‘PCC’ time here’).

• applegreen on Jul 27, 2015 at 11:40 am

why not using vios? adequate size and sufficient FC. Another thing using vios can solve a bit uber problem isnt it?

• naChe on Jul 27, 2015 at 11:57 am

Alza is an another option too.

• shawal on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:28 pm

most taxi driver claim that the campro engine is not suitable for NGV conversion , unlike the old sagas which were powered by mitsu powertrain…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Why no kimchis used as taxis?

Because they break down all the time, very high TCO and at the end of the day, a freakin nightmare for the driver, passenger and taxi owner

• nabill (Member) on Jul 27, 2015 at 1:10 pm

So u r telling me the problem is the car NOT the drivers??

• Pak Rosli on Jul 27, 2015 at 3:49 pm

This is because Mahathir is being attacked.

Proton is Mahathir.

• albag on Jul 27, 2015 at 4:30 pm

good luck to their fuel consumption LEL

• LandoCar on Jul 27, 2015 at 4:37 pm

In Saigon they are using these as taxis for quite sometime already. Big deal!

• Samad Jain on Jul 27, 2015 at 8:41 pm

teksi service in malaysia already suckss…..

now, with this old ugly dinosour as teksi, the taxi business gonna fold very soon…..