B10 biodiesel not good for engines – BMW Malaysia

2015-f10-bmw-520d-sport-interior-038

BMW Group Malaysia has issued a response to the reported implementation of B10 biodiesel by October – essentially, it says its tests worldwide have found “technical challenges” running the 10% palm-based biodiesel/90% petroleum diesel blend in engines.

According to MD and CEO Alan Harris, testing has found that fatty-acid methyl ester (FAME), which boils at high temperatures, will move into the motor oil, causing it to thin and possibly leading to oil sludge. This reduces lubricity and increases the risk of engine damage.

Other issues cited include formation of injector deposits, injection invariance, reduced idling cycle stability and higher levels of water in the fuel, the latter causing component corrosion.

Current modern diesel engines are suited to run on B7 biodiesel, Harris said, also asking the Plantation Industries and Commodities ministry (MPIC) to consider the feedback and opinion of the Malaysian auto industry before implementing B10 biodiesel.

Statement by BMW Group Malaysia MD and CEO Alan Harris, dated June 8, 2015

In response to Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas, Minister of Plantations Industries and Commodities on the implementation of B10 Biodiesel by the month of October 2015, we at BMW Group Malaysia would like to state that the Ministry of Plantations Industries and Commodities should also take into account the feedback and opinion of the Malaysian Automotive Industry before implementing the use of B10 biodiesel.

In our tests with B10 Biodiesel worldwide, we have found technical challenges present when blending 10% of palm based methyl ester with the current conventional fuel.

Testing on vehicles have found that Fatty-Acid Methyl Ester (FAME), which boils at high temperatures will move into the motor oil due to the regeneration setting resulting in thinning of the motor oil as it does not evaporate when the engine runs at high temperatures. This in turn leads to oil sludge, reduced lubricity with the risk of severe engine damage.

filter-bmw

Further to this, in our testing, we have also found the formation of deposit films at the injector due to the lack of compatibility of additives with FAME. Polymer linings at the injector results in the invariance of the injection, as well as reduces the stability of the idling cycle, creating negative emissions and changes the engine acoustics.

figure2-bmw

B10 biodiesel also results in higher levels of water in the fuel, which leads to corrosion of the components, which transport the fuel and promotes oxidation in the tank which causes a blocked fuel filter.

The current modern diesel engines in Malaysia are well suited to run on the B7 levels of biodiesel, however, while biodiesel is introduced with the intention of promoting the use of clean and green technology as well as to increase the domestic use of palm products in the country, we must ensure that the technology is safe and proven to also benefit the industrial and the automotive sector.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 6:15 pm

I was expecting this to happen…

Volkswagen in the US also says you should (at most) use only B5 fuel (5% biodiesel) instead of the B10 available in some states.

Basically this biodiesel and even Ethanol-Petrol too have some adverse effects on modern engines. Case in point on the Ethanol-10 petrol, its not recommended in direct injection cars…

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/car-news/35180/biofuel-shake-will-affect-thousands

In fact, that is why in Australia and US, some manufacturers highlight not to use the ethanol- based fuel (for petrol). Like in the case of VW, they prefer premium unleaded in the US and Australia, just to make sure people avoid using ethanol fuel, leading to direct injection issues in their TSI engines… Which is also why they have flexFuel in some Fords and GM products…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:22 am

from the picture above govt should hold implementation of B10 until the problem is solved..

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 6:18 pm

The Ministry is just pushing for B10 coz of surplus in oil palm supply.

I wonder if other manufacturers are facing the same issue…if they are they better voice out now so customers will know of this issue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • nameless on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:17 pm

waste management eh, the strategy is to recycle those used frying oil in ur kitchen.. u r too naive to think they will use the pure oil, i dont think 10% pure oil would damage the engine perhaps they add the used one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
  • AcerMan on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:12 pm

No storage left to store our palm oil. Must find way to dispose off. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • What the hell!?!?! This bloody govt doesn’t do any homework or research before introducing new things to the people of Malaysia. Everything is about the gaddam cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
    • shhhh…not so loud….after there are a few morons who will compare Malaysia with other countries and say whats the problem?…happens in other countries too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • albag on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:30 pm

how much songlap this time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Fried Rice Zero GST on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:42 pm

BMW always employ engineers with 4.0 cgpa. Better trust them.

Never listen to engineer kangkung with 3.85 cgpa or below, okay!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
    • kangkung on Jun 08, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Hint: Proton engineers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • trollmaster3000 on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:40 am

proton engineers drink biodiesel for breakfast maa.. they say it’s good for their health.. and can make them perform better.. but that’s in bed lorr.. not at work.. for work it’s still slow as usual..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Yours Faithfully (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:34 am

You are right, their proton diesel failed miserably! Until now…no new diesel models from them.

• I’m not a Proton fan but I would not go even deeper to insult those Proton engineer.

Just shut the f up and get the f out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • Udang Disebalik Mee on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Zah – You get the f out, if you don’t want to see improvements in the motor industry. The motor industry in Malaysia is having its slowest growth in April. Why? Here’s the main problems:

1. Case in point – Malaysian economy is the worst performing among the key ASEAN 5 over the last 2-3 years.

2. Ringgit is e worst performing currency in Asia last month.

3. Due to GST and fall in Ringgit, prices of imported goods have gone up by more than 30% over he last 2 months.

Now Zah, you tell me what is RIGHT about Proton engineers? Not much, they are a reflection of what is wrong with the Malaysian economy now, which is lack of efficiency and high costs.

Don’t praise someone or something, just because you are protecting interest. Praise someone or something, only if they deserve it on merit.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Coming from a horse mouth (pun intended) , But I don’t think Malaysian government will do anything about it.
    Our government motto is the same as Bush’s – either you are with us or against us.
    There is no room for negotiation or any slight of criticism or constructive debate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • 1 Malaysia Dibuat Bodoh (1MDB) on Jun 08, 2015 at 8:08 pm

What to do? FGV shares are diving and already delisted by KLCI, so it’s time rakyat help the GLC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • When FGV delisted by KLCI? Benggong tahap gaban.. CGPA 3.85 also ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • sepul on Jun 08, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Palm oils can be utilised in other field if it is not suited for engine fuels.

• Henri Bardon on Jun 08, 2015 at 8:23 pm

BMW cars are designed to use biodiesel up to 20% but this does not apply to all Feedstocks for biodiesel as it is designed for European FAME 0 and RME (Rapeseed Methyl Esther). However considering the average temperatures in Malaysia, there should be no issues with Palm based biodiesel as long as the specifications are respected by the producers to meet EU specifications EN14214 with a CPP of say max 12 and of course insuring that the diesel quality is equally good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • well said….this is why palm oil biodiesel is not welcomed in EU.

• You’re welcome to use it on your diesel bimmer or merc.

• Darawati Hussain on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:25 am

Noted on your point that BMW is designed for Biodiesel upto 20% but why then the statement by BMW to say that worldwide results of B10 is not encouraging. Are you saying that the statement above is only in relation to palm oil based biodiesel? That soya/rapeseed 10 performs much better? Is it too do with sugar or water differences.

• Aeuie2010 on Jun 08, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Bro u’re well versed with the specs.

• Diesel on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Well, not only water content may cause corrosion, it cause wear & tear on the fuel pump & injectors as well. Always check the water diesel separator filter everytime sending your car to servicing.
    I personally would add 2T into diesel. Grade JASO-FC.

• Jie Jun Teng on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Well according to the Statement from BMW it should be legit, people already made cars for so many years not to mention they build airplane engine before, the Minister of Plantations Industries and Commodities should take note of this B10 Biodiesel problem

• Diesel owner on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:32 pm

There should be nothing less than a class action lawsuit against the government to teach them a lesson with bulldozing their way through without consulting stakeholders

• You are absolutely right. Automotive Association should sue this brainless idiots.

• superbird #43 on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:54 pm

well, looks like our gov’t wants to **** our vehicle’s diesel fuel system up, eventually causing a very expensive repair.

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:11 am

We want the Euro 5 diesel. No other country is using up to B10 for their diesels. This is clearly a step backwards.

Once again, selected Malaysian ministers are putting the country to shame with ridiculous ideas. The world is probably laughing at these people.

• Thailand has tested B10 since 2010 …

http://www.etcgreen.com/industry-news/biofuel/b10-diesel-implementation-in-thailand

• Hadi75 on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:18 am

Government should give choice to the rakyat which diesel they want to use….if petrol users can have a choice to use ron95 or ron 97 why can’t diesel users have the same choices…diesel or bio diesel.

• Private diesel car owners are damn….not only no Euro5, but give you B10..WTF!

• Sparcov on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:48 am

By right, we are not suppose to use palm oil food based for energy. Initially when the price is down is okay. When the palm oil price is up, then we will be fighting energy and food price.

Is very simple, is a palm oil cooking oil is much superior compare to sunflower oil for our food intake? thick vs light oil ?

Same goes to our engine, we move towards synthetic based oil which is more light compare to original mineral.

Introducing 10% palm oil will cause damage to the engine, injector, fuel system in long run. It will build up the carbon deposits somehow.

• madre on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:26 am

What I want to know is how would this affect my current e90 320d? So far no major issues but would this new b10 biodiesel change that?

• thepolygonal on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:42 am

Last thing we want is the skyrocketing diesel maintenance cost on trucks, lorries, buses and vans where they will blame the B10 and pass on the cost to the consumers again :(

Aiii… started as a good intention but eventually will be abused and profited by some.

• Carnut on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:00 am

Not sure why our Ministers are always so keen to jump the gun and announce policies that are not approved by cabinet yet and without enough industry consultation.

Another flip-flop coming our way or is the Ministry going to insist B10 is safe?

The question is who do you want to believe? BMW or the Minister? I would trust BMW in their research rather than the Ministry which has vested interest to sell more palm oil.

• Minister always trust bmw for their car..but minister cannot be trusted..

• This might be a good thing. Push through the B10 so then all ministers cannot use their BMWs so they then push through Euro5. So in the end, all good.

• Mamat on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:39 am

Merc will have to do their own test
    too as they have just introduced a
    whole range of new diesel engines into
    the Msian market.
    Don’t want a deja vu happening to MB again.

• B10 is to make economical cost for commercial vehicle as the transportation and logistics company they usually have their own workshop to do maintenance for every vehicles their own regularly. Therefore B10 is not for private vehicle which solely depends on service center or outside workshop. It’s costy to consumers anyway..