Takata defective airbag inflators – eight carmakers to issue recall for more than 12 million vehicles in the US

airbag

According to a Reuters report, eight automakers in the US will recall more than 12 million vehicles for defective Takata airbag inflators. The new recall is focused on passenger-side air bag inflators, whereas prior recalls were for all frontal inflators.

Takata previously acknowledged 14 million defective inflators in the first phase of its latest recall, and the 12 million vehicles are part of this total. In the US alone, Honda will recall 4.5 million units, Fiat Chrysler with 4.3 million, Toyota with 1.65 million and Subaru with 400,000. The last two include the Saab 9-2X and Pontiac Vibe that Toyota and Subaru previously made for General Motors.

Other manufacturers that will issue recalls relating to the matter include Mazda with 730,000 units, Nissan with 400,000 units and Mitsubishi with 38,000 units. Even high-end manufacturer, Ferrari is calling back 2,800 vehicles in the US.

As of now, Takata and the automakers say there are no reports of any ruptures involving the vehicles in the latest recall. The defective airbag inflators are known to explode with excessive force, spraying metal shrapnel into the cabin. At least 13 deaths (including in Malaysia) and more than 100 injuries worldwide have been linked to faulty frontal inflators.

SRS-Airbag-e1418884179814_BM

This isn’t the end of Takata’s woes either. The Japanese company was recently ordered to recall another 35-40 million inflators in the US, with the recall programme expected to continue through 2019. The expansion was announced after Takata wasn’t able to prove to the United States National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) that its ammonium nitrate-based propellant, which does not feature a chemical drying agent, is safe for use in vehicles.

The company was also ordered to pay a massive fine for safety violations, and will also be required to face an ongoing US criminal investigation, along with class-action lawsuits. Reuters reports that the embattled supplier is in bailout talks with a number of potential investors, including private equity firm KKR & Co.

As a reminder, select manufacturers in Malaysia have also announced recalls relating to faulty Takata airbag inflators. If your vehicle is among those affected, it is imperative that you send it to an official service centre to be fixed. Manufacturers like Honda Malaysia has prepared a dedicated site where customers can check if their vehicle is affected.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 9.50.41 PM

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• rchoo on May 30, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Might as well declare bankruptcy.

• Declared bankruptcy then no need to recall and replace already. Japanese company is not like other US and Europe company. Reputation is important and they willing and do anything to improve that, although they do mistake too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • WRONG! In EU/US, even if declare bangkrup, still got litigation need to have sufficient fund for replacements before kolos shop. So jepunis kompeni not allowed to kolos down yet.

• Uglee on May 30, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Why your worshipped toyota in silence?

• superdriver on May 30, 2016 at 8:21 pm

He is the Toyota whisperer… Calm and submissive.

• You see, Malaysia P1 got no scandal like this. Proton is the best la

• Topkek. When toyota recall u praise to heaven. When P1 recall, u bash to hell.

• Nosushi on May 30, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Jepunis cars now no quality

• Owner on May 30, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Mitsubishi Malaysia is suspiciously TOO very quiet

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2016 at 5:17 pm

still haven’t settle the takata airbag issue?

just recall all cars and settle once and for all.

• Getting people to do regular maintenance service is already a big challenge. There are people out there who drives their car until smokes come out and only then they go for a service.

• karam singh on May 30, 2016 at 9:32 pm

My 20 years old wira 1.5 carb has zero airbag. No ABS. Yet, me and all previous owners never involved in major accident or fell casualty. The reason for this is simple. We drive carefully and sensibly.

• zek_ampang on May 31, 2016 at 8:08 am

sometimes accident caused by others. so, you might be the victims. in this case, airbag would be usefull.

• Declared bankruptcy then no need to recall and replace already. Japanese company is not like other US and Europe company. Reputation is important and they willing and do anything to improve that, although they do mistake too.

• common sensor on May 30, 2016 at 5:30 pm

The effort by Honda in Malaysia is quite aggressive; the others are damn silent. I wonder why ..

• what effort? My aunt & grandparents never got any notification / letter for their Hondas.

• Airbag Issue on May 31, 2016 at 8:15 am

Are your aunt or grandparents first owner of the car?
        It is a big challenge to detect second or third owner.

please comes to the nearest Honda Dealer to change your airbag…

don’t wait for the PUD letter…

love your life..

• Bashers: siapa berani persoal kite punye tuan jepunis, saya akan potong kepla dia! Kasi up tali-barutness saye!

• Even if the car could harm you or your family and no safety, It does not matter for some Malaysians as long as it is sushi brands.

• Bryan on May 31, 2016 at 2:39 am

Any idea how to check recall status of Parallel Import vehicles?

• Kenny on Jun 03, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Lucky Peugeot tak kena recalled..