In a bid to reduce the number of road accidents and fatalities, transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that traffic laws in Malaysia will soon be reviewed and improved. According to The Star, the minister said that the government’s efforts to educate the public on road safety hasn’t succeeded reducing accidents and reckless driving, and that it will need to look at other means to improve the situation.
“Now, we want to review the laws to see how we can improve our enforcement to effectively reduce road accidents and fatalities,” he said. In a separate report by The Sun, the minister who was attending the Road Transport Department’s (JPJ) 70th anniversary celebrations added that a special task force will be set up within the JPJ to “fine tune” some of the nation’s existing road laws.
Liow doesn’t believe that the JPJ’s lack of enforcement action is to be blamed. “It’s just that the action doesn’t seem to yield any positive outcome and this is why we need to study and fine tune its details,” he said.
On the upcoming demerit points system, the transport minister explained that the previous demerit system failed because drivers who paid their compounds were not given any point deductions from their annual 15 points. Even repeat offenders could escape without punishment so long as the fines were paid.
As previously reported, however, the deployment of the new Awareness Automated Safety System (AWAS) is likely to be delayed further. Originally planned to be introduced in May this year, it is said that the system may only become active in August – after the Hari Raya festive season – once further deliberations on the matter are concluded in the Dewan Rakyat.
no fine tune needed… just good implementation… get it together mr minister!!
Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. End of the days, money spent nothing get done.
OMG…just finetune only or need overhaul eventually…hhahaha
Before fine tune traffic laws, pls fine tune Malaysian road. Traffic jam , day in day out. No parking space provided but still get towed, cars getting fined at public events, JPJ buy n sell car system overcomplicated, ..etc….etc…etc.
with respect, all of you need the ‘fine tune’..
skit2 taskforce la, jawatankuasa khas la, suruhanjaya diraja la..but the issue never resolved completely..
OMG…i totally agreed with u.they only know wasting $$$ but not able to solve the problem fast, very uncompetent & useless. puihhhhh
taskforce la best, boss!
got allowance summore hehe
Before changing the law, beef up enforcement first. Come to Kesas Highway, it has the best motorcycle lanes of all highways, yet everyday we see kapchai riding on right lane without any care of their lives.
Have never seen any policemen taking action, despite of patrol cars are on the road.
Clown in action.
They can’t even enforce laws on stationary illegally parked cars, what more to say on moving cars.
Oh my.. Only now to intro “special task force”.
Should have done years ago. Road condition is so bad, speed limit not being adhered etc… Macam macam boleh buat but no proper enforcement. Semua mahu kaya.
trust somebody like this, everything “liow liow”.
Menghabiskan semua
special force to waste taxpayer money?? why you all so blind eyes? the root cause of this issue cannot be identify after so long the issue been happen so long.. get down to field see what is the problem.. stop using escort and let jam together.. then just talk bout the special task force..
I would hope that cronies step down and let the capable candidate to take over.
OMG…cronies very capable but only in taking care their pocket. lol.
I hate to see political figure in any news, more over this’s Automobile Websites. Malaysian politicians are low level organism which just know abt eat & produce waste … nothing else. They just keep on eat eat eat tax payer and make announcement sometimes. Granted, the details of this initiative derived from task-force and he just approve & announced.
If you think I’m bashing, just look at our AES: waste money – compensate – on hold – amend law – repeat again. And this is what minister called “actions after careful thought”!
As someone who drops nothing but pure unadulterated TRUTH this had to be posted.
Is this minister tying to spend more moneye on special task force so you can buy another 500k top of the range alphard 2015? the current one you bought this year that is parked nicely in front of your office not new enough ka?
whats the point of JPJ, ministry of transport government servants that are already working there? aren’t these already in their job scope, what are they doing all these while if not already trying to improve the safety and traffic regulations in our country?
-BigBalls-
Please review the speed limit for 3-lane highways – remove the 80km/h and 90km/h speed limit. The existing 110km/h speed limit is fair. All 3-lane highways should have 110km/h as speed limit across the board. 80km/h and 90km/h is too slow to drive on a straight 3-lane highway, and worse part this is where all the speed traps are done.
People are struggling to make ends meet in today’s economy, the government shouldn’t fine / give summons for a speed limit that does not make sense (i.e. 80km/h and 90km/h on a straight 3-lain highway) .
Special task force again… what are those existing people doing? how many task force you going to create whenever there is a problem or complaint filed by somebody?
the task force Malayia style, is established to use (read waste) money from tax payers. So-called Task force….will make study trip at overseas/holiday trips in groups…..or have countless meetings, eat kuih lapis, teh tarik session, waste time, waste money. Once finished, come out with technical report.
Report is the kept in locked cabinet, gathering dust.
(repeat process, if needed)
With our pathetically poor quality of ministers, I don’t see anything could or would work in Malaysia