Tun Mahathir explains his resignation from Proton

Proton-Tun-Mahathir-Interview-3

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s resignation from his post as Proton chairman on March 31 has certainly been the talk about town lately. While many have shared their views on the matter following Tun Mahathir’s departure, we haven’t heard what the man himself had to say on the matter, until now.

In a post on his personal blog chedet, Mahathir explains the reason behind his resignation, which many have speculated as a “sacking.” In actuality, Mahathir says he views himself as a persona non grata (an unwelcomed person) with the Government, which could potentially jeopardise the future of Proton.

Mahathir also shares his insights in an attempt to clear the air regarding the carmaker’s financial standpoint in regards to grant, taxes and localisation incentives. According to him, “Proton has paid more to the Government than the Government has to Proton.”

Additionally, the former Proton chairman describes the importance of Proton at providing jobs to Malaysians, be it directly, or indirectly (vendors). He also goes on to detail the difficulty Proton has in accessing foreign markets, due to the various tariff and non-tariff barriers set up there.

Mahathir’s blog post is sort of an indirect reply to a lengthy statement by international trade and industry minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed. In the statement dated April 1, 2016, Mustapha stated that Proton’s current business model adopted simply wasn’t sustainable.

The following is the blog posting by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in full:

I feel I owe you all an explanation as to why I resigned as Chairman of Proton.

I was not expelled by Proton management or owners. I decided on my own, for the sake of Proton I should leave. I therefore have no grudge against Proton nor do I want it to fail after I leave.

This is because Proton seems to be having difficulties with the Government, and for some unknown reason, sales of Proton cars have plummeted.

I know I am persona non grata with the Government. I do not want to be the cause of Proton’s inability to recover because of my presence.

I would in fact like to see Proton recover and do well.

So, please, Proton owners and buyers, don’t take it out on Proton because I am no longer the Chairman. Please continue to support Proton.

Proton has great ideas about introducing new models which are of good quality. This month, it will launch the new Perdana. Later in the year, it will launch the new Persona and Saga.

Proton cannot expect any help from the Government.

Only Proton owners and fans can help Proton. So please help Proton, your national carmaker.

1. I am no longer the Chairman of Proton. However I feel a need to merely state the facts.

2. Firstly Proton is now privately owned after it was bought at RM5.50 per share (originally priced RM2.95 but bidding pushed the price up), largely from Khazanah and a few other shareholders. Khazanah was supposed to hold shares for Bumiputras but is now representing the Government. Proton is not a GLC (Government Linked Company).

3. The Government’s policy previously, was to encourage (the use of) local content. All cars manufactured or assembled in Malaysia are entitled to rebates on excise duty based on the percentage of local contents used. Most foreign cars assembled in Malaysia has 30–40% local content. Proton has almost 90% local content. Therefore the rebate for Proton is higher. It is not a privilege for Proton alone. All foreign and local cars enjoy this privilege. Local content increases the cost of producing the car. This is because the deletion allowance by the foreign company is invariably lower than the cost of the local component.

4. The Government claims to have provided grants, various forms of assistance as well as tax foregone to the take of about RM13.9 billion in total.

5. Most of this is made up of taxes foregone. Proton records show the following:
(1) RM1,320 million as tax incentives to Proton also eligible to non-national cars
(2) RM773.8 million in R&D Grant, Special grant, Stimulus package, eligible to all automotive manufacturers.
(3) RM12,532.6 million in customized incentives, also eligible to all automotive players.

Total Government contribution from 1985 – to date amounts to RM14,631.4 million.
Details of (1), (2) and (3) are appended.

Total contribution by Proton to the Government since 1985 totals RM24,905 million.
These are made up of the following:
(i) Excise duty from 1985 onwards – RM11,785 million
(ii) Sales tax from 1985 onwards – RM9,470 million
(iii) Corporate tax from 1985 onwards – RM1,410 million
(iv) Import duty from 1985 to 2008 – RM1,403 million
(v) GST from April 1, 2015 – RM28 million

Total: RM24,095 million

Clearly, Proton has paid more to the Government than Government to Proton.
Capital injection by Government in two seed funds total RM400 million. These have been fully paid up. On top of this, Proton had fully funded the RM1.8 billion Tanjung Malim Plant from its internal coffers, which at that point had a staggering total of RM4 billion.

6. In addition, Proton provides jobs for about 12,000 workers at any one time directly, and more than 250,000 souls indirectly. Proton reduced the outflow of funds probably amounting to more than RM100 billion.

7. Vendors also create jobs and reduce outflow of funds.

8. We can forget the development of engineering capability as our policy now is to encourage imports.

9. Incidentally, all the countries exporting cars to Malaysia implement tariff and non-tariff barriers, resulting in Proton’s exclusion of importation into their countries. This contrasts with our policy of allowing foreign cars to enter Malaysia with minimal or no restrictions.

10. It should be noted that Proton has to compete in its own domestic market against the likes of Toyota (10 million cars p.a.), South Korean car makers (5 million cars p.a.), German car makers (6 million cars p.a.) and others.

11. These companies can afford to lose on their cars in Malaysia and recoup in other markets. Apart from economy of scale, Proton cannot access foreign markets except those of poor countries with low Total Industry Volume.

12. Today the Government has no pride in national products. Imports are cheap and there are more consumers than producers. In a democracy, numbers count. So pleasing the more numerous is more important than national capacity of develop.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:16 am

Tun also should explain besides his resignation why he has made people in Malaysia suffer with high car prices since 1985.

Global car prices have risen only double since 1985. But Malaysian car prices have risen 6 fold since 1985. All because MITI wanted to protect Mahathir’s baby.

In the 90s, you can get a good brand new Nissan Sunny for RM20k or a Toyota Corolla brand new for RM20k. Now, its RM139k for the Corolla.

Tun must answer, what was the purpose he created Proton? he said in 1985 that it was to give Malaysians cheap cars. But now, it seems, even Perdana can cost over RM100k. Is this cheap Tun? Maybe to you and your billionaire sons but to most Malaysians, even Protons are so expensive.

I hope Tun can explain to all of us, why are we paying overpriced cars, more precisely 3x the global prices of cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 83
    • Thank you Tun for being kind. Now, clean the rubbish you dump in the office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 39
      • Yea, one big crab falls on the shoulders of all rakyat man..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
        • George Abdul on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:17 pm

More and more excuses form Tun DrM itself. “Clearly, Proton has paid more to the Government than Government to Proton” said Tun DrM. Then who’s the first person that implanted “multiply taxes” system to Malaysia Automotive industry??? You’re the man that cause Proton fall and Rakyat had enough of the LIES !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:06 pm

To Proton fanboys: Wanna support your beloved Proton? Listen to Tun and buy the shit!!!

No need talkok huu haa Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok here. Talk is cheap! Show us your ACTION!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
          • Tolong Tutup Proton on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Now the Proton fanboys are hiding like chickens. Even Government want to shut Proton down cause they realise, it is just a burden. Better use the money to help the poor and build more orphanages.

how long the 30 million Malaysians want to support Proton staff and vendors financially?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
          • Tolong Tutup Proton on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:01 pm

DRB sent a memo to all staff and Proton staff to thumbs down all negative comments. So shy. Big company but got to send memo to ask staff to go to this site and thumbs down any negative comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
          • Tolong Tutup Proton on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Why Proton sell cars to Malaysians, they charge GST. Now, Mahathir said, Government exempt them GST RM28 million.

Sounds so so so so so so so suspicious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • WT Fuchh on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Steady lah Tun, I support you fully, Dont give up. I got good idea to increase P1 sales……..Ask gomen to cancel P2 national car status……Sure to work one….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • I love Proton. Rakyat should support Proton to help our local industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 24
          • Tolong Tutup Proton on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:04 pm

It is still not late to shut Proton down and remake Malaysia the Autocity we were on our way to become.

Close Proton now, you will see, money from Thailand slowly moving into Malaysia again. In 10 yrs time, we would have actually got about RM100 billion invested in Malaysia if we close Proton down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
          • Diesel Power!!! on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:02 am

Is not we dun support P1, but is their product dun meet market demand..
            E.g. Ppl want SUV, they built IRIZ, ppl want new MPv they promote Perdana. Ppl want persona replacement, they come out Saga replacement.!! Sigh!! Always promote wrong item..!! U cant expect ppl to buy Juara, Tiara, Arena, just to support P1…

• Gargantia on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:28 pm

“Proton cannot access foreign markets except those of poor countries with low Total Industry Volume.” “Sendiri” country haven’t settle down (debts billions), still “dreams” of making global foreign country??? No wonder Rakyat need to pay extra expensive to own a local car !!! Totally Proton failure in global market !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • hahaha on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:54 am

Tun forgot point
        13. Proton close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
        • Khazanah ProtonFan on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:36 pm

You dont like Proton dont comments, We only like customers buy car. Complaints this and that YOU go US buy car ok? Long live AP system and Khazanah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
          • Tolong Tutup Proton on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:14 pm

All rakyat must pay GST except for Proton. Proton no need to pay GST. Boleh JIMAT 28 million.

But when they sell, they charge GST to the Rakyat. How? KDRM got any answers to this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • Gargantia on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:49 pm

And Tun DrM forget to mention RAKYAT that pay multiply taxes system (Excise duty from 1985, Sales tax from 1985, Corporate tax from 1985, Import duty from 1985, GST from April 1, 2015) JUST TO OWN A CAR ??????? And ministry able to get “free Government provide car (Accordana)” from RAKYAT TAXES ??? Why’s the logic???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
          • Exactly. What crap is he talking?

Sales Tax,Excise Duty,GST all The Rakyat pays not Proton!

• Hvannees on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:00 am

I still remember my dad nissan sunny 130y. Only 13k. 3 years instalment. Back then salary is small. But manage to own japanese car (japanese car considered cheap car back then unlike ford or other continental) but today with bigger salary with same job like my dad. I have to get 9 years loan with japanese car. Proton? Golden age of 80’s and 90’s but not today…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 16
      • Malaysia Kena Con on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:13 am

Even today, Altis in US after discounts only US$12k. (Rm48k) Sini jual Rm130k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:08 pm

You think we can’t sell the Vios at Saga price? Think again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:23 pm

My dad bought a brand new Mercedes 200 for Rm57k. The year was 1990. Still got the receipts if any Proton fanboys here want a copy.

Today, the same car is the Mercedes E200. Price Rm370k. 7 kali ganda. U think our currency drop 7X? Or inflation 7X?

Only small boys cannot remember anything here cause they were born in 1998 onwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
          • Some Merc in thai is more expensive than in bolehland. What say you? And that’s when no such thing as protektion p1 there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Tun Pakai Porsche on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:17 am

Tun himself now use Porsche and dumped his Iriz in dumping site

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
      • Malaysia Kena Con on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:20 am

Go and see all the Ministers. None of them use Proton. All use Porsche, Ferrari, Lambo, BMW and Mercedes.

What does this say?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
        • All the ministers don’t know what’s good for them. Semua bodo n bangang

• BbalingBiru on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:46 am

If you consider RM exchange against Yen and the whole lot of the inflation since the said period, yes you gonna get the said range of price increase (mainstream models only). I’m not TunM’s leadership fan, so let’s get more realistic. I agree with Tok Pa’s statement that P1’s current business model is fail. This is what should be the cause of action for all people in interest. When all other brands are racing forward introducing more SUV models, P1 seems like having no interest at all, at least from what being exposed to our bare eyes. I think this one alone is enough to portray the whole idea of P1 and where they are heading…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Tolong Tutup Proton on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:09 pm

What rubbish exchange rate you talking about? then how Camry can be sold in US for US$20k?

• Malaysia Kena Con on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:12 am

Malaysians kena con big time. A good Camry, Accord or Teana in US only US$22k. After discounts can even get US$18k.

That is hardly Rm80k in Malaysia. Same price as your Preve high spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
      • Khazanah ProtonFan on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:33 pm

All you say rubbish !!! Proton always Rakyat first and AP owners last. You don’t read what Tun said??? US so good you go US, Proton only need supporters and less complaints when YOU come to services! Proton help Rakyat, AP owners help Rakyat that’s why Proton sell cheap price! So go buy proton now !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
    • Sack designer on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:26 am

Sack the designer also!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • applegreen on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:29 am

i dont remember new corolla at rm20k in 90s. What i knew my family bought mazda 323 in 1991 for rm53k. At that time corolla price around rm40k already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • hondaman on Apr 06, 2016 at 1:33 pm

yesss… the good old ford sampan days…

• Yup. Even 10 years used corolla can fetch up to RM16k. Same lorrrr even dun get borned yet

• Mustang on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:04 am

“3. The Government’s policy previously, was to encourage (the use of) local content. All cars manufactured or assembled in Malaysia are entitled to rebates on excise duty based on the percentage of local contents used. Most foreign cars assembled in Malaysia has 30–40% local content. Proton has almost 90% local content. Therefore the rebate for Proton is higher. It is not a privilege for Proton alone. All foreign and local cars enjoy this privilege. Local content increases the cost of producing the car. This is because the deletion allowance by the foreign company is invariably lower than the cost of the local component.”

You don’t read do you?

• Tong Sampah on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:17 pm

local content is expensive since all cronies need to feed from the procurement to the management la!

same shooot with MAS la..

• Gargantia on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:31 pm

MAS are in foreign management now… TM are the coming (Proton) in telco industry !!! Watch how the minister repeat “Proton” attitude…

• Most of reader here probably not read la. Like Sam Loo said, they can make Toyota price as low as Proton, but they wont. Mau untung banyak maa.. Then blame the gov for high tax, even ckd Japs brand also got insentive like Proton.

• OMG…At age 90, Tun M still look handsome & energitic lah…respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • armandd on Apr 06, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Ever heard the word ‘inflation’?

• drillero on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:42 pm

Simple, do your maths. Care to share the actual data for 80’s & 90’s on the ownership of cars per household? what is the meaning of cheap car if majority of Malaysian cannot even afford to buy a car? Now, are our highways and road less crowded compare to Thailand or Indonesian? What is the actual cost of ownership by Asean countries? BTW, does Tun single handedly run the Proton like Elon Musk run the Tesla? Classic case of the grass always greener on the other side of the fence?

• abdul shukor bin mohd isa on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:11 am

I agree with you, his intention was good but his foresight is short. The advisors were not good either and I think one factor we did not see clearly even until today is external forces that don’t like Proton to succeed. In other words Mahathir had been short-changed by his own people as well as by Mitsubishi.

• My2cent on Apr 10, 2016 at 4:20 pm

What Tun doing is really great. By produce the p1 since 1985 thousand of people can get a job. Instead of importing a cheap car the economy won’t grow anyway. Without job you can’t even survive not even buying a car. Without job we just become like Indonesia. Not many people can run a business for living. Just imagine 30 million people in Malaysia how many people can do business. How do you think that 100k businessman can give 29.9 million job opportunity. This is what Tun doing since 1985 creating p1 and other big company.

• Visitor on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:18 am

Iriz changes my perception of Proton. If the company can aggressively market the Iriz internationally, I believe the car can make the company shines in the export markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 35
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:52 am

Hello Tun, The Government was being most when they said they have given RM14.9 billion to Proton. I think the true figure is more than RM100 billion. Don’t forget the time when you were taking any amount you like from Petronas and pumping it into Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 06, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Periasamy is saga owner. He felt the pain. Work harf so you can own a sushi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • smarttess on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Anyway, Tun’s logic is very suspect. He claims that Proton contributed so many billions from excise duty, sales tax, etc. But without Proton, other car sales would have filled the gap and paid those taxes too, and maybe even more, because people would probably have been willing to pay more for a non-national car.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:56 am

Malaysian Government cannot sustain Proton anymore. Cannot lah, every year ask for money despite kononnya being in Private Hands.

Somemore, Proton is asking billions. The recent asking was RM1.5 billion. How long can this go on?

When Mahathir was PM, it was so easy. Just take DIRECT from Petronas. One pocket into another. Every year Mahathir just take billions from Petronas into Proton just to keep the company afloat.

Then when Mahathir resign as PM but still Petronas big advisor, the same, still take money direct from Petronas and give to Proton just to keep the company afloat.

How long can this go on? Pity Petronas also. They need to re-invest money into exploration and drilling. They cannot be giving FREE money to Proton.

Proton few days ago declared they lost RM2.5 billion in 3 years. Proton also is losing RM25 million every month (about RM1 mil per day). We cannot be sustaining a company that is losing that much just to keep the national pride. Even Jaguar was sold to Indian Tata. Even Aston Martin was sold to Ford.

It is high time we also sell Proton to somebody or just close shop. The oppurtunity cost is just way too much.
      If Proton did not exist, the money saved just to keep the company float can be used to build at least 10 fully fledged Government hospitals and Government Schools in each state every 10 years.

One question I cannot understand, during the good years of the 90s, when Proton was making money, how come Proton never saved for a rainy day? Most prudent companies have RM billions in reserves. Where is Proton’s reserves? nothing.

This what happens when during good times, the company was living luxuriously and spending like a King without saving a sen. Instead of giving staff and directors Protons to use, they were all given Audis, for example.

Can Tun come here and tell us how much the CEO of Proton and the Directors earn per annum including their fat 12 month bonuses?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 52
      • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:21 am

Oh you know, if even the Proton Edar president himself drives Mercedes S-class with fancy, expensive plate number, why should we?

Rainy days? There’s no rainy days for the cronies, when in trouble, just beg for taxpayers money and all is well until exhausted. Rinse and repeat.

Too bad now the musical chair has stopped.

After selling Edra to China, it would be sensible to sell Proton to China too. Red shirt protek maruah tercabar would have no complaint, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Tun Pakai Porsche on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:18 am

Why you nd your sons only use Porsche Tun and yet you come here cerita panjang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Please continue to support Proton. We bumiputera need your support

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • Agree with you sir……good handling and excellent safety features…..improve cvt……God willing ….sales will go up.

• Proton to be renamed General Electron on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:20 am

“Persona non grata” as opposed to “Perdana non grata” ? (excuse the Proton pun, Tun)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:21 am

Tun’s first point already talks lies. he says Proton is in private hands. But still, the Government is giving Protons billions per month quietly in the form of research grants. So, what nonsense is this Tun? It is still a GLC company cause most of Proton’s orders still come from the Government. I wonder why the Government is still using Protons then? Then for all intents and purposes, Proton is still a GLC. We, the public are still funding Proton indirectly cause Government uses tax payers money.

Oh btw way Tun, it is not just buying Protons but maintaining them too. Despite a Perdana being under warranty, each Perdana, Government pays Rm100k in servicing bills every 3 years. How do you explain this high cost despite the car being under warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 64
  • thefact on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:23 am

so why did u start this endeavor? knowing proton wont have economics of scale? to compete?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • So the ex-chairman still bangga with his project till death. So what? Doesn’t mean the cars are any good. Proton bila nak resign from carmaking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
    • Tun Pakai Porsche on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:19 am

he himself now using and driving Porsche Cayenne. his whole family use Porsche. Now he come here to defend his crony suppliers and vendors to untung more from us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Random Citizen on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:25 am

If Proton no longer a GLC, then why the Govt. still inject the cash to them? Can stop asking for Govt. money now ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • Close Down Proton Please on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:25 am

Tun talk so much about Proton creating jobs. But Tun also fails to tell us how much we lost because of Proton.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand.
    Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 25
    • Jonn Dol on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:46 am

Billions that…Billions that…What a BS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • drillero on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Any solid data and statistics, together with source to support your lenghty arguments? How sure youre that Malaysia will be the based for European or Japanese car manufacturer if not Proton is not arpund? Too many assumptions & dreaming without solid proof will stuck Malaysia economy forever in 3rd world stage.

• cukurlah on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:27 am

Before u were sacked, one vry important thing u should have closed the shop. If u had done that every bolehland people would be very very cukurlah people will support u and ur son become prime minister instanly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
  • ex-proton owner on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:29 am

Just stopped the bullshits Proton paying more taxes to government. We, the proton buyers are the one paid those excise duty, sales tax and etc….Other car producers also paying those taxes to government. This is business, if you cannot compete then just closed down. Don’t blame others for your failures. We have been stripped a lot of money by your policy. Enough is enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
  • Do we Trust Proton Records? on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:31 am

Aiyoo Tun, you quote from Proton’s books and records. We cannot trust this lah. How to trust the books of a company that has lost RM2.5 billion in the past 3 years and is losing RM25 million every month when all this while, Proton has given the impression that it was doing well?

Proton books cnnot be trusted at all. Just like other scandals and corruption cases in Malaysia, SEMUA boleh. Anything can be modified and look good.

To many people, Proton books and accounts cannot be trusted at all despite being audited. As we know in Malaysia, even after being audited and approved by the big Accounting Practices, still there are discrepansies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:46 am

Even 1MDB also can modify their records and accounts and get signed off by big KPMG. Apa lagi mahu cerita?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Accountants pun mau cari makan. U help me, I help u.

• R u implying one of the Big Four audit firms in the world is corrupted and incompetent too? That is slander and if they see, can saman u. Pls be careful what u write.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:21 pm

All Big Four have skeleton in their closets. It’s not a secret, just google and you’ll find everyone have been in some scandals before.

They can be technically competent. But well… the reality is not a bed of roses. As the PAC chairman said, need to cari makan.

Trust me, I’m an accountant.

• Everyone has skeletons hidden, even LKY. But since nobody can prove it, he sued kau-kau those nobodies and made himself rich

• panamapapers on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:41 pm

If panamapapers leak is to believe, Yes.. everyone have their hands dirty. Reputation is only a front by big names and powerful to make it clean yet it is not. Think about that haha.

• errr what? on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:47 am

i didnt know you were the book keeper for proton? Its amazing that you know how much proton is losing every month. i guess you must be the chief financial officer there?

Well then if you have all the details of protons financial transaction please do share it with us. We would really love to know what is the real proton financial figures.

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:15 pm

No need to be CFO.

The fact they need to pay their vendors with unsold stock is all you need to know Proton is cancer stage 4.

Read letter in my comment below. No wonder vendors tulan wanna deal with Proton.

• Fishy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:31 am

I support the idea of homegrown industries but if they’re built on poor fundamentals (I wont go into details because they’re political but you can guess what I’m referring to) then just let it go at some point.

• with all the respect for Tun M. even if Tun resign from Proton. we all know that he owns Proton and all the final say is still done by Tun M. DRB is also fully affiliated to Tun via Tan Sri Syed Mukhtar. there is no way Proton would operate without Tun orders. BTW who is the chairman in Proton now??? Gov knows that Tun still runs proton so Proton problems are not over and will get worse. I respect Tun M and very much proud of what he has done for Malaysia buit Proton was an epic failure due to unprofessional useless owners such as DRB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • Do we Trust Proton Records? on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:36 am

Tun also should come out clean and say how many of the vendors he is protecting here are his cronies and relatives. This is like the AP system. 30 million people have to suffer with high car prices because we want to protect all Tun’s AP buddies and alll Tun’s buddy vendors.

The vendors are the ones who stanked Proton’s name. They overcharge Proton and give Proton inferior cheap parts that break off. Becaus eof this Proton gets the bad name.

But the truth is, how many of these crook vendors are Tun’s close family and friends?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • tinmilo on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:38 am

Dear Tun, despite us having a love-hate relationship with you, this time I got to take my hats off for you. For a 90 year old, you could still make a good and sensible statement such as this, factual and well-structured, unlike some of the ministers that keep issuing statements and policies that are embarrassment to the nation.

Whether we liked your way or not, certainly no one can accuse you of sleeping on the job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
  • Painter on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:38 am

The Tun is far-sighted, his vision far supersedes a lot of people, no doubt. But his vision still leaves us wanting.

We must also not forget, our asset isn’t just the products we produce, but the human capitals we have developed. Look at China, they don’t care if they copied other people’s product. But it’s their manufacturing capabilities backed strong engineering finesse that drives the country into an economic powerhouse.

In the future, who knows we don’t need cars anymore, the west are already researching autonomous cars, where does that leave us?

I respect the Tun’s view, he’s right in some ways. But it is also better to put many eggs into many baskets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Jonn Dol on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:48 am

The thing is people still enjoy driving. Wanna be chauffered? better use MRT.

• another point to add. in Proton as Adviser and Chairman Tun M awarded so many business to unprofessional companies companies to do EV car like Fraser Nash the UK co and also the Lebanese Aussie Fiber shop in Kepong Bufori to do work on Perdana and apparently Preve. Why when Proton has their own facility and machines as well as access to many other local companies and Unis, business awarded to Bufori? Why? I vivited them few years back with one of my friends who sent his old car for restoration and they priced him to roof same they do to Proton now… pls look at talented companies not these people.

• Donkey J on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:43 am

for sake, reason of leaving is gain support from Government. This spoon-feed act until when it end?

• Muniandy Periasamy - AFTA? on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:43 am

AFTA was put in place to allow Proton to market their cars
    in other markets. But Tun circumvented AFTA and said Prootn needed protection in the local market and made sure other brands remained high. By right, after AFTA, Jalanese and Korean brands should be cheap in Malaysia.

So, it is Tun’s fault that Proton could not penetrate other markets because other countries got fed up with Tun not honouring AFTA. So, they also protected their markets from Proton.

Tun, chicken and egg story lah. Don’t come here and cry when you yourself did nonsense to protect Proton

• Jonn Dol on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:44 am

Proton must expedite the launch of the New Saga (provided all the quality issues have been addressed & rectified). It’s the lifeline of Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • superman on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:15 pm

yes and when MyVi Sedan is launched then SAGA is also dead and becomes another epic failure.

• I think the need of Gov to spurs engineering capabilities on our own need further examination. I felt M is at the thought that foreigner only want to sell not will never teach engineering to local unless there is an economic benefit to it. He do not trust others. Such a thought need to be justified by comparing the economic benefit sought vs the own investment to get there. From the situation now, it seems other ASEAN country is giving economic benefit to foreign car maker while getting the technology and engineering transfer required, much more efficient than us? Just because you feel the wheel is expensive so you want to reinvent the wheel but end up paying more?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:47 am

Explain for what? U have turn our country automobile industry upside down, and let P2 overtake P1, yet what u try to explained? All your fault these 30 year of P1 history. Upcoming Persona is your next failure achievement that ppl used to remember you. Steve job leave with brilliant I phone, u leave proton with many junk Wira on the road

• To get buyers from Proton. There is AP for import make thus resulting higher price for foreign makes. With reliability issues so many years and quality not comparable with Perodua why should anyone be considering when the monthly payment for a proton and foreign make differs by not a big margin. Credit have to be given to Proton for coming out with some really good car like the Satri GTI. But it has to be blame also for not able to get the quality issue right after so many years. Perodua has been able to get that important aspect right and they have been selling well. To get customers the simplest thing is to ensure products are reliable. Get that right and dismantle whatever crutches and benefit that Proton is having and the price will be right. Hardwork is the key to success not crutches or favourable conditions.

• While his vision is good, his strategies are not so as bogged down by a lot of baggage, a need to please certain people and issues. A great leader will have a great vision and equally great strategy to achieve it, brave and morally upright.

• Anonymous on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:50 am

Yeah, whatever… sorry, but your time is up.

These aren’t the droids you’re looking for… you can go about your business… move along… move along.

• For Proton, please do not try to be everything. Learn to walk before run. Maybe start with crawling. As a upper tier national car (lower is Perodua?), can you design a c/d segment car and triumph in space, reliable in everything and as national car, affordable for the mass? If you can manage that, then only start trying others like super handling, super comfort, super powerful, super efficient, super everything. Rather than no where here and there. Not too late to restart…

• Lordnanda on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:59 am

Full of crap abd drama la Mahatir. Your Proton project was carefully planned and forced malaysians to buy proton which is inferior in quality with foreign cars despite the hefty price tag. Proton should be demolished altogether becos the engineering and fetures in it is still crap compared to foreign carmakers. They should have accepted the VW buy over. Might have improved in many ways. But too bad your selfishness for the local monopoly. I just hooe proton is completely demolished. Its always been ugky to begin with la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • C.P. MOHAN on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:06 am

Some would say TDMM is stubborn, egoistic, nationalistic and even racist but there is no denying that he has vision which the current government solely lacks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • According to him, “Proton has paid more to the Government than the Government has to Proton.”

So what do you expect? The government should also contribute the exact amount back to Proton? OMG, your level of reasoning is getting worst. Should the people asking money back from Proton for selling them product that worth much less than what they have paid for?

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:14 am

Proton sales have plummeted for “unknown reason”? Topkek state of denial.

I’ll just leave this here :

December 18, 2015

Ariff Abd. Md

YABhg Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad,

Asalamualaikum wbt Tun. Saya mendoakan agar Tun sentiasa diberikan kesihatan dan hidayah oleh Allah SWT. Pada mulanya, saya ingin menulis surat ini di dalam Bahasa Inggeris, tetapi biarlah saya meneruskan tulisan dengan bahasa ibunda kita agar ramai dapat membaca dan memahami surat ini.

YABhg Tun, sejak kebelakangan ini saya lihat Tun sangat aktif berada di pentas politik untuk mendesak DS Najib meletakkan jawatan. Tun menghabiskan banyak masa menghadiri forum, bual bicara, program dan perjumpaan tertutup untuk meluahkan ketidakpuasan hati Tun mengenai pengurusan kerajaan dibawah pimpinan DS Najib. Sudah tentu, topik 1MDB merupakan topik yang paling utama dalam setiap ucapan Tun.

Tetapi disebalik semua ini, adakah Tun sedar bahawa Tun merupakan pengerusi Proton dan Proton sedang menghadapi masalah yang sangat besar. Saya tidak menulis surat ini berdasarkan kata-kata orang atau cakap-cakap pasar, tetapi sebagai salah seorang vendor Proton.

Kami tahu Proton sedang mengalami masalah yang sangat besar kerana Proton sudah mula tidak membayar kami. Proton sedang cuba membuat satu solusi bodoh dengan menawarkan kereta-kereta yang tidak terjual sebagai ‘contra’ bayaran untuk kami. Adakah Proton sedar bahawa kami ini bukan salesman kereta tetapi kilang komponen kereta.

Selain 6000 pekerja Proton, terdapat beratus vendor Tier 1, 2 dan 3 dan puluhan ribu pekerja yang bekerja dengan syarikat-syarikat vendor ini. Masalah 1MDB (yang dilihat kini mempunyai jalan penyelesaian selepas penjualan Edra) tidak akan membuatkan puluhan ribu rakyat tiba-tiba hilang pekerjaan serta merta. Tetapi masalah Proton akan mengakibatkan jutaan ringgit kerugian pada usahawan bumiputera dan puluhan ribu pekerja hilang punca pendapatan dalam masa 2-3 bulan sahaja lagi. Tun perlu ingat, operator-operator kilang ini datang dari keluarga susah dengan pendapatan RM900 sebulan sahaja!

Saya mohon pada Tun, janganlah dibazirkan masa Tun sendiri dan orang Melayu dengan politik. Pilihanraya lambat lagi, pemilihan UMNO pun lambat lagi, kalau Tun ceramah hari-hari pun DS Najib tak akan letak jawatan. Lebih baik Tun ambil berat masalah Proton yang sedang nazak, lebih nazak daripada 1MDB.

Terlalu banyak kesilapan yang dibuat oleh Proton, sebelum dan selepas Tun jadi Pengerusi. Kami lihat sejak Tun jadi Pengerusi keadaan lebih teruk. Jangan disalahkan kerajaan kerana tidak memberi bantuan RM3billion kepada Proton untuk R&D. Itu adalah alasan bodoh bagi kami, kerana kami tahu setakat mana kemampuan Proton untuk menggunakan wang RM3billion itu sebaiknya untuk R&D setaraf pengeluar kereta asing. Kalau ‘drawing simple part’ pun boleh bertukar-tukar sampai berkali-kali dan akhirnya technician saya yang cuma lulusan SPM pun lebih bijak dari engineer Proton.

Sekarang ini Proton sedang kelam kabut dengan development Persona R, Saga R dan Perdana Baru. Kerja Proton memang kelam kabut, suka buat kerja saat-saat akhir dan suka tukar keputusan. Nak mass production untuk Persona bulan 1, sampai hari ini banyak keputusan belum diselesaikan. Saga R mass production bulan 4 tetapi design part pun belum confirm! Kalau Perodua, tahun depan nak mass production, tahun lepas sudah selesai semuanya.

Bercakap pasal Perdana pula, saya tak tahulah ini ego Tun atau ego Proton nak buat Perdana baru. Adakah Tun atau Proton terlalu naif untuk fikir bahawa Perdana tersebut tidak akan dapat dijual? Sedangkan model Preve dan Suprima yang kononya bakal mencecah jualan ribuan unit sebulan sekarang cuma terjual 100-200 unit sahaja. Bagaimana Perodua boleh menjual Myvi (6000 unit sebulan), Alza (3000 unit sebulan), Axia (12,000 unit sebulan)? Jawapanya mudah, ianya mampu milik! Jika harga Proton sudah cecah hampir RM70-80k, orang Malaysia sudah tentu lebih berminat beli kereta import seperti honda atau toyota walaupun 2nd hand.

Padanlah sampai sekarang pun ramai vendor menolak untuk mengambil kontrak Perdana. Berapa juta Proton habiskan untuk beri kepada syarikat Dream Edge untuk reka Perdana baru? Kenapa tidak guna duit itu untuk beri kepada R&D Proton untuk develop kereta yang mampu milik seperti Perodua. Nanti kalau Perdana tak dapat jual, Tun akan paksa kerajaan beli, kalau kerajaan tak beli (sebab baru ganti perdana lama dengan perdana kahwin honda), Tun akan marah DS Najib lagi.

Eloklah Tun luangkan masa untuk Proton. Lihatlah bagaimana pengurusan Perodua baik daripada pihak Malaysia dan juga pihak Daihatsu. 2-3 orang Jepun di Perodua lebih cekap daripada 2-3 ratus pekerja di Proton. Lawatan Tun ke Perodua pun menjadi bahan ketawa kepada mereka semua. Tun tidak harus menyalahkan kerajaan sikit pun atas kegagalan Proton, kerana Perodua juga syarikat Malaysia tetapi mampu bersaing dan mampu maju tanpa bantuan kerajaan.

Lihatlah pada pengurusan Proton, mereka tidak kompeten, tidak cekap dan ada yang tidak amanah. Tun fikirlah bagaimana Perodua boleh memperolehi harga komponen dengan lebih murah, tetapi komponen yang sama bila ke Proton menjadi lebih mahal. Makna, banyak ketirisan terjadi dalam Proton. Saya akan menceritakan ketirisan-ketirisan ini dalam surat saya yang kedua, bagaimana ada beberapa orang dari pihak pengurusan dan pembelian Proton yang tidak amanah.

Kalau bab berlagak dan bodoh sombong bila datang ke tempat vendor, serahlah pada Proton. Memang berlagaknya nombor 1, mengalahkan Perodua, Honda, Volkswagen dan lain-lain OEM yang volumenya jauh lebih tinggi dari Proton dan paling penting, mereka semua bayar supplier!

Jika Proton tidak berubah dalam masa terdekat ini, mungkin vendor-vendor akan sepakat untuk memberhentikan supply kepada Proton. Production line Proton akan terhenti dan Proton tidak akan ada kereta untuk dikeluar dan dijualkan. Jangan salahkan kami, kerana hutang Proton kepada kami vendor-vendor bumiputera ini dah cecah ratusan juta! Banyak lagi cerita buruk Proton yang kami dengar dan kami tahu. Ada yang kata Proton membayar sewa tanah bernilai jutaan ringgit sebulan pada ahli keluarga Tun. Benar atau tidak, itu kami tak kisah jika Proton mampu menjalankan perniagaan dengan baik.

Kami merupakan antara usahawan yang paling cekal di Malaysia. Saya mempuyai beberapa syarikat lain yang menceburi bidang construction, trading, development dan macam-macam lagi. Tetapi bidang automotive manufacturing ini adalah yang paling mencabar kerana memerlukan sistem, kualiti, ketepatan masa dan pengurusan yang sangat cekap seperti syarikat Jepun.

Kepada mereka yang tidak mempercayakan surat ini, boleh pergi mana-mana kilang pembuatan komponen automotif dan tanya, ‘Bagaimana Proton?’. Anda akan dengar caci, maki, kutuk, kisah teraniya, ditipu dan macam-macam lagi. Jika tanya, ‘Bagaimana Perodua?’ anda akan dapat jawapan ‘sangat mencabar, tetapi payment tak pernah lambat, volume sentiasa tinggi’. Walaupun berurusan dengan Perodua lebih memeningkan kepala kerana terpaksa mengikut standard yang tinggi yang diletakkan oleh Jepun dari Daihatsu, ianya lebih berbaloi. Jepun Daihatsu akan datang ‘spot check’ kilang kami secara mengejut pada jam 7.30 pagi untuk memastikan operasi kami sentiasa dalam keadaan yang memuaskan!

Nasihat saya pada Tun, tengoklah Proton. Janganlah buang masa dengan Khairuddin, Anina, Amidah dan kawan-kawan Tun lain yang asik nak berpolitik sahaja! Buat malu je bangsa Melayu dengan Jepun-jepun dekat Perodua tu. Kalau perlu RM3billion nak bayar hutang, cakap lah terus terang dekat kerajaan, mana tahu mereka boleh bantu beri pinjam. Jangan berselidung disebalik alasan R&D, memang tak munasabah.

Ariff Abd. Md
    Tier 1 and 2 Automotive Supplier,
    ISO TS 16949 & MS ISO 9001:2008 Certified Company
    Specialise in High Precision Parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Damn, wall of text.

tl;dr version :

– Management not focused
      – Proton bad paymaster, arrogant to vendors
      – Others may be demanding, but good paymaster like Perodua

Proton is in serious crisis. All signs point to Proton going bankrupt. No wonder so desperate now to get “R&D grant”.

• Sayonara on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Wow…Proton and Perodua’s working culture simply opposite each other!

No wonder one is making billions of loss and the other one making huge profits!

• Vendor on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Wow! Proton is using ‘R&D’ as excuse to pay debt?

• Bro. Tapik you.
      Suggest to berniaga with perodua.
      Stop supplying proton. Biar mampus.

• drillero on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Classic case of the pot calling the kettle, black?

Understood, your write-up out of frustration, but, comparing rotten apple with coconut? 1MDB & Proton?

Yes, Proton cars do have multiple quality issues.
      Yes, Proton vendors do have payment problem.
      Yes, Proton culture do have defficencies.

Yet, where do these quality issues originated?
      Yet, when proton vendors like yours start business?
      Yet, how defficencies culture developed in proton?

The proof of the pudding is in the eating, you reap what you sow.

• tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:05 am

You’re sharp heheh.

Indeed, this tier 1, 2 vendor guy said it himself: when dealing with Perodua, they really need to be on their toes.

Seems to suggest that when it’s with Proton, they don’t need to? So that’s why defect is higher with Proton?

Then people feup with Proton, sales drop, Proton no money, don’t pay supplier, now supplier butthurt. Karma beeeeches

• gaviny on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:20 am

Besides the point of your vendetta against the government, besides the point of grants and taxes and whatever.

Proton cars fall behind every other competitor in quality, performance, practicality, after service attitudes and in general the whole attitude of proton employees irrespective of any protection or not.

• Tristars on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:25 am

So if Proton closed-down, what the people expect? Import car price going down? In your dream people. The government won’t let the price going down. Even price reduction also never happen and people expect price to go down if Proton is not here anymore? People will be force to use either recond or ride a motorcycle instead. Tax money can be used for other expenditure instead of Proton? Even with GST, I can see nothing improve at all, subsidy removal still continuing as usual. Even with high car price, still import car takeover move than 50% of Malaysia market, from this simple view, the G expect people still able to coup with the high price. Even house at 500k also people still buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • We don’t expect price to go down but at least one of the many holes that drain the national coffers is sealed.

• The whole world is fast moving towards electric and autonomous driving vehicles and here we have proton struggling with basic stuff like which size segment it wants to be in and how to get government funding.

• Appoint some one capable and experienced from the Automotive industry. Proton has already got the infrastructure in place. Now get some one and clean up the shit and start rebuilding the market confidence.

MAS is now turning around. Kia did the right thing with Peter. For the good of Proton swallow your pride and get someone who knows the industry else close down and write it off as collateral damage.

All the Best !

• abdullah on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:44 am

Dr M is obsessed with Proton And Lotus.

• Abdul abdul on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:02 am

I totally agree with Tun as proton create jobs vendors as well. But the question is, even with the big plant, huge resources, why still buy from vendors offering higher than usual price? This in turn increases the price of the end product. with the premium price paid to the vendors, they can upgrade the quality of the end product. I for sure will buy a proton car if the quality is at par or superior to those Korean made cars. It is the culture created when proton started doing business in the first day.

• henry on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:15 am

I was convinced that currently Proton didn’t get any privilege from the government of being the local car maker. So, it’s a fair play! If Proton can make us feel that there is no reason to not purchase a Proton even with no privilege from the government, I think that is pretty respectable. To success with privilege is not a real success and it’s not sustainable.

• Deadpool on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:16 am

11. These companies can afford to lose on their cars in Malaysia and recoup in other markets. Apart from economy of scale, Proton cannot access foreign markets except those of poor countries with low Total Industry Volume.

12. Today the Government has no pride in national products. Imports are cheap and there are more consumers than producers. In a democracy, numbers count. So pleasing the more numerous is more important than national capacity of develop.

tiu tiu tiu, tiu beh lan, did you ever think of why proton cannot access foreign markets? only blame people coming in? because proton has no quality, that’s why. not only government always no pride, we also no pride in national cars. so please close down la, don’t throw malaysian face. imports car not only cheaps, good quality also, so you finally know our own national cars are expensive? singapore nvr has national cars, but look how well sg developed and how sg pride of their country? created more job opportunities? bullshit, vendors sell overpriced low quality parts, proton buy, create jobs? we tax payers pay their salary not proton. in malaysia life is hard without own cars,look at our public transport, lousy and not easy to access, some regions dont’ even have. so we are forced to buy a car, and because of proton we suffer in high car price, some even don’t have money to maintain their cars. and u said created more jobS? because of stupid proton, made us suffer, so close please.

• roslan on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:19 am

NAP was set up to protect Proton.
    However Proton kena played out by AP abuse and Govt according special status to homegrown Pekan champion S400 & E300.
    Just do the math and see how much tax was foregone per car.
    Time to move on. We cannot take this loss of jobs , mouths to feed and loss of local talent sob story anymore cos if the buck doesn’t stop here then we will hear this same story 30 years down the line.

• Anand Francis on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:48 am

so much hate against the old man just highlights what we have become as a nation. it may be easy to point the finger at him and feel good about it, but that is the risk one takes when one is visionary. mistakes we made, yes, but the company did create jobs and through those jobs were revenues and a multiplier effect on the economy. the problem with Proton and a lot of other projects under Tun was bad follow through and maintenance planning, for that it is just not right just blame it one person, dictator or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Most of the time now if I see a inspira or preve.I know 50% chance its a polis car

• “In a democracy, numbers count. So pleasing the more numerous is more important than national capacity of develop.”

So its now the policy of Tun M, DAP, certain PKRs, Bersih, and other ‘freedom’ NGOs, as well as Citizen Declaration to suspend democracy just to please certain pipu in order to develop national capacity?
    I can see when this is going if hes talking about a certain PM.

• I agree on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:16 pm

I agree with big M in principal. Proton should be a national concerted effort to develop local engineering and manufacturing capabilities than selling cars.

The high prices of imports is of course unacceptable, and Proton takes the blame for this. But if what Tun M saying is true, and Proton only enjoys lower prices due to tax exemptions, then I’m fine with it. I don’t think the Rakyat will grumble too much if it’s the government that is getting less money. And with no transparency by them, Proton is the perfect scapegoat while they collect high taxes.

Proton is not blameless of course. The two underutilized plant, cluttered model line-up, and bad QC are the few issues where the fault lies solely on them.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Question to Tun.

how many household debt by buying proton created since 1985, and how many bank defaults able to recover?

• Tong Sampah on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:30 pm

proton just need to build a car in WAJA segment less than RM60K with quality, safety, and technology. Persona, Preve all failure for their own reasons…

less people buying perdana range now, and perodua not in that segment either (at least now)

• anti cancer on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Proton = Cancer

• albag on Apr 06, 2016 at 1:22 pm

“Today the Government has no pride in national products. Imports are cheap and there are more consumers than producers. In a democracy, numbers count. So pleasing the more numerous is more important than national capacity of develop.” – Correct, not only government, rakyat is also sick and tired of Proton messing around the car policy in Malaysia… people want foreign brands and not local rubbish tin kosong…

• Apa Nama Tun M for unknown reason on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Tun M said “for some unknown reason, sales of Proton cars have plummeted.” That is a blatant lie straight to the rakyat’ face, looks like this old man trying to use his “apa nama” syndrome now at his old age to get pity from the rakyat!!!! How can you say for some unknown reason when you yourself are being driven around in Porsche and other luxury car makers, Range Rover, Jaguar and many others, ur proton limo & Iriz siting in the garage & only use when official trips to Potong of Potong related matters. Tun M so call wants to save Potong…. Then get your entire family to use Potong, limo, Iriz, preve, Exora, get you ur son Mukriz to use a Iriz to drive around with his family since it’s the best Potong car for safety…. Show the rakyat what it means to protect & be loyal to Potong… Instead of doing like the above, then I’ll say you have every right to say “for some unknown reason, sales of Potong cars have plummeted”. You talk so much about loyalty to local brand but we all know Tun M all pakai export brands in his lifestyle and so does his entire family, the only local brand your using is local food, betul tak “Apa Nama” ….. tun M !

• kenot on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:25 pm

i just curious what happen next if proton close? since the government do not want to reduce excise duty and import tax, the rakyat still cannot buy a car at reasonable price.

• Ah Foo on Apr 06, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Proton realized realized his weakness was the Campro engine n the punch CVT n nw already developed new Engine n new CVT Supplier from Jatco. What Can only I say is the Proton car only worth to buy if get the new engine n the CVT gearbox as mentioned above from 2017 onwards. Now still sorry….for Now I will prefer Perodua new coming sedan instead as I heard it will get dual vvti 1.5 engine from Toyota.

• apamau on Apr 06, 2016 at 3:14 pm

We lost more as we hv protons. Period.
    If we are the autocity of SEA 20 years again.
    1. We gain a lot more jobs for people
    2. We gain quality spare parts and all the supporting industry products international standard spare parts. As it was control by Japan, German and American. if we supply to proton only, we all know the quality of the proton requirement.
    3. You can compare the industrial in penang. how many local engineer being hired and the quality are good as they were train by foreigner and quality requirement is high. Many of this engineer are now work as managerial position and even head the plant all over the world in china, taiwan, singapore and even america.
    4. How many of our engineer being train in shah alam head any foreign plant ?
    5. We hv to get loan to pay tax, mean our loan is to feed the goverment due to the high tax rate of cars.
    6. Ultimately, in total, we loss more than we gain.

• Another keyboard warrior on Apr 06, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Malaysian typical mind set, bad thing from the pass will continue until the end. Dont you all see so much improvement in proton since the introduction of iriz? Malaysian want a high tech car and low price because PROTON is national car ma. Continue with your mind set. Peace and i wan say that i own a proton. No problem till now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • caring on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:53 pm

I too own a proton. Also no problem. The latest model ie Suprima and Iriz have improved a lot compared to those older models.
      I think we should praise where it deserve to be.

• I love Proton. In fact, i sleep in my Proton. No problem at all

• camtakpro on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:59 am

The ones that have problems already dead sleeping inside the car… nobody to tell the tale.

• Harga kereta proton mahal. Berganda Ratio banding gaji. Saga pun kena hutang 9 tahun nak bagi mampu pakai.

• ultimate warrior on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Why still got fanboys to defend Proton? Malaysia paid not enough kah?

• Pak Arab Donor on Apr 06, 2016 at 7:18 pm

All this sh@t happened is becoz of politics.

Once politics mixed with business…….surely gone case.

Malaysia is champion in the world mixing politics with everything. When education mixed politics…..education quality drop like a brick.

Malaysia love to politicize everything and anything.

• if there is no more Proton, the only car I can afford is a moving coffin Perodua. Do you really believe the car price will go down when there is no more Proton? Or it is just another sweet promise sweeter than honey topped with sugar?

• SecondChance on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Did you guys ever realize that when proton topic’s up, there’s a lot of comments than other topic/post.

It shows us that how’s Proton grew up along with us, side by side slick thru our daily routines ever since before. History has been made, yet issues has been created.

But in the end, in directly peoples love the Proton (Malaysian car maker) by reflecting all the emotions, reactions and expressions.

Key words : SOLUTION. Yes, now we need solution. Proton need “Jump Start” to get move again.

• frank on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:33 pm

wah! 126 comment in less than 24 hrs…. tun m is indeed still interesting figure (for good and bad)…
    challenges proton face today is accumulation of all previous failure not fully addressed.
    it seems that those who resent proton brand is not limited to specific race or ethnic. it goes across the board.
    automotive industry is very competitive. many European makers have made losses, closed shop or taken over.US big three too is not spared.
    Without doubt I believe Proton have come a long way. Proton have over the last few years worked harder to produce something better. but it is not perfect yet. product offering still patchy and lack direction. business marketing strategy too not hitting the mark.
    No doubt, I view Proton with higher regards than Perodua. I too make “Made in Malaysia” product just like proton (not perodua). I too face prejudice from local companies and MNC for being Malaysian brand.
    So we need to work really hard and face our customer to survive.
    Proton just need to keep going and slog on without government help. be innovative. breakaway from conventional car making industry norms.
    I invite you to compare Tesla as a car maker. Is Tesla following conventional car making industry pathway ? how does it get started and get going ?
    Be creative in marketing. You only need to sell whatever you are good at!!! good luck

• Gua Gerak Dulu, Apa-Apa Hal Roger on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:57 am

Aku setuju dengan kenyataan Proton selalu salah timing. Time orang ramai nak compact car, kau keluar Iriz. Sepatutnya Iriz fight masa Myvi keluar dulu. Rebadge jer jer la Suzuki Alto 2016 utk fight Axia, tapi Proton lembab. Skrg ni musim SUV Compact, Proton henjut Perdana. Tau la Proton nak kan TUV tue, tapi cuba la design tue senonoh sikit. Proton ni degil sangat pun, tengok ayat *Ketelitian Reka Bentuk Melangkau Paras Rupa* pun dah tahu mmg Proton degil gila. Memang paras rupa tak dihiraukan, akhirnya jadi mcm Preve & Suprima S, sales tak banyak. Tengok Perodua, dalam berapa tahun jer 2,3 kali facelift bg orang ramai terus berminat. Berubah la Proton. Kalau perlu tukar Head Of Design En.Azlan, tukar jer la. Geram plak aku.

• drillero on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Easy remedy for Proton as Tun already did his master stroke for AirAsia. Sell Proton to real enterprenur for RM1 & assume all liabilities. Sell Proton to right people with full passion for cars & enterprising spirit. Please do not repeat same mistake again & again. No pun intended, but, Accountant, Consultant & Sales profesionals are very good at Business As Usual but lack creativity, soul, spirit & energy for true color enterpreneur like Elon Musk or Seichiro Honda, to bring back proton from ash of demise.

Please, do not let Proton to be run by conglomerate again. They are not even know how to steer Air Asia out of the wood.

Any takers?

• Purbka on Apr 08, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Tun said ‘for some unknown reason, proton sales have plummeted’. Are you kidding Tun? Unknown reason? Really? You dont even know why proton sales drop? Not even a single guess? Politician and their spinning words.

• Trust me all those negative comments came from the government people and some of the competitors and even vendors. So think wisely before you read..