AWAS – new name for unified AES and Kejara systems

MEX-Highway-01

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai announced yesterday that the Automated Enforcement System (AES) and the Kejara demerit points system will now be unified under a new name – Awareness Automated Safety System (AWAS).

The minister said in an interview with TV3 that its reason for combining the two is to enforce a well-rounded approach in reducing the number of road accidents overall. While the additional AES cameras would catch errant drivers, the Kejara system will be able to keep track of their wrongdoings for further penalties.

“Whether you pay your fines or not, your marks will still be deducted if you are found to have committed a traffic offence,” said Liow. He revealed that each driver will start with 20 points on their records, and will have their driving licenses revoked, among other penalties, once those points have diminished.

Click to enlarge Kejara penalty details.

Liow has long shown his faith in the two systems, saying that they are meant to save lives and not simply punish drivers. “A survey involving the 14 AES cameras in the country showed that it was effective in reducing the number of accidents,” he said.

He also said that AWAS has got the potential to reduce corruption, given that the system will be largely automated and involves minimal human interaction. Liow concluded by saying that there are still several issues for his ministry to resolve together with the relevant stakeholders. Once these issues were concluded, a proposal will be submitted to the Cabinet in March. He also welcomed feedback from the public, saying that now is the time for all to share their views on the new system via the Transport Ministry’s website.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Nice name

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 25, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Reminds me of that old KRU song. Awas gerak langkahmu, oh woh! Indeed.

• aqeef on Feb 25, 2016 at 12:46 pm

if our friend/family drive our car then who kena demerit? if we kena demerit no fair laaa, shows that there’s a flaw in the system already

• shaekey on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:52 pm

You will get surat saman and as the registered owner of the vehicle, you’ll be asked to provide the detail information of the driver during the incident. Then the driver reported will have his/her kejara points deducted. If you fail to provide the information, then I guess your kejara point will be deducted lor… cause you’re the registered owner.

• aqeef on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:14 pm

ah i see, thank you. but just wondering, what if owner buy car cash cause no license? nowadays also proton and perodua got offer buy car take loan and no need license?

• Police should stop issuing summon on speeding offence and let JPJ handle it.

• alldisc on Feb 25, 2016 at 1:34 pm

by law – a summon must be issued by police, after enforcement and witness by police officers.

in the case of AES, it is managed not by the correct authority but an independent private company. this makes the AES summon not valid, which motorists can argue in court instead of paying.

it is a loophole there.

• Stupid Msian Cars on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Please make the law clear to the rakyat first! I am sure many are still unsure of the law (thats why it is often broken). Otherwise its unfair to the rakyat.
    Example….speed limit on the highway is 110km/h. Is it wrong for a driver to be driving at the utmost right at 110km/h? Does this consider blocking the others who are so willingly to break the speed limit? And what is the slowest speed on this highway?
    In NZ when it states 90km/h means all cars have to travel at 90km/h.
    Please make all the law clear before implementing it. Otherwise… Its a joke.

• Abolish all the so call AWAS or AES project. Make the Highway legal for car racing! Just like the Mat Rempit legalize project!

• Shiju Abraham on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:03 pm

This is indeed a good move. I hope this will be implemented in India too.

I love Malaysia!

• Shiju Abraham on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:05 pm

I simply love Malaysia. May this be implemented in India especially in Kerala.

How do I get PR in Malaysia? Please advice