Honda HR-V in Malaysia updated with 17-inch wheels, new Dark Ruby Red Pearl body colour; RM672 hike

Honda HR-V red 1

Honda Malaysia has introduced a few changes to the HR-V line-up that is currently offered on sale. No, this isn’t a facelift of any sorts, but rather an update in terms of specifications, with a slight change in price.

First up, the HR-V is now available in Dark Ruby Red Pearl, similar to that introduced on the City. The new body colour for the crossover will however, replace Crystal Black Pearl that will be discontinued. Other exterior changes here include the adoption of 17-inch alloy wheels (similar to Thai- and Indonesia-spec HR-Vs) on the base variant 1.8L S, the mid-spec 1.8L E and top-range 1.8L V. Previously, the HR-V came in 16-inch wheel sizes (all variants).

Click to enlarge price list

The changes mentioned above will come with a price hike of RM672.44 across the range. The 1.8L S now retails for RM99,129.67 (previously RM98,457.23), while the 1.8L E will set you back RM108,481.63 (previously RM107,809.19). For the top-spec 1.8L V, it will now cost you RM118,606.03 (previously RM117,933.59).

All prices mentioned here are on-the-road without insurance and inclusive of a five-year warranty (unlimited mileage) and and six free services alternate with paid service until 100,000 km mileage. What do you think of the new colour option for the Honda HR-V? Do you prefer it to the outgoing Crystal Black Pearl?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mana Janji Najib nak bayar habis hutang 1MDB? on May 09, 2016 at 10:04 am

Early bird regretful again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • Bungmokh on May 09, 2016 at 11:02 am

Red! My sugarbabies sure suka kaler nie.

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Kita boleh bersyukur harga kereta semakin naik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Malaysians prefer smaller tyres as it is cheaper. That is why CX5 initially 19 inch tyres at RM1000 a piece did not go well with buyers.

Why increase tyre size and sneakily increase car price?

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
      • Ramasamy on May 09, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Huh? Care to explain what has 17″ tires got to do with Najib?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • Forrester from Rm211k to Rm145k. 31% price down. Janji ditepati. Go TeamAdenan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • samlu3 on May 09, 2016 at 10:09 am

Madani Sahari still talking kok. Before you talk about TPPA, 2 things Madani has not done.
    1) Why have you not asked your boss Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices by 30%? Why do you still kipas Najib? you already got your Datukship, are you waiting for your Tan Sri ship?
    2) For years you have been avoiding the AP crony issues. Why MAI and Madani don’t do anything about the AP cronies? Everybody is losing. 30 million people losing with high car prices whilst 30 AP cronies are becoming billionaires every year.
    Don’t talk about TPPA. Do you know TPPA is 2 ways? You think TPPA is one way? Now, Malaysia will order car parts from US and use the TPPA to import at cheaper prices. Judging from Malaysian attitude, Malaysia will import more than what we will export.
    And globally, everyone also will ask, why Malaysians themselves have so little faith in their automotive sector and the parts Malaysia produces? Eventually, the white man also will stop importing Malaysian parts in return.
    Their own eyes will see, the same parts manufacturers also make for our national car. yet, our national car falls apart in pieces in few years. White man will soon realise, the parts manufacturers here have been cheating their own national car company Proton for years with low quality parts.
    You think they will still buy our auto parts?

• So it now comes with roof rails as well? No mention of this in the article.

• JB_KIA on May 09, 2016 at 10:16 am

Oh no, Korean rims again….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • mudman on May 09, 2016 at 10:24 am

so this model no need wait 6 mnths?

• pokmang on May 09, 2016 at 10:33 am

very sorry for the rim design…17 inch good for nothing

• DPCraft on May 09, 2016 at 12:59 pm

The design looks a bit looks the E250’s default 18 inch, except it’s 18 inch.(w212)

• global on May 09, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Funny design, 17 inches tyre but the rim design spoils it

• mudman on May 09, 2016 at 10:45 am

so how many months need to wait for this car?

• Price hike yo! The rim change is just the excuse for the hike.

• Josh Ling on May 09, 2016 at 10:55 am

I would prefer neither of those colours. black one is too close to the Ruse Black Metallic, and the latter is way more special in my eyes, so the Crystal Black Pearl is somewhat redundant. And it isn’t the better looking colour on HR-V either.

The red one? No thanks. It’s a strange colour for me, still. I think it will be replaced soon also because even for City I don’t think I see many red ones on the road either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 11:05 am

Quite odd removing black to accommodate the ruby red. Always thought that black is a must have colour for any cars, in addition to silver. Anyways, rims look nicer than the 16 inch ones now.

• HRV Malaysia Issues.
    1. Hydraulic Tensioner Leakage Issues.
    2. Rattling Noise for front Chassis
    3. Rear Torsion Beam Issus
    4. CVT Gearbox Leakage
    How to buy ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
  • Najib on May 09, 2016 at 11:08 am

They should have maintained this wheels since its introduction, considering other countries get this car with 17″ design as default at much cheaper price.

The smaller wheels is the culprit for ruining HRV’s so-called “SUV” design.

• vodka on May 09, 2016 at 11:32 am

Any actual pics of the HRV in this color?

• Mazda soulful red wud look nice on this

• Ohisee on May 09, 2016 at 11:47 am

Still doesn’t come with LED tube rear lights

• ganni on May 09, 2016 at 12:10 pm

this car somehow looks nice when it was first introduced back then but now it does look outdated..maybe because so many good new design flooded in the market currently..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Reasonable increase for the bigger size rims… Should fit in nicely… Bt i hear the issue with the HRV is the waiting period… They sell every HRV they make , a dream for any car manufacturer…

• FIST (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Why so limited color choice

• Ben Yap on May 09, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Honda should plonk in the 2.0 engine into the HRV to give it a better boost.

I drove it on hill climbs fully loaded with 4 passengers, the car struggles.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Better still, give it the Civic’s 1.5 turbo. Oh yeahh… Cheaper road tax and more fuel efficient too, in addition to more kick in the performance department.

• Yes! tempting Civic. i support you bro!

• waltlai on May 09, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Why don’t honda Malaysia add the paddle shifters and change the rear lights design? Thailand can do it, why not us?

• miythran on May 10, 2016 at 6:31 am

Personally i think the 17 inch wheels would look great if it was in a lighter colour like the current16 inch wheels.

• Neymar Niama on May 12, 2016 at 9:09 am

This set of rims should have been in the first batch all along but Honda Malaysia choose to downgrade the rim and tyre size. Back then, the excuse is for ride comfort, so what’s the excuse now then? Will Honda also offer existing owners to change back to this set of rims?

• Sammy Loo on May 13, 2016 at 12:30 pm

This car will still sell like hot cakes. It is High Resale Value car as what the name said.

• jackson goh on May 14, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Hr-v is too small for a family car if you ask me. the back can only seat two adults and not three adults. The aircon will freeze the front passenger before the back passenger get cold from the air con.
    Too small for family crossover car. anyone agree or disagree with me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Still no AWD

• plan to buy hr-v.. but i saw to many problem at forum.. how? go straight to hrv or select other suv belom 120k.. damnnnn..

• I had test drive these one, after that i test drive Sportage, I vote for Sportage much. Interms of power, comfort, spaces and stylish especially GT line

• I had test drive these one, then test drive Sportage, sincerely i vote for Sportage. In terms of power, comfort, spaces and stylish, much better for Sportage. Kia is really good demand in europe, but malaysian always dreamed for honda..