Proton’s business model not sustainable – Mustapa

tokpa-iriz-ev-1

Desperate times call for drastic measures – in the case of ailing national carmaker Proton, there is a need to radically rethink its game-plan and the manner in which it operates, international trade and industry minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said earlier today.

In a lengthy statement, which discussed the current state of the automaker and how the government viewed the situation, he explained that some tough but necessary measures had to be put in place for the long-term sustainability of the company.

Stating that the problems faced by Proton were serious, Mustapa explained that the government believes that the views as well as the current business model adopted by the automaker simply wasn’t sustainable.

He added that the government has been seriously deliberating Proton’s request for further assistance to obtain grants and soft loans, and did not want to further simply throw more money into the pit. The automaker has certainly taken a fair bit in the past – it was revealed that since its establishment in 1983, the government has provided grants, various forms of assistance as well as taxes forgone to Proton to the tune of about RM13.9 billion in total.

Quite a number of points were raised in the statement, which interestingly comes just a day after Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed resigned from his post as Proton chairman. The following is the statement by Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed in full:

1. The decision made by the government to go into heavy industries, including the automotive sector, in the mid-1980s was a bold and courageous one. However, the government cannot continuously protect these industries.

2. Other countries such as Japan and South Korea have protected their automotive industry, but these measures were short- and medium term in nature and were eventually abolished.

3. Proton, which is our national car project, needs to graduate from this protection.

4. Since I became the MITI minister in 2009, I have been briefed by the senior management of Proton of the issues and challenges faced by the company on a regular basis. I have met with both the previous and current management teams and shareholders of the company.

5. In 2009, the company presented to me its restructuring plan which aimed to improve the quality of its cars, to boost exports and to make Malaysia a hub for the automotive industry in the region.

6. In 2012, following the takeover of Proton by DRB Hicom, the new owners came to see me and they presented another restructuring plan to make Proton more competitive. They also highlighted a number of ambitious plans to boost exports.

7. The National Automotive Policy in 2009 clearly stated the need for Proton to team up with strategic foreign partners. In this extremely competitive line of business, there is a need to set aside high capital resources for Research & Development (R&D). Scale is also crucial. Proton currently has neither of them.

8. The problems faced by Proton are very challenging. The company’s share of the domestic automotive market hit a peak of 74% in 1993, but currently hovers at 15%.

9. Since its establishment in 1983, the government has provided grants, various forms of assistance as well as taxes forgone to Proton to the tune of about RM13.9 billion in total. There has been intense discussion between MITI and the senior management of Proton on the future of this company in the past six months. Proton’s management has also made a number of presentations to the Economic Council chaired by the Prime Minister.

10. Our observations on the current state of Proton are as follows:

i. The company is a relatively small player in the global context and thus not able to compete with other foreign companies unless it can substantially increase its exports.

ii. Proton is suffering a problem of underutilisation – about 35% of the available capacity in each of its two production plants is being utilised. The decision to have two plants is probably one of the mistakes made in the past by Proton.

iii. About three years ago, Proton almost struck a deal with a renowned foreign player but at the last minute decided not to proceed with the proposal. Had this collaboration been realised, we may have seen an improved performance by Proton in the subsequent years.

11. Malaysia currently has two national car projects, namely Proton and Perodua. The latter turns out to be a more sustainable model. Perodua Manufacturing, which is 49% owned by Malaysian shareholders including PNB, has a joint-venture with Daihatsu and Toyota, and is a profitable company.

12. Last year, a number of Proton vendors came to see me on a few occasions and shared their problems. Following that, MITI injected RM100 million to provide soft loans to alleviate their burden. Even then, it has come to my attention that some of the vendors may face serious challenges if Proton continues to operate at the current level of production and sales. A few of them might be out of business in the next three to four months.

13. In view of the very serious nature of the problem, the government believes that the current business model adopted by Proton is not sustainable. The government has been seriously deliberating Proton’s request for assistance for grants and soft loans. It is a major request and the government needs to be thorough with its evaluation as a lot of public money is involved. We need to be particularly prudent in allocation of resources at this time when our national revenues have been seriously impacted by falling oil and commodity prices.

14. Having said that, I would like to assure Proton employees, vendors and the Proton ecosystem that their interests will be taken into consideration before we make any decision on its request for assistance.

15. If the Government decides to assist Proton, this would be made subject to several conditions including:

i. Proton needs to immediately identify a strategic foreign partner.

ii. The company must be professionally managed.

iii. There must not be any interference in its business.

iv. Some tough but necessary measures must be put in place for the long-term sustainability of Proton.

16. I have been informed that there were instances when Proton appeared to be unprofessional in its decision-making process. In order for the government to consider providing financial assistance to Proton, it is important that a competent leadership team be appointed in the company.

17. We note the decision made by Tun Mahathir to relinquish his position as the chairman of Proton. While we recognise the contributions made by Tun Mahathir throughout his chairmanship of Proton, we must not turn a blind eye to challenges faced by Proton and its inability to establish a solid financial footing.

18. In this regard, we hope that the new chairman and senior management of Proton will help towards enhancing the true potential of Proton and pave the way towards a better future for the company.

19. The government remains committed to ensure the continuous growth and development of the domestic automotive industry which would include the transformation of Proton and its ecosystem.

Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed
1 April 2016

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• lolololol on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Another April fools joke!?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 10
    • Failed State Citizen on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Our government has “ASSISTED” Proton with more than 13 BILLION RINGGIT so far. And, instead of growing, Proton just rebadge old Jap car model. When are we going to stop this blood sucker from slaving the rakyat further huh????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
      • Concerned Citizen on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:58 pm

To Mustapa,

If Proton’s business model is not sustainable, why ti’s still not close shop? You want Malaysia to sustain the loss?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
        • Selamatkan Malaysia on Apr 02, 2016 at 7:33 pm

I will say this 10x:

#CloseDownProton

Please! For the sake of the rakyat

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 12
          • Movingcoffin on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Why p1? Why not moving coffi maker p2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 45
          • Rugibesar on Apr 03, 2016 at 12:03 am

Why P1? P1 rugi besar! Duh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 03, 2016 at 12:50 am

Car won’t crash if YOU don’t drive it. Your car is moving coffin or not, it is on your hand. Bear in the mind crash test is conducted at 60km/h only. The Suprima S crash into the divider at 100km/h, 5 stars car also become 50 pieces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Baliktongsan on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:38 am

Private company, not your money

• Tun Mahathir Pakai Porsche on Apr 03, 2016 at 4:56 pm

OMG OMG OMG. Yesterday, the biggest talk of the town was Tun Mahathir came in a Porsche Cayenne to the Perhimpunan.

Everyone is so so shocked. The founding father is no more using Proton. This is so shocking. It shows, EVEN the founding father of Proton does not want to use Proton anymore. Last time, he always use his Iriz. Now, no more Chairman, no more Proton for me!

I guess he never even liked Proton in the first place. Last time use, just to drama to the rakyat to show even PM also can use Proton.

I pity Proton. When Frankenstein’s father did not love him, Frankenstein became so sad. Poor Proton, must be so sad now that its daddy does not love him anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Tidur la Bang on Apr 03, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Change the attitude in Proton. These are the same fellows in Government offices and GLCs. Semua mau free.

• Safe My on Apr 03, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Close all government link company. Proton, MAS, Time and a lot… All is lost making and money sucker company.

• OMG OMG OMG if you have 3 cars you only vcan use one car ah?
            Since when?

• Concerned Citizen on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:59 pm

If Proton’s business model is not sustainable, why it’s still not close shop? You want Malaysia to sustain the loss?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
        • Since when bolehland people pay p1? P1 is ady privatised

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • Your father and your grandfather have been paying P1 since its inception. Privatised but still ask for grant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Low Budget on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:21 am

Its PRIRATEtize! RM 100 million paid to the vendors by the Gomen.
            Looks like another RM 1.5B paid to P1 disguise as development grant to keep P1 alive.

• Tun Mahathir Pakai Porsche on Apr 03, 2016 at 4:59 pm

You mean there are still people in Malaysia thinking Proton is Privatised? Are you okey mate?

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:14 pm

what happened to Proton fanboys. Any Proton post them come in ramai ramai and support Proton. Now, their eyes opened. Sudah sedar. So shocked, cannot even cme here and defend Proton.

• Grants, incentives other companies oso get, so what?

• panama on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Don’t be fooled by the word “national car”, or be patriotic by buying proton.
          Like MAS, We are feeding pitless hole by Umno cronies, they are like leech sucking our blood money.
          Every 2 or 3 years, they demand another 2 or 3 billion bail out. How sad , mustapa can only NATO.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Better for Proton to just close shop as that day is coming soon. Better for the rakyat and better for the Government as the Government has been pumping too much of money to Proton despite being in Private Hands few years now.

People are scared to buy a car no matter how cheap from a company that may go bust. Now Mustapa also admits openly Proton is hanging on a thread. This is a nail in the coffin. Nobody will now buy Proton for fear it will be the next Lada or Saab. This statement by Mustapa is the premiminary to close Proton down.

You see, all this while, because of Mahathir, sales have been good. As we all know, 90% of Proton sales actually go to the Government.

Last year Proton sold 100,000 cars. In reality, only about 10% we bought by the public. The bulk of the purchase was bought by various government departments and ministries, enforcement divisions (customs, immigresen, pdrm, UTK etc) and other organisations such as Bomba, TUDM, TLDM, KDRM, Tabung Haji, Risda etc etc

Now, no more Mahathir. Proton the baby is all out in the cold. Government won’t bother ordering from Proton anymore. Infact Spanco also will probably stop ordering thousands of cars from Proton to lease to Putrajaya

How to survive for Proton? Proton, with Mahathir’s help can only sell 100,000 cars. Now, with orders possibly cut, there will be a big problem. How to feed the 30,000 Proton staff??

Proton has one of the largest staffing of any car manufacturer in the world.

The rakyat also will be saying “I dare not buy anything from a company that is hanging on a thread. No money means compromise in quality and safety ie definitely use 2nd grade parts”. how can Proton put good quality parts when they are bleeding money?

Now Malaysians so scared. Warranty might be 5 years but the company might not even be there to even honour that warranty”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
        • Rosmah for CEO on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Better to just put Rosmah as the CEO of Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
          • Why wud najib wanna put his wife as boss of P1? The Gov doesnt even own it anymore.
            And What qualifications does she have to run it? Do she have automotive background?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • Tun Mahathir Pakai Porsche on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Poor john, always defending Proton. You sure the Government does not own it anymore?

• Boring Samy on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Aiyoh, copy and paste your comment again. You are worse than sam loo RV story lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • He is Sam Loo lastest dupe after his last dupe got permabanned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • Tun Mahathir Pakai Porsche on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:03 pm

John oh john, still defending Proton and kutuk others. Blind man still blind.

• Dr Mamak on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:22 am

apanama, Barang Naik jugak no longer viable. I dah resigned, apa lagi lu mau?

• it is. since when MITI become so serious about proton?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
      • Duit Rakyat wasted on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:16 pm

That money RM14 billion simply enough case for rulers king, MACC, Auditor General, PAC Dewan Rakyat for investigation or royal commission of inquiry.

• Lepak and Relaks Proton Staff on Apr 02, 2016 at 5:55 pm

The problem with Proton is their lazy staff. So malas. Always wanting Government help. Always wanting a tongkat. No incentive to work harder or innovate. Most of them are clockers, go home on time.

Cause it is their culture to be lazy and just receive help from Government. Relax half the time in the office, goyang kaki and tidur in office.

Instead of innovating and enhancing the car engine fuel economy and bhp, the male engineers spend their time looking for herba to make their bird tahan lama. The female workers on the other hand is selling cosmetics part time in office ie Avon lady or selling krim pelembut muka.

That is how lazy the staff at Proton are. they are not interested in developing new things. All lepak and relaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
          • Nobrainbasher on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:41 am

And so with bashers with brainless comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Mustapa should become the advisor for 1MDB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
        • Selamatkan Malaysia on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:46 pm

#CloseDownProton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • Over Bloated Staff on Apr 02, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Too many dead wood in Proton lah.

This is like MAS or even our own Government. Give people jobs for free and fun. Don’t care about business economics. Just give free jobs.

MAS went into bankruptcy cause 100 people do 1 person’s job. but now, the new white man is doing a good job trimming the bloated staff, most of whom goyang kaki.

I hope Proton don’t follow our government style. Our Government the champion in the world. Malaysia has the highest number of Civil Servants in the world 1.5 million Government Servants.

Like MAS, 100 people do 1 person’s job. So, everybody can relax most of the time. Most Government servants, just goyang kaki.

Do you know, Australia employs only 250,000 Government Servants and we employ 1.5 million Government Servants?

The same with Proton, it probably only needs 5000 staff. I hope the new CEO trims the 30,000 staff to 5000. Keep the company trim. No need to give free jobs just because of fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
          • Boring ady with your statement. The number reaches million including armies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:46 am

I told you the quality is bad, sales drop and the business model is not sustainable months ago. No one wanna pay their hard earned money for junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Selamatkan Malaysia on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:46 pm

#CloseDownProton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • Sam got proton saga on Apr 02, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Thank you for your support. You are one of the contributor to DRB.

• P2macai on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:54 pm

70 percent plummeting toyota sales means much more than mere popularity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Tun Mahathir Pakai Porsche on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:08 pm

No idea why Proton fanboys, when they get attacked, they like to attack back Toyota. No connection la abang.

• No idea why when p1 goes in news, bashers got butthurt, comment about politics summore. This is auto blog, not your father company punya.

(Pssstt you dun even pay the tax!)

• Cash is king on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:57 am

Let’s sell it off to China company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • 14 Billion or 100 Billion??? on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:25 am

This Rm14 billion is just a smoke screen to calm the rakyat. Everybody knows, the grand total is over RM100 billion. Aiyoo, from 1985 lah….every other year, at least a billion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Close Down Proton Please on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:27 am

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much.

We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants.

Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand.

Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
        Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
        • 300,000 monkey wrench jobbers or 30,000 engineers?

I prefer the engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
          • lancelot on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Toyota and Honda setting up plant in here use local engineer. They only have coordinator from Japan to guide them and put the Japanese ethic to work

• You mean 30,000 tiga suku engineers?

I prefer the monkey wrench jobbers. At least they complete their jobs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Engineers gotta grad first and get a degree. If u have go to college/uni yet, u wundt know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
          • You mean engineers from UiTM/MARA? We all know their standard lah and where they will work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • Tun Mahathir Pakai Porsche on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:11 pm

UiTM and Mara engineers cannot even read English, how they want to even build car using English blueprints and designs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • diamjer on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:33 pm

you think if proton is not existed anymore.. you could buy cheap VW meh?

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:44 am

Mustapa should also come out with a public apology to the rakyat cause, due to Proton’s failure, rakyat has suffered 30 years with high car prices and long burdensome loans.

Can Mustapa also apologise to the rakyat?

now that cost of living is so difficult, most rakyat find it difficult to even survive despite having good jobs, paying our car loans is the 2nd biggest burden for most Malaysians, after our house loans.

And it is because of Proton that car prices have gone up 5 fold since the 90s. In the 90s, you can get a brand new Toyota Corolla (Altis) for RM20k. Now, the same car is RM139k.

Globally, the Toyota Corolla price of the 90s and 2016 only doubled. So, it is obvious, it was Proton who made our car prices 5 fold.

To add to the problem, our banks, which is Government owned, hantam us with super high interest rates for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
        • Boring Samy on Apr 02, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Aiya ya… Copy and paste comment is not fun samy. By the way, very curious to know what car you own since u are so reluctant on current gov act.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
        • Tidur la Bang on Apr 03, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Still want everything free and still don’t want to work?

• Muzamir cheebailu on Apr 02, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Fully support what government is done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Everybody love mahathir nowaday.. No one bashing mahathir after deklarasi rakyat..

• Malaysia losing almost RM14 billion to Proton is no joke. The joke is on the rakyat that support Proton for 30 years

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 11
      • Utube on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:30 pm

I dun see much support here, mostly brainless bashing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
      • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:52 am

I don’t think it is RM14 billion, I think it is far worse than that. Those dys PETRONAS was making RM100 billion per year. Mahathir took any amount for Proton. But we cry today, seeing the company can lose RM2.5 billion the past 3 years and Rm25 million every month from now on.

Still want to sustain Mustapa? Just close it down. The workers still can find jobs all over Malaysia, just like how we also go around applying for jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • NAP Total Faiure on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:53 am

Minister should resign. how long more can rakyat suffer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Finance Minister on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Minister resign also no use, it would not help the country. The main thing is PROTON MUST CLOSE DOWN NOW to prevent Malaysia from going bankrupt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Kakaka on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:44 am

If p1 bankrupt bolehland oso bankrupt, kakaka

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:16 pm

This is my company: Kehidupan senang, tak payah kira-mengira, tak payah pikir guna akal, 8am-5pm goyang kaki, design komik, minum teh, makan kuih, tengok amoi; cincai atau tiada audit asalkan bukan yahudi.
      Inilah company saya: Sengaja ‘rugi’ kepada kawans, contohnya kilang saya besarnya 10 ekar ada 20 ribu orang security guards each bergaji 4k monthly, 40 ribu orang cleaners each bergaji 6k monthly, setengah juta operators each bergaji 8k monthly. Saya punya suppliers jual aluminium dengan harga perak-platinum kepada saya, china quality plak jual harga benz. Mana pergi grant2 aku, inilah dia. Sama-sama makan.

10 x 10 = 100, jadi saleman/mechanic
      8 x 8 = 88, jadi manager/akauntan/ketua kilang, because saya suka orang berambut 8 inci panjang.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 17
      • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:29 am

Malaysian Government cannot sustain Proton anymore. Cannot lah, every year ask for money despite kononnya being in Private Hands.

Somemore, Proton is asking billions. The recent asking was RM1.5 billion. How long can this go on?

When Mahathir was PM, it was so easy. Just take DIRECT from Petronas. One pocket into another. Every year Mahathir just take billions from Petronas into Proton just to keep the company afloat.

Then when Mahathir resign as PM but still Petronas big advisor, the same, still take money direct from Petronas and give to Proton just to keep the company afloat.

How long can this go on? Pity Petronas also. They need to re-invest money into exploration and drilling. They cannot be giving FREE money to Proton.

Proton few days ago declared they lost RM2.5 billion in 3 years. Proton also is losing RM25 million every month (about RM1 mil per day). We cannot be sustaining a company that is losing that much just to keep the national pride. Even Jaguar was sold to Indian Tata. Even Aston Martin was sold to Ford.

It is high time we also sell Proton to somebody or just close shop. The opportunity cost is just way too much.
        If Proton did not exist, the money saved just to keep the company float can be used to build at least 10 fully fledged Government hospitals and Government Schools in each state every 10 years.

One question I cannot understand, during the good years of the 90s, when Proton was making money, how come Proton never saved for a rainy day? Most prudent companies have RM billions in reserves. Where is Proton’s reserves? nothing.

This what hapens when during good times, the company was living luxuriously and spending like a King without saving a sen. Instead of giving staff and directors Protons to use, they were all given Audis, for example.

• Is this AP MUS? on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:08 am

This is the same Mus that supported AP. Every PT post, this Mus supports AP and gives reasons why AP should be prolonged.

Now, this statement is just to cover the disgrace of Proton failing. Quickly come out with a statement to to cover malu. But actually Mus also knew abut Proton going into bankruptcy 10 years ago. Duduk diam only. Now, big collapse, come here and cover up.

Soon, he will come up with cover up for AP also when AP system makes the nation go bankrupt

• chongyew on Apr 03, 2016 at 3:03 am

Dude.. 8×8 = 64 lah

• 1M4U G1M on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 149
      • TONGKAT SAKTI on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:14 pm

Help help help…. No wonder you never grow! Hidup asyik bergantung pada tongkat saja, bila lagi mau lari? It is this very mentality that drives our beloved country to doom.
        “NOTHING REALLY GREAT EVER CAME OUT OF COMFORT ZONE”

• Diamond on Apr 02, 2016 at 1:14 am

I’ll never in a million years vote for najib. I’m not cheap

• Dono todu on Apr 02, 2016 at 1:44 am

Gila…..bottom feeder.Najib so far have much troubles to sustain people like u.. Wake up man.. ur ‘degree’ must lend u any where inside this sector.why continue to stay there?

• Albert on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:10 am

You are plain stupid.Mr 1M4UG1M,
        You are voting to keep a BAD EXPERIMENT called protong alive.Stupid bastard,where does your taxes go to?
        You must have scored straight”B”s for SPM.
        BODOH…BODOH…bODOH.sHAMBOLIC FOOL.

• Loler on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:46 am

Wow you also called your teachers names issit? No wonder you just end up being a keyboard warrior, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Tong Sampah on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:34 am

bcos of your mentality, thats why proton will die

only people can help proton is themselves.

• YES!!!ONLY if he use his own money. Opsss…wait…his own money…also came from…

• Help Proton, and condem the rest of the rakyat to overpriced AP and further bailouts? Support more C4, oil drum and racial politics?

You might keep your corrupted business, but will your children want to live in a damaged Malaysia later?

• Gobackstudy on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:48 am

Where do you get if support p1 = support c4? So childish brain

• NAP Total Faiure on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:51 am

The NAP is a total failure. It was initially intended to help Bumiputera t enter the Automotive Industry via AP. But we all know the Bumiputera sell the APs to the Chinaman who sets up business.

this is no secret. Everybody knows about it. then the Bumiputera guy will just be namesake partnet in the AP showroom, but he is never to be seen.

AP system is a total failure. Just like how Proton has become. I think the Minister should resign. How long must the rakyat wait? Last NAP was 2009. Until now, the AP system still going strong. 20 AP holders make billions while 30 million rakyat suffer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Supporter on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:23 pm

You want to support Proton? Give ‘donation’ lah

• loler on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:11 am

Then if you dun support p1, you give it as reason not pay tax, lol

• Albert on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:51 pm

almost 14 Billion Rm down the drains.
      Rakyat,be prepared…another Rm10 Billion may go to”improve” Protong..in the name of R & d,collaborations(with Mitsubishi,Suzuki etc).
      This is a HORRIBLE EXPERIMENT GONE WRONG.
      miti, DONT TAKE US FOR A RIDE.
      Protong is already in private hands.If Gomen wants to give grants,it has to give Tan Chong,UMW,Honda..to be fair.
      What pride has Proton? What Dignity?30 million rakyat suffering hardships due to this bad experiment called Proton.
      Just close shop,Mr DRB.Tak malu.Seperti Pengemis.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 17
      • P2macai on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:46 pm

What is your contribution to country? Banal bashing is like baby crying for milk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 31
        • P1macai on Apr 02, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Use your own money to contribute. Stop using the rakyat’s money

• Albert on Apr 02, 2016 at 7:30 pm

I started paying taxes before you even know how to suck your mother’s tits.
          You mean you syiok sendiri letting those bastards rip you off your hard earned income,with high import,excise,gst taxes?
          Protong deserve to be attached by tomorrow.
          Proton should have more dignity going for section 176 than dragging gomen to release another rm1.5 Billion,from your GST taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • Macan on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:11 am

Kesian P1 macais still sucking their mother’s tits like Proton which still needs protection…

• Give your proof that you pay tax. Other companies also get incentives while not all of them successful. Why you don’t bash them?

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Other companies have not lost RM2.5 billion in 3 years. those are official figures. Unofficial figures are probably RM10 billion

• Tidur la Bang on Apr 03, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Majority of the rempits don’t pay tax. They fail their exams even yet, they go into University with full scholarship. how?

• Albert on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:28 am

Datuk Lolololol,
      The Curse of Everlasting Perlindungan.
      1.Port Klang Free Zone Fiasco RM 14 Billion
      2.Proton…grants RM 14 Billion
      3.Double Tracking Rm12-14 Billion
      4.Bakun Rm 10-12 Billion
      5.PPSMI Rm 3 Billion
      April 1, no jokes at all.Rakyat/taxpayers ripped off.
      People who still want gomen to pump 1.5 Billion to ‘assist” bankrupt proton,is like pumping their taxes into a huge shithole.
      We need not dwell into politics to tell you who to vote for in next GE.
      The other day,I was at LHDN to sort out some tax issues.THose LHDN guys are going all out irregardless of race to COLLECT THE LAST SEN/BLOOD SWEAT DOLLAR.30 people queing up at 8am,to quickly pay up,after receiving’TAK CUKUP ” tax notice.
      It is unimaginable we have people trying to revive cancer stricken proton.
      DRB,if u cannot handle losses,just sell the bladdy company to another bidder or just close shop for good.
      There is more dignity to close shop,than to burden the rakyat further with this BAD EXPERIMENT called Proton.

• Never knew MITI had it in them to produce an April Fool’s Day joke.

• Everywhere got perlindungan. Clearly you don’t pay tax with your cool story. P1 even dun get incentive promised to them. So your point?

• Minister Tolong Resign on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:03 am

5. In 2009, the company presented to me its restructuring plan which aimed to improve the quality of its cars, to boost exports and to make Malaysia a hub for the automotive industry in the region.

Why did not the Mnister ask how Proton as a single company is going to make Malaysia a hub for the automotive industry industry in the region? This is such a bold and false statement. Why the minister in 2009 never questioned this and waited until 2016, 7 years later to realise Proton is sinking?

The above statement is so false. Proton infact made so many Mat Salleh and Japanese companies open in Thailand. We lost hundreds of billions USD.

Proton alone caused Thailand to be THE HUB for ASEAN automotive

The Minister should resign for failing to encourage investments in Malaysia. Every month we hear about this company and that company investing billions in thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • OMG…protong just useless bcos of brainless decisions and protections…

• at least there is some sort of plan here. Top of the list is to bring in a foreign partner who will hopefully see the value in such a partnership — honestly Proton doesn’t have a lot to stand on now as they are on their knees. There has been some serious mismanagement here. How have all the board members allowed this to continue? RM13b grants/tax write-offs in 30 years is a lot and one would think with so many advantages (including the insane taxes on foreign cars) it would have propelled the brand into a substantial global or at least regional competitor. With that said, perhaps the prudent thing to do is to let the market take its course? That is, I feel, to be the absolute last resort as many jobs are at stake here.

• Most anticipated headline of the year will be “Proton files for bankruptcy, ceases production of all vehicles, winds down all operations”

• Sam VHL Loo on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Don’t wish like that lah, instead should feel very sorry to Protaik owners that already hailat (tons of money already spent to repair their beloved shit cars).

Firstly, gotten ‘new’ cars that sunbaked for 1 – 2 years (like VW). Second, when driving always swearing ‘Damn it’ everyday with Punch CVT automatic @ automampuih gearbox (it’s startle feeling is too strong that it will condemn anytime). Third, monthly visit to SC due to broke here and there, and then when finally fed up, trade in also cannot (unless take RM few tens of thousands personal loan to cover the differences) as it got very low or virtually no RV (owners will shout out loud ‘Hai Lat Lorrr’)

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Proton can wind down their operations, but their own windscreen cannot open.

Tolls are jammed everyday with Proton owners oening their car doors to scan their touch and go

• Gargantia on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Why Proton don’t ask the Rich AP system owners to protect them? Seen that AP cronies received free shares bonus from Proton since “1983 “.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:33 am

No idea why this Minister coming here and making announcement. What is the CEO of Proton for? What is the CEO of DRB for? I thought they said Proton in Private Hands, why now Minister talking about Proton? Did they lie to us the past 6 years saying Proton was in total DRB control and Government no more losing money pumping Proton?

Do you see any Minister making comments and announcements for other companies like Dutch Lady, Nestle or Maxis?

Of course if Tun is no more, there will be funding problems. Who or which bank will fund a company near bankruptcy? Which bank is mad enough to lend RM1.5 billion to a company that has lost RM2.5 billion the past 3 years and is continuously losing RM25 million every month?

Proton only sold 100,000 cars last year. 90% of the sales went to government departments and ministries. This has been the trend the past 25 years actually, in recognition of Tun’s initial order in the 80s and 90s of Government departments should only strictly use Proton.

Now, the Government themselves think Proton is bleeding too much. The Government themselves know the company is such a burden. You think the Government is still going to continue making blind purchases?

• Tong Sampah on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:34 am

best logical comment!!!

• PEKEMA saves Proton!!! on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:13 am

Each and every AP crony earns about RM1 billion clean profit per year since the AP system started 20 years ago. It is only right that the AP cronies each should contribute RM1 billion each and start a fund to save Proton

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Only now such statements are out to rubbish Tun’s legacy, not that it’s a proud one anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:38 am

Question to Mustapa, why give the vendors Rm100 million of our hard earned money? These vendors have been giving Proton low quality parts the past 30 years. they are the ones who buruk the name of Proton until today. They also overcharge Proton by many fold.

how can you give Rm100 million of our money to these vendors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • bukapintubayartol on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:57 pm

I can’t believe the government is even considering helping Proton. 13.9 Billion is already a lot of money. The people are losing subsidies left and right, from increase in toll, sugar, food, we pay GST and this company sticks out their hand and asks for money? Thats’ really not fair when there are many people who still do not have access to health care, clean drinking water etc.
    Proton has a lot of assets, Lotus, two production plants, good distribution network. These can be sold to a company (foreign or domestic or both) to generate much needed cash. Or entice some company with deep pockets to purchase a good chunk of shares in Proton. Free the people. #bebaskanrakyat

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 7
    • Dreamer on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Hoping the price of hideoys jepunis cars to decrease if p1 kolos shop? In your dream.

• Looks like a very veil ultimatum. Could truly well be the last make or break grant. Stop the antics, proton survives and vice versa.

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2016 at 2:34 am

In 1988 proton planned to launch the Saga Megavalve at 25-35k, so in 1990/91 when Toyota/Honda/nissan wanted to launch new models you asked the govt to push their sentra /civic/corolla to the 70k mark to protect you.

You also knew Wira was coming in 1993 and again asking for more protections. In 1995 new sentra, civic and corolla were pushed to between 90-100k.

That was reason you conquered 70% of car market while giving lousy after sales standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • B4now on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:04 am

And now even in Thai the prices are more less same, even some Merc are cheaper here

• bukapintubayartol jr on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:56 am

13.9 billion over period of 30 years.. feed thousands of live.. develop know how… develop industrial ecosystem..

42 billions in a matters of year?? who get the benefits?

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:36 pm

best comment ever

• NAPE TAK TUTUP? on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Why don’t the people just rally for its closure, since we like to rally all the time…

• Neemfa on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Sekarang baru sedar kah? Too late..

• Jobless on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Just sack the entire managememt, marketing and designers who launched the epic failed Iriz Preve Supima and nw Perdana..why waste hundreds of millions and low volume models and than chose to fight Perodua head on wit the Iriz..better sack these clowns that causing the entire employyee to lose their jobs in the end…same wit MAS the incompetent magement mades the mistakes but normal employess sacked

• Loler on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:07 am

Waiting for basher comparing small iriz with much bigger civic, lol

• Andrekua on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Wall of text… ZZZzzzzz

Actually it is just all about excise duty. Once Proton gone, no more protect protect, then people will ask government to remove the excise duty.

How many billions have they collected since it’s introduction? That’s the thing they are trying to protect right now.

• Najib has finally able to lay down the LAW of doing business to P1. The only thing I dun agree is that partnering with VW wud be gud idea. Just look what happened to Suzuki. Almost kena conned into slave marriage.

So now P1 has to do a MAS and get a Mueller figure in to straighten everything, before Gov wud even consider lifting a finger to help. Without Tun M, its finally time to take off the heredity shackles and either do-or-die.

Najib has said it. This is your last chance and he has no qualms to tear down any legacies that doesnt work. Well done, Najib. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Hentamajela on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:59 am

John,john,john…pergi mampus kau john sembang mcm bagus kalau kau pandai kau buat la kereta aku nak tgk kau jgn tulis mcm pukimak jer….

• kill proton drM will die
    najib live happily ever after

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:30 pm

a statement thats so sensible its an april fools joke rite

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Sell to the Chinese auto manufacturers. I’m very sure they are interested to have a stronger footing & brand awareness here. Its very clear, the Japs & European auto companies are not interested at all & they already have strategic investments in neighbouring countries. Those who prefer Jap or European cars have already bought and will continue to buy brands which they are comfortable with. No point trying to fight for buyers who favours the established market segment as its a waste of resource.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • Why chinese? They got so much cash ar?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 03, 2016 at 9:17 pm

If not for the Chinese, you think the Arabs will buy? See if can convince them to donate to Proton cause the last I heard they prefer to donate to PM instead.

• tokmoh. on Apr 02, 2016 at 1:20 am

Aye. Geely should be a good partner, they own Volvo, and look at how well Volvo is transforming.

Proton will have access to work with Volvo, and can truly cement itself as Volvo of Asia.

As has been said, Conti, Jap, even Korean makes have their interest/strategy, and can’t see them wanting Proton at all. With Geely, there is a chance.

• Dun wan white on the outside, yellow on the inside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • Starting to be racist eh? No wonder Proton is a failure as all must be black on the outside and black on the inside

• R u implying P1 is the 3rd minority? Or africans?
            So who is the racist now? Do look in the mirror, yeah

• Hello buddy, P1 is a company, not a race! How to be racist on a company? Use your brain to think, yeah

• Wow, we thought 2.6B is a lot but 13.9B? All these in the name of National Car Project…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
  • sepul on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:09 pm

So Proton has been childish for all these years. Given the current state, I strongly support if Proton were to be absorbed by another automotive company, or at least joining with another.

Any fruit from the Suzuki tie up? They are small as well, but being managed properly and made huge success, particularly in India, and stable presence in Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • MrPoppyplants on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:09 pm

I am waiting for the high taxes to be abolished once Malaysia stops protecting Proton. So that we Malaysians can start buying cars at ACTUAL market prices.

Imagine the sales of cars throughout the country!

Although the immediate downside is more traffic jams and bankruptcy of all used/recon car sellers. Small loss in return for a huge gain for all citizens!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 17
    • Huge gain in traffic jams. Go back and do your homework kid. You dun even know what is it like to drive in traffic jams for hours everyday!

• Can wish long long la, bro. You think the government will release their hold on the taxes? GST, toll rise, etc etc

• Solahuddin on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Sadly, the minister did not mention about engineering achievement by proton. USA spend billions of dollars just to explore the mars and no American questions about the money. Only Malaysian do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 83
    • tokmoh. on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:54 am

Oh they do, just you don’t, or choose not to see it

Gizmodo featured recently F-35 being a waste of usd1 trillion of taxpayer’s money, yet being crap.

Neil DeGrasse, the famous astrophysicist, hasn’t had smooth sailing convincing Americans why space program is worthy of taxpayers money. NASA keeps getting budget cuts, which wouldn’t happen if no American questions their benefit-cost ratio to the country.

American crowd on Jalopnik hasn’t been too friendly with their local makes if they weren’t up to mark. Chrysler or GM or whoever had safety flaws, and never recalled until they’re forced to, and they can be very cynical/unapologetic/vicious towards them.

• wkaka on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:58 am

Probably it’s because their engineering “achievements” prove that they need to be closed down. Billions of RM to develop the CamPro? Waja? Juara? It was still 5-10 years behind the times when it came out. Only the handling was decent, as they literally bought Lotus for it.

• camtakpro on Apr 04, 2016 at 12:41 pm

After 30years, Proton is still famous for its power windows. Handling was and, still is, an overstatement – no different from saying my car has rounder steering wheel.

They can’t even get a button right, what is power windows.

• Yeah..he did not mention the total of tax received by goverment contributed by proton existence

• jinggo on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:26 am

Betul betul.. mereka pasang enjin jer.. proton bikin enjin..

• Actually Americans do complain. But space exploration has brought them a lot of new tech and knowledge. What groundbreaking tech has proton created?

• Brother are you comparing proton with Nasa…? Nice joke…

• What engineering achievement is that sir? You must have something to show for before your countrymen stop questioning your policies? In our politically motivated environment everything is About cronism

• Wow you comparing us to USA.

• Want to compare your little body with the who? USA? when was the last time you looked at mirror? USA? BMW? VOLVO? Hhahaah. Them Proton.

• Jelly on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:11 am

That’s what your basher friends do for this while. So pathetic.

• Operation Manager on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:22 pm

PROTON incapable in both chassis platform & engine development, which a auto OEM should have. In short, PROTON incapable to make car.

Technology change in the global auto industry from petroleum based to electric & hydrogen based. The challenges even more tough.

Even after 33yrs since 1983, PROTON owned no technogy but only a assembly house, consider a new comer as of today 2016.

JN
    Operation Manager

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 25
    • Really? Name me one brand that has extensive HPF material in their passenger cell? And do u really belip P1 rebadges that brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 86
      • Mazda? Volvo? HPF material is not worth billions when there are better alternatives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Really? So as OM said, since when did P1 assembled Mazda & Volvo, hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
          • Since when i say P1 assembled Mazda & Volvo, hmm? Do you have problem understanding?
            I’m only talking about HPF material

• Read back OM’s statement pls. If dun understand, dun come in and defend him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • Seeing the number of dislikes that you get, i guess you are the one who don’t understand his statement

• Ncpau on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Even new upcoming civic has lesser hpf than preve. Civic scored more marks in Australian NCAP doesn’t mean it has tougher chassis than preve. It is only because ANCAP dun give extra mark for it.

The real world where preve shines. Driver saved in totaled preve is just one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • kenot on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:22 pm

i think you refer to perodua…at least we know proton built 5 stars ancap car…perodua??

• tokmoh. on Apr 02, 2016 at 1:52 am

The iriz is 2 or 3 factors away from being successful.

1. Quality perception. They should’ve shown why iriz truly has improved its quality, other than improving after sales experience.

Yet, it’s common to read issues including power window (WTF PROTON, NEVER LEARNT YOUR LESSON?!), Start-stop button not working, windscreen washer not connected, roof rubber seal, etc.

I wonder if anyone in Proton knows basic of business : to be best seller, you have to best the market, giving no space for rival to one up you.

It did well giving class leading safety, but with issues like this, don’t blame the market for not buying. Or blame the bank.

2. Powertrain. There’s no kind word to say about how Punch cvt ruined the driving experience. Laggy throttle response, bad rubber band effect, jerky at times (it’s like if you drive manual and very bad at clutch control), can’t feel that torquey at low rev, you’ll end up revving more, thus poorer fc than you should.

My recent honda jazz n city driving experience was how it should be done. Little to unnoticeable drive-by-wire input lag, immediate, torquey delivery, I’ve almost never need to rev above 2k rpm in most urban driving, very smooth and definitely will have better fc.

Too little, too late that now only they develop GDI/TGDI engine n torque converter cvt/6 speed manual.

3. Price. Though during promotion like last Dec, the asking price is truly good value. A shame though it still means one has to live with crappy powertrain for those that needs auto, which is the bulk of market demand.

Proton, proton, why did you downplay these important factors? Instead of pouring into design (which is still not world-beating), better to focus on these. You’re targeting market segment where design takes back seat over more crucial needs like durability, practicality, running cost. The success of myvi, axia, vios and almera didn’t taught you well enough on what really matters, no?

You should get these basics together, then get an edge over others by offering better safety, that’s how it’s done.

Because of your blunder, you blame us not being patriotic, banks for giving 9 year loan. Kek. Still expect us to pity your predicaments? You can only deserve “good riddance” for your behavior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Peter on Apr 04, 2016 at 2:31 pm

True. Fully agree. Too bad majority of Proton’s staff can’t appreciate what you said. Many things are interrelated, in this country, if someone like najib can stand as pm you can imagine MAJORITY of ppl here are ‘care-less’ or just wait for someone doing the right thing. It’s politically sensitive to state who these ppl are, but they are the only element that Proton never chg after trying so many tricks.

• jaydengan on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:01 am

R u Joe Najib?

• Temple Of Yellow Hair on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:47 am

Well…proton created the word first class power windows with 2 motors and still fails. Epic !!!!

• Nosushi on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:15 am

Toyota fire starter power window switch is more epic failure! At least p1 got lifetime power window warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Diesel Power!!! on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:25 pm

From this statement, it seems logic, but a little too late….anyway I salute Tun M for bringing Proton to the world. But become a poor state now, he also need to take a big responsibility..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Tarro on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Too deliberate for april fool’s jokes

• CloseShopCo on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Please just close shop. Abolish AP. Relief the citizens from this nightmare. We don’t want to feed Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 12
    • Taxer on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:00 am

Too late. Even in Thai your dream car @ hideous jepunis car are more less as expensive as in bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Thai boy on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:15 am

Thats becus ringgit value is sinking. Thai price still the same.

• Crony Crony malaysia on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:11 am

few years have passed since the last NAP and Mustapa still thinking hard to abolish AP.

• smarttess on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:52 am

Would you then buy a Perodua when the genuine Daihatsu version sold at a similar price?

• Painter on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:50 pm

I think DRB-Hicom is eyeing to liquidate the Shah Alam land. Much in the same way they took over POS Malaysia and the failed-attempt take-over of KTM Bhd. Anyway, this is just my gut-feeling.

Do a MAS bail-out again? Too much is at stake here. 13 billion could have been spent on human capital development. But it’s money already spent.

BUT… of course, there are also goods that came out of this national car project. We got locally groomed talents in the manufacturing industry and the ecosystem that it created – vendors, support services etc etc.

Well, government has to decide what’s next. Decision, decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • Forrest on Apr 02, 2016 at 1:00 am

You’re right, a whole slew of crony ecosystem. If those vendors, etc are really talented, they probably will survive with another brand anyway. Time to prove themselves.

• Temple Of Yellow Hair on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:49 am

They only created lazy bugger makan kuih main telur mentality.

• Just sell the land in Shah Alam and T. Malim to Nirvana or Xiao En or Fairy park la. The land will be more useful with them than Proton building crappy products.

• Albert on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:56 pm

rm 100 juta to help vendors…OMG.
    You know the saying” Don’t throw pearls to….(fill up the blank yourself)”.
    Taxpayers are made to look like fools.
    Shambolic vendors who are spineless and always asking for everlasting perlindungan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • Saul Berenson on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:00 pm

Money is running out. Proton is a money pit loved by Tun M. Najib is desperate and is irked by Tun M. Put the pieces together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • powershot (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:06 pm

TOO BIG TO FAIL (T_T)

• chikubi on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Better give the money to proton…otherwise rosmah will take the money for her next shopping spree….

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:11 pm

I bet that 13.9 billion is before you adjust for inflation. 10 ringgit in the 80s/90s does not equal 10 ringgit in 2016.

• Protonizer on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:18 pm

When a 30 year old business never makes money despite numerous incentives, grants, loans, tax exemptions, even to the extent of making other competitors play on an uneven ground; it simply means the business model is WRONG!!
    Either that, or this business has been deliberately losing money to channel the profit into certain party.

• Megane on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Because the government was stupid enough to award national car status to Perodua and allow it to steal away sales from Proton . Idiot . Perodua is not a car producer , only rebadging cars from Daihatsu and Toyota is laughing all the way to the bank . If you want us to support Proton make sure you go all the way to the extent of not allowing Perodua to exist at the first place . In the meantime shove Proton to learn and improve quickly . Now the damage has been done .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Manocibai on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:43 pm

Better close shop lah.

• Najib supports public transport rather than cars

• Silthice on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:50 pm

“About three years ago, Proton almost struck a deal with a renowned foreign player but at the last minute decided not to proceed with the proposal. Had this collaboration been realised, we may have seen an improved performance by Proton in the subsequent years.”
    Is it Volkswagen? If it is I doubt it will improve Proton maybe become a successful cheater?
    I thought Suzuki is Proton’s partner?

• Silthice on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:06 am

In short, follow Perodua business model. Copy, redesign body a bit and assemble. Get reduced tax and import duty exemption. Wondering when is Perodua going to graduate from Daihatsu (completely own by Toyota)

• nabill (Member) on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:06 am

This report is 10yrs too late… When u state the obvious when everyone saw it coming, means there were ppl taking advantage n closing one eye….. oh wait, we are in msia….

• Shah Zarak on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:30 am

Proton should work with Fiat company.They have good range of models including alfa romeo

• This tumor have 30 years of develop into cancer at its terminal stage.. pls pull the plug to end the “suffering of M’sian”. Money can be well spent to aid on the real poor M’sian !

• Seethere on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:24 am

Meanwhile in Thai Accord stil 180k without p1 protection

• robin hood on Apr 06, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Fk that, I don’t care about the price anymore. Just close Proton down! I’d rather let the money be thrown to some random idiot than give it to a bunch of useless engineers and board that just gives themselves fat bonuses for failing.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:59 am

BRAVO, MITI.. tough times call for tough measures. Proton should be 49-51% foreign-owned, preferably with a European partner. Steel presses from Germany, new engines from UK, electronics from Germany etc.. A European foreign partner is a right fit for the existing ecosystem

• Im not sure if u trying to troll the trolls, DK. :)

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Europeans don’t like people who like to sleep and lazy. So how?

• Yes, I do agree Proton has wasted lots of rakyat’s money and still remains not competitive in the automotive sector. Well, One thing people need to know, whether Proton were to be taken off the industry, the car prices wouldnt come down, the government won’t be dumb enough to let go such big revenue that they can gain from the taxes paid from cars. So for those who are praying for Proton to close shop with the SOLE REASON OF HOPING FOR THE CAR PRICE TO GO DOWN, I can tell u it will never happen

• Alex Wong on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:12 pm

NCAP -The smartest comment so far!
      Car prices will not come down even Proton close shop.

• Yes, I do agree Proton has wasted lots of rakyat’s money and still remain not competitive in the automotive sector. Well, One thing people need to know, whether Proton were to be taken off the industry, the car prices wouldnt come down, the government won’t be dumb enough to let go such big revenue that they can gain from the taxes paid from cars. So for those who are praying for Proton to close shop with the SOLE REASON OF HOPING FOR THE CAR PRICE TO GO DOWN, I can tell u it will never happen

• Frank on Apr 03, 2016 at 12:11 pm

I agree with you. Those hoping for cheap car are still dreaming.
      Proton’s failure is a sign or feedback to us Malaysian. We are not competitive enough as a nation. We lack efficiency, engineering skills, technology leadership, marketing skill and technology management.
      Don’t just laugh at this matters. It might be political in some decisions making. But the truth is we msian are not leader in any engineering endeavor is a worrying sign.

• My feeling is that this statement made by Mustapa is a hint to Tun that if you keep on guai-lan to Najib, then you wait and see that your beloved Proton kena close-shop and bungkus.

• Ex VGM staff on Apr 02, 2016 at 2:44 am

The decision to set up a second factory was not wrong. 5 years before that waiting period for wira and waja were almost 12 months. But then proton, you wasted your resources by creating gen2 and savvy. And to a certain extend the satria neo – which is a standalone model unlike the first satria which was family member to wira and putra and shared many common parts. Savvy designers inside and outside should have been execute to death for creating horrible looking cars. Because it didn’t catch sales in Malaysia and other export markets.

Wasted a lot of money on sponsorships for badminton and le tour de langkawi event. And rallying. And R3 division.

Waja platform was good but waste money to engineer new platform for gen2/persona. Then later the preve/suprima S. When you can just make new body design like what you are doing now for proton perdana.

• Cant help it. BAM patron is Tun Siti H, Le tour patron is Tun M, and R3 is by Mahaleel son.

Thats why najib said must have no interference.

• smarttess on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:24 am

Give us a break – this is the same kind of statement made virtually every other year, for the last decade (at least). Well, now that the Government is broke, maybe something will break.

• lingam on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:43 am

Tok Pa, just close Proton.

• Roslan Ismail on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:44 am

Ini proposal sy utk pastikan Proton terus hidup dan terus kekal dalam industri.
    1. Jualan murah keatas semua stok kereta dgn potongan sehingga 30%.
    2. Gov buat polisi baru semua kereta import yg tidak capai 90% local content wajib discrap selepas 10 tahun. Takde compromi… kalau insuran boleh renew… maka akan ada kereta klon…
    3. Insuran kereta import CBU di naikkan lagi.
    4. Proton perlu fokus pada “Harga boleh jual”.
    Cadangan : Preve (RM50k-RM60k), Exora (RM60k-RM70k), Iriz (RM40k-RM50k), Persona R (RM40k-RM50k), Saga R (RM30k-RM40k). Perlu declare secara umum… bukan tulis discount or rebate….
    5. Gov patut create cukai baru…. sekiranya material utk component bukan local… maka cukai adalah sgt tinggi…
    6. Gov patut teruskan grant utk R&D tapi bukan utk new technology… tapi utk cost down n VAVE. Supaya direction R&D adalah “mengeluarkan produk yg mampu milik dan boleh jual”.
    7. Gov juga perlu wajibkan Bumiputera contribution dlm bentuk “ratio to discount or tax releif”. Lagi besar bumiputera involvement lagi byk tax relief.
    8. Hentikan publisiti or marketing yg tak berkaitan automotive. Kene byk buat event n road show. Matlamat “Dekatkan brand Proton dengan hati rakyat”.
    9. Proton kene buat satu team survey n satu program tv khas. Matlamat “setiap hari rakyat malaysia akan nampak n bercakap ttg Proton”.

Sekian
    pandangan ikhlas budak kampung
    yang nak tengok Proton Maju.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • FaizalMisman on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:40 pm

also whoever buy a proton car can get income tax reduction. hahaha..

• kampung boy on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Ini mesti budak bodoh dari UiTM/MARA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Sbnrnya idea mahathir dgn projek keta national adalah betul Dan waras. Sasarannya Pada 2020 Malaysia mempunyai 70 juta penduduk. Bermakna 10 thn lps, Malaysia ada 60 juta org. Penduduk ramai, proton jual banyak kereta. Kos jadi rendah, boleh jual murah. Malangnya impian tersasar jauh…. Silap kerajaan juga yg gagal mengawal Kos Sara hidup Dan inflasi, menyebabkan peningkatan jumlah rakyat adakah perlahan

• safety 1st on Apr 02, 2016 at 7:04 am

nissan brought in gossen…kia/hyundai peter schreyer for his design and bmw m head for engines… proton needs to get foreign profesional to lead the company like how thesr two car giants did. and it need to be free from political interference… then naybe then it will be a recognised brand in the world

• bumi 1st on Apr 02, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Cannot, CEO and designer must be a Bumi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Ex VGM staff on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:36 pm

NISSAN almost bankrupt lah end 90s. Renault rescued by getting majority shares. That was how ghossen became chairman/CEO for NISSAN.

• Henry on Apr 02, 2016 at 8:14 am

You can never fill a bottomless hole. Why continue to pour money into it and end up making this country a beggar?

• Please read carefully what minister says. It means no money. Proton is not what it says it is a failed dead debt ridden company, minister is a politician and knows what he says, it’s the end of proton. Only way for proton to survive is to be sold to another proper OEM And not useless DRB. Sack all top, middle managers and bring new team who are not corrupt and illiterate. There people in Paul tan who write positive are all proton marketing people using proton COE office to post here. My insider told me already. No way proton will get any grants. They may get soft loans but gov knows they can’t pay back, as all will go to their own pockets. It’s the end of proton this year. Billions of RM gone and they ask that kit car maker Bufori to design car for them.. What a joke. Who rewarded them a biz? They must go after them. Like Honda which pulled out, Suzuki also will go and proton will go offline until a pro can take it and fix it.

• 1Malaysia on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:51 am

Proton, make Malaysia proud by closing down

• Jepunks on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:40 am

“There people in Paul tan who write positive are all proton marketing people using proton COE office to post here. ”

I lol reading this

• john is otak batu on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:21 am

Mustapa all u nned to tell Najib is to pull the plug & lights off for this 30 years cancer. Better use the money to aid poor group needy citizen

• Sii Pai Gong on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:27 am

74% market was when Proton was distributed by EON, a very professional Company. Now look whats happening.

• Ex VGM staff on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:34 pm

At a time when there were no kia spectra, Toyota vios, Honda city or NISSAN Almera.

• caring on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:09 pm

At that time Perodua does not exist. Peroduo should not have been given a full national car status cause they just rebadge Toyota. No good for country in long term.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:38 am

#12 proven cronies ruling in proton. Go cry of bad business and got RM 100m loan! That is exactly the reason sinking not only proton but the country. (where the loan $ come from?) Which bank issue the loan? That bank will get RM 100M bad debt in return!

#15 ii – managed by professionals? Since when all Datuk become professionals..LOL

• C.P. MOHAN on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:44 am

TDMM has not been PM from 2003. Typical government-man MM statement. I believe this guy (MM) who is not a businessman but a bureaucrat lacks passion and vision, the necessary ingredient for business. most of us knew the problem at PROTON more than 20 years ago, let me copy my earlier comment on this issue. “TDMM initiated PROTON, it never took off because people entrusted to lead thought of PROTON as a another job because they lack both passion and vision the reasons why we are behind South Korea”.

• ong ke teat on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:52 am

don’t forget, several Bs from the RM13 Bill surely ended up in some cronies account..thats i’m pretty sure..

• Syedhussein on Apr 02, 2016 at 9:53 am

P1 is no more a GLC so MITI should just let its major shareholder DRB-Hicom to manage this company without any interference.
    DRB conglomerate has so many big brands under its automotive arm.
    No more grants and all the crap cos Govt is not an ATM.
    Why wanna micromanage and pity the vendors when the main company is ailing?
    Please MITI
    You have more pressing issues at hand and you should start by revamping the NAP.

• panjang on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:03 am

Look at the big pictures…as long as the company has politically influenced personnel holding major position then it wont get anywhere.We are talking abt running a business here,not charity.
    Proton fault?
    Nope…
    Gov fault?
    Definitely….

Let the automaker run free…totally free.
    then it will either die or prosper…not sucking us up.

• waters on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:06 am

Cat is out of the bag. Time to bungkus or be sliced and sold.

• Samad Jain on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:23 am

Proton, go and seek PM Najib. He know many super rich Arabs that would donate money unconditionally.

With such huge donation, Proton status would exceed BMW, Ferrari etc.

Syukur ada Najib
    Syukur ada Arabs Kaya

• It’s not a surprise to know how screwed Proton is. Looking as taxpayer perspective, Proton should BUNGKUS already. I love to see it resurrected again…but how many time the same shit..the SINS of the past leadership should korek balik, make a documentary, humiliate them so the next new management don’t do a single shit..Probably Al-Jazeera should make this documentary…

• Mana 13.9 Billion?? Lost to stubborness, stupidity and pride of one man

• Proton failure is Gov failure too, no need to write a long story,
    1. who hold the proton share before?
    2. who is the vendor?
    3. who take politic into proton?
    4. is it any transparency policy to appoint vendor?
    5. customer complaints in the past, any action taken?
    6. low quality of service centre, are proton take any action?
    All answer is “NO”.
    Next step is even get the money but still remain loss and close shop is not far for proton.

• oh mak lu cina on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:22 am

DRB-HICOM:

You own your own bank what, print your own money la!

• oh mak lu cina on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:23 am

DRB-HICOM print your own money. Bank and proton can sama-sama mampus…

• FIST (Member) on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:55 am

crap, only after Tun M is out you dare to come out with this statement. No balls minister.

saying that tax forgone amounting to RM13bil is also poor excuse. just see how many tax waived to attract FDI as well?

But proton is crap as well, driven by those who only want to serve their own interest especially sampah mahaleel. Just see how he’s managing BAM. All this at the cost to the rakyat.

• Dont Blame TOK PA for this matter. The person that we should blame is MAHATHIR and all his cronies for all this shit happens

• Neymar on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Tutup kdai please.. if nokia can be cokia,proton can also be roti prata

• maidin on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:07 pm

not sustainable due to spoon feed obligation that proton must carry out through their whole operation, take care some invisible hand that always interrupt their operation, handcuffed in building their creativity, untouched lousy vendor that cannot be sacked out, high turnover and cost operation that intentionally forced to them to bear…pity proton

• observateur on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:51 pm

MITI didn’t dare to mention this out loud, eh? Lol…

• triplew on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:10 pm

LOL I’m surprised it took decades for them to figure this truth~~~~ :D

• china cars are known to be coffins on wheels, maybe they might be interested in reviving proton and acquire proton’s know how in safety and lotus group,

dont laugh at proton’s expertise…., sure their powertrain is rubbish, but safety now is up to par

• Bomoh on Apr 02, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Don’t laugh at China’s expertise, now it’s Proton that’s going to the grave and have its coffin nailed by the rakyat

• Ahmadjr on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Hire a foreign professional in automotive sector. You can’t go forward with kaki bodek management. Look how well MAS is doing

• Not only its business model, but oso its car model… all sucks. How u can sustain if your cars are not attractive. Proton kena belajar… pelajaran pertama ialah belajar mendengar.

• I rather they spend RM13.9b on public transports than on national cars.

• B-Unggul on Apr 02, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Well, everybody seems to ‘cuci tangan’ at this time.

Is the big G suddenly ‘amnesiac’, that the trouble they blame on Proton is also due to their responsibilities at that time, prior 2012? Now, the burden can be put on another shoulder, even now they dare say this and that.

Well, talk is cheap. 2-factory issue lah, marketshare lah, those didn’t just happen post-handover.

Btw, i’d see that maybe the belt-tightened G is doing a tough decision on taking that stance. I get it. But some rather think that you don’t just go public with that. The blaming game probably will just incur more harm than good. And I’m not just saying from the brand’s perspective alone.

……

With that said, I’d say Proton should just get restructured. And get the visionary leader that you desperately needs. Even if it means you need to bow down a bit.

Close down Shah Alam plant, if it’s a more sound strategy. And please, streamline your products. Tighten up your QC (important). Hire better PR, don’t just let your products sell by themselves.

For whoever still left at Proton, you should feel bit more ‘patriotic’ to the brand that you represent. At times, your job left a lot to be desired. From one end to another. Please be fair to the hardworking bunch in your org. Sungguh sayang sekali, more often than not I’d feel that your products are over-engineered for what it is. And that’s a feat for such a low-volume, domestically-focused, value-oriented player, that also haven’t attracted as much love anymore. Even the G that made you “the poster child” of the price gap issue in the first place, changed their tune a bit. You guys should know better how dire the situation is.

All the best, and good luck Proton. You gonna need that. After all, the Tesla Model 3, that got almost same Preve ‘tonggek’-look bottom profile it’s being critisised for, fares super well in preorder. Well, seems luck works in strange ways.

• U might say that Gov airing P1 problems is bad, however Najib is all for transparency but at the right time. Since Tun M left, now is the right time. And isnt that what all them Pakarfags r clamouring for?

I do agree with the rest until u mentioned over-engineered. Safety is a USP of P1 and it shud be over-engineered. MY pipu shud reject all moving coffins and get cars with proper safety. Its not just for u, its for ur famili too. And the fact that to balance pipu expectations on P1 to have high refinement but at low prices is just too much, we must be realistic.

As for Tesla, all I can say is percentage of market share per population.

Najib doesnt wan to kolos P1 becoz it affects a lot of pipu lives. But if it continue to bleed the country with no ending, he will take the scalpel and do what the ‘gud doctor’ din dare to do: cut out the cancer.

As one who supports local innovation & industry, I wud be very sad to see it die. So I really hope P1 can turn around like MAS, even if it needs to layoff pipu whom certainly will then support Party Hard. I belip this the hopes of Najib as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
      • Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Najib all for transparency? Ha H ah ah ah ah ah ha ha hah ahha hah a hah ha hah

• Peter on Apr 04, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Either you’re 1 of the 10% of pipu who’re awake or 90% of the pipu are dumb /irrational. For politician like najib, as a pm, it’s impossible he did everything wrong. But just interpret the good point and forget the big pic, you’re labelled as a fan. Someone who keep on highlight the selected good points, admit few selected mistakes, and missed the whole focus!

• Hentamajela on Apr 02, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Wei mustapa mohamad cakap tak serupa bikin la….perodua kereta nasional lagi ker,ker kerajaan sekarang ni dah buta..ada otak pikir la…

• Wee fuk yew on Apr 02, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Knew this would happen 30 years ago. An expensive ego trip for one. An agonizing journey for millions.

• Consumer on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Agreed for the abolishment of the protection after a certain years from now on, along with the gradual decrement of excite duty. End goal the local p1, p2 need to be real competitive and independent with a much more cheaper price across brands for Malaysian!

• David on Apr 02, 2016 at 6:52 pm

If I may:

Proton is about industry development. COncept to design to development to engineering to manufacturing. The full works. Cost a whole lot.

Perodua is just manufacturing. With some minor customisation at best. Your Perodua is just a TOYOTA. No development costs.

Do the math properly and ask where we want to be in the next 50 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Supporter on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Yes, and we Malaysia pay the cost. Now, we say:”No more!”

Want to support Proton? Give ‘donation’ lah from your piggy bank. Support with your own money

• Caring on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:24 pm

In long term, it is better to keep Proton. I think it is a mistake by the Government to grant full national car license to Perodua. It is just another Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Don't Care on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:55 am

Close down Proton… along with the ‘Nasi Lemak’ vendors that only know how to eat, sleep and provide low quality parts

• Nasi Lemak is Time mag top 10 most healthiest breakfast in the world. If u can belip Time about Najib, then u shudnt diss them about nasi lemak too, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Pro Tun on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Why john so free to troll in Paul Tan? No work to do after eat and sleep?

• Tong Sampah on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:57 am

with car industry moving towards
      autonomous driving, stopping, full electric, hybrid..
      proton cant even comply C02 emission, safety..
      we not even tough quality and design yet.
      proton has no piece in 10 years..but only bolehland
      people world wide looks for improvement, and bolehland look for excuses to improve for 35 years due to cronies..

• You know what’s best for business? Close down Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Yes for loser like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Yes, we are all losers because Proton is losing the country RM25 million/month. The only difference is you are a stupid loser that still support the cause

• onatree on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:48 pm

But the gomen get in tax is much more from p1 than 25mil.

That’s not including creating jobs, industrial development, skills etc.

• if proton close shop today, what makes you think taxes be reduced and ap abolised?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • accountant on Apr 03, 2016 at 1:38 am

I think we will at least save RM25 million/month. Sounds good?

• Their unicorn of a Dear Leader whispered to them so.

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Still talking about Dear Leader. Your Proton is an example of how your Government thinks and run things. There are hundreds of GLCs like Proton.

• Still think change at all means and costs was such a gud idea? Two words: Is…. St….

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:40 pm

typical loser, blaming others when you yourself losing money

• P2macai on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Typical loser, no fight, no knowledge. Politicians = all parties won in election . Not only one party

• Derrick on Apr 02, 2016 at 11:43 pm

After so many years they finally realised it’s not sustainable. kek.

• Henry on Apr 03, 2016 at 10:42 am

It is unsustainable from the very beginning. After the fact everyone can sound clever like what you are doing now.

• Low Budget on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:23 am

Ever since the 1st Saga model was out, the smart Malaysians already said it won’t be sustainable.

• noticeME on Apr 03, 2016 at 12:26 am

COngratulation. Today I learned.

Competitive = Money Printer

Quality of Product < Sales of Product

Investment = Pak Turut

Priority = Money

Great. Malaysian automotive industry was a mistake … with this kind of pride. Just can't imagine if Indonesian have their own car , sure they will come here by ferry no matter what it takes just to "menganjing" with their own product. And that if Indonesians , what if Pinoys? Our pride never match their , Malaysia Boleh? Malaysia Boleh Blah got la!

• Heng Lee on Apr 03, 2016 at 12:43 am

‘iii. About three years ago, Proton almost struck a deal with a renowned foreign player but at the last minute decided not to proceed with the proposal. Had this collaboration been realised, we may have seen an improved performance by Proton in the subsequent years.’

Now too late, no foreign player available any more.

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:18 pm

White man not stupid la. Why they want to deal with crony and tongkat practices? Why they want to give free directorship for?

• Wiwiwiwiw on Apr 03, 2016 at 2:40 am

Question, who would want to partner with Proton?

• Jaguh kg on Apr 03, 2016 at 8:04 am

Protons destiny in limbo..even the founder dump his own baby…perdana suppose to be launched no signal at all???? Suzuki now looking left and right…omg!

• ♨ hotter on Apr 03, 2016 at 10:28 am

Why government give proton to drb hicom if they don’t have funds to run proton.

• ♨ hotter on Apr 03, 2016 at 10:29 am

Sell proton to private Malaysian tycoons.

• Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Not even a single malaysian tycoon will buy Proton. Trust me on that. Maybe Mr john from here will buy.

• Aikon on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:23 am

No. A foreign party should come in. Malaysian tycoons will not be able to have the numbers to compete internationally, nor the experience and foresight to take the new entity to greater heights. No track record and it could very well be a trial and error situation. The company cannot afford to risk that now. These days, it is not good enough to be a big fish in a small pond.

• Peaceaim on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:37 am

If government really want to support Proton, they should buy Malaysian products first. Nowadays, many gov agencies are using foreign marque. Kastam with CRV, Hospitals with Livina, JPJ with Fortuner, JKR with Xtrail etc etc. What is wrong with Prevey, Exora and Saga. Remember back then when all gov cars are Pajero, bought in bulk from DRB.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 03, 2016 at 7:44 pm

what is right with Preve , Exora, and Saga?

The are cheapest since protection scheme.
      No fuel efficiency, No quality, and No safety.

You dont know what is wrong? LOL

• roslan on Apr 03, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Some people still want Govt to support P1.
    This is a sinking vessel and you want to Govt to continue supporting it?
    This is a perfect example of “John’s” moving coffin company.
    Plug the leaks , chop the bloated R&D team & workforce.stop over production and limit the amount of models. And perhaps sell off Lotus.
    Forget about the 10,000 loss of votes threat cos P1 might not live to see GE14 is it continues losing
    2 mil a day.
    Tan Sri also feeling the heat too cos he is TM’s blue eye boy.

• Pls read what I comment above. I do want Gov to aid P1, but itself must show willingness to change and adopt a more business-like operations models.
      In the past, it has been shackled to the whims of a past-due-date geriatric who builtup the automotive experts but dun allow them to run with whats best for P1.

Now that hes gone, Najib has laid down the terms to remain in existence: either commit to be a professionally run business entity which will unlock more grants, or stay as Tun M’s toy which will forfeit further help.

P1 has changed from before and it has brought us something different than just the cheap car bashers clamour for; it gave us the choice of having safer cars. Thats why I stress that P1 must move away from its Jepunis moving coffin roots (which others r still willingly stuck in). We ASEAN lives do matter, and the only way to secure this is by having our own brand/control instead of dictats from them foreign overlords we worship. Lotus and its engineering arm can help with the tech we need. So throwing them away is not so gud.

I do agree that P1 must make the difficult call and rationalise the company despite send the multitudes of ex-vendors/ex-workers into Party Hard’s waiting arms. Thats wud show just how magnanimous Najib is in running the country & politics. Just like what he did to MAS despite the earlier huha from PH politikus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Where are Proton fanboys??? on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:16 pm

there are many johns out there. blind and cannot think on their own.

• Wan Der Lowe on Apr 03, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Proton/DRB-Hicom, do consider to appoint Syed Zainal back into Proton. He has good vision, determination, business plans. Last but not least, he received lots of morale support from the public.

• Proton. Easy way out now is.. Rebadge evo X.. Sell at 130k.. Confirm queue 1year long

• cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2016 at 5:34 pm

I just come in here for the comments

• Tong Sampah on Apr 03, 2016 at 7:42 pm

TESLA was using LOTUS at the beginning and becoming what it is today. Model 3 selling over 200K units over 2 weeks.

Proton having the LOTUS and no vision. All the cronies wanted is suppliers but Proton dying because of them.

The concept cars was marvelous design, and that should bring LOTUS back. See how LOTUS do, get a high-end car TESLA S selling then now model 3.

Proton has no vision, strategy but keeping burning money for their cronies suppliers (since what else can those suppliers does?) I not even surprise the suppliers are just OEM from China factory. Create jobs? NAH.

• Close Proton on Apr 03, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Please close Proton ASAP. Don’t waste time and waste our money!!!!!!!

• local temptation on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:13 pm

If you guys (Proton) really wanna to sustain, listen to the rakyat voice. 4 main things:

1) End product with proper design (fresh new modern look)
    2) Look after the engine in term of average of every aspect (safety, performance, saving fuel, etc (any relevant))
    3) Worth to buy: Value for money
    4) Time. What are you guys waiting for? Release your “rival product” now!

All the basic 4 will move you on, not only “on”..but “above” the track…

• Good, I dun know why most others only give close down comments. No brain to think ady

• Selamatkan Malaysia on Apr 03, 2016 at 11:51 pm

#SaveMalaysia
    #EndCorruption
    #CloseDownProton

• Mustang on Apr 04, 2016 at 8:46 am

Proton is one of the OEM with the most staff.

However, for every single project on every single detail they rely on vendors and consultant.

Better tell them to do it themselves.

or a better solution:

Sack them all. And keep few of them just to sustain the company. And continue outsourcing to vendors/consultants. Eventually the sacked ones will join the vendors/consultants.

Learn to do your own work la. Not outsource2 work, goyang kaki, order here order there, n wait for malam jumaat.

LJ!

• Hamil on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:32 am

This may come as a surprise but many in the govt will be relieved when proton closes down

• this RM1.5 billion loan is not grant.

Ok lah close down proton la easy.
    lets buy ford chevy.. oh wait they also asked their govt for loan last time..

no meh this is potong dont deserve anything.. oledi owed govt RM15 billion…err they also paid RM40 billion taxes in return..all this while… but of cos they just see 15 billion

lets buy perodua cos they make good cars… errr no they make good bumpers.. n all tax payers money go to daihatsu/toyota which super rich already..already like 25 years like that… brain drain?..no.. not according to their logics

monkey mentality malaysian?? yes.. of cos no.. for them best govt is one who sell the lands for money to balance their account.. thats accountability for them.. oh god.

Welcome to Malaysia

• notakata on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:42 pm

When they buy car they just see the badge, not the safety qaulity. Even takata airbags also they praise

• Deadpool on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:46 am

Proton face is as thick as najib, close shop la. waste our money for your lousy shit. proton is not serving malaysian, it’s serving government’s cronies pocket, and throw shit to malaysian. now you talk cock and think we will pity you? screw yourselves. what vendors will not sustains if proton continues the same sales and business model? those venders pocket already thick thick gao gao eat until cannot eat liao then talk cock now? EVEN PM NAJIB, THE FATHER OF PROTON NVR REALLY USE PROTON THEMSELVES, YOU EXPECT MALAYSIANS WILL RESPECT PROTON?

• Last time I read restriction like this it is not in bolehland but in some ist countries

• Bernard on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:29 pm

What a shocker? Really???