Having dealt with major difficulties and adopting a more conservative approach to car making as a result, Honda is finally going back to its heritage of making sporty cars. Speaking to CarAdvice, Honda America’s senior vice president and general manager, Jeff Conrad, revealed that despite recent issues, the car maker is going back to its roots.
“When we came through the recession, we came through flooding in Thailand, the tsunami, we had a lot of challenges,” Conrad said. “When that happens, you have to retrench and you tend to get a little conservative, frankly. Well, now it’s a different market and we looked and we said we don’t like that retrenchment mode, we like fun, we like excitement, we like performance,” he exclaimed.
Unhappy with the brand’s recent conservative attitude, the VP explained that with the 10th-generation Honda Civic, going back to the model’s performance nature was key. He described it as a “concerted effort” by its engineers to reclaim the brand’s sporty heritage.
Conrad also highlighted Honda’s other attempts to get back into motorsports in general. “We have more involvement in racing than any other company out there, and each of those designs can reach out to a particular group of people that are interested in performance,” he said.
“We know that we love racing and we know that our cars perform, and we put them in a race environment so people can see what the cars can do. It pays dividends with our brand,” the Honda VP added.
Needless to say, Honda has been pushing forward with the cause, introducing several key performance models in recent times. With the new NSX and the Civic Type R already at its front lines, the Japanese car maker is said to be working on several other sports models for the future.
Sporty driving with old design aircond swithes
LMAO
??? Sporty ??? which part???
Suits an old lady for sunday market ride….
Agak2 la sporty…..
Wat..lah!!! Every country get Civic R, why only M’sia get only 4 door sedan. Why the bias, Rm now 3.99 to Usd, you know! Still money, you know! Wakalimasta!!!
Honda follows p1 for being sporty, enough is enough, go and find your own identity
“Enough is enough” Are you that super pissed women from the red t-shirt ??
Signal on bumper? The ugly signal ever.
Waja also same. I lost count how many time those low hanging signal lights so easy to get blocked easily.
Put it on the side mirror, el cheapo Honda!
jahil betul, itu us model requirement la sial
DRB,please open your eyes BIG.
Why dont you hive off ailing Protong,and concentrate on money spinner Honda cars,lower the prices so that even the most loyal protong fanboys jump ship and could afford Honda?
You are putting money into a pocket full of holes(…Protong’s losses).
Please terminate national service with poor Protong.YAB is busy giving ceramah belakang lori,he got no time for Prontong.
Perhaps give it to another GLC…perhaps Sime Darby to try its luck to manage Protong.The Ford lady boss could manage better,I reckon.
Funny, Honda cars have no lotus handling (unless rebadged). Extremely boring.
lotus handling konon,after 3 years sini bunyi sana bunyi…sana koyak sini koyak..puii
Najib supports public transport, not car. Thats what makes Tun M hopping mad
Cause if public transport are good, who wants to buy Protaik which makes most of their car owners, worse it’s strong startled feeling CVT gearbox (like it will condemn anytime) that makes the car owners even poorer with awesome quality plus ‘hailat’ RV (same with Toyotaik owners)
If so why use CVT?
Efficiency
This CVT beat the 6 speed manual 200hp k24 Civic Si.
0-100kmh faster.
Well, this car can get 0-100 faster while maintaining low FC. Reliability of CVT vs DSG/Dual cluth Gearbox.
CVT with torque converter anytime better than DSG.
bring back s2000
Bring back NSX – raw hi-rev VTEC N/A, short ratio manual, full aluminium body.
Let’s try the cvt out before saying so
Finally Honda realized the mistake it has made few years back. if you have sporty root in you, just stick to it. don’t bother too much about coming up with some safe but boring cars.
The cabin looks a bit plasticky close up. Especially the controls on the s/wheel. Still, the 1.5 turbo models look excellent value. I’d wait for the hatch version tho..
The more i look at it … the uglier it is becoming . This car will not age wel