Honda Malaysia to launch two new CKD models in 2016 – all-new Civic and Accord facelift coming soon?

Honda new models 2016

Honda Malaysia has announced that it will introduce two new CKD (locally assembled) models in the country this year. No prizes for guessing the two, of course, seeing that the all-new 2016 Honda Civic and the Accord facelift have both been announced in Thailand recently.

Of the two, one is a brand new replacement model (i.e. the new Civic), while the other is a Minor Model Change (MMC), which clearly hints at the updated Accord. “We will continue to offer advanced features, excitement and value for money with these new models,” said Honda Malaysia CEO, Yoichiro Ueno.

The company is on an all-time high at the moment. It sold a total of 94,902 units in 2015, topping the non-national brand segment with a total market share of 14.2%. That’s a 22% increase year-on-year, and it even managed a new monthly record in December 2015, moving 10,741 units.

Honda sales 2015

For 2016, Honda Malaysia targets to sell 90,000 units, which is marginally lower than in 2015. However, it expects the Malaysian Total Industry Volume (TIV) to drop by as much as five percent, to 630,000 units.

To maintain the momentum, Honda Malaysia will be expanding its network of sales outlets from 87 to 95 this year, while increasing the number of Body and Paint Centres from 14 to 20, nationwide.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic (US-spec)

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Accord facelift (Thai-spec)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Nice!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Aero (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:24 pm

This is good news ! Happy to hear that HMSB plans to CKD the new Civic here. It might not seem like a ‘big deal’, but lately, many companies have stopped CKD-ing C-segment sedan models. Apparently, nobody wants C-segment sedans anymore, the trend these days are B-segment SUVs (that cost the same as C-segment sedans).

Among Japanese badges, both the Corolla Altis and Sylphy are Thai CBU. The Lancer is a Japanese CBU. Currently, only the old Civic and Mazda3 are CKD models here. The 2016 Civic will most likely have a slight price advantage over the Altis. HMSB leads all Japanese badges here in local content (which means lowered excise tax penalties). They even assemble the engines here, they’re the ONLY Japanese-badge to do so. The only question is… will we get (and assemble ?) the new 1.5 turbo engine too ? I certainly hope so !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:33 pm

Oh no.. it’s a Honda new model sales training.. Some ah bengs were proudly exclaiming that, based on the previous sales training, one of the ‘facts’ presented is that the Jazz has more interior space than a Mercedes-Benz S-class. Well I guess that “market study” was done by people who have never seen an S-class in real life, much less sat in one.

In this case, with the Honda civic being boasted as being benchmarked against the 3-Series and C-class, I bet their sales training will say that the Civic trounced all the German cars and has more interior space than an MPV.

Honda.. the power of daydreaming..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • samsam on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:36 pm

HW bout B-RV? will it coming in 2016 also? I’M more interesting with 7 seater n affordable crossover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • maidin on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:12 pm

no need to setup new assembly line just bring the brv from indonesia and sell it here with afta benefit

• BeemerFreak on Mar 11, 2016 at 8:42 am

We have not even gotten the mobilio yet….forget the brv first…

• Do we get the Accord Hybrid?

• DPCraft on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:02 pm

They should get Accord hybrid here and ckd it to reduce price and kick out Toyota Camry Hybrid with lower price tag like 140k+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Jobless on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:41 pm

The Civic is clearly overstyled looking more like a Batmobile than a c segment car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
  • policeman on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Hi, Jakun here. What’s the function of the Hold button on the Accord’s key fob?

• Satelitewhs on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:13 pm

It could be the Engine Remote Start to start the engine and the aircond

• Fairos on Mar 12, 2016 at 9:47 pm

it is for the aircond, if and only if the spec are similar with US models

• FIST (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Let’s hope they don’t remove a lot of features in the CKD model

• weewitt on Mar 10, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Honda NSX CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Current Civic & Accord is already 1 of the CKD model in malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on Mar 10, 2016 at 7:53 pm

excitement powerpoint slide….lol…

• So I wondee if the Civic will get the EEV status like the 3 series and C class? Which mean a slight reduction in price too?
    Not sute exact criteria for EEV but 1.5L for that car weight should sound pretty efficient to me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • shawal on Mar 10, 2016 at 7:55 pm

and full spec models make up most of the sales…

honda malaysia should the learn the trend by now…

• No, it should be mobilio and facelift jazz

• DonkeyKong on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:35 pm

In what way do those two silhouettes in the slide resemble the Mobilio and the Jazz?

• wiraturbo on Mar 10, 2016 at 8:25 pm

mana BRV ?

• Enigma on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:31 pm

Civic 2016 1.5 TurboCharged or Honda Grace PLEASE.

• west end boys on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:41 pm

was this slide very professional one lah, even apple;s keynote pun kalah

• velthan on Mar 11, 2016 at 6:39 am

Civic 1.5 turbo, I’m waiting for you.

• Nobody on Mar 11, 2016 at 7:36 am

It’s brv and accord

• to be honest, its quite exciting to hear this news. we have more exciting and better cars to choose from now. from the mazda3 with skyactiv engine, facelifted focus with 1.5 ecoboost turbo and now this new civic hopefully with the new 1.5 turbo too. hope the new impreza will come to our shore ASAP too..

• Old horse on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:47 am

Toyota will be horrified…HRV, Civic, Accord will kill Toyota….(their bills killed by dmax)
    Stupid Mazda got the chance to do the same with cx3, Cx5, Mazda 3 and 6 but stupidity and greed cost them now…it was like yesterday Mazda was so highly anticipated…no more.
    Honda in leading position now …

• Professional on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:49 am

so many malaysians lining up to let honda malaysia chop their heads off with big fat margin

• regretbuyingaford on Mar 11, 2016 at 4:36 pm

MY QUESTION NOW IS..

if the models are going to be CKD model assembled locally, why is it that:

The honda city, assembled in Thailand, with all the taxes imposed onto it is 91k

however, the honda jazz, assembled in melaka, demands a price of 89k?

are you trying to tell me that the city is 70k++ then only hit with taxes to make it 91k? (rough cincai whack only calculation, math geeks please don’t rape me)

is the top spec jazz a car that should be 12-15k more expensive than the top spec city?

if you are going to CKD a car, the price should reflect the fact that it is subject to lower taxes (and exempt from some forms of taxes altogether)

the accord is also assembled in melaka, all honda wants to do is to make sure it undercuts the camry only by a tiny margin.

im pretty sure it can be cheaper, they just don’t want to ‘pecah harga’.

don’t get me wrong, im a proud honda owner as well, the honda, unlike the other car (*cough*cough*simedarbyautoconnection*cough*cough*) is hellava lot easier to care for.

c’mon honda malaysia, i know you can drive prices down further.

• Fairos on Mar 12, 2016 at 9:49 pm

The technology of Accord US model looks promising. Hopefully we get the same thing in Malaysia. If we do get Accord Hybrid, the price will be much cheaper huh? if the price is around 180+, why dont we go for 3 series?

• mtbrider on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:40 pm

heard that Honda will launch new facelift ,and new designed rear light HRV in May 2016…hope that the new HRV will has a better looking rear light

• I m interested to buy honda city. Currently got any promotion for raya?