B10 biodiesel to be launched nationwide this year

biodiesel1

According to Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas, the government is poised to fully implement the B10 biodiesel programme nationwide this year.

In the report by Bernama, the minister said the move is in line with Malaysia’s commitment as a member of the Council of Palm Oil Producing Countries with Indonesia to increase the usage of palm oil in biodiesel despite the low crude oil prices.

“Indonesia is currently implementing B15 and is moving towards B20. We have informed them that we will move to B10 as soon as we feel it is practicable,” Uggah said. He added that the ministry is currently in talks with all stakeholders to ensure that the policy is well received when it is implemented.

Last year, Uggah stated that the B10 biodiesel policy was supposed to be implemented nationwide by October 2015, following a pilot programme that began in February 2013. However, that plan appears to have been delayed with this announcement.

diesel-cap

Malaysia’s delayed implementation of the biodiesel programme as compared to Indonesia is due to the dissimilar structural system in both countries. Uggah added that cost differences and the availability of crude palm oil (CPO) stock also had a part to play in the delay.

Uggah also expressed his confidence that Malaysia has efficiency facilities to make the new blend of biodiesel, which is 10% palm-based biodiesel and 90% petroleum diesel, once the policy is in place. “As far as facilities are concerned, Malaysia has set up an efficient system which can blend the new biodiesel within two days,” he said.

However, several automaker brands aren’t as confident with the implementation of B10 biodiesel in the country. Brands like Toyota, Isuzu and Volkswagen were not in support of running their diesel engines on B10 biodiesel. Certain brands even stated that the use of B10 biodiesel would void the vehicle’s warranty.

Testing done by BMW found that fatty-acid methyl ester (FAME), which boils at high temperatures, will move into the motor oil, causing it to thin and possibly leading to oil sludge, which could result in engine damage. However, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia claims its E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid is fully compatible with the new diesel blend.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nazee on Mar 08, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Indonesia cars can run on b15…how isnthat possible when our manufacturers are already complaining on b10?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • zzt231 on Mar 08, 2016 at 5:46 pm

BMW totally pulled out all diesel cars from indonesia because of their government’s policy. looks like malaysia and indonesia wont get to experience modern diesel engines like in europe…
      sadz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • kzm (Member) on Mar 08, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Are u sure BMW pulled out all their diesel car from Indonesia? BMW X5 diesel just launch last year there.

• Nasser on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:03 am

Malaysia is a disgrace. Cannot even give clean diesel to EVERYBODY (very few Euro 5 stations) and yet we are talking about BioDiesel.

Our universities are shameful. Take 90% diesel, mix with 10% palm oil, then we claim to have invented the best thing on earth.

hello, it is like taking milk and mixing with your milo lah in the house.

• Yawn. Another year, another release.
    Biodiesel won’t matter until crude hits USD200/barrel, which really is a pipe dream at least for now. The problem is Malaysia looks at the biodiesel scenario from the angle of creating demand for palm oil. That too only when the price is low. So it becomes a fabricated demand.
    What are the clear advantages of bio-d? Most car manufacturers won’t sign on anyway.
    Locally, in 2009/10 the ministry concerned was still fighting about the additional 3 sen cost to produce bio-d. Who pays for this? The petroleum boys won’t since it doesn’t have the demand required. What about infrastructure costs?
    The ministry is better off pushing for greater oil palm industry efficiency that will reduce their production costs; innovating new uses for palm oil that can create a sustainable demand for the raw material and also push for better positioning of the end product in Europe. Right now the oils from soya and rapeseed is leading campaigns to put the oil palm industry in bad light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • What happens to the euro 5 diesel ? Hope that stays the same .

• Cynical on Mar 08, 2016 at 6:35 pm

The perfect lifeline for the palm-oil industry, they have to protek FGV anyway

• contender on Mar 08, 2016 at 6:53 pm

So those luxury marque in diesal …… prepared for higher cost of engine overhaul cost, BMW520d, Audi 3.0Tdi etc ….

• Samang on Mar 08, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Will your car emit smell of ikan goreng?

• Diesellover on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:30 pm

B10 is a scam.stop this or u will kill.hold the diesel market.no more diesel car.how u gonna sale ur diesel car

• superbird #43 on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:46 am

i still prefer dino diesel though.
    better mileage and reliability.

• “Due to the dissimilar structural system of both countries?”

“… We will move to B10 as soon as we feel practicable”
    Paultan, what are those?

I think readers keen to know why are we behind Indonesia in implementing B10, when they are already talking B20.

Are diesel cars in indonesia different from ours?

CPO prices has been low for quite some time, so this indicates demand is low. We shouldn’t have a supply issue. And Malaysia has a well developed CPO futures market to secure supplies.

Is high time Paultan do more indepth research on this important issues and have your own opinion and recommendations, just like you have an opinion on cars.
    Give us some stats as to overall the world who is using Biodiesel, and how far back Malaysia compare to the scheme of things. Then we know whether our Ministers are doing a good job or sleeping.

• Same as happening in US with corn oil biodiesel.
    Now, it is better to sell the palm oil to consumer to cook and eat or to plant to make biodiesel.

• thepolygonal on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:21 am

Aiyoyo don’t lah… after lorry maintenance increase… delivery naik… roti canai naik again… teh tarik also naik… angin semua naik…

• DIESELOL on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:16 am

At least should consider introduce also Euro 5 pure diesel nationwide to cater for the high performance turbo diesel passenger cars
    already mention a lot diesel engine is no support.dun force us to eat tis crap.we already force to use B7 now!cukup lar GOvenment!jangan bikin rakyat susah lagi

• DIESELOL on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:17 am

At least should consider introduce also Euro 5 pure diesel nationwide to cater for the high performance turbo diesel passenger cars

• SUPERMAN on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:18 am

At least should consider introduce also Euro 5 pure diesel nationwide to cater for the high performance turbo diesel passenger cars.enought lar our government.we already force to use b7 now.automaker already meantion B10 will kill ur engine.dun make any stupid already.