VIDEO: Honda City in Dark Ruby Red Pearl detailed

According to Honda Malaysia, heroes are usually dressed in shades of red – we’ll let you form your own conclusions on that notion. However, we do have to admit that the Honda City, recently revealed with a new crimson coat called ‘Dark Ruby Red Pearl‘, looks rather dashing indeed.

Unfortunately, those hoping for any additional changes will be disappointed to know that there would be none – aside from the current Honda City range losing its Brilliant Sporty Blue Metallic colour, that is. Yes, you read that right. The new shade replaces the blue first offered on the City – the Jazz hatch, meanwhile, loses the same shade of blue but does not receive the new colour option.

Honda City_Dark Ruby Red Pearl_Back

What’s the reason for the change, you ask? According to Honda Malaysia, a survey conducted showed that a majority of buyers preferred red as a colour option for the Honda City – as such, the new shade is expected to form around 300 monthly orders.

As for the video, it goes on to highlight the various USPs aboard the Honda City, which includes push-start capabilities on select variants, a seven-inch display screen and a touch panel auto air-conditioning system along with an array of USB and power sockets. Also, do note that the updated batch of Honda City models have had its reverse sensor count reduced from four to two.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Saw this car at Jusco Equine, not my type of red.
    I’ll pass

• red City or red Mazda 2

• tokmoh. on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:33 am

Bs, the blue is kinda popular, nobody ever see red Honda for awhile, suddenly sprout out of the blue (oh the pun) customers prefer red. U ingat orang Maslan cam Maslan ke?

My suspicion is red paint is cheap, blue paint is expensive. Not all colors cost the same, logical to assume it’s cost cutting measure.

• camtakpro on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Proton thought they can sell red car as fast as Alza/MyVi or Mazda. Then buy loads of red paint but end up most people order silver or dark blue.

Since both are from same boss, just assign the red paint to Honda and says it is the color of Hero.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Cost cutting indeed… Reverse sensor count reduced from 4 to 2…

• Eugene on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:43 am

Not my taste of red.

Bmw red is my choice

• SamLoo on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:49 am

ceo likes it la not survey.

• I ate on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:59 am

Its just a new color option. I don’t see why it deserves its own video unless Honda has got nothing else to promote.

• Lance on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:09 pm

No every car looks good on red. Mazda in particular looks good on red.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:13 pm

This ain’t red – Superman’s red is different! You can compare this red with the red F30 on my profile pic….and its miles away!

• Same Lorr on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:38 pm

You got no wrong with this sushi car.. Good RV!
    Avoid Kimchi & Nasi Lemak car! Bad RV!

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:57 pm

If I recall correctly, there were Hondas in the 90s (back then assembled in Tampoi) in ruby red. But it was a darker colour, and it looked pretty nice. This new dark ruby red pearl on the other hand is not so nice.

I can understand that Honda Malaysia wanted red, but why not Milano Red (which was on the previous generation Euro Civic hatch)? Its a brighter, more Ferrari like, shade of red. Though it may be more suitable for the Jazz than the City. Also, I suspect it could be a solid colour, rather than metallic.

• What a pondan colour

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:05 pm

the marketing dept of honda malaysia and uk are worlds apart….the uk one is exciting and moving while the malaysian one fails to grab my attention in anyway

• Anonymous on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:14 pm

If not mistaken, according to Honda Malaysia previously they didn’t plan to bring in red color as an option even though other country like Thailand already has this color all this while due to less preference from Malaysian buyer, the same goes to option like manual gear box and etc, looks like Honda Malaysia like to “syok sendiri”, they like to decide everything for customers.

• Tijanie safra ti on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:30 pm

No comment… very nice colour