Govt to keep promise of lowering imported car prices by 20-30% in next five years – MITI deputy

Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 10

International Trade and Industry deputy minister Datuk Hamim Samuri has said that the government is committed to ensure that prices of imported cars, especially those with mid-range engine capacities, will be reduced by up to 30%, The Star reports.

“The government will keep its promise of reducing prices of imported cars between 20% and 30% within the next five years,” Hamim said in response to a question by Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli in Parliament.

However, Hamim said the price reductions do not include imported luxury cars, the English-language daily reported. He was not reported to have elaborated on what constitutes a luxury car, or what exactly was meant by mid-range engine capacities.

The imported car price reductions cannot happen immediately, as it could negatively affect the industry, including the used car market, added the MITI deputy.

Driven_Web_Series_F56_MINI_Cooper_vs_Citroen_DS3_vs_VW_Beetle_ 006

“What will happen is that consumers will focus on getting new vehicles and will no longer want to buy second-hand cars,” The Star quoted him as saying.

Hamim also said RM10 billion was generated from excise duties for imported cars, with RM3.37 billion collected in 2011, RM3.44 billion in 2012 and RM3.19 billion in 2013.

The MITI deputy was recently reported as saying that oil companies can start selling Euro 4 and 5 fuel in Malaysia earlier than the gazetted dates. The gazetted introduction dates are September 2015 for Euro 4 RON 97, October 2018 for Euro 4 RON 95, September 2020 for Euro 5 diesel, and finally September 2025 for Euro 5 RON 95 and RON 97.

The correlation between “luxury” and big-engined cars seems to be a trend – it has been made with regards to RON 97 petrol usage, higher road tax instead of paying more for RON 95, as well as a fuel tax on bigger-engined vehicles.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kl fella on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:14 pm

wait for tomorrow’s news, another crackhead from the ministry will announce that the 20 – 30% price reduction within 5 years is not confirmed.. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 205 Thumb down 1
    • kl fella on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:16 pm

oh wait that’s the BN strategy to fish for votes for next GE.. never ending rhyme and it makes me sad so many people still fall for it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 2
      • why only imported cars?????????????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:10 pm

So many empty promises made.

Remember Proton hybrid which should be launched in 2012?

Remember 2020?

Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok lifestyle.

When they are about to harvest billions ringgit from us on GST, it is really easy to say something cheap and pretty to divert our attention.

Talk is cheap, show us your actions.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 2
          • Hamim is Haram on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Any car besides Proton is a “luxury” car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • Where is the 30% Najib Promised Us? on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Now Government is trying to qualify and lie. Najib promised 30% in ALL car prices BUT now, they are trying to say “Only for Imported Cars”. That is the key and catch. Blatant way to cheat Malaysians again.

This is how the Government again, trying to putar belit their words and trying to cheat the 30 million Malaysians.

Seriously, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. they blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? It looks now, they are trying to manipulate what they said and say just for imported cars.

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin recently quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 103
          • MAI Apa Sudah Jadi Dengan EEV? on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Last time that Bodoh Madani from MAI told all car manufacturers to set up EEV and Hybrid in Malaysia because Government wants car companies to invest in Malaysia.

Honda spent hundreds of millions to CKD a few Hybrids here.

Then suddenly, Government pull the plug on hybrid tax incentive.

Honda was dumbfounded.

Come on MAI, why do you lie not only to the 30 Million Malaysians but also to car companies in Malaysia? MAI clearly said that the NAP encouraged manufacturers to CKD in Malaysia.

MAI also said Government is moving to give all tax breaks and reduction in car prices to LOCAL car companies.

Now, flip flop. Government say ONLY Imported cars may get 30% car reduction in prices.

So, did MAI lie to the people and car companies

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
        • carazy on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:26 pm

**cricket sound**

• LimPek on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:12 pm

before GE, “reduce car price 30% ” Najib

after GE, “reduce imported car price 20-30% in next 5 year” Hamim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • ProtonGSC on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:47 pm

5 years ago say will reduce to 30%.

5 years NOW (2014) say will reduce 20%-30%.

5 years later (2020) will say again reduce until 30% on CBU taxes.

Never ending lies by BN and the cronies !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 2
        • Jimmy on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:18 pm

2016 announcement again: we have started to reduce vehicle prices by 30% in the next 5 years.
          Get it?
          It does not affect me, don’t misunderstand; I do not need to wait.

BTW, please fine RM5000 (five thousand ringgit) on those who bully a lot of roadusers by driving at 60km/jam at the fast lane. This, as well as using mobile phone while driving, may indirectly or directly cause deaths of self or others, and therefore are serious offences. Spitting on my windscreen will not kill me; it just serve an intention to teach me to drive more carefully and caringly instead of following ego or recklessly.
          Superman, please don’t come to the Earth, you cannot save this world because if you beat even a small rapist just before the penetration, before the police arrives, you will be judged guilty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • Jimmy on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:22 pm

RM5000 penalty can generate a lot of income to government. And the police officers giving out summons should receive 10% of the amounts as grattitude to encourage them to scrutinise the road for kura-kura at the fast lane and mobil-phone addicts.

• trololol on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:00 pm

forever next 5 years, next 5 years will never come. all i know for the next 5 years i will make sure to not vote for the one keep saying next 5 years while giving him a slap every single day for 5 years the next 5 years and counting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
          • Kzm Fan Boys on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:21 pm

kzm will soon come in and say, Kerajaan sudah tunai janji. Karajaan BN Prihatin dan kami rakyat Malaysia mesti bersyukur kepada kerajaan yang amat mulia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:31 pm

RM5000 fine? You must be kidding! 1st – The law enforcers prefer to drink teh tarik in mamak stall rather than enforcing laws.
            2nd – THe fine can be ‘reduced’ to RM100 on the spot.

• JB_KIA on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:00 pm

till all the cows come home, get slaughtered, eaten, and turned into shit. The car prices out there are still remain high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Nasi Lemak N.0 on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm

These clowns, crony, pusing pusing.
      spin around!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Yes, pusing-pusing, the latest is they gonna float the price of RON 95 in 10 days time (from December), lets see if it goes cheaper in December to fool you for a month and then go up in 2015.

• Marlboro man on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Why wait 5 years? Why not reduce them today? Do you think people really buy that bullshit? Janji ni dah lama tp tak pernah ditepati.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
    • drMpower on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:06 pm

It seems u are experiencing mind retarding syndrome.
      Be calm and read more. It cures

It has already begun, the reduction. Its through ckd operation. A mitsubishi model already gone down 5-10%. In a single year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 90
      • BLT_CLUB on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Excuse me? The reduction is for imported cars. Last I checked CKD is locally made. I guess you’re the retarded one. I pity you….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • CKD is not price reduction! They already done CKD 20 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • mitsubishi sucks as you do

• ICOMETOBASHSTUPIDPPL on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:51 pm

WHAT WE WANT IS CBU AND CKD BOTH TURUN HARGA YOU IDIOT…

• ICOMETOBASHSTUPIDPPL on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:51 pm

WHAT WE WANT IS CBU AND CKD BOTH TURUN HARGA YOU IDIOT…

• YEAH 10% car price reduction???
        LOL WHAT COUNTRY are YOU LIVING IN?
        EVEN if i look at this optimistically and say it was 5% (which it barely even touches) what about next year 6% GST.
        You think they are so generous? Whatever they give they get in return, don’t be a fool.

• bon bon lol on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:49 pm

bro. 6% gst will reduce the prices of cars in malaysia by a few %.
          reason is when GST is imposed not mistaken service tax will be cut off.

• Detective Conan on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Mitsubishi salesman spotted…

• Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Yes, CKD price is a bit cheaper than before, but still too expensive as compared to car prices in contries where their citizens earn 3-5 times more than us, USA is one prime example. Imported cars are of the expensive variety, not many Malaysians can afford to buy imported cars even if the prices is reduced by 20% immediately.

• MitSuSu on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Boss! tu Mitsusu tersangkut di showroom bertahun-tahun je. Kalo tak bagi discount tak ada org nak angkat… sampai bila nak masuk model baharu? cam!!!

• submarine on Nov 22, 2014 at 2:42 pm

hmmm I think u r half retard. news here says IMPORTED cars reduce, not CKD. oh but why I say half retard? coz ALL prices shd be reduced, not just imported ones!!

• mr. Logic on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:29 pm

talk cock again.. almost 2 years after GE but no sign of car price reduction.. what I saw they only introduce a lower spec with lower price.. that consider cheating..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
  • Black Dog on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Altis or Civic might be luxury cars.

Another WILL BE, MAYBE, STUDY FIRST…bla…bla…bla…until the next GE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • Haunted on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Talking cock again…there will be never ending story…until the GE the car price will still be the same!!! In your dream only will happen!

• This is fast becoming like a lullaby but I refuse to fall asleep, this time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • weeee on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:34 pm

It’s all ‘hangat-hangat tahi ayam’. Or hot-hot chicken sh*t as the english would say it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • spongewai on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm

DENGAR DULU, TAK TAU BENAR ATAU TAK?

• meng meng on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Another 5 years right?
    Senang senang repeat this word 10 times.
    BN can sleep this soft and sweet bed anther 50 year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Macha on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:38 pm

5 yrs ago they said next 5 yrs, today they said next 5 yrs, next 5 yrs they gonna say next 5 yrs again….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • cakapAyam on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Talk.. talk and talk… what is your basis? I can also said I want to be next bill gates within a next 5 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • meng meng on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:43 pm

1 more thing after reduse 20- 30% price for the car…
    but our G will take it back from you other pocket.
    fuel? Toll?
    More road block?
    Increase tax like gst, income tax, dan lain2 tax yg kite tak dapat bayang kan.
    Thanks BN make malaysia become candy crush country….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Next year, Malaysians sure ‘kena kau-kau’ from the G.
      2015 = Year of Barang Naik Teruk unless they declare RM 3000 the minimum wage of ordinary workers and force all employers to pay.

• Bla..bla..bla..bla..bla..blablabla..bla..bla..bla..bla..bla…bla..bla.bla..

• amfin on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:49 pm

TIPUUUUU or as Sabahan will tell you, BUYUUUUK BHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:52 pm

How about we change the government in next 5 years

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
  • Another Fool on the Wall on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Just like a light switch… on then off….off…on…off.. on …off then on…repeat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:53 pm

I will keep my promise to change government in next 5 years.
    The odds of lower car price is actually better with the other government.
    I put my bet on the other side.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • Car-Fans on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Unknown Final Date for this … Main-main cerita je… Bagi hampa siok sendiri je … not the first time mar news given by Menteri Menteri … Tunggu lar hampa … Sampai dah pi Heaven pun .. Harga kereta kat sini cam tu jugak … Believe or Not … U be the judge …

• Another 5 years? We may see the car without accessories.. Maybe you need to top up extra money to get alloy wheels, infotainment, safety features & etc..

• HaHaHaHaHaHaHa on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Do you think this Govt will be around next five year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • The moment i saw the topic, I started laughing.. Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Faridz on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:24 pm

LOL… MITI is a real joke in Governing Body.. Nxt 5 years? not included luxury cars? Imported but not luxury? owh later they will say as most of our car is CKD-ed therefore no reduction. And Luxury car is not included. So in the end, they win. we all just listen. when the time comes, just change them. Thats it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Another round of Talk C_O_C_K .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • torque on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Another 5 years Datuk Hamim? Here, I got a good one for you…in the next 5 years if the price of imported cars still not down your sins will raise 20-30% Datuk! Ok? Good? Bye-bye!

• Ha ha ha… I forgot when was the last time MITI said the same thing about price reduction. Wait? During the last election right?
    By the way, in waiting for Maserati (Official) to come out and start praising the government that keep teir promise. Most likely pro-BN troller

• drMsohai on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:17 pm

That feller worship bangsat najis la. Only drive a 10 year old kenari but pretend to own maserati. Typical hutan mindset.

• waters on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:43 pm

All nonsense. GE was in 2013. This 5 year timeline was announced then. In a month we going into 2015.

He’s got 3 more years, not 5!!!

• I'm sure the government will... on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:44 pm

But not this all talk no show one, the next government.

This one is just full of bulls.

• Change on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Same story diff spin doctor !!

Maybe maybe we should reduce present GOV by 20-30% during the next GE… How bout that

• the rest 29 percent on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:46 pm

if you’re kaya enough (the 29% of you), why bother with discount? just go and spend your money on the expansive cars la. Miskin tapi mau kereta mahal then complaint macam-macam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Faridz on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Why rich getting richer? because they know how to save treasure monetary value. Yes, Most Malaysian are rich and can afford RM500k and above. But why wanna fork out such amount when we can have a lower market price? No one will ever complain about too much money unless u live a meaningless life.

• Faridz on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:58 pm

5 years? im afraid u all wil be gone in less than 5 years. Not sure whether will still be the ruling parties or opposition by then.. Hmm… Drama is yet to be seen.

• i think the manufacturers ada role to play, it is known that they keep prices high so that their 2nd value wont plummet and same time make more profit from tax reduction.umw once declared that they sell tax free prius at a higher price because not to interfere with their altis,vios sales.

• The Real Decoy on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Well, to simply say it. BN knows majority of us wants cheaper cars and the only people who can make it happen are them. Why waste a bargaining chip when they can use it against us for GE14? When the time comes to vote, BN will made promises to us all over again and sadly there are still lots of naive people who listens to them despite being lied to over and over again. Enough is enough, I value my children’s future more than cheaper cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • drMpower on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:15 pm

thank you najib. U are spot on. And delivering your promises in due time

Among the things u already DONE were ckd operations and tax exemptions on EEV programmes. A few german cars already reduced by 5-15%. And also not to mention many japanese models already being sold CHEAPER than they first sold before u made ur promises.

An already CKD honda model, even sold around 5% less than their actual price these days. And it the RRP not the end of year discount they giving!

and if we are to compare again, then i am afraid we only enhancing ur strength and deliveries of ur promises.

Thank you najib but i would like u to reduce the ron95 petrol price not because of i am asking u, but the downtrend of the oil trading price nowadays

Keep up the good work najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • Dato dato, Tan sri tan sri, tun tun, datuk sri datuk sri.
    Put it simple. Show the rakyat the mechanism. Lay it down so we know our direction. You might say it will affect car distributor & manufacturer. At the end of the day, they will benefit from your plan. If you can table the GST implementation nicely, why not car price reduction plan?
    Enough talking. That was government promise YEARS ago.
    Regards, your friendly keyboard warrior.
    Hahaha!

• ben yap on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:27 pm

BN have been saying that for ages.

i haven’t seen it being materialised. in fact, prices went up like the hybrid.

oh, i need to guard my tongue else they will charge me for sedition.

• Celaka on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Probably just another ‘trick’. We won’t believe till we actually see it.

• YeahRight on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:28 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

Oh wait, that is an old joke… Still funny tho’

Our beloved govt alway trying to put a smile on our faces.

• BLT_CLUB on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Even if they reduce car price other ways will be used the recoup the lost revenue. You all think GST will stay at 6%? They show benchmarks that other countries have higher GST to justify the increase (eg SG 7%) later. The fact is the G is used to a certain type of lifestyle which is hard to cut down… Like when you upgrade to BMW, would your next car be a VW (see what I did there?)…

• Remind me again who created this f!@#$%ing ecosystem? Oh…that old man.

• I am tired picking like …..

• Talk east,talk west, talk…..C… XD

• where's motorhead? on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I hope next year not another 5 years..2016 not another 5 years..

• bn tipu mh on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:54 pm

just change the gov, and PR can immediately approved to -20-30%. problem solved.

• sogullible on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:58 pm

You lots believe words coming out from a politician? #sofunny #gullible #percayalah #kokenegame #hewhewhew

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:01 pm

What are they on about shooting smoke up everyone’s arse again?

Why only imported? What is the logic behind keeping high taxes on CKD or locally built cars? Isn’t this supposed to help the less well off populations?

Why give a tax break for CBU? Wont you want to encourage people to CKD and build local industry. Isn’t what your NAP is all about.

Makes no sense at all.

• Datuk Hamim…please. Don’t come out with stupid statement like what Datuk Maslan always did. You make matter worst.

• Kak Timah on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Butuh laaa……

• luxury car on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:22 pm

dear GOV, pls define luxury car?

ibased on brand name or engine cc?

• tokok on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:38 pm

tala otak punya gov cakap kasi tala otak punya rakyat pecaya

• Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:51 pm

70% of Public transport are very happy with Public transport, we all should switch to Public transport, no need to buy Imported or CKD cars.

• “BULLSHIT” Just reduce the car prices NOW!! Petrol subsidies will be removed by Dec. 1’14 and you want the rakyat to wait 5 years for car prices to be reduced! The way you talk is exactly like the duck backside shitting every way and everywhere.

• carlos on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:23 pm

in1996, BMW e46 328i cost RM180,000.00 approx
    today BMW f30 328i cost RM309,000.00 approx

The government tax structures and duties then and now, not much different.
    How come today got so expensive?
    higher production cost?
    manufacturer making more money?
    dealers getting higher margin?
    Or simply people got more money, and the market responded?
    Inflation is of course a give away

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:55 pm

To answer your question. RM: USD 1996 2.5, Today 3.3

As the base cost due to unfavourable currency increases, the final price will be even higher after taxes and duties.

Then add compounded inflation of give and take some, 2.5% per annum over period of 20 years. Coumpounded inflation will make up that figure all on its own.

Inflation makes the biggest difference, which is why the government is usually very very VERY conservative on its published figure. By my own rough calculations, we should be looking at a figure closer to 3.2%, which means our real GDP (and more importantly per capita GDP) as of next year will likely record a negative growth after expected lower income on crude and comodities.

• Carlos on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Yup, missed that point.
        Import cost simply went up after 97 crisis.

I think forex is the main killer here

• old dog on Nov 22, 2014 at 11:10 am

The Productivity of the country is going south, and the currency will be depreciated.

Japan already shown you with additional tax the outcome of GDP halt, and Gov will have problem to repay the debt.

• das auto on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:58 pm

First of all you are lying. E46 was never available in 1996. That was E36. The E36 318i cost approx 138k back in 1994. Secondly, E46 318i already cost 206k in 1999 after our ringgit shrunk by around 30% from 97-98 financial crisis.

• blackbox on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Can we sue the government for telling lie?

• fooled citizen on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:48 pm

UNTIL TODATE MALAYSIA already missing several auto manufacturer TO SET UP automobile plant.All of them move to THAILAND and indonesia which offers attractive incentive and specialities.does anybody knows how much the rakyat loose just because of proton.??? for an example during Rafidah aziz Toyota approach them but dissmissed cause of the governments stupid policy.now Thai makeS it and GAINING FROM MALAYSIA’S LOOSE

• Dont talk cock la

• kelvinz on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:49 pm

hahaha 5 year……..lets wait ..hahahahahha…
    cakap syok sendiri only. no need to believe anything com out from their mouth

• I don’t think anyone here vote for BN in the last PRU13. So why bother to push them keep their promise? They only make promise to the people who want to support them,hehe.

Do you all support BN after all?

• Zainal on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:29 pm

A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away.- Barry Goldwater

The punishment of wise men who refuse to take part in the affairs of government is to live under the government of unwise men. -Plato

• Beng Beng on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:34 am

I will bang all the girls in the world in the next 5 years !!! This will be much more easier to accomplished than what they said !!!

• he said reduced prices? but he did not say reduce tax/tariff/import duty etc.

so u get the idea…one down one up…end up back to square one

• Frustrated Malaysian on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:11 pm

I remember a story. A guy borrows money his friend and promise to return by TOMORROW.
    On the next day his friend ask the guy to return the money.
    Instead of returning the money he speaks to his friend that he had stated that he will return the money by TOMORROW. On the next day the guy tells his friend that he has promised to return by TOMORROW ! ! ! ! !
    So what is the difference of keeping promise of reducing the car price by next FIVE years ?
    Moral : THERE IS NO ENDING OF TOMORROW, SAME APPLIES TO NEXT FIVE YEARS.