National automakers Proton and Perodua are expected to adopt autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and lane-keeping active safety systems as standard by the year 2020. Speaking at a technical conference organised by the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Malaysia chairman and ASEAN NCAP secretary-general Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim made the bold prediction.
With the European New Car Assessment Programme (Euro NCAP) making AEB systems a must for vehicles to qualify for a five-star safety rating since 2012, Khairil’s statement is based on the fact that the ASEAN NCAP will do the same come 2017. It is said that AEB and lane-keeping systems will be required for a “high-class” ASEAN NCAP five-star safety rating.
“From 2011 to 2016, our pre-requisites for a car to quality for a five-star rating was only to have electronic stability control (ESC) and seatbelt reminders for both front passengers. From 2017 to 2020, to get a five-star rating you still will need to have full ESC and seatbelt reminders, but that will only qualify for a low-class five-star score. To get a high-class five-star rating, you will need AEB and lane-keeping,” Khairil said.
“As you know, even Perodua and Proton have four-star cars now, and we don’t think they will want go any lower than this. They are also challenging themselves to get five-star cars,” said the SAE Malaysia and ASEAN NCAP boss. He added that while some manufacturers may not like the new rules, this is the way the ASEAN NCAP needed to move forward in its bid to improve the safety standards of vehicles in the region.
“Even without government regulations, ASEAN NCAP has encouraged manufacturers to maintain at least a four-star rating. My prediction is that by 2020, we can see at least half of this fleet (Proton and Perodua) equipped with AEB systems. After 2020, it may be the case that without AEB, you wouldn’t even get a three-star rating. That’s how we try to encourage manufacturers to move on.”
Automotive technology developers, Bosch, was also on hand to share its technical expertise. Klaus Landhaeusser, general manager of automotive sales, original equipment Southeast Asia, echoed Khairil’s sentiments by saying that the level of competition between the nation’s automakers will spur the move towards safer vehicles.
“We at Bosch witness on a daily basis how competitive the manufacturers are. For instance, when company “A” introduces a new feature, for sure company “B” will come to us and request for it as well,” he said.
“I totally agree that the ASEAN NCAP is playing a major role in pushing manufacturers to reach their (highest) ratings. But on the other hand, you also cannot underestimate the power of communication towards the end consumer coming from the organisation. This is an essential point to creating this “cul-de-sac” where the end consumer starts asking manufacturers about these new fancy features as well,” Landhaeusser added.
When paultan.org quizzed the Bosch chief on whether it was prepared to provide local manufacturers with affordable and advanced active safety systems like AEB and lane-keeping, Landhaeusser said “absolutely.”
“We are a global player and we have a lot of countries where we have all of these systems already. It is not a question of affordability anymore,” he said. “The mass introduction of such technologies also help us to keep prices down. It shouldn’t be a big obstacle at all.”
Previously, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) has announced that the government is looking to gazette regulations regarding AEB and lane departure warning systems by the year 2020 – in total, 126 UN automotive safety regulations are expected to be introduced into the rulebooks by then.
More recently, Proton has been seen testing an Iriz fitted with an Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS), while Perodua has just been spotted trialling a Daihatsu Move with a similar system – these sightings could hint at their implementation in future models.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
AEB? Some of the models still missing the bloody basic ABS. Sort it out first as standard now. Not 2020.
Wondering about this MAI “empty promises” AGAIN??? Yes if the promises really achieved but… bolehland ministry department “promises reduce car price” but up until now Owning a well safety equip car cost a fortune !!!
how is Proton going to have AEB when they got no money also. Hutang hutang hutang. Past 3 years they lost RM2.5 billion. Now, got no market share even. Every month bleeding RM25 million.
How they going to implement AEB?
Relevent Auto Institutions, pls don’t talk big make yourself like a clown. (1)Auto basic safety ABS EBD BA VSC TRC not even full implemented. (2)Poor road condition never improved. (3)Narraw road condition with insuficient lanes to cook the vehicles move. (4)Stupity Traffic light timing control & setting, congestion at red light lanes but no vehicle at green lights lane. (5)Road bottleneck not able managed to widen increase the lanes. (6)Stupity existing Smart tac & TnG, uncountable scan sensivity issues & system error but never have improvement action taken to improve and ensure 100% stability. Etc… uncountable to list
2020? do they think Proton will stay open by then?
Perodua could have it earlier than 2020. We have the technology already, nothing special. Proton…
You could also claimed Perodua has Ion Propulsion engine already, just waiting the year 3030.
Proton is already testing ADAS (AEB+BLIS+LDWS+ACC) since last year.
Proton has been testing exora ev, saga ev since i dont know how many years already.
Proton also testing its hybrid/EV on Mars now many many years ago but Matt Damon forgot it bring it back to earth.
You must’ve been living under a rock for the past couple of years…
Perodua don’t need all these gimmicks. They got the ultimate safety package called gear-up
OMG…R U sure Perodua got 4 stars now? U dont lie lah…Milo tin & without ESC cars got 4 stars. LOL
Got, Proton got
You must’ve been living under a rock for the past couple of years…
Just wondering if the Lane Departure Warning Light will light up permanently for most Malaysians driven cars, because we like to Kiri-Kanan-Kira-Kanan on the express way.
Will the AEB applies the brake when many Malaysian idiots drive fast and tail gate the front cars.
Ah Beng will not like it as they LOVE tailgating other cars.
Most like deterrent for Ah Beng to tail gate. Otherwise the car would just brake hard and lost control when AEB activated, wrapping the tree beside the road.
P1 is possible. P2? Have they successfully begged it from their jepunis overlords? They havent even got ESC and 6 airbags from their masters woh.
how much p1 pays you to post these comments here?
About the same price P2 pays u to bash….
Nah, P2 no money to pay me since they like to keep it to expand their business unlike P1 which paid a lot of unnecessary ‘fees’ until have to bankrupt dee
Whatever it is i hope p1 doesnt pay you a lot….
Somemore dun wan takata airbags. Scared that jepunis quality will kill me.
I thought you like the new Perdana?
Like. Since P1 uses Autoliv airbags. Wun kirr pipu one
I heard it was Takata worr. So how?
The tipu part is not all p1 cars have the said airbags although they claim it is there..Go find out yourself.
It’s 2016, and Perodua doesn’t even have ABS as standard even though it’s been around for 30 years. You’re telling me they want to make AEB standard in 4 years? Don’t make me laugh.
They do have ABS on all their model – Aku Brake Sendiri (ABS).
lol by that time most cars already have fully autonomous driving. Even Peugeot said their next 508 will have it.
Why 2020? Why not now? This is only 1 safety feature, how about other safety features? 2030? 2040? 2050?…???
Relevent Auto Institutions, pls don’t talk big make yourself like a clown.
(1)Auto basic safety ABS EBD BA VSC TRC not even full implemented.
(2)Poor road condition never improved.
(3)Narraw road condition with insuficient lanes to cook the vehicles move.
(4)Stupity Traffic light timing control & setting, congestion at red light lanes but no vehicle at green lights lane.
(5)Road bottleneck not able managed to widen increase the lanes.
(6)Stupity existing Smart tac & TnG, uncountable scan sensivity issues & system error but never have improvement action taken to improve and ensure 100% stability.
Etc… uncountable to list…
please close la, don’t make us suffer. and what? 2020 then proton gonna have AEB? don’t lie la… just close shop we will be happier.
Stop running before walking. Put in TC/ESC and 6 airbags before talking AEB.
U do know u r pointing that finger at ur idol P2, right?
What’s wrong with pointing finger at my idol P2? I’m not those that enjoy eats idol’s shits and pretends it taste good.
Still, low quality shit is worse than high quality shit anyway.
AEB? Habislah proton. Masalah enjin pun diaorg x mampu nak selesaikan, inikan plak AEB… Apa lg, mintak le kerajaan hulur duit untuk buat R&D.
Perodua implementing AEB? Joke of the year ? Their cars don’t even have basic safety like ESC and some don’t even have ABS! And yet they are talking about advance safety system such as AEB?
Really? Proton would still be around in year 2020?
I really wish i have their jobs…just make syik sindili annoucements every FEW MONTHS…in between mostly teh tarik (overtime)
Active lane keeping safety? In Sarawak, many roads don’t even have lane lines to begin with. Useless if the roads are not fixed.
Why by 2020… should be by yesterday
“As you know, even Perodua and Proton have four-star cars now, and we don’t think they will want go any lower than this. They are also challenging themselves to get five-star cars,”
Perodua CEO already said safety bukan budaya kita.
Sounds like another big “project” between Bosch & boss of two society. “nation’s automakers will spur the move towards safer vehicles.” ya right, buy bloody expensive equipment from your company and sell even more expensive to end user..
AEB? For F’s sake, install ABS and ESP first.
Suggestion: try enforcing AEB at commercial vehicle before 2020.
Death rate caused by Heavy Truck without proper braking or on time braking is more high..