Efficient, reliable public transport a priority – Khairy

While the public transport system of a country is its backbone and an efficient and reliable system needs to be in place to ensure progress, Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin says it’s more than just that of having a good physical infrastructure in place, The Star reports.

“It is about planning and management, and it is about being clean, efficient, reliable and on time,” he said. Khairy stated that with an urbanisation rate of 60%, a proper public transport system is both a necessity and a government priority. He added that Malaysians should be looking less at the automobile as a means of daily transportation.

“We need to reduce our dependence on private cars, because that chokes our cities, increases carbon footprint and household debt levels, not to mention the stress of being stuck in jams,” he said.

bernama khairy bas

He was speaking to reporters at a MoU signing between the Youth and Sports ministry and Prasarana Malaysia, which kicked off the inaugural Bootcamp Bus Captain programme. The programme is set to train youths and those from lower income households to become Rapid bus captains.

Under the free programme, trainees are set to receive an allowance of RM900 a month, and those who successfully complete the three-month long programme will be offered bus captain positions with Prasarana, which is looking to fill up to 1,000 vacancies for such positions in the long term.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wiwiwiwiw on May 17, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Arrive in a Mercedes S400h with police escort.
    Go and sit at the bus driver’s seat with a thumbs up.
    Smile take photo for tomorrow’s paper.
    Then make a comment prepared by secretary.
    Makan jamuan then driver come fetch back with escort.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on May 17, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Hewhewhew.

Come on la, wanna attract people to become bus driver for RM900 basic allowance only? Are we in 1985?

Then they OT like mad, drive dangerously, all for the sake of making enough income.

Then complaint locals dun wanna work, duuuh, work McD also get better pay, easier job stand behind counter.

Up the allowance la, takkan tada duit? Then what for increase fares last year? For fun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Talk is easy, where is the action? We had heard of this old story since 1980s.

• Trainer on May 17, 2016 at 5:47 pm

That allowance was only during training period. Once employed, different rates of payment I think.

• tokmoh. on May 17, 2016 at 8:57 pm

You think how much more? Rm2k basic? Even that much is not enough to tempt people.

• Just proves that bashers dun use their brain when they bash.

• Gargantia on May 17, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Just wondering how many cars he has in the house???? Walk the talk Youth minister !!! Some leaders only talk the talk but aren’t prepared to take action… BN ministry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • bro, i have exactly the same thoughts as u…give me five…

• Really on May 17, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Just for reference. The former youth minister Azalina can live in a mansion with Mercs, Porsche and Alphard parked in the porch.

• hailthepurist on May 17, 2016 at 5:38 pm

once a crook, forever a crook..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Follow LGE mah, cannot meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • lilytan on May 18, 2016 at 8:00 am

Are u referring to LGE? He is the only minister who uses merc as official car.

• azrai on May 17, 2016 at 4:49 pm

MCA menteri cannot do their job? Why this Sports Minister comments on public transportation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Saitam on May 17, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Aiyo, go worry about your own area lah. Why go poke finger in other people’s pie.
    What’s the use of giving statement like “we need reliable public transport”? Siapa tak tahu?
    Is like Malaysia want to qualify for world cup but don’t know how.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Leow, Liao liao... on May 17, 2016 at 5:47 pm

New Transport minister, ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Hanye on May 17, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Youth minister crosses over to transport territory. His must have some interest in it.

• Therocksaya on May 17, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Ahhhh… itu bukan portfolio mca kah

• nabill (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 9:05 pm

I wd hav believed the story more if he wasnt in the pic… Seriously why do these ppl actually hold these positions?? Based on what? Such deceit n lies…. Enough already… Bro… We havent forgotten the rm100million fiasco… Get that figured out only then worry about our buses… Sometimes i just hate humans in general!

• Really on May 17, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Are these words ‘efficient’ and ‘reliable’ even in your vocabulary, Youth Minister? I think not. The missing 100mil in your ministry is still fresh in Malaysians’ minds. The lack of affirmative action from your side just show efficiency and reliability are alien concepts for BN ministers.

• crash on May 18, 2016 at 1:08 am

Why not KJ you go tell those taxi driver that complain Uber/Grabcar snatch their business to drive RapidKL bus ?

• Ikan bilis on May 18, 2016 at 7:41 am

he in charge of public transport?

• Susukotak on May 18, 2016 at 7:46 am

eh dah tukar menteri ke? dah lama tak buka tv123

• tokmoh. on May 18, 2016 at 9:35 am

Maslan advised him buat 2 kerja. Actually 3 kerja, see now KKJ also become bus driver? Maslan approves!

His father in law advised him ubah gaya hidup, take public transport.

• Chill on May 18, 2016 at 7:51 am

Uber/Grab driver can receive approx RM5000 monthly gross income. RapidKL salary is not a strong pull factor.

• sohai on May 18, 2016 at 10:12 am

Maybe he wants to switch ministry since PM said earlier that there will be a cabinet reshuffle due to the recent accident in Sarawak.

The sports ministry is probably abit hot right now. Not as easy as kicking a ball eh… time to jump ship.

On the other hand, why not take the opportunity to give a slap at those lalang liow party? Everyone knows they are weak and not fight back. You won’t see KJ run a similar program to train Youth to chop kelapa sawit.