B7 biodiesel to be sold in East Malaysia from end-Jan

biodiesel

A total of 366 petrol kiosks in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan will begin selling B7 biodiesel from end-January, plantation industries and commodities minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas has said, according to a Bernama report.

“The fuel, which meets international standards, will use 138,000 tonnes of palm oil biodiesel a year,” he said, adding that the 7% palm biodiesel/93% petroleum diesel blend has been available in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan since last month, but only on a limited basis.

Uggah said the use of B7 biodiesel in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan is set to bump total palm oil biodiesel usage to 576,000 tones a year nationwide. The B7 biodiesel programme has already been fully implemented in Peninsular Malaysia.

Also, the Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB) is studying B10 biodiesel (10% palm oil blend) compatibility through the implementation of the palm oil biodiesel incentive scheme (IBS) on a voluntary basis with the industrial sectors.

b5 bio

B10 and B20 biodiesel will be tested on MPOB’s vehicles, including those of its research station. Meanwhile, B10 will be tried on 10 vehicles belonging to Alam Flora and 50 belonging to Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), he said.

“To encourage the use of palm oil biodiesel in industrial sectors, MPOB has allocated RM3 million under IBS by offering the fuel for sale or usage at RM300 per tonne,” he said, adding that the programme, which had been implemented since March 2013, could increase palm oil biodiesel consumption by as much as 10,000 tonnes a year.

“The Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB) has spent RM340 million to build 35 petroleum depots nationwide to blend biodiesel,” he said, adding that five of them were in Sarawak (owned by Petronas, Shell and Synergy), eight in Sabah (owned by Petronas, Shell and Petron) and two in Labuan (owned by Petronas and Shell).

MPOB director-general Datuk Dr Choo Yuen May said the board had commercialised the production of winter-grade palm oil biodiesel technology at three dedicated plants in Malaysia, with the capacity of blending 30,000 tonnes of the fuel per year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• superbird #43 on Jan 19, 2015 at 12:31 pm

will my 2007 ford ranger be able to ingest it?

• Annoyed on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:48 pm

That was fast to implement. Why is euro5 that slow?

• cronies companies producing it, so wat u expect?

• Boostering the price of palm oil shoving it down the throats of consumers. Good thing corn is not big here otherwise it’s E20 for petrol.

• good

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Giving priviledge or dumping garbage?

Fixed deposit banks, do we need to take the best care of them? All the bests to you all.

Intentional ‘s’.

• We are paying un subsidized fuel, why spend money to reduce the quality of fuel? Should talk about offering euro3/4/5 not b10/20. If so we have the right to decide if we are buying pure or blended fuel. About bio diesels suitable for our diesel engines, they will always tell you it is equivalent or better. Just ask your diesel specialist what bio diesels do to your engines. Or specifically to your fuel pump and injectors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Biodiesel is better n cleaner than normal diesel..the oni problem is whether diesel vehicle can use it or not.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:41 pm

kzm so pandai. Now, he is an expert in fuel and biodiesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Pandai or not…all info is readily available on the net…I’m oni stated the obvious info..don’t be zombie

• aeuie2010 on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:10 pm

biodiesel b100 (methyl ester) is slightly acidic. it tends to corrode the oil seal. I used to work in a biodiesel plant. Tested on few vehicles (forklift, tractor)

• ausie, if acidic, blend it with colgate lor.. dan we get carbon monoxide n garam..

• albag on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:37 pm

what’s this b7 biodiesel thing??? what’s the difference with the current diesel we’re using? is it a better diesel fuel with less pollutants???

• kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:29 pm

7% palm oil n 93% diesel…for a start there is almost no sulfur I’m palm oil as compare to normal diesel.

• jtiongwl (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:49 am

No worry, not much different actually. Still a long way to comply with Euro 5 standards for this particular product.

• Richmon on Jan 19, 2015 at 5:20 pm

So, it time to consider diesel benz?

• jtiongwl (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:51 am

Richmon, sorry to say, not yet. As Diesel still 93% of the fuel. If Euro 2 diesel is used to produce the blend, it is still very far from Euro 5 standards, which is the fuel requirements by the diesel Benz.

Alternatively, if can comply, please let me know. I am thinking to get an European Diesel Car too.

• Marieta on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Anybody can tell the Euro equivalent of this Bio Diesel thingy…pardon me, never went to university…belajar takat SPM aje..

• You’ll get less milege with B7 or any bio diesel.
    I’m getting about 100 to 150 KM less on my 5 series (full tank)since using B7.

• jtiongwl (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:48 am

To me, I think it shall be still Euro 2 compatible, due to the fact that they haven’t announce the type of diesel which will be use to produce the blend. Personally, if this is not being clarify, it shall be Euro 2 as the diesel available in our country is Euro 2 standard only. Don’t forget that no matter B10, or even B20, is still 10% and 20% only, for the contain of Palm Oil Respectively.

Therefore, I don’t see the need to ask about this. The relevant person will be quite reluctant to answer. If they want to highlight it, I think it will be a very very big news highlight during the announcement.

• winwin on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:40 am

Stupid gov cannot export enough palm oil until there is excess stock. So force locals to buy them. If not the cronies will make a loss. Bio diesel has nothing related to euro grade of the fuel. Bio diesel means mixing diesel derived from plants into fossil fuel.Bio diesel has less energy content than fossil fuel.

• Sparcov on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:10 am

Some of the car manufacturer limit the usage of bio diesel in their engine.

Especially modern type common-rail injection diesel.

They will limit the usage of bio-diesel to B5 or some up to B20.

As the wear and tear are very subjective, it seems we can’t have higher percentage in the mixture of bio-diesel.

REf: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biodiesel

• Joanne Ivancic on Jan 21, 2015 at 2:52 am

For more information about biodiesel in general, see: http://advancedbiofuelsusa.info/?s=biodiesel&x=9&y=6

For a white paper about the difference between biodiesel or FAME and renewable or green diesel, see: http://advancedbiofuelsusa.info/what%e2%80%99s-the-difference-between-biodiesel-and-renewable-green-diesel

In the US up to 5% biodiesel (B5) can be used in any diesel engine.