PM: Import car excise duty reduction will collapse used car market, drop income revenue for govt

Reducing excise duties for imported cars will result in the collapse of the second-hand market, said PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. He added that such the government will potentially incur a revenue depreciation in such a move, as it collects RM7 billion a year in import car excise duty, according to a Bernama report.

“We need to look in depth. It is not the time to come up with long-term solutions,” he said at #Tanya Najib: 2013 Budget Live on Astro Awani last night.

Najib said the government must take into account the entire ecosystem that depends on Proton for survival, not just the interests of the national automaker itself.

“Car ownership in Malaysia is one of the highest in the world and I do realise people want a better choice,” he said.

Recently, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) proposed to reduce car prices by auctioning Approved Permits (APs), suggesting that APs for cars should go through an open tender which would result in revenue for the country.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Wisdom on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 535
    • kensomuse on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:17 pm

I don’t agree. Some wants cars with better safety standards that are affordable for the safety of their family and themselves. If that can be seen as not caring, I’d rather be labeled as selfish than to put my family at greater risk with less airbags and other omitted safety features.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 445 Thumb down 9
      • agogo on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:21 pm

kensomuse,
        you misunderstood Wisdom,

he wants to contribute to the govt by paying 150%-300% tax per car for 10 generations la, anak, cucu, cicit, bicit, nicit, bucit, licit, picit, mocit, acit

don’t be so ‘sell-fish’ la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 19
        • Jimmy on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Najib just told most of us what to do in GE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 219 Thumb down 14
          • lovescars on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:51 am

Car prices are expensive because of the AP system. The AP system is to encourage Bumiputera participation in the car industry. But it is a well known fact that 9 out of 10 AP holders just sell their AP to a non-bumi instead of growing the bumiputera car industry. So what is the purpose of the whole AP system?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
        • Obama on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Government should improve the public transport including a more accessible rails and buses. Besides, decrease the subsidize of petrol, not all benefit greatly from the subsidize of petrol, imagine those live in rural area, how many will greatly benefit from the petrol subsidize. A low income group in urban area who ride a motorcycle don’t benefit much compare to those family who own few cars. Use these money to improve our public transport, go green and instead of depend heavily on private transport, this is what Singapore and Europe countries are doing currently.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 5
        • _xXx_ on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:14 pm

PR likes your statement very much, Jibby…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 6
          • jibby boy…u can say bye2 to my vote…its a free country/democratic country- i dont like what u’re selling, count me out

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
        • u dont need to know on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:53 pm

hurmmph even PR take over still will be the same or even worse
          that Anwar talk kok everytime then Malaysia become like Cambodia/Vietnam then congrats to the people that vote all losers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • Wisdom on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:33 pm

See the example of hybrids…

Without tax still 90K over. With government didnt earn anything except 10% sales tax.

Cars like Prius C, Jazz and Insight only RM60K everywhere else. Here?

This shows that the culprit not only the G, but also UMW, Honda, VW, etc… etc…

They dare not reduce the price cost they know Malaysian can ‘afford’….

So even if Ajib set the tax ‘0’, u think cars will be cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 112
        • NoWisdom on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:09 pm

if Insight, Jazz and Prius C is selling at 60k, what will happen to plotong ?

MITI, JibGor, Mahatir, Crony won’t let that happen.

Tax reduction must be across the board.
          The day hybrids will see 60k is the day when plotong and pelodua is @ 25k-30k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 13
          • Daniel on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Consider the sudden rise in price of the Volksvagon Polo GTI. VW said that this was due to government revision of the prices and they had no control over it. IMO, this is the same with Honda, Toyota etc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
          • Insight, Jazz Hybrid & Prius C already no tax. I.e: Jazz without tax (in case no tax lah…) should be priced at RM60K+. However for Hybrid techno, we pay more RM30K+.

True, P1 & P2 will price between RM25K+ to RM40K+. Proton will more cheaper when low the tax, more Rakyat can buy car.

The problem is Gov policy. Gov don’t want revise it. Gov protect P1 & P2 with wrong policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Democratic on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:27 am

It’s really a waste of public funds when we are the ones who proposes ASEAN and we breached the policy by compensation to ASEAN. When you contra off the 7billion excise duty collected against compensation – We lost too!

• bystander on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:37 pm

u think “someone” didn’t earn the AP too? you think MITI don’t exist already? no need to protect plotong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • hantu on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:43 pm

I assume you do not know what is docket price. All car price are subject to big G approval prior to any launching. That explain the hybrid and the rest of the price. Tell me please, why you need approval to dictate the selling price. Please tell me something that i do not know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
        • azhar on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:56 am

gov not only got sales tax..they also got excise tax..the only tax that they dont get is import tax for hybrid..thats why hybrid cars are more expensive than other country..comprende??

• Wisdom on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Bro, this is last years news already. What? live in cave aaa?
            “Full exemption of Import Duty and Excise Duty for CBU Hybrid Cars, Electric Cars, Hybrid and
            Electric Motorcycles to Continue Until 2013”
            http://www.moorestephens.com.my/Tax%20Newsletter_Budget%202012.pdf
            page 10, item no 1.

• Wisdom? You sure or not? on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:42 am

So your argument is that there are two wrongs and righting only one wrong doesn’t help, so let’s not do anything? Brilliant!!! I love guys like you who call themselves “Wisdom”. LMAO!

• alldisc on Oct 06, 2012 at 9:46 am

without tax, prius C is actually cheaper than vios.

but UMW will not do that – its liek commiting suicide.

The prius 1.8 is about same price as Corolla Altis 1.8, but NO… UMW decided to play it safely – setting the price between altis and camry instead. higher profit margin though.

• Wisdom on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:51 am

So majority here dont mind corporate company taken tenth of thousands of their money without reason just to preserve their market.
            While when the G impose tax to give them free hospital & school, they bitch like theres no tomorrow…

• lovescars on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:07 am

Proton is safe now. Proton also got airbags. It is good foreign cars are expensive, at least we Malaysians can support our own Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 41
        • angryman on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:39 pm

don’t u see the problem with plotong? instead of improving the quality, they get those low quality “gadgets” and made up the so call “global car”….u dun even know whether those safety feature works or not…remember they said they are too busy and tat’s y they didn’t perform QA on their cars?

• Kristi A. Orozco on Mar 06, 2016 at 9:47 am

I agree. We are in the same situation. Stuck with a broken car and loss of money paid for problematic car. With non working air bags. We have two children and have been lied to about the car since the beginning but dont have extra monies to get better and reliable vehicle…

• antaras on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:21 pm

You are missing the point. Yes, some want their dream cars to be cheaper but most would just want to live their life easier. Not to be in-debt for most of their life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 325 Thumb down 3
      • Wisdom on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 252
        • Black Dog on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:43 pm

I think our Ah Jib Kor still don’t get it.

He should reduce car taxes gradually (less say 5% a year) while balancing it with the gradual increase of petrol prices (gradual withdrawal of subsidies just like sugar). It’s only fair for everybody. Meanwhile in this period, Proton should buckle up to be on par with other manufacturers for it’s survival.

It’s sickening to hear that he’s protecting used car dealers than the rakyat in general. With the gradual decrease, I’m very sure the used car dealers will also adjust accordingly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 6
          • can you believe, a politician trying to protect the used car salesmen and not the Rakyat that voted him in. looks like two most distrusted groups of people taking care of each other! priceless!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 236 Thumb down 9
          • eagleeye on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:50 pm

most used car dealer = ap holder = cronies

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 5
          • change-G! on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:55 pm

what a load of bullshit ..our G !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
        • Hadi75 on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:23 pm

If not mistaken…PKR never said the reduction will be drastic….i

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 8
          • mabel on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:32 pm

PKR will reduce by duty tax 30% one off after winning the GE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 9
          • mabel, still doubt that.. still remember “free water” supply to selangor? from the previous GE until the next, still no hopes rakyat get what they have promises..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
          • @aku, sian ko kena kencing hidup2x..kalau ko pakai meter individu ko boleh la menikmati air rebet/percuma..kalau ko pakai meter pukal tentu la harga di tentukan oleh Maintenance office spt di rumah2 Flat/[angsapuri/kondo..ko nak free air ko mintaklah/mohon meter individu..ko ingat senangke Syabas nak bg..aku pernah mintak..depa ckp mcm2 tiada peruntukan laa..masih dlm proses laa…mcm2 lagi alasan puok kroni UMNGOK syabas utk menggagalkn rencana utk menukar kpd meter individu…ko ni duduk mana? aku duduk kat selangor rumah mak aku kat kg Bukit cherakah..tiap2 bulan byr RM5..siap tertunggak dah berbulan2…hahahahah org2 mcm ko la kena kencing hidup oleh puok UMNGOK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
          • @MAbel and hadi75
            On their budget plan reduced by 20%…

• @jin.. bukan setakat isu air je..isu lain yg ditimbulkan macam mana? sian aku tgk ko dah kena kencing dek anwar.. dah keluar video sex main dgn china doll pun ko cakap bukan dia padahal terang terang dia kat dalam video tu.. bila org kata PM kita terbabit dalam pembunuhan model mongolia terus kmo percaya walaupun xder bukti.. yg ada pun gambar edit kononnya PM duduk satu meja dgn model tu. sian aku lihat ko nih.. byk sgt minum air kencing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
        • hairan on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:18 pm

lu ni mesti one of the kroni.kroni tak ada otak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
      • HIDUP MELAYU on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 269
        • _xXx_ on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:11 pm

invaders?? stop playing games, wake up kid….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
        • Deus Ex Machina on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:39 pm

So your ‘hak asasi orang melayu’ involves paying stupidly high duties? Go ahead and keep your ‘ketuanan’, I doubt anyone else wants it. It’s slack-jawed yokels like you who keep the Malay race down, forever blaming ‘outsiders’ for your own failings.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 15
        • Davinnci on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Thats why you don’t improve, still live in your own dream, now is the world of globalization, you can compete you step aside, not ‘you don’t like it you move to Singapore’

Do you know who is Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat?? They are all Chinese who protect country of Malaya!

Your thinking is so cheap, let me tell you how to get rid of us, the only way is to WIN us in every aspect, not sitting there shout about racism. Moron

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 28
        • akupunmelayujugak on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:23 pm

“BECAUSE THEY ROPE IT FROM TANAH MELAYU”

you mean “ROB” it from tanah melayu?

Dude,sorry..sebab aku melayu jugak aku cakap melayu supaya kau senang faham. orang macam kau ni la yang buat melayu nampak dungu/bodoh. Cuba kau bagi pendapat tanpa sentuh isu perkauman??? study the facts before you voice out anything!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 1
        • Melayu mati tanpa cina & india on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:26 pm

This is satu malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • ae101 on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:33 pm

why your comment so sohai?? ketuanan melayu can give your family better life? because ppl like you that’s why malaysia develop so slow. you know how much chinese contribute to malaysia economy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
        • Ryuki on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:34 pm

@ hidup melayu
          You are embarrassing us Malays who work & achieve based on merit and not depending on the bloody birth right. You are the very reason I keep telling both my sons ‘jgn ikut perangai org melayu pemalas dan salahkan org lain shj…’
          One of the reason that my late Malay father married my mom who is Punjabi+Chinese mix.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 4
        • Nanda Kumar on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:44 am

I totally agree with you bro.protection and more protection.the non-halal ones are left out and the non-halal also need to fund this “knn” so that they may buy better car as they get 7% discount for buying house.after 55 years merdeka…the non-halal ppl in malaysia got nothing actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • bystander on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:47 am

later when no more cars and everyone need to pakai teleporter or jetpack, then tax teleporter/jetpack pun jaga hak asasi rite? later spaceship pun nak PERTAHANKAN oso? cannot beam me up scotty dy….

• hangTua on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:53 am

Protect@Menjaga Ketuan/Hak Asasi

SEGELINTIR Orang Melayu@Kronies@Ap Holder

fr invaders like majoriti harddworking melayu,hardworking cina ,hardworking india

• Bongcs on Oct 05, 2012 at 1:12 pm

learn how to protect your ownselft first, before jumping in and teach others how to protect themselfs.

• What is the relation between car tax with ketuanan melayu? Hey! wake up!..wake up!

• Not born yesterday on Oct 08, 2012 at 3:19 am

Hahahahahaha~! Good one. By the way, learn to spell, ya?

• ashein on Nov 24, 2012 at 3:59 pm

dude guys look at his name hidup melayu he surely one corrupt fellar this is a beautiful country but because of low life life idiots like this we are going down, plotong cars after one year surely give problems, we have to redude taxes , we also have the highest taxes on import cars compared with other countries..

• ashein on Nov 24, 2012 at 4:41 pm

i have porsche boxster 2013 and i paid almost 500k for it when the real price is only 1150 k to 200k

• So you are suggesting the gov to increase further the duty for cars so that the used car dealers will benefit from higher 2nd hand sale value?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 7
    • ah chong on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:08 pm

malaysia maa..always looking for the cheaper one..keje nak senang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 63
      • ya lo! ada kangtao kan best!

• evolva on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:04 pm

yeah right….as if u can name a country where its people always promote the government to keep upping their car’s price or make it expensive??? can u name one plz??? u can’t, can’t u? then ST*U!!!noob

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • kimikira on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:17 pm

dont try chinese name make a such stupid comment…give more of the reason why should more rakyat pay more instead of cheaper?

• CowBearCowBull on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Some just dont care of others and only wants their dream INCOME to be forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • banyak marah on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:08 pm

You can paid more when u buying your dream car.Nobody will stop u.What a stupid statement u made.

• kelvin on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:52 pm

I want to see Najib vs Anwar debate on real policy to bring the deficit lower, to fight corruption seriously, to create a vibrant place for investment and startup, to lower down the crime, and many many more. Not just giving dumb excuses on his own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • bingo on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:46 am

that my friend, will only happen when your grandson is marrying your sister, or in short, its not gonna happen.

i do have the same wish too, as i’m a no political citizen and planning to cast my vote based on the better policies. but then those politicians are too busy bickering with each other hence forgetting they’ve got works to be done.

• The gov squeeez our rakyat monies, I dont understand the meaning of collapse the used car market, do u know that the used car dealer squeezz our car price like hell? not even worth 1 sen, gov “”must”” collect more tax, because everyone can afford to own the cheaper car, now the gov make our life soon become collapse, because the country have more debts than before, time to changelah…..mampui betul.

• PM: Import car excise duty reduction will collapse used car market, drop income revenue for govt…….

Main point of his phase as “drop income revenue for govt”. Money not enough after giving away some many candy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 7
    • It also means that NAP will live long and prosper so long as BN is in control.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 2
    • labix7 on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Not , drop income revenue to govt … BUT, drop income revenue to AP holders ..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
      • Gabla on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Let’s see who are they, no. 14 is also interesting:
        http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?pg=special/PROFAIL_SYARIKAT_PEMEGANG_AP_FRANCAIS_2.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • wow, thanks for the URL. We never knew that the public has been ‘sending’ money to these AP companies and making them fat. I hope people would buy cars that are assembled locally, if you know what that means.

If possible, buy only used cars. Let’s show the G our consumer colours and power. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • lokpi on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Rakyat: Reduce or Withdraw PERMATA’s budget will boost govt revenue.. Watafafafa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • cannot! then someone will have to take a “haircut”! trust me that aint gonna happen!

• William on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:14 pm

For that much of revenue income, Malaysians are paying more and more tolls to “attempt” to avoid traffic jam and after so many years if Proton is only “capable” of producing “rebadged” model from the once-invading-our-mother-land country, i suggest why not we turn the game play by taking some lessons from Thailand way of doing it? Provide incentives for local parts manufacturing? Selective of each car manufacturers to have at least one low price high value model so the rakyat can benefits if fixing public transport is so hard to get right. These selected models enjoy reduced road tax, zero toll (if it carries more than 2 passengers) to encourage car pooling. There’re many things to do than just saying “no, it cant be done” or the indefinite answer of “wait every 5 years to have we talking bout this topic again”. There’s not many 5 years Malaysians have till the whole industry collapse as Malaysians struggles with local hyper inflation and low pay rise and starting pay.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 2
    • ThePolygon on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:48 pm

The idea of no toll if carries more than 2 passengers is a good one. People will seriously look into carpool with incentive like this.

• Stingy minded! Jib, its not from your pocket money anyway, it’s from rakyat for rakyat. Think of this, if you have some RM250 in your pocket, losing RM7 out of it is a big matter? (Just a simple analogy to our RM250bil budget next year). Your hundreds of servants in Fin Min should know how to adjust to that relatively small amount, or reduce it bit by bit. Should you have no idea, give the job to ‘other’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 1
    • Adding a bit more… Folks, do you realize that this RM7bil money is FINANCED (with the interest incurred) by ‘we all’ rakyat who buy new cars? (Its included in total car price and we finance it for 5, 7, 9 and even 10 years!)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
      • hway de Cruz on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:56 pm

looks like jib does not listen to the rakyat, let us rakyat teach them all a very good lesson n vote them out this round.

• nabill on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:17 pm

nobody said excise duty wil be TOALLY droped in ONE DAY…we want it to be done EVENTUALLY ,starting NOW… every year few small percentage is good enough to protect everybody and benefit all…

• tokmoh on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Iqra’, maksudnya “bacalah”, itulah wahyu pertama Allah SWT turunkan kepada Rasullullah SAW. Oh Malaysian, bacalah dari blog Rafizi sendiri woi (especially the bolded part)…

“Matlamat 2: Menjamin nilai kereta sedia ada dan terpakai tidak jatuh merudum

i. Penghapusan cukai eksais dan penurunan harga kereta akan dibuat secara berperingkat supaya nilai kereta sedia ada dan terpakai turut turun secara berperingkat.

ii. Kadar penurunan cukai eksais akan diumumkan setiap tahun di dalam Belanjawan Kerajaan Persekutuan setelah mengambil kira pandangan institusi kewangan dan semua pihak yang terlibat di dalam perusahaan automotif dan kenderaan terpakai. Ini bertujuan supaya susutnilai kereta dan aset pinjaman yang dipegang oleh institusi kewangan adalah selari dengan penurunan harga kereta baru.

http://rafiziramli.com/2012/08/asar-automotif-negara-pertahan-hak-rakyatangkat-ekonomi-negara/

UMNOfags sume tak baca tu, wallahualam, moga Allah sinarkanlah nur hidayah dan berkatilah hidup hamba-Mu lain-lain (para PRfags pula) yang ikhlas berjuang demi memartabatkan nama agama, bangsa dan negara. Amin

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
  • Bello on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:18 pm

In the other words, govt choose to let people buying an expensive car. Rather people to spend more on car loan. So govt can cover its COST, yet people pay for it. Good policy indeed!

• Jangan Cakap Banyak La on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Jangan cakap banyak la, undi dulu… cakap serupa keyboard warrior in the end you re not even registered as voters… bangang… cakap macam bagus itu la ini la… govt should do that la should do this la… penipu duit rakyat la… in the end what do you guys do when given the chance to change? nothing! ape kebodohan ini?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 7
    • Kam-II on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:37 pm

correct, dont forget to vote wisely guys, hopefully enough to beat all that Bangla/Indon with ICs :))

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 2
    • kelvin on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Voting is not enough, we need clean election, transparent election. Without transparency, BN can do anything to win the election. Bersih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Every vote counts on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Tak yah cakap pasal clean election ke hape. Ask yourself whether youre doing what youre supposed to do as voters! Negativity wont lead you no where when you dont exercise your right! Rather than ranting here about all the injustice the bn govt has done to you better vote wisely!!!

• Mad Man on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Can anyone tell me what car “ecosystem” depends on Proton,a failure and blood sucking company?
    Not to mention the few billion loan given to Proton to turnaround Lotus,what happened to that shitty plan?where did the billions go to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • the ecosystems of tiered suppliers, service centres, Proton-Edar dealers, other private dealers, spare parts shops. People thought after Proton was bought over by DRM-Hicom from Khazanah, they would become a private company. But Khazanah actually owns 5% of DRB-Hicom shares. So, it’s LPPL :-)

• hafizrahim on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Proton will die for sure if they reduce excise duty..wake up la Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
    • Kalun on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:47 pm

If proton die, there are other auto company who still interested in buying

• Just let it be, protection will not help proton to grow.

• Revenue?where did all the revenue go till our debt is the highest of all time now?all went to your pocket ah?

• inderaloka on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Tidak ada yang pernah cukup bagi sebuah pentadbiran yang suka membazir.

• This statement should not be out from 1 Malaysia PM. You should know rakyat already pay tolls and also road tax and high premium insurans. Furthermore, with AES enforcement will burden rakyat without having a tolerate on excise duty. Rakyat always give and give for a govt..

• pirlo on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:14 pm

dear najib. okay, maintain the car’s price. but please reduce tolls, road tax, insurance, car’s interest rate. that probably can lessen our burden. #tanyanajib #rosmahjawab

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • tokmoh on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:05 pm

NO.

I’d rather a system where cost of OWNERSHIP is cheap, but cost of RUNNING it is expensive.

When it comes to buying a car, you’re more likely to borrow (unless you’ve been menabung since young la). So it is best this cost is low, lower commitment = lower risk of becoming bankrupt.

But when it comes to usage, you have a choice… err, even if the alternative is not on par yet. The alternative I’m talking about is public transport. That’s why I believe this cost should be high, if you can’t afford it, hop on the bus/train instead and save the environment a little bit other than your wallet. You’d still be able to reach your destination without having ah long bank staffs chasing to bankrupt you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • actually, it’s not the G who is subsidizing our fuel. We are the ones paying for our fuel subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Kam-II on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Cronies ecosystem, thats what it is. Why cant we learn from Korean’s Hyundai or Kia, look how far they go now compared to Proton.
    This is why we need check and balance for the government, unfortunately they dont even make use of the Parlimentary system, look at the recent Budget announcement (Najib and quite a number of ministers and MP didn’t even turn up in the Parliment last Monday for the 2013 Budget debate sessoion, how arrogant!)

• Kia and hyundao go so far till i cannot see…..no way to catch up in my life time….maybe my children and i am less then 25 years old…..

• Political patronage and inefficient govt

• I am against the insane car prices in boleh land.

But sadly the PM has a point. It’ll effect the 2nd hand dealers and people associated with proton. Though the long term benefits should be more significant. More importantly – less debt incurred by malaysians.

I think they should come up with a 5-7 year plan to reduce the taxes so the ‘ecosystem’/corrupted can adjust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 61
    • Kam-II on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:40 pm

correct on the long term plan and slowly reduction in taxes. So who exactly came out with this idea at the first place? And who has been opposing it saying we gonna be bankrupt and those parties been promising moon and star? :)

• Also the longer this goes on. The harder it’ll be for us to ever escape the taxes.

Just imagine 10-20 years from now and the taxes are the same, alot more people will be effected from the removal of it. So Mr. PM please give it deeper thought ASAP.

• unforgiven on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:45 pm

2nd car dealer = grey importers = cronies = doing dirty business with the corrupted folks (including pdrm)…

• Kalun on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Who the heck want to buy a high maintainence second hand car. The running cost even more expensive than a brand new car

• I just want to say 1 thing..

BULLSHIT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • kereta lembu on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:34 pm

When the prices of things go up they ask you to change your lifestyle and basically ask us to just shut up and deal with it. So, we have to deal with having less to spend and sort out our own finances. But when the Gov were to get less revenue, why can’t they just deal with it and change the way things are done? So, by the explaination given, everyone can kiss their hopes and dreams goodbye. If today excise duty reduction can cause such a negative impact on the entire industry and government, definately it will be the same in the future.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • along on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:36 pm

We just don’t buy and boycott any new cars… what are you gonna say…

If we don’t, the will be no income…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • fully agree with you along :-) That has been my principle as a Malaysian. It is just not worth buying new cars in this country. I would rather channel my hard earned money for other means.

• Just rebate 50% of the tax to all existing car user, and stop the con-job already. To me, reducing partially like 20-30% of the taxes would do much in long run, instead of nothing done.

• how to rebate?! there is no more money in the tresury, that is why, every year budget is a deficit budget, meaning need to borrow to spend!
      how to rebate like this?!

• the market segment of secondary car market shouldn’t as large as today if the car price is in the “reasonable range” at the VERY FIRST PLACE, or having a very well PUBLIC TRANSPORT network structure.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:39 pm

this group of people will use NAP policy till the end of life…

• No reduction to import car excise duty will collapse competition, drop disposble income for rakyat and more money for BR1M for no economic reason except for fishing vote.
    You choose.

• Hukaka on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:44 pm

vote to change.

• “We need to look in depth. It is not the time to come up with long-term solutions,” he said at #Tanya Najib: 2013 Budget Live on Astro Awani last night.

So there is not going to be a solution???? How deep do you need to look? No Thanks to Mahathir really!

• Ah Beng on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:45 pm

PM is right…whats gonna happen to my resale value?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 100
    • Kam-II on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:53 pm

this is the kind of short sighted mentality that actually affect the ‘true’ ecosystem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • You drive vios mar. Vios resale value won’t drop 1. Toyota resale value where will drop.. lol..

You guys really deserve it, everyday only know talk about resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • niamah! buy house if you want resale value!
      buy car, pakai buang!

• if value of my car drop after G were to implement such plan, then I would be happy to keep the car for life. I would let my son inherit the car and tell them that this is the car bought before we as Malaysians can enjoy reasonable car price. So, the actually intangible value: priceless! :-)

• kimikira on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:24 pm

cheer!! that what i exactly doing now, buy car in malaysia=pay unreasonable tax to G

• bystander on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:48 pm

ya, then your kids and grandkids, relatives, parents, next generation all pay and pay and pay for YOUR resale value

• No real intention to tackle the issue. How to become a modern country with 3rd world mentality?

• “We need to look in depth. It is not the time to come up with long-term solutions,” he said at #Tanya Najib: 2013 Budget Live on Astro Awani last night.

IT IS NOT THE TIME TO COME UP WITH LONG TERM SOLUTION? i tot we need to lool long termm…

• me…. will give ‘other’ to lead for next 5 year… it will be a big challenge to them to show how their able to change the “malaysia ecosystem”. not only automotive sector, but to all sector.

• TooSlow! on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:52 pm

The incompetence of the government in running the country, causing the country to rely heavily on tax from “selling cars to the citizen”.

So pity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Mackers on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:52 pm

PM Najib, you should attend any of pakatan’s talk where Rafizi is present, he’ll brief you well on the mechanics

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
  • Easy, the govt should start from home made brand first, no tax for proton and perodua, provided it has the required safety requirement in a car. Then from there, they can slowly go for the foreign brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Swift on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:55 pm

It wouldn’t effect the second hand car market if we export all these second hand cars to third world countries Jibby. Just like how Japan export their cars to Malaysia. Jibby oh Jibby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • People talking here, you know how the taxes being calculated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • You got the point. And yet, we are forced to take loans to purchase 2nd hand cars.

• Can you explain ?

• You don’t really need to calculate. Compare langkawi price and taxed price can already. :/

• Swift on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:57 pm

People only buy second hand cars because they can’t afford a new one,Jibby. You talk as if people love second hand cars. Jibby oh Jibby.

• sixtythree on Oct 04, 2012 at 2:57 pm

What a “noble” excuse by our “beloved” PM…now i am really sure where to put my X on my poll paper soon

• looper on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:01 pm

check out the phrase in the article :
    “Najib said the government must take into account the entire ecosystem that depends on Proton for survival, not just the interests of the national automaker itself”

did i read it wrongly or does it mean the entire ecosystem depends on Proton?! and not the other way round?! This is like saying the survival of an ocean is dependent on just one species of jellyfish? if it is not for the interest of the national automaker itself i don’t know what is…
    well done…

• GTR 2.0 on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:53 pm

You read it right. It’s not about proton, but about other people that need proton to support them. That is one of the reason why proton could not move forward with reasonable speed. Because they need/forced to drag along all the vendor/cronies.

• Sprinter on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:07 pm

i will be really happy if they maintain the fuel price, bring in better diesel.a slight tax reduction will be a bonus ofcourse..

• We should see how the koreans did it. Didnt they have policies protecting Kia and hyndai? I know it only lasted 10 years.

• Is a shame that their main income has to heavily rely on selling hyper expensive car to the nation.

• i just want to say :”boooooo….”

• This is a snowball problem, the longer the NAP exists, the more severe of ‘too big to fail’ effect.
    If they dont come out with long term solution now, no more solution applicable in the future, because too impact will be much more severe in the future than now.

• TooSlow! on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:05 pm

absolutely agreed. The situation today is from the mistake made decades ago. We need drastic measures to correct the mistake

• sazali on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Reduce few hundred monthly are little thousand quarterly

• Felix Chong on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Shame on you government! Our Malaysian desire better living standard instead of paying high taxes & living in the third world standard!

• Najib say not NOW, so the question is WHEN? He dont even have a proper timeline with solution where he KNOW the problem rakyat facing…

Do we need a such brilliant leader?

• Pumpkins on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Few conclusions:

1. At least reduce a bit tax cars below 1800cc from 75 pct to 50 pct. To recoup the lost revenue, increase tax on cars above 1800cc to 500 pct:
    Cars below 1800cc = 50 pct tax
    Cars above 1800cc = 500 pct tax
    Rich or poor sama-sama mati bayar cukai tinggi lah

2. Let 2nd hand car dealers re-export their cars to 3rd world market eg.Zimbabwe. Zimbabwe known close cronies with Bolehland so why not use Zimbabwe as new car import hub. BN make money, Mugabe make money. Sama-sama happy what. At least the dealers not badly hurt when car price dropped. Afterall they get more trade-in units to be re-exported to Zimbabwe too!

3. Those excise duty be made interest-free from car loan hire-purchase.
    Imagine that RM30 billion taxes also means another RM5 billion bank interest on top of car loan itself.
    Stop double taxation. RM5 billion wasted for nothing but joy to banks. How much banks give back to savings account? 2 pct per annum? Piirahhhh!!!!

4. Indirect effect of this kind of reply can only hurt Proton more as many car buyers hated Proton more and total boycott.
    Look at Preve targetting the Vios, City buyers…these group of car buyers hardly look at Proton lah you can afford above RM70K car why look at Proton make yourself a fool kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • What should we do now?

• Merc=Real Euro on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:54 pm

I only hear excuses time and again from different people. Like a broken record.!!!
    We know the impact and we also know the solution.
    Rather than being negative I wish the govt comes out with a solid proposal rather than dodging the issue.
    It clearly shows the true intent. They are not interested in reducing the rakyats debt burden….period. I hate to take side but you give us no choice.

• sepul on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:59 pm

and he still mention proton.. i think proton is the scapegoat here.. gov just using this excuse to keep imposing expensive taxes for the sake of proton.. in truth, proton and perodua themselves is also imposed with very high taxes.. i’v read somewhere that the preve with no tax cost just around rm40k only

rm7b revenue and what is the money is being used for? renovate cronies’ mansion?? public transport still non existent/not efficient on remote/rural areas and small towns.. even in KL u better of with a bike than a train

• Undi then talk later…

• Then we should increase the excise duty to 400% and residual value of the car will increase tremendously and used car dealers will loughing all the way to banks.

Above is PM LOGICS:

We’re low income economy. Our disposable income rather low and USING EXCESSIVE TAX do not really augur well with other sectors in our economic.

Heavy tax will make our country spend like nobody business and tolerance to wastage and inefficiency. Not to mention corruption. Do we have corruption?

• Pumpkins on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Kia Hyundai also got protection from Korea govt but use it to produce cheaper, better quality and world-class nice design for local Korean car buyers (at near factory price). Not to mention global sales that give Kia Hyundai the volume benefit for lower cost economics scale that give even bigger revenue, more funds for better newer car models.

Proton? Sembelih rakyat sendiri harga mahal kereta rosak sana rosak sini. Susahkan rakyat aje. Pergi mampus lah

• Merc=Real Euro on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:08 pm

“Car ownership in Malaysia is one of the highest in the world and I do realise people want a better choice” …err we want cheaper Proton and Perodua.
    Selling Price 25K (2 airbag + ABS) with 3% interest 5 year loan & RM480 monthly for a MYVI is fine by me. I am sure it will be fine by fresh grad and low income earners.
    Now that is helping the rakyat and also helping Proton or Perodua. If you want to help low income earners & proton\ perodua further just give slightly longer long. 6 Years repayment. Simple as that.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:14 pm

“Import car excise duty reduction will collapse used car market, drop income revenue for govt”!

Also, AP Kings/Queens and cronies will have free-gravity-fall without NAP! This NAP is creating the un-ending gravy train to cronies, the need to worry about used car market price and gov income is just a smoke screen!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:21 pm

More taxes and AP King, together with cronies, creating NAP auto eco-system will lead into increase in rakyat debt, or translated fat income for the selected cronies. Our government is very good in tilting the profits for cronies to salivate, and at the same time dump the debts to rakyat to salvage!

• Now, it’s simply our mistake if we have insensible head of government.

That’s why: reduce the car price gradually. Ada faham? Over time we’re telling people car is liability. Go for public transport.

Opppps… they got MRT. Do government promoting public instead of private transport? Nope. Never.

They only after massive projects without much benefits to public. They’re business representative not Wakil Rakyat. Wakil Ringgit to be exact.

If we elect this guy don’t blame him, blame us.

• Low the tax!

Low tax phase by phase.

Export the old/second hand car to other country.

Low tax = low price = high sale = high income to gov (by quantity of sale).

Proton, please improve your quality and innovation.

Non local car, please increase the local part contents. Give business to local car part manufacturer. Make your car more cheaper.

Gov, please give Proton move itself. Until when Gov want to protect it. Make proton compete on market.

I’m proud with Proton. MADE IN MALAYSIA. MALAYSIAN CAR. But it slow in innovation. Old design. Old problem. No WOW factor. Less new model.

Please change the policy. Please change now! Don’t late!

• This is bullshit. They’ve been collecting more and more revenues from the overly taxed duty import annually. We deserve a better choice in the cars we choose by not only restricting us to only the two “P’s”. Even so, the prices of the two “P’s” are highly overrated. Please, we already paying enough tax to the government by our annual income tax. I don’t see a point that it will cause a severe damage to the second hand car market. Someone needs to explain the logic behind this.

• CowBearCowBull on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:04 pm

btw, i have zero experice in car trading, that’s just my logic.. correct me if i am wrong so i could learn more

let say new dugong costs 80k.. 2nd hand dealer buys at 40k and sell it at 50k.. then excise reduce frm 75% to 0%, new 80k dugong become 45k.. how leh? sure in order for the dealer to sell the car, the dealer need to reduce the price lower la. Who want to buy 2nd dugong at 50k or even 40k when new one can be bought at 45k… but remember they bought the dugong at 40k before, how they manage to sell it without lost? one car lost nvm, 10 cars, 20cars.. close shop dy..

• 2wheelers on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:09 pm

want to jaga few hundred used car dealers or 28 million population (est 10-15million in workforce)???

• the shitty auto policies has been feeding these cronies for years, you think they want to give up billions juz for the rakyat? dream on…the bn govt can comprehend the suffering of majority of rakyat as the think of they own pockets which is loaded with billions, the cant understand what is the fuss all about.

• f30 dreamer on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:34 pm

the ruling party are playing to safe in order to protect several fews on top of the food chain that is proton, their vendors, 2nd hand dealers and banks and hope to zip typical malaysian with BR1M issuance. what is RM 500 if compare to lifelong debts incurred by malaysian for buying house and cars. in short, its not their intention to reduce rakyat debt.

• Ahhh…… The second hand market will collapsed ,followed by some people’s second form of income
    But it’s good to know that they admitted that proton still needs the government skirt to hide in

• Just a Thought on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Well, without cutting a cent for the govt part, they can at least start by not requiring a car buyer to have the “TAX” part financed. Split the base car price and the tax into two portions… allow only the the car price part to be subjected to the financier’s interest rate while the tax part is interest free… Loan part payable to financier, “TAX” part payable to govt (both payable in the same installment term like today)…

• CowBearCowBull on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:13 pm

then bank will start bising bising cos lost almost half of their interest income.. everything that related to car in msia is huge biz u know.. sigh.. feel like this went too deep in the root of our nation dy.. unplug sure a lot of blood gushing out

• john f kennedy on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:40 pm

berbuluuu ieee.haih.come on la.im sure the G can do way better than this hehe peace

• “We need to look in depth. It is not the time to come up with long-term solutions,” if not now when?

• CowBearCowBull on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:45 pm

instead of saying 2nd hand collapse every time when bring up this issue, why dont come out plan to address this prob? gradually decrese the duty is one of the best option, why dont they make more in depth study about that particular solution? or how to reduce admin expenses… it’s more like they make in depth study about how their pocket will be affected..

they are too comfortable to rely on easy revenue thru excise duty that giving that up is like ask them to chop off their hands and legs

if keep on having this kind of mentality, for sure, forever we are stuck with expensive rip-off cars..unless..

• tan ah kow on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Let us vote Pakatan and let them reduce the taxes in one stroke and get it over with.
    Everybody will lose only once. Present car owner,second hand dealers, banks, dealers, etc etc.
    Think about the future. Don’t tell me you doesn’t want to buy a car in the future. Your children will
    also need a car.
    When the price is cheap more cars will be sold benefiting dealers,banks etc.
    All this problem is due to cumulative effect of Dr M NAP policy of keeping car prices high for years and years. If Pakatan did not bring up this subject BN will continue to screw us forever.
    All our blood sweat and tears in the form of high taxes is lost by Nor Yaakob in the forex market.
    About 30 billion so what is 7 billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • polo saga on Oct 04, 2012 at 4:53 pm

i think PM try to say “will reduce cronies’ pocket money”

• Packers on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Car prices should be reduced gradually just like what had been done Australia, where they once have high excise duty like in Malaysia.

• liang on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:03 pm

The key point is “The Whole Ecosystem Behind PROTON” but the truth is “The Pocket of Proton’s Key Personnel”….sad to hear all this again and again. Hopefully my vote can really change something.

• along on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Come on, lets change all this grouses into action…

Lets boycott any new cars… and convince others…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

• Thee shall not forget that the meat in your body that grows from ‘haram’ income (read: bribes n corruption) shall be the first burnt with hell fire…. atas dunia ni ko boleh selamat…tapi disana?

• Joe Radzif on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:21 pm

woohoo….

very interesting…

• ah lock on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:34 pm

then, what would happen to my vios trd sport gti exclusive limited edition resale value??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • 2wheelers on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:14 pm

aiyooooo…u cahnge car every month kahhh?

• Keep it la.. So limited edition and buy at high price. I believe there will be ppl who collect such “limited” edition 1.

• The statement is completely rubbish, if you have the good implementation strategy it wouldn’t cause any significant impacts to the industry, in affect it will further growth the auto industry to another dimension.
    Just a matter whether the plan is workable and how the government deploy the “Gradual Change Concept” with sufficient notice period. Please stop misleading RAKYAT anymore ! Cheers

• go-all-the-way on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:40 pm

You do not know how to provide solution, let other people do that. I have enough all this excuses.

• talk talk on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:50 pm

PM u always talk Cock la.. Proton pls bungkus la.. produce Low Quality car…

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Bye bye abg jib..

• politicians suck!!! on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Najib’s response to PR’s price cut is anticipated oredy lorr….he must say the the opposite coz if he agrees to PR’s idea then he will be deemed weak n a copycat.

• ngomel on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:05 pm

As long as petrol price does not increase, its fine for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • 2wheelers on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:17 pm

cant agree twice…there goes down the drain of Malaysia to be hybrid hub in asean…

• let’s just make this simple…
    rakyat pay taxes, rakyat should be more comfy…
    are u comfy with what we have now?? more than 7 billion/year should’ve made malaysia a better place but did it?? it only made RM happy…~~

• zubairauto on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:58 pm

which rakyat is that.. how many citizen we have now? 28 million? i lost count.. but only 1million or 2million people pay taxes… so who is the rakyat u mentioned here? how many people commenting this actually pays taxes? how much taxes you guys paying 26% already?
      Don’t talk kok if you don’t pay income tax.

• Jibby on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:19 pm

here we got an angry 2nd hand car dealer, or maybe AP king.. worrying about his coffers..

• how about this. kill 2nd, 3rd, 4th hand car dealer market. any manufacturer wanted to sell in malaysia must reduce their price below market price sold in their country or average global price. no special incentives given to them. fuel will be increased to 10~20% at the current rate. those riding to work and racing haram still get to buy fuel at cheaper rate. any cd/dvd haram sellers will be charged under terrorist act – funding illegal activities in malaysia. no mercy to those selling shits.

• David Chong on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Najib, why dont you just say, “Rosmah ask me to buy her another 10 million Ringgit Diamond Ring, and i want your money to sponsor her”. Like this blame here, blame there, cover here cover there, tak syiok la… Not steady la… you, Najib.

• i understand the sentiment that majority of ppl have here. nevertheless, i’d offer a counter argument. imagine car prices are so affordable that every Tom, Dick n Harry (and even ‘donkeys’ n ‘monkeys’) desire to buy/own one (or more)…wouldn’t that make the already congested city roads become choked and unbearable…and we start complaining why the bloody roads are so jammed up ? then we start to live far away from work places/city center and we’d chalk up additional cost by travelling further thru high petrol price, tolls…etc etc etc. who’s fault is it now ?
    sorry for babbling :) but i, among you ppl, also want affordable cars and really want to see how true is my theory above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • NoWisdom on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:23 pm

I have 1 ass, My 1 ass can only drive 1 car
      Even if I have 30 cars, My 1 ass can only drive 1 car.

And going by your logic, only the privileged few is entitled to drive on the road and the rest of the ‘not worthy scums’ should go play far far away.

By my logic you should be shot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Ahjib on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Bro, wake open for your slumber, and reduction of car prices would need to be in tandem with End of life policy for the auto industries, it makes sense and benefits everybody from people who buy, people who make, people who distribute, people who enforce, people who cut up cars, why. Do I need to spell this for you? Seriously…

In US, UK, AUD, cars are considered a basic needs thus cars are sold relatively cheap, the same goes York JPN, no one keeps cars over 5 years, the technology keeps evolving, better safety, better fuel economy and less emissions make it necessary for us people to update, it keeps people. employed, money rolling and users happy

AH JIB GOR has less brain cells to understand this and his trying to protect cronies and not really care about the people but more importantly trying to protect Proton at the expense of the Malaysian middle class, I say enough is enough, time to make a choice, GE13 is our Final Stand, be counted as we make history together

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Let stop buying new car atleast till PRU13!

• keluangman on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:34 pm

I think if the current BN government is really sincere in helping the rakyat to lessen their burden, I believe in THIS COMMENT column there’s a few quite practical and viable ways of how to reduce the car prices without hurting the used car dealers and majority of the rakyat car values.

BUT THE PROBLEM IS they are NOT WILLING to LETGO and LOST all the lucrative RM 7 billion untung buta atas angin MONEY. Judging by the number of increasing cars on the road and purchased with the increase in general population this MONEY will only goes up to more than RM 7 billion.

Just for this reason alone is enough for me to PANGKAH OUT the current government. 55 years is TOO LONG already! ABU!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • arcana on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:53 pm

i dont think i can agree with this…..there’s no way to reduce existing car prices, prices are already high and once being cut, someone will be hurt anyhow namely :
      1) car owners (public), used car dealers (car depreciated till worthless).
      2) ppl wont buy cars during gradual reduction period becoz they know its not the end of it yet and new car dealers suffer.

i think gov should extend incentives to new fuel saving models like small cc, hybrid, electric or whatever (becoz these are news cars/models that werent on sale before and they can start off cheap)….we cant expect current cars sold in the market to go down, we saw it happen last time when taxes are down 10% and lots of em suffer irregardless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • najibisidiot on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:25 pm

the problem already started since that idiotic DR M started proton project..its a no turning back thing..so now everyone suffers

• macroman on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:17 pm

no one will get hurt.. do it like POLO VW! make it real the cheap and value buy… after a year, increase! OK ma strategy lidat… every-the-body happy EXCEPT ppl who booked it and say prioce increase applies to them.. hhahahaha, and then rinse and repeat *wink

• Steve on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:43 pm

This is ridiculous excuse. Govt keep saying the subsidy is a big burden and plan to reduce the subsidy gradually. Malaysia is a oil producing country and many oil producing countries are selling oil very cheap in their country. Then the tax on the cars are supposely used for the subsidy. So what is the rational of reducing subsidy and keep the tax high? Most of Malaysians are still from rural area. They need a car as basic transport. But buying a new car seems will be their dream with this govt.

• baguih on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:07 pm

baguih jugak tu AP bidding melalui open tender.lepas tu jadi mcm no plat yg free pun jadi mahal.ramai jadi ulat.oh negaraku walaupun rega keta di sini amat mahalnamun bilangan paling bamyak keta di rantau ini tetap negaraku.

• Time to change on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:22 am

Duit bagi tokeh lembu dudk kondo ok ka bro? RM250 juta, ada kena tangkap menteri dan laki nya? Moral of story is , if you have money and power, you are kebal otherwise you are just the statistic…which is bullshit crap BN has been dishing out for the past 50 years, c’mmon, stand up and be counted, dun follow you fellow bangladeshi blue I/c holding countryman but be counted with the TRUE BLUE MALAYSIAN who believes in Justice for the common man

• Jibby on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:16 pm

and also highest debt di rantau ini.

• najibisidiot on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:23 pm

ha! drop income revenue for govt is more like drop income revenue for najis’ own pocket

• democracies sucks on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:58 pm

i thought this was suppose to be a car website not politics, how very malaysians lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
    • I thought the gov would take care of us, the petrol head rakyat. Boy boy, I was so wrong… How silly of me…

• cuz the title is talking abt politics and cars, cars and politics

• go-all-the-way on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:32 pm

that’s right, this is car website, but why politician mess it up n talk empty here? dun blame us lor. v all anak malaysia.

• Jibby on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:14 pm

BECAUSE IN MALAYSIA CARS ARE SO RELATED TO POLITICS ! And also because GE is near.

• NISSpengAN on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:02 pm

lets vote BN out, vote in pakatan to become rakyat goverment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Davinnci on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Rakyat diperbodohkan! This time for sure I’m going to vote you down assxxxxxxx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Najib yet to have long term solution….maybe because he knows B end will end next year election…..

• Brian Ong on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Another disappointing truth need to absorb, how many years we can stand for this bullshit explanation, all the cronyism produce the lousy part which have a good connection will benefit the most, in return, the people will suffer of this, AP and Proton, increment of pay stagnant, cost of living increase, no action, all is sendiwara, enough is enough

• mister potato on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:37 pm

clearly some people here want to pay more for their protons and produas and second hand mercedes and third hand BMWs. Let them!

Once we tick the other box, we’ll pay less for our car and let them still pay the high price. Padan Muka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • bystander on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:55 pm

when BN raise prices of foreign cars so that Proton can survive, the 2nd hand price of cars oso go up. Did 2nd hand car dealer complain that they untung more? Did BN say, oh the poor 2nd hand car dealer now have to earn more, pity them! Untung that time all this snake car salesman keep quiet, rice bowl besi become diamond studded platinum rice bowl. Now wanna complain…

• Daniel on Oct 04, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Actually, in my opinion, the second hand car industry is so large in our country because we simply cannot afford the new cars. That and the fact that corruption is rampant every where in the government.

• PR disaster. If the he says “goverment will look into long term solution to reduce car price while improving public transporation system and better fuel quality within 5 years timeline” general public will be lega already.

If not armed with good PR skills dont go public la uncle

• West end boys on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Before ge Kena jual Kereta lah

• thats right. no need to argue. those that dont agree to tax reduction can continue paying the high taxes for cars while the rest of rakyat enjoy better and cheaper cars.

• Sam Loo on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:52 pm

If you want great value for money, get a pre-owned 1 year old Korean Car

• RedBeanBun on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:54 pm

which means from Day1, the NAP is BS. Protect Protong is BS, its all about protect Cronies pocket.
    The Cronies is above ALL Rakyat. This is what is tell us.

• bb king on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:59 pm

With that statement, ah jib, I believe you will be the last pm from BN

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Let vote in PR, let Rafizi spearhead the removal of excessive debts, then all rakyat happy, only AP King and cronies get angry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • scrap on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:21 pm

We know the second hand market will collapse…..but it’s a risk we are willing to take. Simply because we don’t want our children and grandchildren buying shit-class cars at gold prices.

Fifty years down the line ,there will be another najib giving the same excuse.

• infinity on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:31 pm

what is your all wish list?
    1. Cheap Car
    2. Free from income tax
    3. Cheap fuel
    4. Big in salary income
    5. Cheap in grocery items
    6. Free education
    7. Free car parking
    8. Free from medical/hospital bill
    9. Toll free road
    10.Bonus over your salary ( at least 6 months)
    11. No tax on cigaratte
    12. Cheap air fare
    13. Free transport from your home-work place-home
    14. Allowance for jobless
    15. Free handphone

So any of you can name the any goverment in the world could provide all on this matters?, How the going Goverment to provide all the infrastructure if everything is cheap and free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • pak lah on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:36 pm

brunei

• zubairauto on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:45 pm

are u in brunei? do you drive daily from Kuala Belait to Bandar? for all the things that bruneians have, i still choose malaysia..

• Perplexed on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:37 am

You must be an idiot with good writing skills. Who said rakyat demanded every single thing on the list ? (Although it might still be achievable). Typical BN retards.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:42 am

UAE and Brunei can give more than your list! e.g. UAE give financial support and land to built house for newly wed couple. Brunei give free water and electricity, just to name a few.

• Azrink on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:07 am

Qatar & Algeria too.. so?

• 1. Cheap Car – YES!

2. Free from income tax – NO! no tax how to manage Malaysia? Do business with no income? Like that?

3. Cheap fuel – MAYBE! Oil price depend on world price. But GOV can help to control oil price.

4. Big in salary income – DO YOUR SELF! Nothing with GOV. Start a business. GOV only can give minimum salary policy, the rest is yours.

5. Cheap in grocery items – YES! GOV can control this.

6. Free education – NO NEED! But we need low education fees.

7. Free car parking – NO! You pay, you park.

8. Free from medical/hospital bill – NO! RM1 GOV hospital can’t pay? Kedekut!

9. Toll free road – NO! We need low fees only. Highway still needs maintenance.

10.Bonus over your salary ( at least 6 months) – NO! But you can get it when you work smart & hard.

11. No tax on cigaratte – NO! No cigarette is better.

12. Cheap air fare – What this? Flight fare? NO NEED! Majority of Malaysian not use flight to move.

13. Free transport from your home-work place-home – NO! Wee only need good transport system.

14. Allowance for jobless – NO! No job, no pay.

15. Free handphone – NO! Kedekut! handphone also want free ka?

Infinity, don’t ask like this. Not all thinking like you. Be rational. Don’t ‘sindir-sindir’…

• Our boss already made his move, time for us to make ours :)

• ae101 on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:47 pm

suck ppl money for so many yrs still not enough? what to do, cronies also got family. 1st generation eat full full, then their children and their cucu cicit.

• Hope the upcoming election is near. Because next year i want buy a decent safety car.. please.. and not rip off price kind of car

• go-all-the-way on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:22 pm

here you said you realized people want better choice, yet you giving lame excuses. Who created this unhealthy car market? you la. so, pls…pls dun say ‘janji ditepati’. times up!

• Steve on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:40 pm

If give a choice, most people will prefer give up fuel subsidy if we can have tax free car. Imagine we can buy BMW 528 at abour RM160k. Imagine how much fuel we can buyer using the RM240k we save on the car price. The govt has created a system called AP which brings too much easy money for those who do nothing but sitting there collecting Rm50k per a piece of paper. The sky high car price has tied up too much of an average earner income. The limited disposable income has discourage more capital to be invested in business and limited the growth of economy. We really need to do something to improve our quality of life.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:43 pm

those cronies and fat cats in the govt where can understand rakyat suffering??? They drive ferari, sports car, luxury cars, etc. Maybe these blardy cronies can get lobang and nonid to pay roadtax, etc. For them, they dont feel a thing.

Poor rakyat malaysia (selalu dan pertama sekali di perbodohkan) are paying high prices for their sub-quality cars years after years. Service bank loans like mad.

so sick with BN.

down with the BN govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Luingatkitabodohkah? on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:18 am

My name says it all.

• judgement day on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:29 am

lets change the government first !!!! and stop buying proton. i have been buying 2nd hand japs and now 2nd hand conti everytime since my first car which was a brand new proton.

although 2nd hand they still give me a smile every time i drive compared when i used to dread to drive my 4 year old waja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • I don’t support for our local car company to close but i do support for tax reduction on cars… Make imported cars cheap and local cars even cheaper!

• WTH? He is more keen to protect those 2nd hand car dealers big towkay than the rakyat? How many used car dealers out there compared to the people who are suffering to pay the car loans? Why are you giving the used car dealers priority then the rakyat?!

• Amingo on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:48 am

Thank you Najib, janji ditepati, rakyat didahulukan sengsara.. Weird statement ..look like all comment against..

• Nitro on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:21 am

Reduce car tax will put money on people pocket automatically. Better food and education for family, even a well deserved holiday.

Gov still can tax cars, but at an acceptable rate by the common people.

Gov does not need to give $200 phone voucher, school book Voucher or even paltry cash handouts.

People can take care of all these things if they
    have a few hundred riggit extra every month, and they can do more.

Gov spending will then definitely go down.

Sure the Gov needs money , but how to increase gov revenue without killing the people with excessive car price?

one of the way is to Increase property tax for foreign buyes (usually
    these group of people are very well off), and they buy properties for investments. singapore did this and they netted $500 mil sg dolars which was not very long ago.

Now the question is what is your dream car and what would u do to own it ?

• sobeit on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:28 am

it shows tat how desperate they are to milk every single last drop of the rakyat’s $$. Even if this might cost them the next GE13, they are willing to take a chance just to earn these billions and hope against hope they would win GE13 to get away with this.

let’s show them people power as we already had enuf of their shit and we really2 want a change!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Perplexed on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:28 am

Last time the gov wants to withdraw fuel subsidy but they forget our cars are heavily taxed ! Use those money to subsidized fuel not your political agenda. Not to mention the GST that is about to be implemented. More taxes, less income. So with the reduction of car prices surely it will help to reduce people’s commitment. Most people will be able to settle the loan within 5 years. This will lead to financial freedom. Malaysians can use the money to travel around the world etc.

Who cares about the AP Kings, cronies and so on. We have waited long enough. I’ve never vote in a GE but this time surely I will. You choose najib, the get the votes from majority of the rakyat by reducing car prices or to continue to protect your coffers/selected few !

• Xefron on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:01 am

Our PM comes from an aristocrat family,which mean he is already comfortable since his day he was born but some of us are not.So most probably he can’t really empathize what others are facing.Sympathy maybe yes.

It is true some of us want our dream car easy to be purchased but i believed the most important part is not to spend too much on serving the loan despite buying a RM 60K car.Which mean more pocket money for rakyat to spend on other things if they want.I believe if most of the rakyat cash flow is positive,less BR1M need to be give.

But the way this Najib talked,likes he doesn’t want to take the initiative to make the car cheaper at all.

I don’t think our country is already a middle income country not even the high one when only 1.7 million of workers from 12 million are paying the income tax.

• matlimmutu on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:04 am

for me it is the car manufacturer UMW, Honda, bla bla bla.. they make huge profit! their bosses, CEOs r being paid like out of this world salary!

• Keep the excise duties as it is a factor to control the population of cars on the road. The government has been throwing money at the “rakyat”. Where is it going to acquire income to maintain good fiscal health? The principle of spending funds on companies that are linked to ministers needs to eliminated. Then work on providing good public transport for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Civillian on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:08 pm

you forget to mention the soon to be implemented GST. Zero tax on cars doesn’t mean Zero income for goverment. as the industry become more dynamic and active (buying of new cars/selling of older cars) like in the developed countries the gov can also get a profit through other form of taxes and companies such as banks, car dealers, manufacturers. not to mention of the lucrative market will persuade the FDI into our country. how’s that sound to you ?

• albag on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:42 am

drop income revenue for govt… is there any hidden message on cronies?

• GreenWave on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:02 am

What a wise opinion by our beloved PM.. then PM should use used car too la, used Kancil should be fair enough.

• The automotive policy is only benefiting a certain group of people only, not the citizen as whole. The policy too need to be reviewed as it is no longer relevent for current practise.Neighbouring country are selling the same model car at fraction of the cost of what it is selling here. The main culprit is the duty and excise make the car price higher. How any of us are benifiting for this, no many but a couple of groups only. If the public links and transport are goood with better connectvitiy,I would not consider buyin my self a car. Here we have to buy a car because the connectivity is not there. So we end up buying car for as mean of transport and bog down further with loan and longer repayment. This lead to less disposable income. What I can say is the policy is not so favorable to the public as whole. The day the poor and low wage earner can afford to live a better life ,that is the policy I would support.After all what we ask is for everyone should have to have food on thier table,cloth to wear and roof above thier head.Wake up people wake up,we are not blind,deaf anymore.

• Lower the tax not meaning lesser income bcos more people will buy may be the tax receive by govtmn will more than currently received!!!

• frustrated rakyat on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:04 pm

I’ve always been a BN supporter…but after hearing PM’s comments on car prices, i’m beginning to change my mind…getting frustrated with the G’s policy! we r all intelligent and can see thru their words…sometimes make us rakyat feel insulted…

I’ve worked so hard over the years and now earn high income, but still trying to cope with high cost of living, mostly attributed by silly policies and incompetence of the G….i pity the rakyat who r in the lower income group trying to make ends meet…

• Now only changing mind? It puzzled me what is taking so long for you to realise that.

And you shouldn’t mentioned the word INTELLIGENT.

• momeng on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:35 pm

This could very well be a publicity stunt to increase the impact when G annouce a megre tax reduction later. You know, G squashed our hope now and nearing election, suddenly said they will reduce the tax albeit a little bit and then can claim how G is listening and then JANJI DI TEPATI etc…

• frustrated rakyat on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:48 pm

aiyooo…amoi…you hv so much hate in you that you are oblivious to history…i guess you are still young then to understand the scrifices of our forefathers prior to the current leaders…

• Davinnci on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Very soon Malaysia=Argentina=Spain. Corruption is too serious among the G, get rid of it now or we will never have the chance

Vote to the party who really care about rakyt, not kaum.

• Steve on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Witness the fleet of Ah Jib Gor when he visited our town. His fleet consists all the posh cars that we can dream of. S class. Vellfire. Wondering is this called One Malaysia? The PM is supposed to serve the Rakyat. But I feel like we are slave. We are slave of expensive house and expensive car. If PM drive only a proton saga, then no one will make noise.

• Smart Guys Get It on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Be smart guys. Najib said the government must take into account “the entire ecosystem” that depends on Proton for survival, not just the interests of the national automaker itself. So what does “the entire ecosystem” means? It simply means…..cronies! Rakyat kena tipu…..lagi.

• Ali Baba on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Crony chief spotted!

• elfel on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:16 am

i’ll never vote for pr, but this ap policy should be scrapped along with other stupid policies that benefit few at the expense of the majority. eg: taxi permits and all the requirement for special license etc. It only encourages monopoly and corruption . I prefer to go to the task manager and end the non responding programs rather than straight away press the reset button ;)

• Smart Guys Get It on Oct 06, 2012 at 12:51 am

Be smart guys. Najib said the government must take into account the entire ecosystem that depends on Proton for survival, not just the interests of the national automaker itself. So what does “the entire ecosystem” means? If you’re smart, you’ll know it means…..his cronies! Rakyat kena tipu…..lagi.

• What a load of crap! THIS WOULDN’T HAPPEN IF YOUR GOVERNMENT DIDN’T START THE WHOLE “PROTECT PROTON” shit right?! Now we have to clean up your shit after Pakatan takes over..

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:55 am

Look how Thailand govt promote their auto sector :

1. Thailand First-Car Buyer Scheme :
    – Tax rebates of up to 100,000 Baht (RM10K) to first-time car buyers from September 16 to December 31, 2012
    – Thai Excise Department will begin issuing the rebates of up to 100,000 Baht for each first-car owner after car owner has owned the car for one year
    – The tax rebate will be a one-off payment made in a lump sum by cheque from the department
    – Eligible vehicles are cars below 1500cc and pickup trucks unlimited engine capacity below 1 million Baht price (below RM100K)
    – The vehicles must be locally assembled – excluding those that are assembled from used imported parts
    – Minimum age for buyers is 21
    – To prevent profiteering, the vehicle has to remain in the possession of the first buyer for 5 years
    – The tax rebate is expected to cost Thai government about 150 billion Baht (RM15 Billion), assuming that 500,000 Thais will buy first cars
    – It will also benefit Thai rubber farmers , since at least 2.5 million tires will be needed for estimated 500,000 cars sold

2. Thailand Eco Car Policy:
    – Follow-up from policy of “Detroit of Asia” in 2002 giving incentives to OEMs, especially Japanese OEMs such as Toyota, to relocate production of pickups to Japan
    – Eco cars defined as need to pass stringent environmental and fuel economy regulations such as running fuel on 20km/L
    – Eco car applicable on A-B segment of engine displacement less than 1,400 cc for diesel and 1,300 cc for gasoline
    – Eco cars can enjoy special incentives by reducing the excise tax from 30 % to 17 %
    – Mitsubishi Mirage is one such example of cars produced under Eco Car rules

Here ? Habok pun tarak! Kereta jimat minyak tapi MITI hantam harga mahal sembelih rakyat.

But for Proton, very easy get free RM120 million duit rakyat hantam lah R&D tapi kereta masih juga macam sial

Rakyat sendiri – kena sembelih, Proton – Enjoy hantam duit rakyat!

Bravo Dacing, Bravo!

• Ali Baba on Oct 07, 2012 at 2:45 am

Drop income revenue for govt? Drop income revenue for cronies more likely. Import car excise duty = songlap money. The money shouldn’t exist in the first place!

• Smart Guys Get It on Oct 07, 2012 at 3:00 am

Without proton, Najib’s cronies cannot survive! To bring down his cronies, we must unite as 1Malaysia and stop buying proton.

• BULLSHIT…time 2 vote out BN n stop buying potong crap

• Notoexcise on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Why should the majority of Malaysians suffer high cost of cars in order to protect the used car industry??

• MY Hybrid on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:03 pm

For Hybrid Car below 2000cc imported and sold in 2012 & 2013, there is no import tax. Means 0% import tax (Current import tax 30%). Sales tax 10%. But still excise duty ranging 60% to 95% imposed by government. So, do the maths.

• Joshua on Jan 13, 2013 at 1:36 pm

So is it worth it to put all car-buying agendas on hold till after the elections?
    Any advice, btw I’m voting PKR :)

• Who cares bout used car future? They are bunch of crooks anyway.

• augustine kinsik on Mar 06, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Excise Duty for cars below 2 lit can be reduced gradually say 10-20% a year until the rate is 50% to cater for the low income group. Cars with bigger power can remain the same rate of excise duty. Excise duty for small pick up lorries and single cabin pick up must also be reduced further for rural folks use.

• Laughing on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:42 am

malaysia is taking those tax payer money to subsidies on those who are lazy kedai 1m, clinic 1m, giving money to those salary below how much how much lar… dont u fell that is nuts to do so??

• All lies, before election say follow pakatan, after win by playing dirty then no reduce car price. All full of shit.