Full cashless toll collection (ETC) in Malaysia by 2018

Toll

The electronic toll collection (ETC) system is expected to be fully implemented throughout the nation by 2018, according to Deputy Works Minister, Datuk Rosnah Rashid Shirlin, Bernama reports.

Rosnah noted that the ETC implementation is targeting to reduce traffic congestion by between 30% to 50%. “I hope the people will take this positively because it is intended to help all road users, not to make life difficult for them,” she explained.

“The concessionaires are providing various initiatives to ease the use of electronic payments for users and I am sure they can always refer to the customer care service for assistance,” she added.

As of April 1, 2016, 51 out of 177 toll plazas have implemented ETC so far, with 18 more toll plazas on six highways adopting the cashless system on June 1.

Rosnah previously highlighted that toll transaction times have been reduced to six seconds for Touch ’n Go and three seconds for SmartTag, as compared to 15 seconds for cash transactions. So guys, looks like the ETC method is inevitable. That said, how are you finding the ETC toll collection method so far? Share your comments below.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• “Definitely useful, but becoz by Gov, so dun care just bash.” by bashers anonymous.

• crash on May 23, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Fully cashless is good, toll operator can reduce manpower. But what happens when there is a car stuck at Smart Tag , nobody come assist the poor car owner ???
    This happens everyday , and the traffic will be piling up because 1 Smart Tag lane down.
    So, besides implementing fully cashless payment, why not implement together a 30 second KPI response time for toll operators to assist car owners who are stuck ?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 24, 2016 at 10:29 am

More than 5 minute boom gate failure, toll should be free for that lane during peak hours. Uptime should be no less than 99.9%. That way they have no excuse to not do proper maintenance.

• Eric Wong on May 23, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Full ETC will save toll operators a minimum of 7-8% in cash handling fees and also a definite savings in terms of OPEX from salaries (reduced working staff).

Will we see these savings passed down to consumers?

• seancorr (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 7:39 pm

It’s good to have cashless tolls but the problem is the bottleneck jam right after the toll which is plain stupid.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 24, 2016 at 10:33 am

That is because of people who are so UNCLE and AUNTY at heart. They just refuse to stomp on the gas and maintain reasonable pace when approaching and exiting toll the toll gate.

• Operation Manager on May 23, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Today said 2018, next quarter said 2017, next year said 2020, … FTA ASEAN TAX DUTY FREE daid 19xx, then 200x, after that 201x, then 202x…

• Have been using Touch and Go and then later used SmartTag when I could start affording meals at TGI Fridays instead of the usual McD. Never been a problem. Just not enough reload lanes at toll plazas, and when I want to reload at petrol stations, 7 out of 10 times I get the ‘system down’ nonsense when we all know the station owners dont like their commissions from TnG coming in late after a few months.

• transformer on May 23, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Rangkaian Segar(owner of Touch N Go) will laugh until last breath for generation ahead….

• BAMyouhaveAIDS on May 23, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Crony TouchnGo company will be making big bucks out of this $$$cha-ching$$$

• transformer on May 23, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Cashlessmeans/Electronic means lesser employees, lower payroll and more cards to be sold, more cards means more credit will be loaded.

My home has 5 cars, each has 1 card in it, that’s alot credit even though 2 car are some sort of spare car……

• transformer on May 23, 2016 at 8:34 pm

My bank debit cards has Visa Wave, why can’t we use this at Toll ETC instead???

Both my MBB & HLB doesn’t issue me replacement ATM cards anymore, instead gaved me debit cards that has Visa Wave, very conscience at Starbucks, Tesco and many more.

• Toll less on May 23, 2016 at 9:02 pm

ETC = everytime take cash

• Ex VGM staff on May 23, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Proton is our national car. The dashboard should have a built in touch n go reader.

Come on proton. Malaysians are your no. 1 supporter for 30 years. The biggest and longest.

• Those who formerly promised abolishment of tolls are now proposing more tolled highways in their respective states. That will stay with full-ETC-collection method.

At the same time, Sarawak suddenly goes toll-free.

• azrai on May 24, 2016 at 8:53 am

It is one of the Works Minister’s KPI.

• MusTanG on May 24, 2016 at 8:58 am

SmartTAG 3 sec. T&G 6 sec. Tunai is 15 sec?

What about tambah nilai? 2 minutes kan?

After toll surely bottle neck because exit 1 lane n toll have 10 booth.

Repair your highway system la.

• No difference if it’s on LDP.

• Gargantia on May 24, 2016 at 9:18 am

ETC fully implemented throughout the nation by 2018 said deputy work minister… Implanted new system 2 years for whole country(West Malaysia). But Double standard system (East Malaysia tolls free). And “talk / make empty promises) reduced car price in 2018 yet all car price keep increasing !!! BN ministry AP system cronies !!!

• When we reload our T&G, the cash is going to the company in advance. So they will keep our money, and are they will get any untung by parking the money in the bank or using it as investment? If ada untung by that, do us customer entitle for that untung too? Seems like they get some cash capital from customer, they make profit by it, and what we get is just paid tol cashless.

• smart tag device quality really bad especially on the display

• Nikolai on May 24, 2016 at 2:54 pm

How about an electronic toll gantry like in Australia?

On the M1 for my daily commute to Melbourne CBD for work, I can just maintain my cruising speed as I pass through a toll gantry.