2016 Honda Civic M’sia bookings open, est. RM120k?

Civic_15RS-2

With appearances made in Thailand and Indonesia already, the 10th-gen Honda Civic is expected to make its Malaysian debut next. But before Honda Malaysia itself can get the ball rolling, eager dealerships in the country have already begun posting ads on Mudah.my for the new Civic.

Having called up one of these dealerships for further details, we’ve been told that the model is expected to be launched here sometime in June this year. Two powertrains, similar to those available in the Thai-market were mentioned, being the naturally-aspirated 141 hp/174 Nm 1.8 litre i-VTEC engine and the turbocharged 173 hp/220 Nm 1.5 litre VTEC.

Where prices are concerned, versions with the 1.8 litre engine are expected to be priced under the RM120k mark while the top-shelf 1.5 litre VTEC turbo variants are said to fall under RM140k. These prices are only estimates for now, so do take this with a grain of salt — at least until Honda Malaysia confirms something.

2016-honda-civic-on-mudah-1

If the Thai-market Civic range is any indication of what we’ll get here, we’ve previously reported that a total of four variants were launched there mid-March 2016 — two turbos and two 1.8 litre ones. Prices across the border range from 869,000 baht (RM98k) to 1.19 million baht (RM134k). At the top of the range, the Turbo RS offers 17-inch wheels, LED headlamps and tail lights, LED daytime running lights, dual exhaust tips, a sportier front bumper and a rear spoiler.

Inside, the top-shelf Thai-spec variant features a Remote Engine Start function, a multifunction steering wheel with paddle shifters, a seven-inch central display screen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Siri Eyes Free, a reverse camera, power-adjustable front seats and more. The Turbo RS also offers six airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSA, Hill Start Assist and Honda LaneWatch as standard.

So, will you be placing a booking for the 10th-generation Honda Civic soon? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below and do tell us which variant you’ve got your eyes on. Stay tuned to paultan.org for further developments.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic Turbo RS in Thailand

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic 1.8 EL in Thailand

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic 1.8 E in Thailand

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic with Modulo accessories in Thailand

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Nope.. I’ll pass. no rear aircond

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 54
    • Proton Tubro CumPro better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 24
      • ProtonGSC on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:11 pm

For saving coming Proton Accordana from falling sales DRB HICOM make this car expensive… AP Cronies dirty marketing tactics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Same L00 on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:21 pm

You wont’ go wrong with sushi car, again I can assure you.

However, I have also seen Saga badged with Honda Civic emblem on the road. Proton, the power of day dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
        • Not as terrible as those myvis with BMW nose bumper and stick on lexus biscuit logo. OMG! I cant unsee that image!

• Turbocor on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:18 pm

However, I have also seen Civic badged with BMW emblem on the road. Honda, the power of bocor engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • Proton cheap as hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Operation Manager on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:00 am

VW Jetta 1.4 TSI 240Nm 1500rpm 1380kg
        Focus 1.5 Ecoboost 240Nm 1600rpm 1325kg
        Civic 220Nm 1800-5k rpm 1143kg

• Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:44 am

Power weight ratio,reliability Japs always win.

But, How well does new civic perform in crash test with such light weight?

• Funny on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Then dont sit at the back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • 11967 on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:55 pm

1121 is right. Honda City also gets rear air-con vents.

But since the Altis is the better car.
      So who really needs Civic and Accordana??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:46 am

OMG, Altis is better car? NO VSC, crappy dash, fully furnish with DVD AVN & reverse camera is a better car?
        Stop poison and dibangsatkan by UMW.
        Msian get super crappy spec Toyota!

• Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:00 am

Sohai. rear aircon vents does not really help to cool the rear seat ppl.
        Better/efficient air con, larger cooling coil, condenser, better design on heat transfer, better heat insulation is much more important than the crappy rear air con vents.

• OMG…as long as the pricing remain the same, it will sell well here…P1 new perdana, pls balik kampung makan kangkung…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • carlist on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Hello! Is it the engineers forgot to put on the engine cover?

C’mon Honda! a 130k – 140k car with the messy engine arrangement, messy cables and messy tubes around. I can’t believe it and it looks like no different with the 80’s Proton Saga / Nissan Sunny.

Please put on a proper engine cover and rearrange all the stuff nicely. Interior just too plasticky and lousy workmanship. You can see from the leather of the seats. Also the arm rest / cup holder at the rear really….. speechless.

Not worth la.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Perdana better for you dude!

• The Altis killer is arriving soon. LOL.
    Toyota and Sam Loo now in deep DEEP trouble.
    Surely after maybe 2-5 months after launch, there will thousands and thousands of them flooding the whole of Melaka, KL, Selangor and other states in Bolehland.
    Confirmed to be a long waiting list. Hehe…..
    Next question is, ‘Honda Malaysia, Where the Heck is the Type R Model?’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 17
    • Jemah on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:12 pm

if the price 140k, i rather buy Peugeot 408 2016

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • timmy on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:28 pm

The HR-V, City models are everywhere on Malaysian roads, highways, car parks, etc. Wayy Too common vehicles. This civic will defintely sell by the thousands. Tons of aftermarket parts at Sunway area and Puchong too.
      BTW, if no type R bro. Can always try reconditioned units.
      Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:21 pm

i will gladly save 20k and pay more toad tax for mazda 2 if really price at 140k…siao la…can almost get an accordana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 49
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:45 pm

i mean mazda 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
    • no Value on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:46 pm

seriously?! Mazda 2 is not even in the same category!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • Toadtax on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Seriously? What is toad tax??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • He must be typing this in a hurry to convince ppl to choose mazda 3 & 2 over this civic.
        Mazda’s fans nowadays…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:18 pm

toadtax is the money i have to pay the government based on the engine size, which reduces my budget for my favourite claypot toad porridge in setapak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Najib on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Please buy perodua or proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
    • Buy safer P1 cars with at least ESC. Others inc P2 are moving coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • stupid proton marketing !!! on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:26 pm

ford focus —> honda civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
  • Ya keep on saying this and that, and the next thing you know this civic will be as common as myvi. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Megasteelbanting on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:34 pm

No honda sensing? Ill pass and keep driving my 9yo myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • truman6 on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:26 pm

cant afford to buys it just say so..its not a shame…just like me, i’ll hav to keep my 9yo myvi too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • neemfa on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Focus 1.5 ecoboost vs Civic 1.5 turbo. Game on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • heybadigol (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:46 pm

The engine and CVT combo is very nice match (the turbo ensures it’s always on the right power band, and if you put it in sport mode, it will even give a pretty decent impression of stepped gears). But I don’t fancy the exterior design (but that is a personal opinion). Interior is OK lah, but Mazda3 looks more upmarket. But lack of rear AC vents, when even the City has em, is unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • rchoo on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:48 pm

140K no AEB?, 17″ Rim?. Better get Peugeot 308 Premium equipped with everything and still cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
  • EricT on Apr 18, 2016 at 1:50 pm

I will only buy if they giving us the LED headlamp, just like those western countries. But after seen the Thailand launched car, highly doubted….

I bet the 1.5 turbo will be priced above 140k (from some insider)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:29 pm

You like western go live over there?? We only like supporters that buy our cars !!! Comments or complaints to much Proton hate most, just buy don’t complaints ! DRB hicom care good customers !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • john is otak batu on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:18 pm

can C u commenting response like rubbish, DRB do have rubbish customer like u!

• sabahan on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:01 pm

only interested with the 1.5T engine

• jinggo on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:32 pm

The Gov will not allow becoz 1.5 liter engine pay less road tax. Thus, the 1.8l & 2.0l NA engine will approved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • huh? 308 alredi have 1.6L turbo. whatcha smoking dude?

• jinggo on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:59 pm

308? Pijot kah? hahaha… different league bro.. this is honda.. hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • lihat dan belajar proton, macam ni la kereta will sell like karipap panasss..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • no sunroof? i pass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • SG mana!? Why alwiz SG last!? Ini mesti semua salah LKY/ LHL/ PAP/ COE/ ERP……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Visitor on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Have to admit, the overall exterior look of new Civic is really a leap ahead than current generation.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:49 pm

i feel the 1.5T pricing will seriously overlap the base Accord….less than 10k difference…
    even dimensionally not much difference …
    btw , the engine bay looks like a mess! put an engine cover la honda!

• Hope we can get the 6MT like China

• firna on Apr 18, 2016 at 2:58 pm

No rear AC – now very hot….how?

• Zoom Zoom on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Wow. 1.5 turbo for 140k? too expensive .. good luck Honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:06 pm

This price will disappointed all long wait buyer, and Mazda 3 will be the ultimate Winner for this categories. Not a good news to see 1.8l old engine being brought forward again. Just like Vios 12 years old same engine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • 308…lolll..lolll…lolololol

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Current 2.0 civic is selling slow as we can see. However, next downgraded 1.5l engine even though producing better torque or HP, but typical Malaysian buyer philosophy wont like it much. Honda Malaysia, you landed in wrong country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Ha.. haha.. hahaha..

• crash on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:22 pm

You are wrong. Volkswagen has taught fellow Malaysians that using small cc engine doesn’t mean no power if it is turbocharged.

• HondaSalesmanNotChan on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Hi I’ve to remain anonymous but the honda sales manager attended the close briefing and test drive in alor gajah last week

Here are some highlights:

NA price – 120-125k
    Turbo price – 140k++, below 150k, very close to Accord price

driving experience – much better than the current civic, sharp at turns and agile
    cabin – much roomier than the current civic
    power – turbo is really powerful, reminds me of continental cars with turbo, no joke
    interior – as per the pic from thailand, not much changes, pretty or not is subjective
    seats – comfy and sporty

some of the specs will be missing compared to our thai counterpart, like Remote Engine Start.

Thats all i can reveal while being anonymous

-Chan-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
    • Is Honda Lane Watch still being offered for the top tier model?

• maidin on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:31 pm

just give all spec like thai got, did honda want the 1.5T buyer to install their own remote engine start at ‘braders’ shop?

• HondaSalesmanNotChan on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:41 am

Velo – Yes its still available.
        Maidin – I don’t decide what comes in and out of the specs. Otherwise, I will throw in EVERYTHING.

Why the thumbs down for me? I’m just giving an inside view of whats going on leading up to the launch, some support boleh??

-Chan-

• Civicownertobe on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Don’t mind the dislikes, must be proton fanboy jealous over honda. Do we still have rear aircond vent like indon specs?

• Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:58 am

You are a great Honda sales man.
      no doubt, civic turbo is a new revolution.
      Look at current economy, why not talk to your SHIT MOTAR boss to talk to Barang Naik.
      Drop the tax?
      Once car price drop, I believe you could out sell any others brand in C segment!

• Professional on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:02 am

honda salesman incoming

• vodka on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Please give us the Thai spec RS model for the top of the line model, and some interesting color options too!

• honda fans on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:06 pm

turbo > 140K?

might as well get any SUV like crv, cx5, nissan x-trail… your rival is wait for good show…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • crash on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Not everyone like SUV as sedan mostly give better handling. Even car wash for SUV is more expensive…

• honda fans on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:26 am

nevertheless , SUV provide more comfortable in term of cabin, and ride….

• Rusmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:25 pm

CX5 provide car alike handling.
          CRV spacious
          X-trail SUV with 7 seater
          If Honda Civic = above SUV price.
          Most ppl will choose SUV over this Honda civic.

• Andas on Apr 20, 2016 at 11:00 am

Aiyaa.. please dont mention about car wash.. u can afford 100k plus car but stingy to pay for car wash.. better wash urself ma..

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Yep it will come with lesser spec comparing to the Thai model as usual.

• Jobless on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:43 pm

My eyes hurt when looking at the ugly rear ..the front looks like Batmobile Omg somebody get me Panadool

• Prachinburi@Eastern Thailand on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:49 pm

It won’t come with lesser spec if your country dealer tick all the boxes

• Carcouncil on Apr 18, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Fancy pancy car for people with colourful tastes….

• 139k can get you a brand new Subaru Forester.

• Operation Manager on Apr 18, 2016 at 11:48 pm

In terms of performance & stability, still behind 240Nm both VW Jetta 1.4 TSI (Turbo & Super charge) & Ford Focus 1.5 Ecoboost
    Civic is the most lightest car.

• rm120k?

i dont thk so…they will price it at least rm130k range