Tun Mahathir resigns as Proton chairman immediately

proton-suprima-s-tun-dr-mahathir-9

Proton has announced that its chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has resigned from his post with immediate effect. He has also stepped down as chairman of Group Lotus. The former premier sent a letter of resignation to DRB-Hicom group managing director Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar yesterday.

“We respect his wish to step down; we would like to register our utmost appreciation for his valuable contribution, commitment and dedication for his role as Chairman since 2014 as well as an Advisor since 2003,” said the national automaker in a statement. “We would like to express our gratitude and recognise Tun Dr Mahathir’s role as the creator of the national car company.”

For now, it is unclear whether this sudden move is related to the revelations reported by The Straits Times last week. The Singaporean publication stated that Mahathir’s political feud with prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak may be inadvertently affecting Proton’s bid to secure an urgent and much needed RM1.5 billion grant from the government.

In addition to his posts at Proton, Mahathir has also resigned as advisors to the Langkawi Development Authority (LADA) and the Tioman Island Development Authority (TIDA). The chief secretary to the government has been informed of these resignations.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• OK dah boleh tutup kedai…lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 57
    • Cash is king on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Can sell it off to China company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 28
      • Tun care for the survival of the brand and employees. Unlike jeep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 64
        • MeToo on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Yes.. I agree… and while Tun is caring for the employee and the brand… he is screwing the entire Nation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 25
          • WT Fuchh on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Ini dunia apa, bila anak memaksa bapak dari kerja, tak mengenang budi, lupa daratan. Anak bangsat.

Damn the son for injustice towards the father. Die in hell !!! Shit on thr son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • George Abdul on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:58 pm

You just say my word lol thumb up for you !

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:14 am

Malaysian Government cannot sustain Proton anymore. Cannot lah, every year ask for money despite kononnya being in Private Hands.

Somemore, Proton is asking billions. The recent asking was RM1.5 billion. How long can this go on?

When Mahathir was PM, it was so easy. Just take DIRECT from Petronas. One pocket into another. Every year Mahathir just take billions from Petronas into Proton just to keep the company afloat.

Then when Mahathir resign as PM but still Petronas big advisor, the same, still take money direct from Petronas and give to Proton just to keep the company afloat.

How long can this go on? Pity Petronas also. They need to re-invest money into exploration and drilling. They cannot be giving FREE money to Proton.

Proton few days ago declared they lost RM2.5 billion in 3 years. Proton also is losing RM25 million every month (about RM1 mil per day). We cannot be sustaining a company that is losing that much just to keep the national pride. Even Jaguar was sold to Indian Tata. Even Aston Martin was sold to Ford.

It is high time we also sell Proton to somebody or just close shop. The oppurtunity cost is just way too much.

If Proton did not exist, the money saved just to keep the company float can be used to build at least 10 fully fledged Government hospitals and Government Schools in each state every 10 years.

One question I cannot understand, during the good years of the 90s, when Proton was making money, how come Proton never saved for a rainy day? Most prudent companies have RM billions in reserves. Where is Proton’s reserves? nothing.

This what hapens when during good times, the company was living luxuriously and spending like a King without saving a sen. Instead of giving staff and directors Protons to use, they were all given Audis, for example.

• OMG…good news to P1…some saving…or will it be PAk LAh be next advisor? lol

• john otak batu on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Tun got enough of Proton and its employees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
          • pippa on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Muniandy Periasamy, since when the Malaysian Government “sustain Proton”? All it does is suck Proton dry with all the mandatory sponsorship proposals (or else get a call from the people upstairs) and get cars for free from Proton. Get your facts rights before attempting to be just an empty can that makes lots of noises.

• Saga85 on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Dear Tun M, thank u for the AP system & inflated car prices for the past 30 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
        • P.Ramanujam on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:50 am

John: u must be working at Jeep I guess ;)

• Habislah Proton…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
        • Albert on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Tokok John,reserve all your comments for Perodua and UMW.
          There is practically no positive ongoings at Protong.It is BAD,GETTING WORSE AND WORST.
          By Raya,if sales still lag,Proton can call it a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Billionaire on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:05 pm

They cannot afford to buy p1

• Hahaha on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Badawi to replace..?

• Sack designer on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Sack the designer also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
      • Pls pls proton now u can stop awrding biz to useless ppl appointed by tun m. Cancel all biz with Dreamedge and specially the Lebanese fiber shop
        Kit car maker Bufori. They must all be audited if u want to be honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Tun is very clever. He knows he was about to get sacked. So, to maintain his dignity, better to resign. But now, resignation has its ripple effect.

All this while, Proton has been living under the glory of Tun. From inception in 1985 to now 2016 March 31. Tun has been pulling strings for Proton every step of the way. When he was PM, he made sure every year, billions were given free to Proton to sustain their luxurious lifestyle.

Even when Tun resigned as PM, he still could make miracles happen for Proton. Miracles I mean free money in billions every year quietly given to Proton.

Now, Tun has no more power. With his latest law suit against Najib, he has lost power to get Proton FREE money in billions. His last effort was few days ago when he tried his luck to get Proton RM1.5 billion. That failed.

So now, Proton is bleeding badly. To make matters worse, there is no more Tun. No make matters even worse, Government will stop or cut down on orders of Proton cars as Government themselves believe sustaining Proton is just a waste of money.

Today is historical. It marks the death of Proton. Proton will slowly bleed to death from now on. OMG, Proton is losing RM1 million per day. Nobody can save this sinking ship.

I wish Proton close shop. It has made many Malaysians suffer. 30 years, Malaysians suffered super high car prices because of Proton. If Proton was not around, The Toyota Corolla (Altis) will probably be RM70k. And everybody will be able to afford a good reliable Japanese car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 35
      • Albert on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Datuk muniandy,if protong close shop…we still got this Perodua fella selling at very high prices.
        Imagine,a 1.3 Myvi at rm 45 K with no ABS.The MYVI should be priced rm 10K cheaper.
        Because of this bladdy experiment called Proton,all of us (including the bladdy fanboys)are suffering high car prices.
        Perodua ‘s prices…this Aminar fella enjoying record bonuses,sitting in his posh office..saying” If proton mampus,saya KING”.
        Proton close shop,Perodua chan kei wooi(take opportunity)jack up prices cos the next 2 nearest competitors are Nissan,UMW,Honda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 12
        • George Abdul on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Alberto my friend, Proton should fight cheaper price (same segment cheaper 3k-5k) with better equip the P2. When Rakyat realised P1 finally sincere then Rakyat will support back local product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • Why r these dupes replying to ownself. Trying to up post count kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • Muzamir Cheebai on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Same negative comment from this Samy for every blog he post, what is the intention behind ? No life budak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Tokayah on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Gila lah kau ni. Apasal marah sgt dgn proton. Pernah kerja tapi kena buang atau pernah mintak tapi tak dapat?

Gila ada banyak macam? Ni pun salah satu gila mengutuk. Chill man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 47
        • Donor on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Gilalah Proton, hilang duit rakyat RM25 million/month. Org tak marah pun hairan. Lu mahu support, lu ‘donate’ lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
          • Close Down Proton Please! on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:21 am

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much.
            We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money.

Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants.

Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand.

Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
            Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

• oh mak lu cina on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:32 pm

lantoi. No asean country, whether got national car or not sell cheap cars….

• Albert on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:33 pm

WRK,
      Now, with Tun saying SAYORNARA,next will be a few thousand deadwood having sleepless nights,and soon saying SAYORNARA.
      PROTONG,should not have existed,in the first place.
      YAB Tun took a very bad experiment,thinking it is giving jobs to locals but look at the MESS now.
      Thousands of Malaysians have to endure a Bolehland car of suspect quality.All of us should be enjoying Japanese cars at much lower prices.
      Now,we have to open our eyes to see MASS LAYOFFS soon at Protong soon.
      By 2017,when pROTON’S sales cannot surpass 50,000 units,it is high time Perodua be renamed PEROTAMA OR PERTAMA.
      Protong,time is not on your side.Just insaf,close shop,pay off your employees handsomely cos they got many mouths to feed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • popeye on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Totally agree with you!

At last Proton can close their shops. All those engineers, designers and contractors can start thinking to sell nasik lemak by the roads.

Come on, how come Malaysians can built cars? Never! All the Kilang can be sold to international companies to gain money. Money can be used to pay debts.

Who need to teach engineering in universities. We should focus on creating workers only. International car factories setup here, and we work for them. High level thinking should be banned from our universities syllabus. We should stop asking our children to talk about innovation and dream big, no use meh.

Sigh, Malaysian cars? Malaysian engineering? who going to be proud of Malaysian product after all. We all bought Continental, Korean, and Japanese cars.

Good bye Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 14
      • sarcasm ftw on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:36 am

Hahaha Popeye,

I’m loving what you did there…
        Nice sarcasm…
        Most ignorant fools didn’t realise they are living in comfort today due to the industrialisation boom with PROTON as the catalyst. Its not about the car, it’s about the mindset and the spillover effect that came after it, business grew because of PROTON, they diversified and help other business, expanded into new township which most of these critics here, sitting poshly on their comfy little home unbeknownst to what led Malaysia into what it is today. Without R&D capability and investment in technology, tell me, how many MALAYSIANs, can produce a car from the ground level up, comply with ridiculously strict EU laws (they are biased to EURO cars by the way) international UNECE standards, not many. And those new competitors have benefited from the staff that has gained precious knowledge and training by their stint at PROTON. So you can’t just compare them to dollar & cents, PROTON very much value their workforce talents and supported them all the way. These men & women could be your family members, who earn their honest living over there, therefore, hurtful comments such as the above might be a little excessive. It’s fine if you have no more pride in Malaysia, don’t feel proud of the Malaysian brand anymore, even to some extent are not proud being a Malaysian even, but to hate a company just to fulfill ones fantasies of owning a Japanese/Euro car at a lower price at the expense of own expertise & capabilities, is very narrow minded and downright disgraceful. No sense of unity like the Japanese or Korean, that’s why we can never have products like them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • anonymous on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Yes, Proton may collapse without Tun but that doesn’t mean your government remove the hefty taxation on foreign vehicles. Especially at this desperate time where the governement is looking at everywhere to suck money from you, the rakyat to pay off the 1MDB debt and feed their greeds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • When is proton going to resign as a carmaker? Need to schedule a celebration in my calendar if(or when) they close shop.

• bye bye to Malaysian automotive industry..no more NAP by then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 18
    • Sayonara on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Ding dong the end of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • P2macai on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Huh? Since when if no p1 means no NAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Hahhahajajja on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Lol. He letak jawatan so no more proton involve in tun m vs najib .then gov might gv 1.5 billion grant to proton after tun M no more at proton . Plss understand the article . Proton close shop? In ur dream la haters hahahahhahahahahahhaha!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
      • Lalala on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:45 pm

You think Najib will grant billions to Proton after Tun M resign?
        In your wet dream la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Government will never help proton . They don’t deserve it. Even with tun m not chairman. He still owns and control both proton and drb. It’s like daylight everyone knows.

• Hmm cheaper cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • Muhammad on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 223
    • What goes around comes around.
      Just wait your turn will come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • you lagi loser! keyboard warrior only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Batak on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:52 pm

You say shameless, I say selfless.
      Tun resigns so that Proton could secure the grant.
      He is basically the sacrificial lamb in this context.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
      • pointless really.

proton survival = bn grant
        bn survival = vote
        voters survival = lower cost of living

see where this is going?

• ARM Yusof on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:08 pm

why the hate? whatever wrong things that you think he did. he is one of the highly respectable leaders in the world. show some respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
      • smarttess on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:29 pm

On what are you basing that statement? The rot that is going to keep us third world, abuse of power, manipulation of judiciary, nepotism and cronyism, and protectionism all became fully entrenched in Malaysia under TDM. We are all suffering from his legacy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • P1 has finally been release from its heredity shackles. Now its time for it to chart its own future without interference. Hopefully its USP: safety, is maintained for all vehicles to be produced.

Just say NO to moving coffins!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 117
    • Mustang on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:12 pm

hahahahaha. dream on

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 10
    • IrizX on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Bodoh. You think those cronies will just die away? Just new person to take over the cronies, or new person introduce new cronies!

• Rugi besar on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Take care of that huge titanic loss rm2.5 billion first before insulting others.

• john otak batu on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Without P1, Malaysia will be released from its heredity shackles.

Just say NO to losing RM25million per month!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • I rather we lose money than lose life. Which u choose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
        • john otak batu on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Ok, then use your money to ‘donate’ to P1, stop using rakyat’s money. I can choose life but i don’t choose P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • P1 is private kompeni. Unless I and U r shareholder, why need to gip money to them? Bodo piang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • john otak batu on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:01 am

john, i don’t know what your brain are made from, but from your reply below:

“A lot of private kompeni can ask grants from Gov.”

You are contradicting yourself. Gov money is taxpayers money. So use your whatever brain you have to prevent you from being stupid

• @john otak batu.
            I guess u cant differentiate between owning shares and giving grants. When u r at that level, I dun see why I shud go down and argue with u

• Doomsday on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:50 pm

No Tun, no P1… and no stupid supporter like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Actually, p1 cars have good safety features. Except for saga. Most of other models have utilised the hot press forming technology, which strengthen the chassis. If u want to know what HPF does, it actually change the microstructure of a regular carbon steel to martensite which increase the strength and hardness by reducing the ductility. Im not a proton fan. If u ask me, i want an mr-s with k20a. But u cant deny proton got some great safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
      • We don’t need you to explain what P1 has, we only want P1 to stop sucking money from Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
        • casta on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:53 pm

such an arrogant reply…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
          • cross on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:11 am

Not arrogant but the truth. Only the truth can set you and Malaysia free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • pippa on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:44 pm

I wonder if this Oily fella really knows what’s happening in the country . LOL! Proton does not suck money from Malaysia. It doesn’t operate on the people’s money, or tax payers money or the government money. Proton and its employees are also tax payers. Proton and its employees contribute to zakat and the recipients could be your poor uncles, aunties, 3rd cousin or your mom’s grandparents Oily. There is no logic if Proton closes down, cars by other manufacturers will be sold cheaper. Proton doesn’t have a say how much other cars should be priced. Proton is also tied to these taxation by the government. Proton has not had any loan or grants from the government since DRB bought over the shares from Khazanah in 2012. Proton took loans from local banks and these banks are still enjoying the high paybacks by Proton monthly. I don’t know you are so mean in comment Oily. Perhaps once upon a time you did apply for a job in Proton but your CV was so poorly-written and it didnt get a second look. Poor Oily. Boo hoo.

• Malaysian likes Taufu car make

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • As I said, MY pipu wud rather proudly die in their moving coffins than shamefully survive in a P1. And these bashers have proven me right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • policeman on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:18 pm

I would like to see Proton fail. Kasi tutup kedai.

Not because I hate Proton, but just to prove the millions of gullible fools out there wrong. Fools who think that if Proton is gone, foreign cars would be cheaper.

I wanna watch their short lived joy get crushed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
  • jinggo on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Guys, it’s only temporary la.. after we new PM, Tun will be the chairman again.. guaranteed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • NewLevelNoob on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:37 pm

It’s hard to say even if with new PM arise. Tun is quite old now and probably he needs a shorter plan.

• Deadpool on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:21 pm

HAHAHA… RESIGNED? CLOSE DOWN PROTON FIRST THEN RESIGN LA…..DON’T WASTE ANY MORE SARAWAK RESOURCES AND OUR HARD EARNED MONEY FOR THIS NEVER IMPROVE AUTOMOTIVE COMPANY PROTON. QUITE A GOOD NEWS, CLOSE LAAAA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • So Abdullah Badawi take over as Chairman?

• Daud DRB shareholder on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Just admit it. P1 branding has hit a wall and
    the only option is to offer an equity stake to another manufacturer and progress from there.
    No use spending billions on R&D and at the end of the day the sales numbers just don’t add up.
    Time for the management of DRB & TS Syed Mokhtar to take this big step in steering P1 to the next level.
    Please don’t live in oblivion !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • I'm here on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Where is the proton perdana?

• shawal ali on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:33 pm

so….51% it is? – Veedub…

• For once I can see a “POLITICIAN” dare to resign and WALK THE TALK. Many others would rather cling on their lucrative jobs instead of fighting against the Gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • One lousy episode ends, another horrible episode begins.

• Lately there are too many stupid people with stupid comments.

Never been his fan. He left Proton (the only thing that he got left), for the benefit of Proton.

Full respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • We knew the products are lousy and unreliable but we didn’t expect the company is so ill until the chairman also resign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Chairman also cannot tahan the “Nasi Lemak” culture in his company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • dockey J on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:45 pm

disobey or remove, don’t get cocky with me, said by N

• hshshshs on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Lol u all must understand. He resign so proton wont effect by tun m vs najib. So maybe government can help Proton after he resign. Read what the article bold la.lol laugh read comment sell proton sell to china. Proton wont close la lolololol. See MAS, u think gov will them close and bankrupt kah? Lololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Betol tak? on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Perodua can buy Proton’s half empty factory. Win-win deal for both. Smart solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • camtakpro on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:07 am

High chance Proton factory itself is not well maintained and falling apart.

• Potong to close shop on Mar 31, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Finally Potong can close shop, lelong semua !!

• nabill (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Hopefully he will concentrate on watever political mileage he has left,n free us from AliBaba

• Close shop and factory la… then reduce the car tax

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:10 pm

TDMM initiated PROTON, it never took off because people entrusted to lead thought of PROTON as a another job because they lack both passion and vision the reason why we are behind South Korea.

• Anonymous on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:16 pm

TunM maybe a great statesman from an era ago… his time has gone n he has no business involved in the auto industry.

Yet, apalah wei… DRB n P1 mgmt STILL pan handling th Govt for handouts… why take over a company n still needing tongkat…? DRB bigwigs are too pampered… either buckle up or stand down… either u build it up or u sell it off or even get partners who know what they’re doing… owning 25% of something profitable is always better than owning 100% but at a loss.

• Ahmadjr on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:18 pm

DON’T. GIVE. THEM. OUR. MONEY

• cendol (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Najib will dangle Proton chairman post to loyal blind supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • P1 is private kompeni. No longer GLC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Hairan betul on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:20 pm

But MITI still speak on behalf for Proton.

• john otak batu on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Yes, private company that still ask for Gov grant…

• Sure, why not. A lot of private kompeni can ask grants from Gov. Even u, if u have one, that is.
          The question is, do u DESERVE it? And whats the return?

• Azlan & Co. on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:23 am

You think anyone can get the grant, even if you deserve it? The grant is only for “Nasi Lemak” company lah and we all know it

• @ Azlan.
            Pls read carefully. I said anybody can ASK for grants. GETTING them is another matter. Thats where P1 is in dilemma.

• inspira owner on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Ok… datuk fuad. What are u waiting for? Just launch the all new perdana and make sure all glc, govt offices, statutory body buy this all new perdana instead of honda accord.

• Saddest day of my life. We have lost a great leader,visionary and strategist who led Proton to become the best selling vehicle in Malaysia & made malaysians so proud to see a locally made car drive pass the major highways in U.K., Spain & Turkey. The man who gave every Malaysian the oppoturnity to own their own car by producing the most competetive car in Malaysia.The man who single handedly made the major automobile powers of Japan (toyota & honda) and Germany (merc & bmw) shiver by making Proton the best selling vehicle in Malaysia. The man who orchestrated the acquisition of Lotus & MV Agusta from western superpowers. Clearly all Malaysians are indebted to this great Tun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
    • Teardrops on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Need some tissue?

• sgui45 on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:05 pm

You forgot the /s tag.

• superdriver on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Dude , proton made under quality cars with really bad safety in earlier stage. Dont believe me go to you tube and see the crash test for proton cars. Made me believe that for proton profit is first in their list , safety was left out. Many lives has been taken, many families perished. You may argue these proton drivers were reckless and were not good drivers, I totally agree too but as far as proton should be concern is their cars should keep safety of the occupants at the highest.
      Fast forward to today , protons are admittedly better but
      so are other brands.
      Lotus & MV Agusta were major losses for us. Proton bought MV august for like huge sum RM 1 billion and sold it for 1 euro later. No need to say about lotus, that one another major lost.
      Honestly speaking japan and german car makers didnt shake nor shiver but merely laughed at proton and most importantly at us for using these moving coffins. And the best part we as malaysian were sold protons that was missing all the good stuff , safety , gadgets compare to the all the countries you have mention earlier despite the fact we paid for the car the most.

• Anti-P1 = Anti-Tun M = Support Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Support Proton = Support Tun M = Support Party Hard

• Willing buyer (with benefits), willing seller (with benefits) = no swimming pool = but sama-sama team = okay lah, no korupsi, boleh diterima

• Well halleluyah!
    Finally the carmaker can make decisions without interference.Perhaps the sale is now on.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:53 pm

All the Proton staff shivering oredi. Dunno what’s on the Govt’s mind on Proton. Massive layoff like MAS ?

• Happy Family on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Let see if Proton can survive without Mahathir….

Good luck Proton. China might be interested buying Proton to manufacture China Brand scooters….

• jolly_idiot on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Luckily I drive a proton that can fit mitsu parts.

• Sharon on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:16 pm

For the first time, losing confident with Proton.

Where is Perdana 2016? Said to be launched first quarter. Tomorrow already second quarter started.

What about other models plus the engine development? Progressing well… I still hope. No delay remember?

• Sharon on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:26 pm

First time losing confident because TAB Tun also resigned from Proton and Lotus.

• Veneno on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Not just you.. I’m losing confident with Proton too.. So many hype about the model and then, delay the launch again.. They cannot deliver their promise to the home market, how can they deliver their promise to the international market.. “Delay” seems to be Proton’s habit.. I will not surprised if the introduction of the new engine will be delayed too.. Typical Proton.. Said want to change but big talk only.. Shame..

• Ehigg on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:13 pm

U buying?

• Shamgti on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:19 pm

See…Najib is the powerfull Pm,ps respect my Pm ya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Ootai on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Now pm is going to lose 30000 votes. But, P2 is smiling bec the nearest competitor is nowhere to be seen.

• Hitler on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Hail German superiority

• oh mak lu cina on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:33 pm

All bangsat class people do is complain and blame.

• Keep Dreaming DuDe! on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:37 pm

I don’t believe that by closing Proton will solve the car price. And I also don’t believe that by closing Proton or whichever Malaysian’s companies will let our leaders to allow us to drive the same Roll Royce, side by side with them. Keep dreaming dudes!

Did we love to see all Malaysian sell nasi lemak at road bank? Begging and figthing to survive like happened between taxi and uber? Last we laugh when MAS terminate the employees. Then ONG industry… so whats next? Do you see any improvement on your cost living?

Who set the policies guys? Did MAS or Proton? Yes they are part of problems but who set the direction for all industries in Malaysia?

My pray belongs to all Malaysian who suffered from unethical policies and management. May GOD bless us and our future generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
    • Support Proton on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Yes, it’s better to keep Proton open to continue losing 25 million/month. Malaysia will thank you for this

• Kingz of Speedz on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Rest In Peace Proton.

Without Tun M as the visionary leader to guide you, I don’t know what will happen to you. :( Now you are 32 years old mom, a sweet and caring mom. Carry us to almost every where in Malaysia with our little Saga.

I still remember when we dropped the Proton Wira at the North Pole is was a joy for me when I was kid, I meant come on! Even Ferrari never landed there!

I taking Mechanical Engineering just to work with Proton to build a car that someday to prove that we are able to make a super as good as Ferrari,Porsche,Lamborghini,Bugatti and others. I dreamed to built a car that will tackle the ‘Green Hell’ aka Nürburgring Circuit, but I guess sometimes there limits huh?

But it’s okay, I will continue chasing my dream and I will make sure our next car will conquer every car, race track and road in this world! \(TuT)/

-Sincerely, a 21-years old kid that is still 10-years old. May the speed angels be with you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Kingz of Speedz on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Tun M but why…. :(

I trust no one in Proton except you sir. I know you got vision for Proton.

• albag on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:55 pm

mamakthir dah tua, he knows his time is about to come…

• Ootai on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Keep on speculating who is going to be the vvip to officiate the new perdahonda. And when??

• Jobless on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:08 pm

The whole Team inc the management, ceo, marketing, designers who launched the epic failed Iriz, Supima, Preve should all resign too

• pippa on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:55 pm

hallo JOBLESS,

u really want the Proton squad to resign so that you can get a job at Proton is it? Harkharkhark. >_<

• Kolos shop? on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:25 pm

So jibby what your excuse now to cut the car price? We want cheaper car price now! We want cheaper car price now! We want cheaper car price now! We want cheaper car price now! Now! Now! Now! Or u still kecut telo at tun M?

• Smlok on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Scrap all proton project and start just rebadging Suzuki, make sure price it low to match perodua, u shall regain ur glories then.

• Vincent on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Ok, that the right thing to do… 1st step done!

2nd, back to basic, focus on rebadge old low range car…Try City and Jazz.

Old city at MYR48K, old model Jazz at MYR 45K. If this can be done, taking over 50% of P2 market share is not a dream…

• Proton Supporter on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:10 pm

No Tun M, no buy Proton

• I dont understand why ppl kept condeming proton. Whether Proton die or not car prices in msia wont go down bcoz of Proton. Look at other Asean countries Thailand, look at Indonesia, Philippines… Do u see Accord is any cheaper there?
    What would be sad if Proton die is that… Some foreign company may take over and make it a successful business then sell the brand off at much higher value….just like the motorcycle brand Proton sold off years ago….sad.
    We Msian are partly to be blamed for Proton bad sales…but then again it may be a case of Proton had it too easy for too long…and to deserve this now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Without proton, some of You can’t even buy a car idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • What a bunch of hypocrites. When Dr.M was Prime Minister, you called him all kinds of names and even wished death upon him. Now that he’s seen to be against Najib, he is suddenly your darling. Sheesh!

• camtakpro on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:08 am

Why not? People change. Devil can be angel, and the reverse is still possible.

• Anonymous on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:38 am

Perhaps… that is what the devil wants u to think…

• cross on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:23 pm

The devil is only your imaginary friend. The reality is only here and now

• what now about Lotus?

• TheDean on Apr 01, 2016 at 6:57 am

Whatever it is, it is a sad day in Malaysia as the founder of Proton is ‘forced’ to resign due to political pressure on the company.

• Jacky on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:50 am

I bet they would pick another lousy, crap and flop yet “loyal” former politician as tun M’s replacement, as what they did to many malaysian ambassadorial posts abroad.

What a shame

• Jacky on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:47 am

I bet they would pick another lousy, crap and flop yet “loyal” politician as Tun M’s replacement, as what they did to many Malaysian ambassadorial posts abroad.

What a shame.

• Fyi all Paultan readers, P1 is Malaysia car maker and do u think the government simply want to close down P1??i’m gonna say that this issue is the same with the MAS. I dunno whats ur problem with P1. If u think P1 is the cause of other foreign car price went high u shud think again. Please let ur ‘kampung’ thought out of ur brain. How about P2?So we need to close P1 and P2 then can sack NAP?U all simply just thought handling a big company and country like digging ur nose meh?

• Nobody on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:20 am

This is Malaysian, always condemning Malaysian brands and be proud with outside brands. Make up your mind guys, if you don’t like..shut up your mouth. No need barking like a dog.. If Proton close shop, itu diorg punya hal.. business is business. Pls care Proton workers heart and stop insult them. They have family, they have children. If people make a joke about your job how?

• Pro BN and Pakatan on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:02 am

Is it means that we can have cheaper price now? Excise duty to be reduced? BN oi BN bangang, if u still wan the majority non-Malays (Chinese and Indian) to support you, very easy. Stop all racial prejudice towards us and lower the car tax. Then for sure, your nxt PRU-14 will be a massive win.

• ALyaniff on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:29 am

No, I don’t think the PM will let Proton close shop. This company has always been a pride of Malaysia engineering and lately with quality and superb cars (and original) such as Preve, Iriz and Suprima S, it is very sayang to see it closes down. Probably Proton management should put on hold on new car creation and focus on marketing on local market and most importantly outside as all the latest cars has reached 5 stars ANCAP rating and EU emission standard. Those are very marketable features so I don’t understand why the IRIZ or event Preve hasn’t reach at England market.

• all i can say is all the Proton & long live Tun M…