Isuzu D-Max Beast limited edition launched – 2.5L and 3.0L 4×4 A/T, only 360 units, RM120k-RM128k

Isuzu-D-Max-Beast-8

The Isuzu D-Max has gained a new limited edition model today – and it really is limited, to just 360 units. Called the Isuzu D-Max Beast, it’s meant to project a more rugged appearance on top of the standard pick-up’s already tough-looking exterior.

Pricing for the Beast starts at RM119,559 for the 2.5 litre 4×4 automatic model, and rises to RM127,548 for the range-topping 3.0 litre 4×4 automatic. Both prices are on-the-road, inclusive of insurance and a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

The Beast tacks on a dark grey grille and bonnet garnish instead of chrome on the standard D-Max, along with a matte black bumper guard, a silver skid plate and LED daytime running light strips. Along the side, there are matte black wheel arch extensions, black door handles, roof rails and wing mirrors, as well as a decal stripe down the flanks. The wheels are 17-inch alloys in a unique design and a matte black finish.

Isuzu-D-Max-Beast-38

At the rear, the Beast is fitted with a “claw bar” sports bar, a bed liner and a lockable bed lid with an integrated spoiler. A black tailgate handle, bumper and tail light guards complete the look. Solid Magnum White and metallic Titan Silver are the only colours available.

Inside, you get “premium Italian” leather upholstery in a grey-and-black two-tone scheme, embroidered with the Beast logo. There’s also exclusive stitching on the floor mats, as well as illuminated stainless steel sill plates. The regular D-Max’s light grey trim panels have been replaced by those of a darker shade.

Isuzu-D-Max-Beast-34

An upgraded Kenwood DVD infotainment system with a 6.2-inch touchscreen and a reverse camera is standard fit, mated to a Bongiovi digital power amplifier and six speakers. The 3.0 litre model is the only one that comes with automatic air-conditioning; the 2.5 litre variant makes do with manual controls. Safety-wise, there are dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and electronic stability control (ESC) on both variants.

Under the bonnet, you get a choice of either 136 PS/320 Nm 2.5 litre or 177 PS/380 Nm four-cylinder diesel engines, both with intercooled variable geometry turbocharging. A five-speed automatic transmission and four-wheel drive are fitted as standard.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ranger on May 23, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Stare at the 2 models..any man will be a Beast!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Prosss on May 23, 2016 at 11:20 pm

what stupid name. same like mitsu bodoh. what knight phantom assasin. ini pula diablok beast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Wannabe Prossss on May 24, 2016 at 10:43 am

What would you recommend? Pandai je cakap; bagilah name!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • He is butthurt cannot afford, that’s why bashed till cow comes home

• Josh Ling on May 23, 2016 at 11:59 pm

it’s by far my personal favorite modification done to a local pickup. it’s rugged and special at the same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 1:17 am

looks good , tough without looking like ahbeng car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Beast, Knight…. And where is the heroine?

• Firdaus on May 24, 2016 at 7:24 am

Polar, diablo and now beast…why so many LE….cannot sell is it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • UMW TOYOTA on May 24, 2016 at 7:49 am

isuzu engineer no more idea izzit? Safari..artic..beast..next apa lagi? buy all new hilux better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • Seriously,Hilux???! Look so skinny girl build,less power & most expensive among all pick ups! The heck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Ongtk on May 24, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Test drove the Hilux on launch day. Its ride is like SUV now. My other half who complained vehemently when I drove a Ford Ranger and Hilux was in total agreement. It’s quiet too – none of that engine growl like the old model. It’s got a modern fascia for the dashboard. The unit I tested was fitted with a complimentary front recording camera. I had taken delivery of my 2016 Subaru XV a couple of weeks back else I would have considered the Hilux for my ride.

• Is it me or is that infotainment screen placed a tad too low?

• just want those girl model

• TKhengong on May 24, 2016 at 9:38 am

The trend nowadays is for cars to be equipped with auto air-conditioning. Whilst it’s good to have the feature, there is one drawback. When the air conditioner is set to full auto, the air circulation vent will open to let in outside air when the desired temperature is reached. And lo and behold your car will be filled with choking smell of vehicle’s emissions and/or if you happened to drive through a foul smelling area you will get a whiff of the stink too.

• hahaha on May 24, 2016 at 10:36 am

I don’t think people will frequently use the auto function. Most people prefer “auto”air cond because it is digital and it looks more classy.

• i was never a 4×4/truck fan.But when I saw the new Ranger it sparks my interest.

• Shuza on May 24, 2016 at 10:54 am

Good price,more power & reliable too..top seller in Thai currently.Like Ranger too..Proven heavy duty

• Navara NP300 Better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13