MINI Riley (sedan) to complete new five-model range?

mini-sedan-renders-1

It was said in June 2015 that MINI will concentrate on having just five core models in its range. With the three- and five-door hatchback making up for one model, the new Clubman and Convertible being the second and third, the next-gen Countryman which arrives later this year will become the fourth.

Its fifth model is what has everyone guessing at the moment. Could the short-lived Coupe or Paceman be revived? Unlikely, but a new report from Autocar UK suggests that the final model will be a sedan (as rendered here by Theophilus Chin) — one that could revive the iconic “Riley” nameplate. For those who aren’t aware, in 1961, the Riley Elf and the Wolseley Hornet were two Mini sedans released as more premium versions of the original hatch.

The English publication reports that there isn’t any official confirmation yet, but inside sources suggest that a MINI sedan is on the cards and in line with the brand’s “new look and ethos” as well as the “next logical evolution” for the BMW-owned car maker.

mini-sedan-renders-2

Speaking to the publication at the New York Auto Show, Ralph Mahler, vice president of product management at MINI didn’t confirm a sedan body style for the brand, but said that the company was studying its possibility.

“The sedan concept is in our history. So, we have roots there. We have to look at it in a factual way. Customers may know of the strong heritage of the sedan concept, but it was never sold in big volumes,” said Mahler. “For example, in Asia and in the US, the sedan segment is very big. This is very interesting to us, of course,” the VP added.

Should a MINI sedan be realised, the publication claimed that the new Clubman’s UKL1 underpinnings may be just right for it. It said that the Clubman’s 2,670 mm-long wheelbase and bodywork from the front end to the B-pillars are a suitable fit. It adds that a total length of around 4,300 mm can be expected, making it one of the smallest premium sedans in the segment.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Riley Ried?

• Gerry on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:10 am

That’s actually quite nice looking. Practical maybe not but no one buys a Mini for practicality

• Test driven a few models, very exiting car.

Still price is not right here in Malaysia. Practically buy one within capacity and admire on the road lah, for free.

• Aiyo Chin, why you go and copy the daihatsu boon in your rendering?

• i think ppl buy mini is for the mini look….. now this car….. doesnt have its look and it is a Sedan

• Aero (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Wah wah wah, Riley came back from the grave ! Not many Malaysians will know, but a long time ago, Rileys were sold here too. I believe some were locally assembled (CKD) at the AMIM plant in Shah Alam. There was also the Clubman, which I believe sold better here.

If this works out, will it be assembled in Malaysia ? We already assemble the Mini Countryman. But I believe the other Minis are all CBU. Please correct me if I’m mistaken here. Anyway, I think it looks pretty good, but like all of the Minis here, they are too damn expensive to even consider. In the U.K., Minis are like Myvis… they’re cheap and everywhere. Here, it’s the opposite. haha