2016 Honda Civic – S’pore gets 1.6 only, from RM318k

Civic_18E-2

While an ad has just popped up here in Malaysia, the tenth-gen Honda Civic will soon arrive in Singapore too. Thanks to reader Calvin Teoh, we can now see some of the specs that our neighbours across the border will be getting, and it looks like a sole offering – a 1.6 litre VTEC model. Priced at SGD$109,999 (RM318k), the Civic is also open for booking.

A few key features highlighted in the brochure include LED daytime running lights with halogen headlamps, and a smart keyless entry system. The Civic in Singapore gets a push start button, an electronic parking brake and an Econ mode.

Other features for the interior include a leather upholstery, automatic dual-zone climate control and rear air-con vents. Standard is a seven-inch touchscreen headunit, USB and HDMI ports and a total of eight speakers. The tilt and telescopic adjustable, three-spoke steering wheel gets the usual buttons including audio control switches, cruise control, hands-free telephone switch and paddle shifters.

Apart from that, there are cup holders for both front and rear passengers, while also standard are two illuminated front vanity mirrors and an auto dimming rear view mirror. Meanwhile, the driver gets a manual height adjustable front seat, while both front windows come with auto up/down function.

A rear view camera and four rear sensors are also available. Delving further into safety, the Civic only comes with two airbags, along with ABS, vehicle stability assist (VSA) and hill-start assist.

As mentioned, it’s only available with one engine – a 1.6 litre SOHC i-VTEC mill that makes 125 PS at 6,500 rpm and 152 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm, mated to a CVT gearbox. On paper, the model here will do 0-100 km/h in 11.6 seconds and has a top speed of 200 km/h.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments highlight that the Honda Civic's price in Singapore is very high due to COE and taxes, with the 1.6L model costing around RM318k. Many note that despite the high cost, Singaporeans have better public transportation options, making car ownership less essential. Comparisons suggest that Malaysian prices are also high, but Singapore's overall living costs and taxes push prices even higher. Some comments criticize the underpowered engine for Singapore's Civic, while others mention that the price in SGD is comparable to Malaysia once currency differences are adjusted. Overall, there’s a mixed sentiment: some see the high prices as justified by Singapore’s infrastructure and economy, while others criticize the expensive car market and advocate for better affordability.

• rm300k civic on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Wow. Thrill has new limits indeed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • Abang Sado on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Spore GDP per Capita – ** USD 56,300 **

Msia GDP per Capita – ** USD 11,300 **

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 24
      • B-Unggul on Apr 19, 2016 at 4:43 am

So funny. Now wanna compare GDP pulak.

Meanwhile, in UK….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • carlist on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:13 pm

I’m not going to comment about the price but looking at the engine alone which to be launched in the little red dot island can make me a big laugh. What a joke! 1600cc with old engine? haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:17 am

HOnda SG “customize” the Civic with 1.6L due to their roadtax and COE systems.
        In SG, the measurement not only consider CCs, but also consider horse power.
        Therefore, the 1.5 turbo is very expensive.

• DPCraft on Apr 19, 2016 at 6:53 pm

They should launch the detuned version of 1.5t producing 130Hp and 220Nm of torque, they’ll tax Hp but not torque.

• Honda Accord on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:49 pm

If I were a Singaporean, I’d go and say something like – holy guacamole Merz C-class in Malaysia cost bloody less than SGD100k, our government must be sleepingzz at work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Paul tan pls don’t fool us or be stupid! Lets compare dollar to dollar but not dollar to ringgit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • B-Unggul on Apr 20, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Okay, let’s compare dollar to dollar.

SG dollar and US dollar.

(Which excuse people gonna use next?)

• OMG…this pricing and lousy spec seem not encourage u to buy this new civic in SG…Haha..Honda malaysia, pls dont learn from them.

• namanama on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:25 pm

ambik kau! kereta malaysia mahal ye? =P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 100
    • ProtonGSC on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Go compared it with Singaporean average monthly salary against Bolehland Rakyat “real” average salary… Utusan boy please come out from cave !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 55
      • ey come live here and see. Sit in Malaysia T*** C**k

• honda fan club on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:06 pm

But if compared wth ppl in the uk, Sg honda still expensove lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
        • Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:22 am

If we consider GDP and Income,
          SG living cost is much more reasonable than msia.
          If you work in SG, you will well understand work and living in SG is cheaper than work and living in Msia.

As a Malaysian, can we don’t buy a car and take public transport?
          Look at their fleet of taxi, clean, no haggling, cheaper (Dollar to dollar), efficient, LOL all ex manager taxi driver.

In msia, who grab the steering wheel?
          Samseng?lol, SPAD, stop cronyism, grabcar & Uber 100 times better than your CAB with cheaper & honest price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • namanama on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:56 am

Rusmah,my advice for u is focus on what you have,not on what you don’t…

• Andas on Apr 19, 2016 at 7:40 am

Go ask them, they will say the cost of living are very high.. u can see tuas and causeway like sardin can every weekend where sgporean flock to jb, malacca and kl for holiday..

• namanama on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:30 am

Even compared to US,SG Civic priced 4 time higher! Grass is always greener on other side right?? LOL!!

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Spore is just perlis..so small so tiny..no petroleum but can grow further than malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
    • namanama on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Typical comment by uneducated people don’t even know whats happening with Malaysia. Smart moive for SG to leave Msia, since than SG economy keep going up chart, while Malaysia economy? Go fugure yourself ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
      • Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:28 am

SG win Msia not because of the country is really great.
        Just because they got better Gov manage the country.
        IMHO, I agree that SG is more successful than Msia at this moment.
        However, SG is a country lack of culture, creative, talents but full with pampered Citizen, blaming, complaining.

Their Gov take care them well.
        but normalize/standardize ppl mind.

Hahaha, if you really smart, you may found many SG minister were Malaysian!
        Malaysia got talent!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • namanama on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:02 am

and what are u doing here man? not complaining? U have a good point there,but this is not valid for argument.Even Singaporean are not happy with their cars prices.

• namanama on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:40 am

I have a few friend who work in SG,are they smarter than me??while I can still afford to buy landed properties,drive a decent car,and have plenty of time for my family…enough to make me happy.If u cant satisfy your life, don’t blame others.and use your own nickname.lowlife.

• Not feasible on Apr 19, 2016 at 4:27 pm

You earn RM9k EPF took RM1k, they earn $7k CPF took $1.2K.
          You take RM600k 30years loan pay RM2.5k, they take $600k 30years loan pay $1k + 50% of own CPF contribution.
          You use car spend RM1.5k, they use mrt/taxi and occasionally rent car $0.8k
          You spend RM2k for living expense, they spend $1k for living expense.
          You have RM2k left, they have $3k left.

• farid on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:45 am

Ko kluar la dr malaysia la. Ni negara aku

• lao yee on Apr 19, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Singaporean does not need car as much as desperate Malaysian. We if no cars, equals to no legs. Meanwhile the transit system in Spore is far more convenient and consistent, easily access almost from every corner.

• vodka on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:25 pm

The grass is NOT greener on the other side in this case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
  • Nasi tomyam on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Wtf I Jz see? For sporean who working n staying thr. Consider acceptable. U cannot use the currency exchange rate to compare wif foreign car. Not fair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Pipu here can compare bolehland price with US or UK price n this one fair?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • Bashers mindset- can compare if we r worse. Then bash. Cannot compare if we r better. Later dunno how to bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • RavenAii (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Obviously they can’t say anything when they’re not the worst don’t they? Hahahahahaa

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:27 pm

That is with current COE right? Crazy prices there. You could buy a top spec LCI BMW 330i here in Malaysia with that money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • Mohd Affandi on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Well, a fresh uni grad earns roughly 3500-4000 SGD.. about Rm10k.

How much do our fresh grads earn? Rm3k at most, if you are lucky enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 31
      • That only for finance/banking sector. Manufacturing still can find below SGD 3000. U dun wan to do the job with this pay? Can find plenty of ori chinese waiting outside the factory with better qualification than u. And there is no foreigner quota there….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • ucantcme on Apr 19, 2016 at 1:17 am

as a fresh grad in civil eng. you will get SGD 2500.00 in Spore, or RM 2500 if you work in Msia. Just sharing..

• kimi's fan on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:33 pm

this simple conversion will make some potential buyers shift to other brands around this price range

• kapchai on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Seems odd that Indo and Thai markets get the turbo but not Singapore. Let see Malaysia next

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • mohsin on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:41 pm

harga kereta mahal di Singapore
    tak suka pindah Malaysia
    You could buy a top spec LCI BMW 330i here in Malaysia with that money. (win)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
    • Andas on Apr 19, 2016 at 7:42 am

Yes, but they cant drive that bimmer in sgpore.. if not eh, u can see a lot of ferrari with msia plate no. Park at HDB flat..

• The price of car in Singapore is the highest in the world but you have to remember their public transportation is among the best. And if you look the price in SGD (you live there, you earn SGD not MYR), it is cheaper than here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 31
    • Their public transport does not go everywhere. Try taking it to Jurong/Tuas. U will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
      • Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:30 am

there are lot of choice, SMRT, Uber, varieties of cab. Seriously, are you staying in SG? hahaha

• areos on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:10 pm

HARGA KERETA MAHAL SINGAPORE SEMUANYA DISEBABKAN OLEH PROTON, SAMA MACAM DI MALAYSIA HARGA KETE MAHAL SEBAB PROTON ADA. BLAME PROTON IS THE MOST LOGICAL WAY MAN.. SESETENGAH ORANG BENGONG SAMPAI MATI..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 25
  • WTHHHH!?!?!?! Even in numbers, SG price is not much different than lowly MY (110k compared to 120k)!
    Somemore haven add COE yet! Times 3X!
    Somemore WTH is with 1.6L engine. How come SG alwiz is butt of joke!
    Alredi prices is highest in the universe, can cekik myself!
    Then launching is most lastest in ASEAN!
    Somemore when launch, spec is shittiest in ASEAN!
    Somemore parking in my own house oso have to pay PAP!
    Somemore go to city have to pay congestion charges!
    Somemore if drive past ERP gantry, kena cekik without knowing!
    Somemore petrol price like sh*t! Go to Johor pump oso kena block!
    Somemore after 10 years have to dispose of my rarely used car!
    Then repeat have to pay another skyhigh COE!

MY syukur can keep car 30 years oso no problemo!
    Ini mesti semua salah LKY/ LHL/ PAP/ COE/ ERP……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • DPCraft on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:17 pm

The engine is underpowered but their other specs still ok. Remember their civic FD came with touch screen and reverse camera but 1.6l engine. Malaysia’s FD got no screen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Touchscreen & camera is gimmick. I can do both at kedai abang in JB. Can kedai abang get me brand new 1.5Turbo engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:51 am

IMHO, for SG ppl, underpower car is ok.
          There is no where for them to speed in such a small island with many “portable” camera.

• Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:49 am

Hahaha, in SG, they got the choice to buy or not to buy a car.
      You wanna save money, public transport.
      lots of transport mode.
      Car keep depreciating and getting higher maintenance cost, if you calculate properly, you could use these cost for better education for kids.

In Msia, we cant survive without car. Each family needs 2 car at least. How much of tax we paid to cronies?

• That’s why I said, Malaysia is still acceptable. Vietnam and HK and other countries are much more expensive. Even in Thailand, the gap is getting closer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:20 pm

lol no wonder nobody buys this car in singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • firna on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:24 pm

At least we know that new civic also can have rear AC vent…

• Think Properly on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Think again, you work there and you buy a civic at 110k, you work here and you buy a civic at 130k, which is cheaper? Nobody ask you to earn MYR and go buy a car with SGD. Get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
    • Andas on Apr 19, 2016 at 7:44 am

Well for johorean who work in SG, at least they will feel better since earn SGD but buy civic with MYR.. dont u think?

• Hahahahahah on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Xpayah 2.0..1.6 dah cukup power.
    Ngam dengan Singapore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • New Elantra pon dorang launch 1.6 je. Mmg ngam utk singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Abah kau on Apr 18, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Tax structure Singapore mmg mcm tu. Kalau 1.8, tax dibayar mcm 2.0. Tapi kalau 2.0 tak boleh jual sbb ada Honda accord. Baik jual 1.6.
      Bukan baru ni… 25 tahun lepas Toyota corona di Malaysia enjin 2.0 tapi di Singapore 1.6

• Yeah you were right … where they want to go … just around the island … no mountain to climb, no road for speeding! ha ha ha

• Kesian Sing.

• I still rmmbr when civic priced between 90k-100k hmm~~~

• Amirul on Apr 18, 2016 at 7:21 pm

We’re getting the 1.5t, only in June 16. They are launching the 1.6 NA first. The turbo will be priced at est SGD120+k….

• Maximillan on Apr 18, 2016 at 7:54 pm

I tot its a typo.. sounds like a city to me

• Made in Tongsan on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Kalau x suka boleh balik Tongsan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Prachinburi@Eastern Thailand on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Expensive or not it’s already plentiful on Thai roads black and white are the first two color out, it look nice on the road so no surprise will be everywhere soon

• KennyFang on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Which is more affordable, a Singaporean buying a Civic for SGD110K or a Malaysian buying a Civic for RM120K? Bare in mind that the Singaporean is probably earning 2x-3x more than the Malaysian in SGD without converting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Which is more affordable, a SG buying a Rm270k Axia or a MY buying a Rm27k Axia? Even if SG earns 5X more, its still more expensive in SG.
      SG loseliaolor!

• haha yup correct in SG not only car price the highest in the world, the cost of living also one of the highest. 5x times salary more than malaysian is nothing. unless other expenses is like malaysia or cheapper.

• mason on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Wat is the surprise here? it is singapore, ppls there earning $ n buying $109. we, malaysian earn rm also buyin civic at rm110+k now. Nothing special on the price. The real surprise is singapore only get 1 model of 1.6 engine. Lookin at this, i worry the 1.5turbo will not coming to malaysian.

• readB4comment on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:18 pm

why malaysian love to comment thing without seeing the truth?
    who teach u to earnt MYR and go singapore buy SG car?
    SG ppl earning around 3.5k-5k SGD (around 10k+ MYR)
    MY ppl earning around 1.5k-3k MYR (around 1k SGD)
    110k SGD honda civic sound cheap for SG ppl
    135k MYR honda civic sound ain’t so cheap for MY ppl
    so go syukur yr fcking MY goverment
    fck ap n taxes
    calling ppl to leave the country is NOT a solution to solve all this problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Stop sucking Oppobutts. Nobody compared like u did. We just compare like for like and SG is still all round lose.

• FIST (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 10:38 pm

bwahahahhaahhahahahahaha!! but Malaysia car prises are still high

• MY only highest in the world as what u pipu claimed, but SG price is highest in the universe!

• Kamil on Apr 18, 2016 at 10:53 pm

I think the title is wrong. It should be “2016 Honda Civic – S’pore 1.6 from RM318k only”. Lol

• maidin on Apr 18, 2016 at 11:31 pm

ok la tu, buat apa nak cc besar negara kecik je, tak sempat tekan minyak rapat dah smpi ke laut beli cc besar boleh la lepas gian lenjan highway plus dari jb ke bkt kayu hitam

• JB_KIA on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:24 am

ye ke? saiz pulau tu 30km x 40km, tekan minyak je smpai laut? ko bwk fighter jet ke aper?

• chipanzy on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:26 am

RM 300k = USD 100k singapore..very cheap compare to boleh land.. its fair with automotive policy for a small country,but boleh land? what reason for a double original price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • annoy on Apr 19, 2016 at 5:49 am

ok la, 1.6cc for daily commute and pusing2 around the island, and quite welcome you guys to use your car in Malaysia…but please la don’t use Malaysia’s highways or roads for drag or speeding..

• Cyberkayu on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:07 am

HONDA singapore bring only 1.6, due to the COE cat A have a cap on both the engine capacity and output, namely 1600cc and 130bhp. Or else the car need to be registered on other cat of COE

• ok next news pls.

• TeslaOwner on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:05 am

Who needs car when you have such good public transport system?

• MR RIGHT on Apr 19, 2016 at 11:20 am

People who loves to drive and feel the adrenaline of speeds. GOT IT TESLAOWNER?

• I do not know what alot moron want to compare the price, different living, different policy, different country. Why not compare the specs? Do you when it come to M’sia, will we get back the same specs like DRL, VSA etc?? Sure will minus specs here in bolehland

• Nice design and good drive this civic will be a long lasting hit i can wait a few years to buy a used one since i’m financially weak at the moment

• The century sprint takes more than 11 sec, what a great achievement. Salute.

• Javed on Jun 25, 2016 at 9:36 am

What’s the mpg?