GALLERY: Honda City 1.5 V in Dark Ruby Red Pearl

Honda City Dark Ruby Red Pearl 2

A couple of weeks ago, Honda Malaysia announced a new red paint option for the Honda City called Dark Ruby Red Pearl, which replaces the previous hero colour Brilliant Sporty Blue Metallic in the Malaysian range. The press photos provided – which were Photoshopped versions of last year’s launch photos – gave the appearance that the colour has a slightly pinkish hue, so we went to get a proper look at it ourselves.

It turned out that was not the case – in person, the new shade wore a deep red sheen, very much like its namesake gemstone in fact, and is different from the very dark Carnelian Red Pearl seen in other markets. This red is exclusive to the City, even though the blue option was dropped from the Jazz‘s lineup too – the hatch does not get a replacement colour.

Honda City Dark Ruby Red Pearl 4

The company said that among the original launch colours, Crystal Black Pearl and the outgoing blue hue were two of the least popular choices – although black is still in the palette, along with Taffeta White, Modern Steel Metallic and Alabaster Silver Metallic. It settled on Dark Ruby Red Pearl after research showed that customers preferred red as a new colour option; it’s expected to make up 300 units of City sales monthly.

Apart from the new paint, there are no other changes to the B-segment sedan, but we’ve learned that recent batches of the City have had their reverse sensors count reduced from four sensors to two sensors. So what do you think – do you like this new red hue for the car?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I ate on Sep 03, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Its still the same car. Why such a big fuss over a new color option?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • wilson on Sep 03, 2015 at 8:20 pm

marketing skill mah…………

• Pampers for Toyota Salesman on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:03 am

Habis lah Toyota Salesman. All crying like baby now. Who would buy a car for Rm150k and still get no VSC and 2 airbags (Camry)???

Now all the Toyota salesman are hiding. This City, so reasonable in price and yet it is packed with safety features. Most importantly, got VSC. You don’t have to drive a Toyota Moving Coffin anymore.

And go and check in mudah, oto and carlies, Honda City cars have the Higher RV than Moving Coffin Toyota. This is because, everybody now wants VSC and more airbags. People know how UMW has been cheating people over 30 years now giving low spec cars but charging skyrocket cars.

Also, all the rumours in the past about Korean not having good RV is done by disgrunted Toyota salesman having ZERO sales in their office. They come online and try to bad mouth Korean cars. Now, they come online and badmouth their own Japanese brother, the Honda City.

The truth is, Toyota has got the worst RV ever. 1 year old 2014 Camry 2.5 now selling for RM98k, down from RM180k. Accident free and low mileage.

2013 Altis 1.8 selling for RM65k. Dealer so desperate, he told me even RM60k also he take. Brand new Atis is RM139k. In 1 year 10 months, the Altis can drop to RM60k. More than half price.

I hope we all here can help the Toyota salesman crying like a baby. Let us all buy pampers for them and also some formula milk and donate to all UMW showrooms

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:43 am

Honda got RV. Toyota got no RV. I have to admit. Although I am working here in UMw, I got no choice. Big boss ask me to go online and say bad things about Honda and Korean mah.

• Car of the Year 2014 on Sep 03, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Cuz is Malaysia’s non-national best selling car, best packaged B-segment sedan and Malaysia Car of the Year 2014. Can’t wait to see more City swamp the streets!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • RM150k Camry also no VSC on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:15 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant attitude of just giving 2 airbags and no VSC. This is the nail to Toyota’s coffin in Malaysia.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 10 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC on higher end models).

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM139,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.
        Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra or this Honda City. The elantra after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead. Now increase price, lagi dead.

Sam loo(ori1) and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy below RM100k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM80k. Now people say can even get the Camry 2.5 2014 model for even RM98k. Wah! drop RM80k in 11 months!!!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:01 am

This red is so appealing., I am dead. My only hope now is to join Honda to survive. With this car, my Vios sales will kaput.

I have to sell buntot now in chow kitt just to survive.

• IPreferBlue on Sep 03, 2015 at 7:35 pm

the newest batch comes with handphone pockets at the back of the front passenger seat, for s spec, the pole antenna has been replaced by bee sting antenna (like myvi 1)

• Stevie on Sep 03, 2015 at 7:46 pm

A red hrv will be nice

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:03 am

Please help me guys. Please buy Vios. I beg you guys here.

I have to sell buntot now in chow kitt just to survive.

• DPCraft on Sep 03, 2015 at 7:47 pm

I prefer Blue, but glad to see the Red is not so purple-ish.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Blue ftw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Now, this looks more like the ruby red I remember from old Hondas in the 90s. Not bad.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:46 am

I better leave UMW. I am in a sinking boat. Everybody now want Honda.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Oh, so it IS red after all… good job paultan.org team for taking the initiative.

300 units sold monthly ? Is that the 300 from the previous blue colour… or 300 on top of the existing sales average ? Hey… if adding a new colour can increase sales that much… others should be taking note !

And why did HMSB suddenly reduce the reversing sensors from four to two ? Are these two sensors better or equal to the original four in range and coverage ? I smell cost cutting… HMSB, now that you’re ahead of UMW Toyota, please don’t abuse your newfound glory by cutting costs at the expense of quality… just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Dear honda,
    Unless toyota come out with a decent specs vios you put any colour also people will buy your city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • RM150k Camry also no VSC on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:20 am

That is why Toyota sends people like Sam Loo )ori1), Same Lorrrr and SamshowedmetheHilux to spread nasty rumours online. But now PT reader already know the truth. Everybody rejects low RV Toyota now

• Gunners on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Mazda merah lg lawa

• johnny on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:30 pm

“City have had their reverse sensors count reduced from four sensors to two sensors. ”
    What the…..previous 4 disc brake to now 2 disc brake, now cut again..since when honda do these thing like UMW

• camtakpro on Sep 04, 2015 at 8:09 am

Depends who’s the winner. If some attractive Vios came out, a Honda City facelift can just put back the 4 disc brake and everybody drool.

• Bra and Panties Salesman - UMW on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:36 am

Nobody wants Toyota now. Considered junk and coffin with 4 wheels attached

• SUSHI on Sep 30, 2016 at 6:15 am

If you go to sabah..still toyota is the best choice but not in peninsular..

• Quephilic on Sep 04, 2015 at 8:12 am

Maybe they have done sufficient tests to ensure the same quality delivered despite cutting the cost. ie; brake disc, reverse sensor.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Sep 04, 2015 at 8:57 am

I still think that my crystal black pearl 2010 Honda City E Spec is value for money. Although it lack 4 airbags, touch screen audio display (which I replaced with OEM player + navigation + reverse camera which I’m satisfied with) and VSA, but at least it has paddle shifter (which I always use when going into corners & toll plazas – minimising the use of brakes), and 4 disc brakes too! And somehow I think that it looked a bit mean too, compared with the new ones. I wish HMSB just upgrade the old City with 6 airbags, touch screen + navigation & auto air cond, but retain the paddle shifter & 4 disc brakes. C’mon HMSB….u can do better!

• PreviousBatchCityOwner on Sep 04, 2015 at 4:24 pm

depending on how you view it, sometimes, having 4 reverse sensors can be quite troublesome, you can be reversing into a tight parking lot/ house, and have to listen to the non stop beeping, due to the ill-positioned sensors

• Lantau on Sep 04, 2015 at 7:23 am

Heroes come in red? You mean like the anti bersih red shirted heroes?

• omg, Honda before this you one the best to have most specs compare to others Jap, Sylphy also only 2 sensors. Please dont go to this direction in order to reduce cost. Keep the safety features please and remove those useless features like touch panel or rear air con vent

• SaySomething on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:19 am

why Honda like proton already…

just a new colour option.. update for so many post???

• Bra and Panties Salesman - UMW on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:38 am

At leat they give safety like VSC. Proton also give VSC in the Iriz. Toyota junk how? Nearly all models got no VSC

• Bodoh people buy this car. Better buy Proton. It is our Malaysian pride. Support our car. thank you BN for giving us good cars like Proton that are high in quality and much better than Japanese junks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • The rivalry story between T vs. H reminds me of P1 vs. P2 stories. This is no such thing as forever market leader in automobile industry, it’s challengeable and it can be changed. Despite the fact that P1 is under discriminative protection by M government, you can’t say things can stay the same forever. Though H now might be leading non-national car market share but beware the rising of Korean competitors as well as its Japanese siblings. I am kind of look into Madza’s line up, inside out it’s packed with attractive packages. Competition promotes even more competitions, you will never know who will be the boss, until the end, right?