RM40 mil retention ponds to curb KL floods – Ku Nan

Malaysia-Flash-Flood-2016

Following last week’s flash floods in several areas within Kuala Lumpur, as well as the Klang Valley, the Federal Territories Ministry is now seeking funds of at least RM40 million to build two retention ponds in Pantai Dalam and Jalan Duta to fix the problem in the federal capital.

As reported by The Malay Mail, FT minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said DBKL has already identified the causes of the flash floods and would present its findings to the Cabinet soon.

He explained that a muddy retention pond at Universiti Malaya and drains that were unable to cope with the heavy rainfall were the cause of the floods. On the former, Tengku Adnan explained that development work had caused mud to flow into the pond, and thus, was unable to accommodate much water. As for the latter, “exceptionally heavy” downpour overwhelmed the city’s drainage system. According to Tengku Adnan, last week’s rainfall was recorded at over 80 mm per hour.

The FT minister also laid out an action plan, where the first step is for DBKL to obtain permission from Universiti Malaya to clear out the mud from the pond to ensure it functions properly. Additionally, the frequency of cleaning drains leading in and out of flood-prone areas will be changed to once a week instead of once a month.

Commenting on the flooding near Jalan Duta, Tengku Adnan said construction work in the area added to the flooding woes. “The construction of a tunnel near Jalan Duta and an incomplete 50 m-long pipe laying project, also in the area, caused problems,” he said.

“The pipe is not connected to any outlet as the project is incomplete and as such the drains were unable to withstand the heavy water flow. In Pantai Dalam, the drains were unable to hold the water that gushed down from the hills,” he continued. Although there are 26 water pumps at several locations in the city, they weren’t enough.

“We are terribly sorry over the incident. We have identified the causes and want to rectify this (problem) as soon as possible. I admit the coordination between City Hall’s information technology department and its disaster department was a little slow,” Tengku Adnan apologised.

Will the Federal Territories Ministry’s proposal to build two retention ponds help in preventing future flash floods from occurring? Recently, KL mayor Datuk Seri Mhd Amin Nordin Abdul Aziz suggested an underground waterway be built to channel water away from the city as well. What other steps do you think will be necessary to curb this recurring issue?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ollie on May 17, 2016 at 12:02 pm

The biggest headline here is the apology from Ku Jabba the Hut Nan.. Can’t believe my eyes

• Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Anything also a income opportunity for them. RM40mil approved for flooding curbing, how much will be transferred to private accounts?
      Next flood can raise the request to RM100mil. Easy.

• Penang don’t have this problem. LGE has better management team

• Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 8:50 pm

If whole malaysia doesn’t have this problem, your Proton’d closed shop before you took UPSR, little johnny.

• Gargantia on May 17, 2016 at 12:22 pm

When BN ministry goes wrong they blame on the pipe and not the person in charge… Ministry take home monthly salaries using Tax payer money only on blaming Rakyat or Pipe laying project??? Congratulations supporters on voting kuuunan.

• Horizon Sailor on May 17, 2016 at 12:22 pm

i wonder if DBKL have large underground sewer tunnel criss cross in KL, maybe we can minimized impact of flash flood in the city.

• TKhengong on May 17, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Isn’t the KL Smart tunnel built to alleviate flash floods in KL?

• hailthepurist on May 17, 2016 at 2:21 pm

people behind it not equally smart..

• It cover just some part of KL. not all KL territory.

• By the way, the picture above is not KL, it is Putrajaya. Even in Putrajaya that maintenance is not an issue do flash flood happened. Just see it as a good news, the rain come to replace back all the water drain by the El Nino it seem, I mean good news because it’s raining not a very good news to whom is effected.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 2:51 pm

unfortunately, the areas that were flooded the other night aren’t in the coverage area of the smart.. its not designed to drain the entire city…

• Class D Longkang Contractor on May 17, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Syukur, terima kasih for appointing us to dig a big hole and a few plastic drains at the cost of 20milllion each, we can hire Banglas while completing the work at RM 100k and pocket the 19.9 million for our latest Mclaren P1, Ferraris and Porsches and a few houses in Bukit Tunku

thank you Ku Nan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Muhammad Shawal Ali on May 17, 2016 at 1:16 pm

I tot we hv one already at d abandoned plaza rakyat pudu…..

• Lulla ku nan on May 17, 2016 at 2:00 pm

This big tummy elephant now in action.asking millions with no evidence or quotation from several contractors to show off to rakyat.rakyat suffer Bez of flood and their hefty bills to repair their cars damaged by floods.this is the carrier of better future tomorrow by BN.yuuuuukkkkkk.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 2:14 pm

we used to have a lot of water “retention” systems in the klang valley that cost us RM0… its called trees, green, forested areas, etc. etc. etc.

• Kak Timah on May 17, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Retention pond costing RM40mil? Why so expensive? Cover with emas ka……

• pomen on May 17, 2016 at 2:57 pm

yes…another rm40mil for their pockets and the flood issue still did not solve…never ending story…

• Barry on May 17, 2016 at 3:07 pm

What Happen to SMART tunnel?
    Is the tunnel not SMART enough or the person who were behind the plan?
    Are we rakyat have to pay again for your stupid mistake?
    Come on la…who are those idiot who have not learn and year in year out still put this type of goverment in power.

I am sick to the core.
    Cant believe that there is so many stupid fool out there who only complain but at the end of the day still vote same stupid face to represent the gomen. Haiz……speechless.

• kazanixm on May 17, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Seriusly bro? do you even know how does the SMART tunnel works? Go find in youtube for SMART tunnel in Discovery Channel

• stasta on May 18, 2016 at 2:20 pm

barry is just another stupid fool who thinks smart tunnel can cover the entire kl. smart tunnel only helps the jln tun razak and bukit bintang area.

• azrai on May 18, 2016 at 8:40 am

RM40m for 2 ponds? Absurd. I should tender for one of the pond project soon.

• dutaduta on May 18, 2016 at 4:27 pm

where is this jalan duta. i thought already change to jalan tunku abdul halim

• zaini on May 19, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Developer in the first place should construct the retention pond. Bangsar south have no retention pond…? For road side project . The requirements for contractor to build siltation pond