2017 Honda Civic Hatchback to be produced in Thailand – Malaysian introduction a possibility?

Civic Hatchback Prototype

According to Car Advice, the all-new Civic Sedan will arrive in Australia before the middle of this year, followed by hatchback version in early 2017. What’s more interesting is, both models are confirmed to be built in Thailand, taking full advantage of Australia’s Free Trade Agreement with the country.

Though we’ve yet to see the tenth-generation Honda Civic Hatchback in production guise, this bit of news certainly opens up the possibility that the Civic hatch will make its way to us here in Malaysia. In Australia, the current Civic Hatchback is sourced from the UK.

The tenth-gen Civic Hatchback was previewed by the Honda Civic Hatchback Prototype at this year’s Geneva Motor Show. Patent images of the production car soon found their way onto the internet shortly after, which remained largely faithful to the concept’s design.

Civic Hatchback Prototype

Honda Malaysia recently announced that it will launch two new CKD models this year, with the all-new Civic and Accord facelift being highly possible models. A Civic hatch being added to that line-up in the future would certainly add an interesting spin on the C-segment model, one that would compete against the likes of the Mazda 3 hatchback that is currently offered (also a CKD model).

The Australian-spec tenth-gen Civic Sedan mirrors the Thai-spec model in terms of powertrain offerings. The first is a 1.8 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder engine, while the more interesting proposition is the first-ever 1.5 litre turbocharged EarthDreams four-cylinder unit. A CVT is mated to both engines for the Thai market, but it is yet unclear if the Australians will get a six-speed manual option as well.

GALLERY: Honda Civic Hatchback Prototype

GALLERY: 2017 Honda Civic Hatchback patent images

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Consumer on Mar 17, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Always good to have more choices in the market. If mazda can do it, dont see why honda can not. Just do it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:28 pm

yeahhh gogogo ….
      More variant better for us consumer ;D

• WT Fuchhh on Mar 17, 2016 at 9:38 pm

God damn it, Honda San. We the Malaysian People, demand that you bring us the hatchback, 1.5turbo with immediate effect, else we boycott all Honda products !!! Malaysian RM is still money,…….you know. Bagero.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Mar 17, 2016 at 5:53 pm

I heard 1.5L turbo is replacing current 2.0 civic with estimate price at RM138k. SA from Honda told me that. 1.8 civic still available as Thai variant too at price range 118k. Very disappointed news. 1.5l Turbo at rm135 above is a wrong price tag, buyer at GST edge can have many choice at price range. I don’t think new civic 1.5 turbo will sell like hotcake, time being current civic 1.8 is most selling model, its mean total 100 civic sold, 95 units was 1.8,2.0 only sold 5 units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Nabeh on Mar 17, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Why wrong price tag? F30 LCI 316i also 1.5 turbo, 3 pot somemore, price is 200K+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • p1relevant on Mar 17, 2016 at 9:09 pm

So what are you waiting for basher? Just go to Thai lor, civic is much cheaper there…oh wait….no it’ll be just 10k difference. So why not go to your beloved country to compare, that USA, all things are cheap there right?

Oh before forget, yes now you know why p1 is stil relevant? It can sell those more powerful engine (at least in SEA) with cheaper price unlike Thai which dun have any control on the price because it is just assembler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • The 1.5 turbo is rumored to be selling more than our current 2.0s. But if its selling at 138k, it will sell like hot cake. Mazda 3, Altis, Sylphy and the Koreans can say goodbye to their sales liao. Only questions is how reliable is the combination of turbo + CVT? Will it be like VW DSG saga?

• karam singh on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:30 pm

agreed, current new civic competitor
        Golf 1.4 & new Focus 1.5 turbo
        others still using NA engine
        or maybe Pug 308 for the hatchback variant

• At 138k, better buy D segmenter ady

• Jensen on Mar 17, 2016 at 10:26 pm

If you refer to Honda Accord Vti as the D-segment, you definitely will regret it. You’re buying a large empty shell.

• Get new Perdana. Worth ur money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Mar 18, 2016 at 10:12 am

John let’s q at proton door’s showroom during launch of Perdana..don’t forget to splash all our life savings in brader!

• Please introduce Coupe version also

• thepolygonal on Mar 18, 2016 at 9:41 am

Yup.. for those who wants a slight sportiness, the coupe would be perfect from Honda, else Honda supporters will have to look at other brands. Look at merc lineup… they hold on to their customers by offering lots of choices from soccer mum’s B-Class to AMG-GTS, 1 series up to i with the z4 and slk for fun.

• 4g63t dsm on Mar 18, 2016 at 12:51 pm

There is a difference there. Luxury marques have a bit more headroom to bring in low volume CBU.

Would you buy a civic coupe for 180k when all the CBU taxes are applied? (Look at what happened to the CRZ)

• Yeah….. i also wish we can get Coupe version! Honda Malaysia please bring in !!!!

• Wish to see a JDM Civic Type-R using this bodystyle. Much nicer than Euro Type-R

• The back design definitely looks nice for the hatch but for sedan its a bit dull.

• Henry on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:29 pm

If it is build in Thailand it will come here too. Buyers can get ready their deposit.

• DPCraft on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:38 pm

That means us getting a 201hp and 260Nm engine is possible too !! :D

• intermilan on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:57 pm

design-wise, trying too hard.. tapi ah beng pasti suka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • type r wannabe on Mar 17, 2016 at 10:01 pm

type r wannabe if this car come to malaysia…

• looks like civic is design for hatchback…

looks better than the ‘aeroback’/sedan version^^

• Malaysian Cunts on Mar 18, 2016 at 11:37 am

Nah Honda is rubbish… Subaru WRX is way better and has AWD with better engine.

• Lawson on May 23, 2016 at 10:14 pm

If price them like they did it for HRV the sales of new civic would push Honda’s total monthly sales to above 10,000 units!. New Civic turbo 1.5 litre 2017 is worth to buy if at RM118k, but not at RM138k, though its 10 years reliability over the older 1.8litres ivtec engine is an unknown factor. Consumers now are more price sensitive than ever was. Remember the over priced Honda Freed at RM118k, post 2011, which hammered in sales by Grand Livina which is price below RM90k?.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 18, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Oh my. Didn’t see this one coming. Its like in the early to mid 90s when Malaysians had 2 Civics to choose from, the handsome sedan and the sexy hatchback. I still think the 5th gen Civics were the best looking Civics ever made.

• yinghann on Aug 30, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Honda Malaysia, please bring in 1.5t manual hatchback! Everyone does know that Handa make one of the best manual gearbox.