Toyota to build assembly plant in Malaysia – report

make-car-630

Toyota Motor Corporation is set to build a new factory in Malaysia, according to the Nikkei. While not citing sources, the publication has revealed initial details about the project through its Asian Review edition.

The new assembly plant will be built by UMW Toyota Motor, the joint venture between UMW Holdings and Toyota Tsusho, and it is expected to come online by 2018. The 30 billion yen (RM1.1 billion) facility will have an annual production capacity of 50,000 vehicles a year.

The automaker began production in Malaysia in 1968 and now assembles around 80,000 vehicles a year domestically through its Assembly Services (ASSB) plant in Shah Alam, with builds including that of the Hilux, Vios and Camry. The report adds that the new facility will produce small cars, and annual capacity can be raised to 100,000 vehicles if demand for such numbers arise.

We contacted UMW Toyota representatives about the matter, but they declined to issue any comments, saying that any official announcement will be made in due course. Stay tuned for developments.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Oh no, more scrap cars on the road killing people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Cars won’t kill till you DRIVE it. Need Toyota models with better safety features? Just pay a bit more lar. You can’t afford safer Toyota then you blame us…

Why Toyota so expensive? Thanks to your beloved Proton and its protection!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Why wud pipu buy a toyota just to dump it in the parking and drive a safer P1 instead?

• Heskey on May 17, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Where? In Kulim?

• Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Yea, that’s why Proton cars are already dumped before they are sold. Look at the sales figure and 2013 stock availability then you know.

• Saga the below average tin milo

• ProtonGSC on May 17, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Will Rakyat gets cheaper car price from AP system cronies???

• karam singh on May 17, 2016 at 12:48 pm

moving forward. excellent

• mr w205 on May 17, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Beli kilang proton tg malim la.. no need waste money to build a new one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • insider on May 17, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Heard they gonna CKD assemble Toyota CH-R to fight HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Thanks to Perodua and Proton, because of these national car Indons and Thai are chosen by Toyota for their assembly plant and becoming the Detroit of Asia. And thanks to Dr. M, the father of automotive industries of Thais and Indons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • The article above mention Toyota want to build assembly plant here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Albert on May 17, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Bolehland supposed to be Detriot of asia.
      Today,it is the BACKYARD and Junkyard of Asia.
      UMW,boosted by PNB funds…..stupidity.
      Build Toyota here to export to the Detriot Of Asia,north?
      The problem with Toyota is not the car.The problem lies with the local distributor.Toyota Japan…you are wasting money building the factory here cos the work culture and cost will kill you.
      anthony Lim,pls highlight this to Toyota Japan.They got sweet talked by UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Spoiler Alert Everywhere on May 17, 2016 at 3:40 pm

So annoying reading Detroit of Asia again n again n again..wake up la idiots! Bolehland will never be la.U think those car makers no brain to do research during 80s or 90s? They knew Bolehland would never provide a convenient place to build their factories due to work forces & salary wise compare to Thais that remain lower until now.Blame your mother,father,uncle that asked for huge factory wage! Or would u burn your office attire for a factory uniform? No! Becoz u r very selective n spoilt kind of kids who never become adult prefer work in aircond instead of hot burning machines! That was the huge reason they were hesitate to build a factory! U should thankful that CKD policy has made they consider build their essembly plant instead of CBU directly from Thai or indon.If they managed to persuade gov to bring in more banglas,indon,burmese also it will never cheaper than the land of smile.If Bolehland is so bad why don’t talk shit on singapork that not a single factory build or even essembly plant there? Much better their port just around the corner! But no sushi,kimchi,pizza,steak,fried chicken build their factories there! Logistic,human resource & profit margin few of the main criteria for a decision to create a business.They way those idiots mention of Detroit of Asia comments sound like proton was like giant killer kind of car maker? Funny this brainless junkies way if thinking.Proton so powerful eh? Whining spoilt kids very annoying! Grow up la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Azurre on May 18, 2016 at 9:15 am

Doesnt come as a surprise getting shallow comments like those from Albert. The nasty but shallow way of him commenting in the past few articles do seem like he has a grudge against Toyota. Totally baseless. Probably a 10 year old kid.

I like your comment on the general public not willing to work in factories, i too am one of them. Cant really blame even current local factories from moving out especially with a second revision to the minimum wage looming. But those kind of decision is for the benefit of the rakyat. i just dont understand why they whine on these too

• Azzure on May 17, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Interesting, in the dwindling car sales report we have been seeing from time to time Toyota is making a bold move to invest in a new factory. Definitely will be gains for the public, assuming they expand their lineup to more exciting vehicle

• 2018 is near. If suddenly gov have to announce to waive some of the tax for car (election year maa..), lucky for Toyota. Lucky for us MY people or not, we will see then. Knowing some of these gready car company here in MY all intensive and privilege (it is CKD by the way) by gov to them will be count as extra profit.

• mohdfaiz88 on May 17, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Give a cheaper price and more safety feautures for Toyota cars please.

• Abah kau on May 17, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Do you think Malaysia government will ever allow Toyota to sell vios at same price with persona?

The answer is no. P1 and p2 will die if Toyota allowed to sell vios at 50k. And corolla altis at 85k.

Thats the protection government will forever give to proton.

• Better dun build here. Stay in Tomyam & indon better cuz MY pipu alredi high keras dun wan do 3D jobs anymore, all gip to nepals & banglas. MY pipu ke arah kuasa dunia!

• Lancelot on May 17, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Hi john.
      For your information. Toyota already have assembly plant in malaysia since 80’s.the article is saying that they will make new plant. Same condition as perodua n proton that have 2 plant in MY. Please dont say that MY people dont do 3D job. In toyota most of the people working there to assemble the car is MY people.

• takNakP1 on May 17, 2016 at 2:38 pm

this is going to take the driver’s eyes off the road and will cause accident.

• If this is true, then Najib (despite the criticism at him) did what Tun M refused to do: liberalising the car market & manufacturing.

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2016 at 3:11 pm

whether assemble locally or not, toyota ain’t going to reduce price.

• Congratulations to UMW Toyota Malaysia, this is good news

• abdullah on May 17, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Assembly plant not manufacturing plant.
    Assemble only, after 50 years of NAP.Still like small kids.

• Aero (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Excellent news ! … but I’m not surprised. The ASSB plant in Shah Alam is starting to show its age. I doubt the old plant can keep up with the tightening regulations in precision and efficient manufacturing. In other words, the old factory may not meet Toyota Production System standards these days… or it struggles to do so.

This is a logical progression in Toyota’s local assembly operations. Just like how Tan Chong opened up their second plant in 2007, it is now time for UMWT and ASSB to upgrade.

I wonder where the new plant will be built ? I’m guessing either Serendah or Sendayan… both have or will have Perodua plants by 2018. But what ASSB will do with the old Shah Alam factory is anyone’s guess…. my guess would be that UMWT would close it down and cash in on the land value… the ASSB factory is sitting on a gold mine as far as property investments go. The same is true for Proton’s Shah Alam plant and Volvo’s VCM/SMA plant.

It’s very reassuring to see Toyota Japan investing in our auto industry despite the current circumstances… but perhaps, the current circumstances are indeed the long overdue catalyst… now that Toyota Japan has witnessed UMWT’s fall to HMSB and now TCM as well, they have finally been pressured into making hard decisions. Maybe. Just maybe.

• Azurre on May 18, 2016 at 9:29 am

You have a good point. It does sometimes takes circumstances like this to speed up decisions. A big catalyst indeed to result in a new plant

• Ikan bilis on May 18, 2016 at 7:39 am

First step of Toyota Malaysia taking over…Umw now policies follower n we should expect more harrier, Alphard properly introduce follow this…the days for these recond models is numbered…