Ministry to proceed with road closure for rempit racing

2015-mat-rempit-5-e1444095620332a_BM

Despite protests and criticism from the public, the government will proceed with the closure of public roads for the purpose of allowing motorcyclists to race. In a report by The Sun Daily, Federal Territories deputy minister Datuk Dr Loga Bala Mohan said options are being explored by the ministry on how to ensure the event can be organised properly.

“We are also gathering input from all the comments and feedback given by the public on the event to prevent any mishaps or damage to any infrastructure,” said Loga. Local councils under the purview of the ministry are currently conducting studies to determine the best location and time to hold such events, added Loga.

“The road closure will be at the Federal Territories – Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan – but time and location will be determined based on the findings by the councils,” he said. Loga was responding to the proposal by Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor in February to close certain public roads to allow motorcycle racing by illegal street racers on kapchais, commonly known as “mat rempit“.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Terrence on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:48 am

Losing the support from the graduates, the govt is trying to fish for supports from youngsters of the other end of the spectrum.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 283 Thumb down 0
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:51 am

This alone shows how irresponsible our Ministers are. Like that, also have a section of KL with blow up dolls where perverts and rapist can go and pump the dolls to vent their sexual frustration.

Our Ministers actually have no brains. They are too busy stealing that they have no time to serve the rakyat and protect the rakyat. That is the problem with our Government. Too busy stealing and lying about the stealing when they get caught that they have no time to protect us.

And PDRM, they spend all their time protecting the people who steal and are corrupted, instead of protecting us, the rakyat from crime

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 2
      • Gargantia on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:53 pm

He think this country belong to him?????? Suka-suka comfirm this and that !!! Rakyat when will you all wake up ??? ABUSE OF USING POWER BY MINISTRY !!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
        • Same L00 on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:07 pm

More rempit racing = more accident
          more accident = more surgery/funeral
          more surgery/funeral = more money spent
          more money spent = better economy

So now you know the government only care about money… and vote.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
          • Expected already one. Everytime got big discovery in 1MDB, some minister will just creating “distraction” for public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • WT. Fuchhh on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Allo. Stupid. Do it at Putrajaya…lah!! There the road so wide and won’t cause traffic jam. Minister otak udang.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 0
      • Najib GST on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Ingat undi BN… peluang jadi juara Kampung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • It’s better ask them to provide GrabMoto service for the ppl, Rempit GP no good.

• Donkey J on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:51 am

let see how long will persist, how much expenditure will spend on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • hahaha on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:25 am

i suggest for extra challenge the remits to race around the ministers house… ALL OF THEM… challenge is to not get caught.

but wait a minute they don’t read… illiterate fools!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • hahaha on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:29 am

and I’m sure each reader here is happy to donate RM1 for prizes for the winner… we will raise thousands…

• Make sure bring in some moving cars & lorries too.

Then only the racers can potong zigzag..if not tak Syok bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Really on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Even if the govt managed to get the support of the mat rempits, the main question will be: will they translate the support into votes? If they go to vote at all on the election day, that is. Looking like the govt is really desperate nowadays.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:14 pm

With freebies they will.

Hasn’t that always been the case?

• Chin Peng on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:23 pm

the thing is these mat rempit are not that stupid. i once went to a function held by UMNO where they paid mat rempit and bikers to hold their banners like samseng but my schoolmate was one of them and he told me majority of them are from opposition party. they were there just for the money. our ministers are plain stupid. =.=

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Reduce scholarships, hike tuition fees, make entry into universities undesirable, produce more dropouts, and we have a generation of rempits ready to support BN come next general elections. Good thinking by Teuku Nan.

• helioX10 on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:50 am

Close road for Mat Rempit -> CAN
    Close road for Peace Demonstration -> CANNOT

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 0
    • SempitKL on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:40 am

Paling BEST kitorang racing kat KESAS.

Kiter tutup KESAS, BN byr pampasan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Leon Lai on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:52 am

Hopefully can have one for car racing too!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:34 am

KL City GP seems unlikely to happen again. Damn shame.

Lucky went last year, and got to see Volvo Polestar Aussie V8. A wonderful experience.

• Woot Woot on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

Soon the government will shutdown the country and sanction The Purge

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • Ali Muthu Ah Beng on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

Damn retarded government leaders we have here in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • Minister says:
    There are red light districts, Casinos and liquor stores, why not a venue for mat rempit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Cooper on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:58 am

jom race kat Putrajaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Another monumental achievement for Malaysia, in the spirit of Malaysia Boleh!! Federal government’s willingness to disrupt traffic and jeopardies public safety and general road users, just to placate a bunch of truant spoilt brats. What next, ‘Bohsia’ pageantry to be held alongside these Mat Rempit race day event; and better still, have the events officiated by the ‘Geniuses’ who mooted this ‘brilliant’ plan!! Truly speechless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:02 am

Malaysia was the first ever country in this planet approved such silliest laws and exemption.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • bye guys on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:07 am

I don’t to live in this planet anymore, particularly in this country. The ministers are just too stupid to be true

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • komrad on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:10 am

if so then check first for license… many might not have it…

• crack smoker on pipe dreams on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:13 am

Woo hoo! can gather all crackheads into rempit start doing bussiness!

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:22 am

This is possibly a BN recruitment drive. Rempits represent the urban, unemployed, underpaid, young and angry population segment which is significant. BN needs them to register to vote in the cities and bolster chances in the next PRU. Smart move Teuku Adnan.

• SeemsLegit on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:22 am

Meanwhile cyclists who won the competition rewarded with a few 10 ringgit. Instead of encouraging teenager/ people to join healthy/ legal sports, they allowing rempit who bought a lots of trouble and threatening our lives to roam the city freely with “special treatment” road closure privilege. Those rempit will only bring more trouble than before knowing the “G” got their back covered. What’s wrong with them, first they indirectly allow taxi to protest and now they closing road just for rempit to “have fun”. Try let those rempit race in putrajaya everyday, see how it turns out. Putrajaya has wide road, nice view and lesser car, why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Ketua Polis & Transport Ministry shouldn’t keep quiet.
    It’s time to show rakyat what are they made of!

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:52 am

IGP takut of politician. Otherwise,when he retire, he cannot get chairmanship of 50 companies like the previous IGPs

Each company pay RM10k to be chairman. 50 companies….$$$$$

• Really on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:21 pm

The only thing the IGP will do is tweeting his attendance at the inaugural race, sitting beside Jabba The Hutt (Adnan). #AtTheRempitRace, #SupermanWheelie.

• It is really naive to think that they will race on these so called “closed road”. Who’s gona pay for the cost of organising? Fireproof suits? Helmets? I won’t pay a single cent if I’m a mat rempit. What is the fun racing on these “safe roads”? I’ll just simply switch to another place to race.

Correction: they race on high performance bike nowadays ok. No more kapchais. Keep your facts uptodate alright?

In the end, it’s probably another silly government plan trying to earn a profit while at the same time “trying to solve” this issue. Enuf said.

• ae101 on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:30 am

What you all waiting for? Next GE sure tak nak BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Brains in backside.

• drMpower on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:54 am

Loga, pleasure me please.

Who you contacted (or contracted – pay money for) to do the research on this? Some NGO under Ikan Bakar? I am asking. Which council you are referring? What made a person a mat rempit? Is there any identification of mat rempit? Or, do you know who exactly is a mat rempit?

Since the roads and infrastructures are paid by the people, let open up the findings for public scrutinise. After all it is you Loga and your ministers and ministries and even your Prime Minister said that long gone are the days the Government know best.

But from what I am reading here, it seems nothing changed. From the statement to close the roads, it seems you and your government will not listen to the public that all, despite all the critics and negative feedbacks from all people. Have you seen the voters demographic, Loga? How many mat rempits are there? Just in case you dont know, you cant tell how many. One is because there is no category for them, second is, you dont know which is mat rempit and which is not. So indulge me, Loga, why you want to do this again?

And Loga, very interesting background there. Some placements in the private companies, notably at Sports Toto, others include VP for BN at state level. Not compete in the last PRU. And ah Pacific Western University! (Bloomberg, 2016)

• demonkinG on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:55 am

Just because there’s plenty of mat rempit in Malaysia then it will be allowed…What if there’s plenty of Gay, Lesbian, Drug addict in Malaysia..Then all of these sickness will be allowed?? This is madness..

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:57 am

During the Race, paramedic ambulance standby to collect dead body.

• Rubbish Rempit on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:13 am

Support mat rempit = support BN,
    Mat Rempit : we support BN so many years, now is reward time, siapa bising sini pun tak guna, kita sama dengan BN selama-lamanya, mati pun sama.

• Abdul on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:19 am

Next thing you’ll see, more and more mat rempits, more gangs, more illegal motorcycle modifications, more crime just because some smart people had a bright idea inside his bilik termenung. Jamban!

• C.P.MOHAN on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:20 am

So this guy is saying that abiding laws, paying multiple tolls, paying maintenance and petrol and paying taxes including road tax is less important than …….

• first ever see mostly thumb up for such stupid decision…the only thumb down must be mat rempit

• hahahaha, what a joke for our govt. I hope nobody get hurt during this stupid race.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:58 am

Let them race in Putrajaya! every weekend will be show for tourist and others!

• shawal on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:08 pm

More rm30,rm20,rm10 cheque prizes to br given away woohoo….

Enough petrol to last them for days…

• Rempit land on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Boleh land,
    now rempit land

• Alien on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Wahai minister kalian, if your son is mat rempit what would you do? Let him go out and race then have risk of being killed by the lousy road surface condition? Let his wife and son wait him to return home in the late night with broken arms and legs? Or you want your grandchilrdren ambition to be like his father become mat rempit?

Can’t these rempits spend their time on building better future? Family, society, country! Why must you want to build a future generation that do
    not know how to make use of their time and life to do something meaningful?

If any minister are reading this, it is time for you to THINK properly before you act. Their life and future depend on your decision today.

• u think our minister want more educated? they only want our citizen to be less educated and less capable in future…then they have chances the manage this fruitful bolehland

• Omegle on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:54 pm

“We are also gathering input from all the comments and feedback given by the public on the event to prevent any mishaps or damage to any infrastructure.

We alrd told u not to do tis yet u still go on with it. Now u want our input on how to organise one properly?! Fk off…

• future is a lot off XXXXless thing….our government future is

hopeless
    brainless
    clueless
    useless
    shameless

• mango on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:59 pm

retarded bunch of clowns managing our country that encourage illegal racing..

• Lolol on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Closing roads for rempits to race is like the ministry sets up specific homes for robbers to steal from.

What will they think of next? Free drugs for drug addicts? Why not have a specific traffic lane for ppl who like to drive over speed limit ? Or special lanes for ppl who don’t like to wear seat belts.

Memang kebodohan tak terhingga

• satumii on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:16 pm

bodoh

• choong hui ken on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Opps, forgot.. this idiot were not nominated by us.. so he will not feel any obligated to kl ppl..
    !#(@@#^&*(*&^%$#
    Pls return the rights to kl ppl to nominate a responsible datuk bandar..
    Right now, kl gonna be disaster city if this plan implemented..

• Kampung Boy on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Every country is trying hard to educate the teenagers from racing and taking drugs. Instead telling them to be more athletic or visit the library more often, they are promoting street racing… What are they smoking?

• WaJib on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Nanti dapat tengok aksi Rempit Superman bertembung Rempit Batman..Menarik jugak. Who needs Hollywood Marvel’s when u have jaguh-jaguh rempit here

• Oh man, I can already start to imagine the havoc it will cause

• In developed countries, they are lead by really brilliant ministers who make decisions based on the best interest for the countries. In our country, we are lead by predominantly idiotic ministers whom decisions are based on whim and fancy. That explains how close we are to vision 2020.

• Dark Side on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:20 pm

In other country they called natural disaster…in here we called self destruction…no more cure…just live with it!!!

• GP 2016cc on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Motivated by GP jaguh kampung recently…that is why…no choice popularity and votes are my rice bowl…

• Zeubayr on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Bring them all together at one place,then im going to bring my bulldozer and bulldoze all of them to make this country a bearable place. Then I’ll bulldoze all the crackhead ministers to make this country a much better place.

• Apalah on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Perhaps next will be cordoning off a street for snatch thieves to practise their skills

• Think like a thief on Apr 16, 2016 at 12:49 am

Confirmed! It is confirmed that this was what they had promised the Mat Rempits to return their favour for joining the Himpunan Maruah Melayu. When this is finally implemented, you can expect UMNGOK will immediately gather these Mat Rempits again for Himpunan Maruah Melayu 2 and so on till GE14 in order to ‘unite’ the Malays by making the Chinese the boogeyman!

*To catch a thief you must to think like a thief.

• What rule is this ? on Apr 16, 2016 at 1:55 am

Guys , as statement above , government said how the event to prevent any mishaps or damage to any infrastructure… lets see them how they damage and accident lah… and government will say it’s not mat rempit cause the problem , but those cars speeding and then purposely go bang those infrastructure especially chinese… i think we shud get 1 kapchai to race cause tak ada salah (government said geh)

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Apr 16, 2016 at 10:31 am

Police now can nab alot of rempits at one go since road closures are done by police themselves. Don’t say you’re not given the chance!

• truthbetold on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:37 am

desperate minister…depending on these guys for votes? i bet after the event, kunan will give a speech to all of the rempits about being grateful to UMNO for this event.