Car prices on track for 30% drop by 2018 – Azalina

JB09_010815_AZALINA

Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said, a minister in the Prime Minister’s department, revealed that vehicle prices are on track to be reduced by 30% come 2018. According to the New Straits Times, the minister said in a written reply to Lim Lip Eng, the Segambut MP, that prices will be reduced in stages. Earlier, Lim had quizzed the minister about the government’s promises to reduce car prices and reduce toll rates during GE13.

“Various efforts have been undertaken, including the granting of incentives to reduce the amount of excise duty payable to companies of car manufacturers involved in local value-added automotive components,” she said. “These incentives are seen to be beneficial as the total price reduction recorded in 2013 was 3%, followed by 7% in 2014 and 2.7% in 2015.”

Turning her attention to ongoing discussions about toll rate hikes, Azalina said that since 2008, the government has been in negotiations with highway concessionaires to reduce the financial strain put on users by increasing toll rates. “The negotiation is aimed at finding the best mechanism to ease the burden of tolls to achieve a win-win situation for all parties involved, namely the government, concessionaires and consumers,” she said.

“Among the results of the negotiations to date are; to postpone an increase in highway toll rates since the past eight years, from 2008 until October 14, 2015,” she exclaimed. The minister highlighted that other results from the government’s negotiations include the abolishment and early closure of eight tolls on six highways, reducing toll rates for highways and improving concession agreement terms so that toll rate hikes are no longer automatically justified.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:22 pm

What lies is this little girl talking about? We see car prices going higher and higher. Is there something wrong with this Minister?

Past few months, all car brands have hiked up their prices. this is far away from Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. Maybe this Minister should go back to Sports Ministry and sort out the RM100 million missing. This also she cannot sort out, despite being in her time too, she want to come here and bluff the people of Malaysia.

Malaysians are already paying 3X the global prices of cars. Not only paying 3X the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down badly of safety features. We get slapped twice. Even VSC pun tak ada. And top models only got 2 airbags.

Oh yes, we get slapped thrice (3X) cause our cars are lower quality CKD too as opposed to other countries getting pure CBU units.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 273 Thumb down 5
    • MeToo on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Just ask this Aza guy to stop yapping lah…

Recently everytime he opens his mouth nonsense will come out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 3
      • hahaha on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:37 pm

pants on fire from now until 2018…!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
        • Gargantia on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Hello, Datuk Seri are you still driving Government provide car??? So you must not know current Malaysia market price 2013-2015 compared to 2016??? Is increase more then 10%-20%! AND NOT reduce at all !!! When will the minister STOP misleading the RAKYAT !!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
          • So when 2018, price drop 30%. Back to square one. Tipu punya minister.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
          • Really on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:22 pm

You won’t believe what cars he/she have. Porsche, Merc, Smart, Vellfire just to name a few. How could she afford a luxury lifestyle like that on a minister’s salary? Well, she was in the Sports and Youth Ministry…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
          • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Where does she get her money to live in a Rm10 mil bungalow and maintain those expensive cars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
          • Every1canTalk on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Don’t blame her, look at her hair, she just wake up from sleeping and the month function faster than her brain!!!
            And this is unique skill from our ministers, hurrayyyyy!!!!!!!! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
          • WT Fuchhh on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Of course , the price will drop 30% by 2018, that’s becos Pakatan Harapan will be the gomen by then. Dumb ! Dumb !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
          • Gomen la on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Car price reduce. Maybe. But surely toll price, fuel price, sugar price, insurance price, every rise rise rise. Sapa untung?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • B-Unggul on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Becos of pakatan harapan? Same tokok singsong kind of peeps, “facelifted”.

Our political scene need new, fresh ideas.

• VW already drop more than 30%.
            You don’t know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • hailthepurist on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:55 pm

dude, just admit ur govt hv failed..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
        • alldisc on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:23 pm

2018 is the time for GE14. They will make it another manifesto and after winning it tend not to remember anything about such promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • VW already drop more than 30%. So janji ditepati?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • OMG…Merry go round and round…U pls shut up, no one will trust u. puihhhh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Just reduce taxes and excise duties in the selling price by 30% for starters. No need to spoonfeed companies with incentives. Susah sangat ke boy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Albert on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Muniandy,I want to vomit when I saw this picture of the tomboy tokok.
      Bolehland cant even know how to chose a mentri with gaya and protocol,just low class…pengemis mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • PeliaqSama on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:39 pm

“as opposed to other countries getting pure CBU units”
      yeah, like those Thai’s CBU units. So ‘pure’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Nancy on Apr 08, 2016 at 6:27 am

Oh my goodness…. !! “On track”……………….. In fact is getting higher. Stripping safety features here & there.

• Aidi Ghazi on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:27 pm

We’ll believe it when we see it!

Currently not happening at all…

• Ah Kai on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Ok la bro Azalina..Whatever la..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
  • Johairi on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Prices have gone up recently. Not down!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
  • Muhammad on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:27 pm

If it’s decreasing, then why are almost all car sellers increasing the car price by 4-9% in 2016??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Malaysians have suffered too long with high car prices. Now, this Minister come here to insult us. najib promised us 3 years ago that car prices will come down by 30%. Next election is 2018.

The problem in Malaysia is that, most car companies are indirectly owned by the Government of Malaysia. Go and see each car company, it is the Government or a GLC which is the majority shareholder.

So, the Government got no incentive to reduce car prices at all to ease the burden of the rakyat. the Ministers have a wonderful life. Each Minister swims in tens of millions of ringgit, if not billions. Although their official gaji is RM10k to RM25k, somehow, the Ministers have tens and even hundreds of million of ringgit.

They don’t know how the average Malaysian suffer. Lately every household is complainign that their TNB bills are RM500 to RM1000. Food is so pricey. Petrol is so high for an oil producing country. Even our Internet is one of the most expensive in the world.

Our Ministers don’t know how we suffer. They tell us to tanam jagung and tanam kangkung. Then even our PM has told us, don’t worry, can buy whole chicken for RM1. Infact, he said RM1 for whole chicken is sold everywhere in Malaysia and Najib himself buys this RM1 whole chicken to eat.

I have travelled all over Malaysia looking for this RM1 whole chicken. Can anyone here help me find this RM1 whole chicken please?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 8
  • B-Unggul on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:29 pm

So the grand scheme is by granting incentives to the car manufacturers, hoping that they’ll lower the price eventually?

What a joke. See how those car companies pocketing extra monies from their EEV incentives.

In the end, the big G will only collect less tax. Better mechanism should be put though, since you are the one on the ‘rugi’ side too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Lemme guess, later vw super discount bcos want to clear old stock also they claim as gomen initiative.
    Puii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • tiuliaseng on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:30 pm

GE2013 promise until 2018 .. wait 5 year still cannot see any reduction in car price .. wait until 2018 you wont be the goverment anymore liao la .. dato rambut bersepah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • So, with mahathir out of the picture will you actually do it ?

• another old promise recycling

by 2018 it will be “car price reduce by 2020” XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • heynari on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Wha? with the recent price increase even by Proton? Speechless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Before you all starts condeming, look at her head firsr, the look at her hair.

Do you think she’s in the right mind to speak? Tanjung rambutan said a patient escaped a couple of years ago. I guess we all know who is it now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
  • hahaha on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Drop just in time for the next GE. How convenient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • zamer on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:39 pm

i stopped reading after “Azalina said that since 2008, the government has been in negotiations with highway concessionaires to reduce the financial strain put on users by increasing toll rates.”

WTF are they doing for 8 years in negotiating? things can happen with 3-4 weeks discussion and studies. the most also 3-4 months.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • What a sicko!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Lantan on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Tong tong tong… Thats the sound of cakap kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Wilson on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Just cut out the ESC, ABS, EBD and quantity of airbag.

• Kerajaan Menipu Rakyat Puas Puas on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Azalina, your boss, whom you kipas, promised before the last election, that all car prices would be reduced by 30%.

Ask your boss to honour his promise. He promised the nation that he reduce car prices 30%. Don’t come here and goreng to the rakyat.

Azalina talk big but why no action on the AP boys who are minting billions at the expense of the 30 million Malaysians suffering with high car prices?

The last big paper/NAP they were to scared to touch on the AP Kings. Kenapa takut? The AP Kings are the main cause car prices in Malaysia is so expensive and collapse of our potential trillion dollar car industry which we gave to Thailand.

It is solely because of Mahathir and his AP kawan kawan, as well as inaction by Bogus MAI that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM80,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM38,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that as CKD drops the cost a lot. In all probability, a CKD Camry in raw form is hardly US$12k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
  • Lance on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Come 2018 you and your dumnos will no longer be here anyway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • abe we on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:46 pm

turun mendenye…

• Concern Citizen on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:46 pm

I dont believe it.

• Rosmah on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:48 pm

wow, cant believe this minister. let me know what car drop price? ahhhhhhhh only Volkswagen so far. haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • jshy662 on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Eh… giving discount to clear old stock doesn’t equal to price drop… actually VW has increase their selling price for all their lineup… so where got price drop???

• Wilson on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:19 pm

He, i mean she, based on the wonton mee u paid for everyday. If wonton mee become more and more expensive, and the car price remain the same, she assume the car price is droped. Roti canai also can. Durian also can.

• Jimmy on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:51 pm

I am asking for your X in 2017 or 2018.

Show your effort first.

Kenang budi rakyat golongan rendah yang menyokong anda; we expect Honda City V to be 65k, according to your calculation. (is it the grade V that has 6 airbags + esp ? correct me)

We don’t want S-class to be very accessible.

• Driver on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Mau PRU baru nak macam ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Still wagging the same carrot to kencing the people? What? You think we still live in the last decade?

• Wiwiwiwiw on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha oh hee hee ha ah ooh hee ha ha And I thought my jokes were bad

• -BigBalls- on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:03 pm

She’s right you know, they can actually force all car manufacturers to strip down the specs to bare bone and then reduce the price by 10-15%… tadA!!! Janji Dicapati!!! Vote BN

-BigBalls-

• Firdaus on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:07 pm

It’s exactly 2 years to go before the next GE

Are they planning to reduce 5% every 4 months from
    now till May 2018?
    The 30% is only achievable that way…..because she said in stages!

• 2018? Its GE year and definitely it will be in the next election promise (bullshit) again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Lolol on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Am sure it’s the exact same track which N is using to bankrupt the country.

• tuan azalin on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Fool me once shame on me. Fool me twice shame on you b*atch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Kalau tak bodoh bukan menteri BN la namanye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Papa kedana on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:20 pm

‘Very good in accounting’ indeed. 10 years strategic plan to reduce vehicle price by 30% is probably right. The vehicle price in 2018 would remain the same or higher with GST added, factoring currency depreciation of RM or appreciation of USD or YEN. Most of the car prices went up this year due to forex. Within this period also, petrol subsidy has been removed too. There will be alternatives to compensate the leakages of ‘income’ in the books. Ultimately, vehicle price in 2018 may be ‘relatively cheaper’ as compared to 2008 price. But we have to endure permanently with GST (every RM spent to upkeep and maintain the vehicle) and free floating petrol price.

• voDevil on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:20 pm

haloooooooo..!

some selected cars/models did dropped due to the EV incentives BUT majority of the cars dropped prices due to pressures to meet their sales monthly sales target due to the overall unfavorable economic conditions:
    – ringgit value dropped
    – slowdown in FDIs into the country
    – increase in other expenditures due to the implementation of GST

in a nutshell, automotive players are selling at a marginal margins or in some cases even at a lost…

• TeslaOwner on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Whatever *he* is smoking, I want some of it.

• Plainbullshit on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Everyone know this is bullshit

• tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Can become Maslan’s second wife liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Deadpool on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:35 pm

reduced 30% by 2018? no problem, government increase the price slowly up to 30% until 2017, and reduce it again by 2018. problem solved. cheat malaysians? last election already said reduced but increased instead? why so coincidence will be reduced by 2018? simply because it is the next election. fak off you cheaters, 2018 you will be bye-bye case also, najibai and stupid government.

• i think someone can’t differentiate well between man and women….up and down…. increase or decrease… black and white…

• Lembu Jinni on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:50 pm

This is a Scam/Fraud!

• Jobless on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Helo kak, today not April Fool, dah seminggu dah, bangun dan sikat rambut lah

• john is otak batu on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:37 pm

She should say “On track to lose another 30% parliment seat on coming PRU” then rakyat will believe

• lesbian talkok on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:41 pm

How did sHE became a minister … putrajaya never fails to entertain like circus clowns.

Putrajaya ministers always promises years ahead … as a safety net … by the time comes… people will forget and they probably no longer in that ministry and answerable

• takNakP1 on Apr 07, 2016 at 3:50 pm

yeah… right… price reduced my @ $ $.
    what used to be selling at 100K CBU was reduced to 95K after CKD together with removal of features & accessories has a 5% reduction in price.

the fact is there is also reduction in value and it is also possible the removal of features & accessories value is more than the 5% price reduction. Distributor may get bigger profit margin hence pay more corporate tax.

end result, it is possible overall tax collected is the same but distributed to various source.

• current market conditions, retail price has gone up but discounts are aplenty, this allows almost zero dp..car prices especially from japan should be lower but manufacturers are keeping them high in the name of second hand value..clearly they are making huge profits..

• Shut up n annoying statement made. I don see any decreasing in car price. May be she talked about second hand car price ? Yes indeed, second hand car price dropped a lot when u made trade in or sell to used car dealer. Don think on those unproven promises made.

• A.B.U on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:06 pm

2years before next GE, car price from 70k to 100k, 1month before next GE, car price down from 100k to 70k, and all menteris with proud will declace BN keep their promise, WTF

• Wtf? High on drug is it?
    Where d sign of price drop?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:22 pm

On track? Are u talking out from your arse? Prices just went up for all the major brands and u say it will go down in two years time.

• ayamjantan on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Awak sendiri pun tak laku tak ada siapa.yg mahu sibuk dgn harga kereta pegi main jauh2 lah lu betina tak ada guna.

• Car prices drop by 30% by 2018. (Tnc apply) Only for 2015/16 model.

• applegreen on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:19 pm

if drop 30% we could see

1)bmw 330 at rm210k
      2)VW golf highline at rm115k
      3)Most b-segment cars (city,vios,etc) at around rm65k
      4)ford focus at rm99k
      5)Porche macan starting price at rm320k

• Jay Law on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:18 pm

give her the d

• nasi_dagang on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Guys, make sure we change GOV next election.

• Ootai on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:43 pm

2018?? Ha ha…peninsular bn ministers shall migrate to sabah & sarawak. Bye bye all promises.

• Err .. Comb please.. Anyone?

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Lying is sinful.

Just a reminder.

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Lets vote.

Those who believe her, green thumbs up here.
    Those who believe she is lying, red thumbs down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
  • kungkung car on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:26 pm

ya, ya….if price really drop, as this man-like woman have said……the Cows can fly aeroplane….

• Simon says on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Aya, increase first by 50% then reduce by 30% mah, then janji dicapatikan.

• Bslee on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:46 pm

If you can believe what government say, then larut/taiping will not rain for a year. What do the Ministers now doing are to white wash, softening or blatantly overturn what went wrong in the administration. Stupid as it looks but these are their modus operandi.

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Siakap senohong gelama ikan duri.
    Bercakap bohong lama lama jadi menteri.

• Apalah on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:07 pm

It’s ‘she’

• Bernard on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Should be 80% , then maybe car prices will be justified.

• Come on guys, the Gov is telling the truth. VW already drop more than 30%

• Nancy on Apr 08, 2016 at 12:37 am

Oh my goodness..! Look like she doesn’t know anything about car price which Rakyat keep on monitoring since Najib promise. OH MY GOODNESS… My head hurts.

• they just want to get more votes before “erection”…lol

• palgo47 on Apr 08, 2016 at 7:44 am

I believe he’s talking about secondhand cars made in 2013 will be reduced by 30% in 2018. Seems legit.

• Ootai on Apr 08, 2016 at 8:54 am

For all your anger, come 2018, the people of pengerang, just like in pekan, will still vote this smooth operator. Lol. People will never learn.

• Hang Tuah on Apr 08, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Baru baru saja kereta naik harga. Apa ni orang cakap, macam hidup dunia sendiri, tak baca surah khabar. Kasi discount clear stock jek bukan turun harga. Umno punya Minister memang tidak quality. Tau tak, rakyat semakin miskin, kau Minister semua hidup kaya. Pui….

• ben yap on Apr 08, 2016 at 5:39 pm

our government will use examples such as the VW Drop Everything promo as their initiative for reduce car price.

• Joholan on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:15 am

Oh ya! Spec comes with no steering , seats, wheels and more..