KL and Putrajaya get new ‘F’ and ‘V’ license plates

W1A

The Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur and the administrative capital of Putrajaya will get ‘V’ and ‘F’ prefixes on vehicles registered in July and June, respectively. According to a report carried in The Sun, deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi said the prefixes were selected after receiving a request from Putrajaya corporation.

Aziz said the ‘F’ prefix for Putrajaya will be issued on June 1, while the ‘V’ prefix for Kuala Lumpur will commence sometime after the Hari Raya holidays. This means that the current Wilayah Persekutuan number plate sequence of a prefix and suffix – introduced in September 2013 – will be defunct as of next month.

According to Aziz, the public were more comfortable with the traditional number plate sequence of a single prefix, versus a prefix and suffix numbering system. “This is based on massive decline in bidding for the current KL number plate sequence. So I hope with ‘V’, it will get people excited,” he said.

rm-number-plate 1060

Commenting on the ‘F’ prefix for Putrajaya, Aziz said the ministry had received a request from Putrajaya Corporation for a “Putrajaya” prefix followed by a number sequence and alphabet suffix, but was rejected due to length. In this case, ‘F’ stands for federal. Aziz said he expected a lot of public interest in the new number plates, especially for the “F 1” Putrajaya plate.

“I think many Ferrari owners will be queuing up to bid for the single alphabet of ‘F’ (number plate),” said Aziz, in jest. The Road transport department (RTD) will announce the opening date for the new Putrajaya number plates next week.

“We will open the bidding tender probably for two weeks plus another two-week process for the special committee to finalise the bidding,” said RTD director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad.

The highest price ever paid for a regular Malaysian number plate was RM748,000 for ‘W1N’ by Sultan Ibrahim Ismail of Johor, who also paid RM520,000 for ‘WWW 1’ in 2012. The buyer of the special ‘PATRIOT 1’ plate paid a reported RM1,308,000 for the honour.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• xxxxxx on May 19, 2016 at 10:00 am

hahaha, new way to make money for the govt, pathetic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 14
    • Kau tak baca ka? They just simply change the Putrajaya to F and W plates for KL to V. No need to pay extra as you get these number as usual as you buy car at other state. You only need to buy if you want special number, and that also apply to other states.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 97
      • 4G63T DSM on May 19, 2016 at 2:36 pm

So, how much is F1 and V1 going to cost?

Free ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
        • Dude. Whatever the price is, its a tender. You bet for it. Whats the problem with you people. If you want, you pay. No one asking you to tender. Bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
        • Korean Fan on May 19, 2016 at 5:17 pm

If you want free, then take the number 49

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • gaviny on May 19, 2016 at 10:01 am

malaysians and their obsession with numbers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Commentor on Jan 18, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Well.. a number plate is some sort of ‘hiasan’. Hahaha.

• V1P
    Mayb 15 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • In short, gomen no money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
  • donno on May 19, 2016 at 10:09 am

I understand the need to cash in on F1, but wouldn’t the Putrajaya F registration clash with existing Singaporean F registration? I think suffix starting with Y would be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 13
    • Alifzz on May 19, 2016 at 10:20 am

Nothing wrong, ‘S’ prefix also clash with many states especially Sabah and some local place of district of Sarawak. Even Brunei has ‘B’ and ‘K’ prefix clash with Peninsular Malaysia plate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Visitor on May 20, 2016 at 3:29 pm

The only way to tell the difference is the subtle (but noticeable) difference in font style and size. But, I personally don’t have any issues with it.

• Gomen looking for more income …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • SG numbers r still different from MY. So SG imigresen wun get confuse.

• rosmah on May 19, 2016 at 10:23 am

but Y also conflict with Singapore’s plate used for lorry if I’m not mistaken. Should have stick with W. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Phillip Tan on May 19, 2016 at 10:24 am

F is only used for motorcycles in Singapore with an alphabet suffix at the end.

• Zarafah on May 19, 2016 at 10:39 am

Y plates already have for heavy lorry at singapore.

• All this keyboard warriors. They wanna complaint to every single thing that government does even if it is a good thing. That F plate is for motorcycle (correct me if in wrong) in singapore and why do we have to be make a decision based on them. This is our country we make our own decision. People like you seems like you dont have your own integrity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 11
      • Becoz to these bashers, we must oso kowtow to their foreign overlords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Maverick on May 19, 2016 at 10:11 am

Pandai JPJ buat side income…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 9
    • hailthepurist on May 19, 2016 at 11:33 am

coz very profitable..

• Baca betul-betul kawan the above article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
      • Sudah baca on May 19, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Sudah baca banyak kali.. Why the hell govt care whether we bid or not, if they’re not after the money? The plates for identification purposes, not to cater to our likes and dislikes. Might as well allow us to put our names on the plates if we can pay more, if it’s up to us.
        “According to Aziz, the public were more comfortable with the traditional number plate sequence of a single prefix, versus a prefix and suffix numbering system. “This is based on massive decline in bidding for the current KL number plate sequence. So I hope with ‘V’, it will get people excited,” he said.”

• I am sure the “F” plates will get many excited :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • F for f### on May 19, 2016 at 10:38 am

No i am not excited at all.
      I buy a car i will use either P or N plate.
      F no meaning,it stands for F@@@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • F for f### on May 19, 2016 at 10:43 am

To all Seremban people,be proud you are Negeri Sembilan people,use N as your registration number when u buy new car.
      wonder what so special and why so excited about W number plate.Rubbish number.
      even i am Penang people i stay in N9 and i use NC* as my car plate.
      again,Seremban people,u are N9 people,be proud about N plate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • thank you BN.
    Now i can finally own a FBN99 plate

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
  • Im very lucky to be Malaysian as we have government that really knows how to make money not just from the rich but also from the poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Alifzz on May 19, 2016 at 10:21 am

I just wonder in long time who’s gonna buy the ‘VAV1’ plate lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Quite accurate on May 19, 2016 at 10:22 am

I dont think it is about the current decline in bidding. Its the future bidding for WAA #### A-Y as it will take lone time to go thru that followed by a fee more hideous prefix WAB WAC WAD. Maybe it is just me. Thanks government. Really.

• Orange on May 19, 2016 at 10:27 am

Typical.. so many yo-yo-ing around when it comes to making decisions. Lets try to make a decision and stick with it, LAH..!!
    Also, when will we have unified (and mandatory) font type, font size, and reflective plates (white or yellow background) like the rest of the world..?!

• wondering on May 19, 2016 at 10:29 am

I think they should start the custom plate like in australia. Malaysians are so rich, 99% will opt for the new system. Thus JPJ will be so rich too the no more rasuah. Yay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • bujingyun on May 19, 2016 at 10:45 am

i’ll go for ‘V’ for sure..

• putri on May 19, 2016 at 10:52 am

F 001

• Ben Yap on May 19, 2016 at 10:52 am

melaka or Pahang number plate that read “MCH” and “CCB” always never fail to make me laugh.

• Later, that ruler from south there would call JPJ again to check who’s the highest bidder, then he would masuk at slightly above the highest bidder.

Case closed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • wankj on May 19, 2016 at 10:58 am

Another “briliant idea” from ‘lulusan LCE and PMR’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Tango C on May 19, 2016 at 11:09 am

Than what happen on existing system? WC XXXX Y will become last issue? It show inconsistency when implemented certain policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Money comes first, policy later. Government has the power to change policy in a blink of an eye.

• pengayuhbasikal on May 19, 2016 at 11:14 am

sebenarnyaa…ada beberapa masalah dengan no Wx 9999 x…masalah nak kenalpasti no plat…

contoh..coming WE … WE ALL A …ekekekekke…WE 411 A .. WE BOS A .. WE 805 A…hahahahha

tapi…we can still can do it with V

• heybadigol (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 11:15 am

Naughty of Paultan. RM $ plate in the picture. Hehehe. Cos we all know this has nothing to do with people’s preference. More like JPJ missing on income because people are not creative enough to use prefix and suffix, so not many ppl ordering these numbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • C.P.MOHAN on May 19, 2016 at 11:22 am

PREFIXES “VD” AND “FU” ANYONE!!!

• Jason on May 19, 2016 at 11:23 am

So what happen to the current WC XXXX plate number ? Just stop half way and proceed to V XXXX ?

• Konpius on May 19, 2016 at 11:41 am

I also tak faham what this article is saying. Is this a special release or a permanent fixture or people can choose?

• Ferrari on May 19, 2016 at 11:23 am

I’m pretty sure number plate like
    F1, F40, F50, F355, F430, F458, F12 will be super hot number!!

• crash on May 19, 2016 at 11:50 am

Then who will buy the plate ” FAT” ?? Any amoi also dont want this plate.

• Congratulation RTD,

F 4 I L

• Susukotak on May 19, 2016 at 1:47 pm

after this at district can apply to rtd for their own district plate. what best for kuala pilah district?

• karim on May 19, 2016 at 2:52 pm

The reason why there is a drop in bidding is bcos there is a drop in new car purchases and motorists just don’t have the extra cash to bid.
    Mr Minister open your eyes & look at the bigger picture and sedar diri sikit.
    Nasi lemak, karipap & teh tarik from your desk will not solve the problems of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Aero (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Is this really necessary ? What we need most right now is long-lasting, standardised metal plates like Singapore and RFID tracking like in Europe to catch repeat offenders. But of course… money is more important than safety… isn’t it ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Good news for those whose names start with “F “and “V”. Finally my dreams will come true as my name starts with an “F”. Will get a Putrajaya plate with my initials soon.

• reply on May 19, 2016 at 5:36 pm

It is common for a lot of countries to make money from the tender process of vanity number plates. From the little I know, UK, US, HK, UAE , allows anyone to tender and pay for the number that they like.

For those who do not want to pay, they can always opt for running numbers and the cost RM210. So I do not see anything wrong or unethical with this. Those who want can pay, those who do not mind any number just pay the bare minimum for a running number.

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 6:56 pm

V105 will increase the RV of the car by a big margin

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 7:04 pm

good for one of the german manufacturer when it reaches VW

• Car sales is bad, this helps the industry to boost little bit sales.

• Short-sighted move, the V series will run out quickly when it reaches VYY9999, and they are stuck again, perhaps start with U1 next only to run out at UYY9999 again. There aren’t that many alphabet prefix left actually. The Wxx####x series has much more capacity and will last much longer.

• HowToBecomeAMalaysian? on May 19, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Do we really need it? The current prefix and suffix system is good enough. The RTD is making a mockery out of the system. How to become a developed country when they can’t even agree on their own decisions. It’s like a child ‘s play changing things at his whims and fancies. Instead of changing prefixes, they should be thinking about safety and security changes. They should have standardise the plate, font and background colour like our neighbours. We are really run by a bunch of useless incompetent goons. It’s simply pathetic.

• no money d hahaha

but not a bad idea at all

• Ikan bilis on May 20, 2016 at 9:27 am

Yup, they should get the F plate…lol

• a2zextra on May 21, 2016 at 12:48 am

Guna format macam nilah:
    123ABCDE
    12 mewakili negeri/wilayah.

• Nikolai on May 21, 2016 at 10:28 am

I don’t get why most people still prefer the old algorithm. Does adding one letter to the end of the number plate confuses one’s brains?

Here in Australia, we’ve got a far more complicated system. For instance, Victorian plates are 1XX nXX (e.g. 1FJ 8MQ), and NSW/NT plates are XX nn XX (e.g. CD 68 AL).

If just adding an additional letter to the end of the sequence is already causing all this, I wouldn’t want to see how the reaction would be like once the traditional XXX nnnn sequence runs out.

• Along on May 21, 2016 at 8:21 pm

What will happened to Sabah (SAC 1234 B), Sarawak (QAA 1234 P) and (KV 1234 D) if KL choose to halt to use WA 1234 A format to become V 1234? Does Sabah will use again EJA 1234? Langkawi will get a new prefix and stop using KV? Sarawak will reintroduce 6D 1234 plates again?

• Muthu on Dec 19, 2017 at 11:03 am

Nissan NV 200 panel van Ada Tak.?

• Rajaswari Narsaiya on Aug 03, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Hi , I plan to buy Plate F for my new car ?