Kuching to Lawas journey may see shorter travel times

Pan Borneo highway-02

With the construction of the Pan Borneo Highway, Malaysia will be discussing with Brunei on the reduction of travel times from Kuching to Lawas, The Star reports. At the moment, it takes about 20 hours to travel between the two ends, due to immigration checkpoints at the Malaysia-Brunei borders.

There are currently four Custom, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) checkpoints at the Malaysian-Brunei borders. These include Sungai Tujuh in Miri, Tedungan in Limbang, and two more in Brunei – Kuala Belait and Kuala Lurah.

“We will discuss with Brunei to determine if we can shorten the Kuching to Lawas travel time by 12 or 14 hours,” said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak. He also stated that travel times for Kuching to Miri could be shortened from 14 hours to just nine, with the completion of the project.

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister gave further reassurance that there would be no tolls on the Pan Borneo Highway. This, according to Najib, was due to the fact that the highway is the main route that all road users in both Sarawak and Sabah will be taking.

The Pan Borneo Highway consists of approximately 2,239 km in length and will stretch across East Malaysia, linking both states. The highway, which costs about RM16 billion to RM29 billion, will be built with minimal impact to wildlife and the environment and is expected to be completed by 2023.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 04, 2016 at 12:57 pm

2239KM for RM29 billion. As with any projects in Malaysia, at the end of the day, always double up. It will be RM60 billion.

RM60 billion for 2239KM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Ask any Bornean (even DAP harcore supporters). They will tell u even if need to spend RM120 million to build this hiway, please do so. Somemore its free.

• Black Dog on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:13 pm

‘you help me, i’ll help you’

If BN loses the Sarawak Election, this project might postpone for another 5 years…

• NO TOLL due to the fact that the highway is the main route that all road users in both Sarawak and Sabah will be taking. So do JB to KL road user. Can u remove the PLUS toll as well? I vote u on next GE.

• Federal road.. on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:54 pm

PLUS was built on a new route. U can always use Federal route to go to KL from JB for free. Transborneo on the other hand will be built on the existing the existing.

• Paul Si on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:14 pm

“… shorten the Kuching to Lawas travel time by 12 or 14 hours” is fantasy.
    Current travel time is cited as 20 hours, which is reasonable. How are you going to reduce that to 6 to 8 hours when the Kuching-Miri travel time is to be “shortened from 14 hours to just nine.”

• Silthice on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Because Miri – Lawas is quite near actually but due to entering Brunei twice in between miri-Limbang & Limbang-lawas. But the original pan-borneo supposed to be all new road and route which was planned not to cross/enter Brunei to reach Limbang & Lawas…

• FaizalMisman on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Rm12.9mil/km @ Rm129k/100mtrs? pheww…

• albag on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:39 pm

LEL.. NO TOLLS!!! thank you bn and bijan!

beat that West Malaysia!

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:33 pm

not just checkpoint..ferry also..

• Lawas on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:17 pm

No more ferry. Already replaced with new bridge since few years ago.

• yahya sepeda on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Travelling in Sabah and Sarawak is fun and interesting. But it could be much better is we can travel round Borneo. Eve though M’sia has a land boundary of more that 1000km fr Tg Datu to Tawau. There is only ONE land crossing between Malaysia and Kalimantan. A dream drive would be to circumvent Borneo.

• Yes to this! It is my dream adventure to be able to drive, circumventing Borneo. But we will need to work out with Indonesia to make that happen.

• With the bridge currently in construction between Brunei-Muara and Temburong district. It will effectively bypass Limbang and the Kuala Lurah-Tedungan Border. Reducing travelling time around 2-3 hours.

• Sii Pai Gong on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:59 am

Has any of the Ministers travel by road from Kuching to Lawas ??? Just thinking it night takes 20 years before this project will be completed.